Toyota Sienta Mobile Truck – get an early look of the new MPV: Sunway Giza today, Setia City Mall tomorrow

Toyota Sienta Mobile Truck  023

You can catch the new Toyota Sienta before its official launch starting this weekend, as UMW Toyota has planned a series of activities between August 13 and 25. For those interested, the Sienta Mobile Truck will be at Sunway Giza, Kota Damansara today (Aug 13), and Setia City East Entrance tomorrow (Aug 14).

The mobile roadshow will have the new compact MPV in full display, with additional information and a chance to receive test drive coupons, which will give you priority test drives at Toyota showrooms are the car is launched. You can refer to the full schedule in the table below.

The Sienta Mobile Truck will cover selected locations across Kuala Lumpur, Shah Alam, Putrajaya, Cyberjaya and Petaling Jaya. There, visitors can participate in the “Catch The Sienta Photo Contest” on-site to win shopping vouchers. On weekends, the Fun Truck will also join in, with a Kids’ Fun Zone plus complimentary cotton candy and popcorn.

To recap, the Toyota Sienta is already open for booking, and is priced at RM92,900 for the base 1.5G variant, while the range-topping 1.5V retails at RM99,900. If you’re in the market for one, do check out the new seven-seater MPV for yourself at the Sienta Mobile Truck roadshow.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Maslinah Binte Halimah on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Overpriced. Why pay almost double when you can get a equivalent Alza? So far haven’t seen one yet on the road. Same as Perdana. Overpriced junk. RM92k for the new 2.0L Innova yes anytime. But this? Can skip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Not on the road because not yet launched. This is more like a preview

• A lot of cheap plastic and bad workmanship can be seen even on the pictures. 100K is the new level of cheapalak car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Wtf,indon made cars for those peasants who wants Japanese flavors

• Idealtech on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:11 pm

oh yes, this will kill anything in its price range

• Operation Manager on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Seriously pay 100k for a small unstable unsave Pondan… oh sohai…

• Teacher on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:00 am

I’d be worried of your ‘Operations’ with such English

• thomas on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:43 pm

mahal sekali harga mobilnya hanya untuk tipe menengah

• Saw yesterday at one utama new wing

• Copy and paste katak kotak on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:20 am

Boring, copy paste and thumb up own post.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Rm99k for a car that looks like a toy? We must thank Government owned UMW for selling this car at such an exorbitant price. In Thailand, Toyota cars are so cheap, that every teksi there is an Altis. But in Malaysia, Toyota Altis is at a luxurious price of RM139k and considered kereta mewah.

We must thank Government of Malaysia and UMW for Toyota’s ridicuolus prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • thomas on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Di indonesia, mobil Toyota juga menjadi taksi. Contohnya Toyota Limo (Vios spec down), Avanza, & Innova untuk taksi reguler serta Camry, Crown, & Alphard untuk taksi eksekutif

• Wait! Ini mesti salah BN? Yes, to plotek, plotek u know who

• Knight E on Aug 13, 2016 at 2:54 pm

if proton logo put on this sienta, sure got a lot of keyboard warriors criticism…people just look foreign car like god and very good comments even their look ugly, outdated and cheap feeling…pity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Sien ah! Why need to tease here, tease there, tease until Matt Damon comes home from Mars? Just launch it alredi lah! Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Baffles me that a family car only has 3 airbags and it is 2016 now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Becoz jepunis overlords dun think ASEAN lives matter. We r just livestock to them and cuz we have bashers who plotek them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:21 am

Toyota Seinz
      RM100k
      7 seater mini van
      3 airbags for 2 people

Proton Iriz and Persona
      RM40k
      5 seater car
      6 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • George Abdul on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:04 am

A low cost MPV that price RM 90k ++, an 3rd world country pricing !!! UMW management and marketing team can wait for stock clearance for this model !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:33 am

It baffles me more that most cars have defect airbags…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Knight E on Aug 13, 2016 at 8:07 pm

so ugly the look and also outdated…toyota please recruit better designer…if this put proton logo,sure got many criticisms…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • thomas on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:29 pm

memang tidak semua orang suka dengan desain uniknya

• expensive on Aug 14, 2016 at 12:55 am

Grand Livina competitor looks like Grand Livina modofied with sticker garnish..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:32 am

It looks radical not ugly..in the same mould with citroen cars…will sell like hot cakes together with new innova…bravo unw toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
      • im punch man on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:47 pm

dude.. seems like you can’t differentiate between radical and ridiculous..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Some people like u can only accept honda design…thats why you were so happy when they priced ceed at 120k…you said it was cheap…and that design to you is so ferrari-like…thats you…deepest sympathy…

• Knight E on Aug 14, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Suzuki Ertiga more pretty than this sienta…the price of sienta still much expensive…boleh land…

• Sack the designer! Oh wait! Cannot persoal jepunis overlords! Aiyo yooo!

• david on Aug 13, 2016 at 9:18 pm

freed come fast fast

• Seven-seater? More like 5+2 such as the Alza.

• had see see n touch touch at 1U . lol

• Boring Samy on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Boring kunta not here to copy and paste same post yet

• Leonon777 on Aug 13, 2016 at 11:31 pm

The Sienta is on display at 1Utama this weekend as well. Just saw it.

• tong sampah on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:03 am

100K? gimme a break…yup, UMW still think Toyota brand worth….its success in world wide due to cheap price with good spec as compare, in bolehland…nah..

• old horse on Aug 14, 2016 at 8:10 am

Lavina is almost 20K cheaper…
    and same price range have bigger Innova…

UMW share sure gone…look at all toyota models locally..
    Vios, Altis, Camry, Avanza, Innova, Wish, Alphard, Rush, Fortuner, Prius…except HILUX probably consumer will put in money to buy, i dont see any other model Toyota can sell in with current price tag for a looooong time..

rest in peace UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • david on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:43 am

too bad livina no VSC

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016/08/13/businessman-dies-after-car-hits-tree/

• Umw sucking malaysian dry on Aug 14, 2016 at 11:15 am

Lolz 90k for such a tiny 7 seater? What gives? UMW is out to suck us malaysian dry…
    Lol toyota fan will said is a good mini mpv, but be frank proton exora now is better price then this…

• im punch man on Aug 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm

fugly… sack the designer!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2016 at 6:40 pm

It’s a fresh design… of course too striking for Malaysia, but it wasn’t designed with Malaysian customers in mind.

It’s odd, but kind of cool. They tried to make an old and boxy shape look fresh, and it kind of worked. Plus the interior is quite nice… I love how the 3rd row can disappear.

• Persona also can fold the seats on topkek spec mah

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:48 am

Funny. What I meant is that with most, probably all 7 seater MPVs or SUVs when not in use the seats will take up space in the boot. Even when they fold down into the floor, that means the floor isn’t as low as it could be, thus removing space.

Those that take up less space by folding into the floor are usually also very uncomfortable to sit in, because the seat is way to close to the floor, forcing the legs to be at an awkward angle. Like trying to sit in a Japanese restaurant as you would on a normal chair. Not comfortable.

The Sienta seems to be the first car that can be a proper 5 seater with big boot AND a proper 7 seater (within limits, of course, it’s no Alphard). That can be a proper family car in cities where space is at a premium/hard to find. Entry is especially easy for 2nd and 3rd row passengers, compared to ordinary MPVs, SUVs or cars. I drove a Kangoo for a while, and it, too, was brilliant. Unfortunately the 3rd row seats take up half the boot when not in use, and they don’t make/sell it anymore. The Sienta is like that, just even more practical, and sold exclusively as a passenger car.

That, to me, makes it brilliant.

• Agree with you. This car has better interior design than the topkek Persona. One has to look beyond exterior and sit it the car to find good design

• Some nice features but not enough to justify the close to 100k sticker. Ain’t gonna sell well this one.

• horrayooi on Aug 14, 2016 at 7:04 pm

At almost RM100k very “cheap” for 1.5L MPV. Next year they cannot clear stock we will be able buy at RM65k for 2016 old stock. Good luck to UMW Toyota and whoever concern who help to fixed the blooksucker price for the rakyat.

• Went to see it firsthand in Setia City mall today. Not a bad car really. Adequately sized for families with 2 – 3 kids. Spec is pretty decent. Aesthetically, you will either love it or hate it. Price-wise, maybe a little bit pricey. However, it will still be on my list if i have to upgrade from my current sedan. Lets just hope later got rebate/offer during new year time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • kumar on Aug 15, 2016 at 9:10 am

its an acquired taste. reminds me of the fiat multipla.

• There are lots of people who are viewing this car at 1U as I visited on Friday and yesterday..Guess this car design and looks might not be acceptable for many people. To me when first look, dont really able to accept its outlook but practically, the car design is very user friendly especially for elderly and young little kids to get in and out of the car fairy easily..
    Anyway, if I would be choosing the Nissan GL then I might also think of Alza as those car engines rather old.. so hope this new one will at least save more petrol as i dont really need a high cc car.

• Waiti 2 more years.. it will like Freed discount 10k then it is worth

• This is all bad news for Proton, who intend to launch their own Suzuki rebadged MPV. Too slow Proton, just to work out a rebadge…

• Depends on pricing, if pipu sien of high price sien ah, then they will make P1 Er3 become hot cake.