2016 Honda CBR500R, CB500F and CB500X facelift in Malaysia, now priced from RM31,861 to RM35,391

16YM CBR500R

Coming with a new look for 2016/2017 are the Honda CBR500R, CB500F and CB500X, which will sport new LED head- and tail-lights for the coming year. With the impending demise of the Honda CBR600R, the CB-series 500s will carry Honda’s middleweight torch for the foreseeable future.

Other changes made to the CB500s and the CBR500 include an adjustable front fork, along with a five-position adjustable brake lever, to cater to various hand widths. In addition to these, the CB500R and 500F also get a new exhaust can design to give off an aggressive image.

All three bikes carry a 471 cc DOHC parallel-twin engine that puts out 49.6 hp at 8,500 rpm and 44 Nm at 7,000 rpm. The full-fairing CBR500R and naked sports CB500F also come with increased fuel tank capacity at 16.7 litres – a one-litre increase – while the dual-purpose styled CB500X gets a 17.5-litre fuel tank.

A new “wavy” key is now standard fitment, giving greater security. Colour options for the Honda CBR500R are Red, Black and Tricolour, while the CB500X comes in Red, Black and White. The CB500F comes only with a single colour option – White.

As for pricing, the 2016 Honda CBR500R retails at RM31,681, while the Honda CB500F goes for RM31,363. Prices include GST, and only the standard non-ABS model is available for the ‘R’ and ‘F’.

The 2016 Honda CB500X can be yours for RM31,893 – standard, or the RM35,391 Honda CBR500XA with ABS. Prices include GST, and a two year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty is applicable.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• sohai on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:04 pm

I want the CBR250RR! When??! How much??!

• Not really a fan of how the parallel twins sound. I really wish they updated the CB & CBR650F with the new design and keep using the inline 4 engines.

• At that kinda price, u alls shud buy my Biza instead. At least its untested, so it gips u confidence that we r confident we no need to test it before sale. Straight from prototype to showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • BigBand on Aug 15, 2016 at 12:54 pm

OMG…why only the CB500X got ABS version?? What’s wrong the Boon Siew??

• I second that.
      We always tease car makers cutting corners on safety features. Motorcycle is the one that needs every safety feature you can get. Because one mistake could be fatal.

• john is otak batu on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:29 pm

this or bezza. get wet in jam or stuck in traffic jam

• If get bike, u dun get Road to Nirvana package. But if get Biza from me, I pau u get Road to Nirvana. So make ur choice wisely.

• sammy on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

You rather just sit and steer it with your hands or you rather feel the rush in between your legs?
      Is just not the same thrill.

• if your compare the spare parts between Thailand and Malaysia, you will know how greedy of Boon Siew is, overpriced by times and Boon Siew will not have full range of parts, only selective parts will bring in, in Thailand, you can buy a separate parts based on parts catalog, if catalog got 2,000 parts, then you can order 2,000 difference parts just refer to catalog, in Malaysia, sorry, only selective parts will available.

• JB_KIA on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:38 pm

500cc – twin. Next time new Goldwing 1800cc oso give twin laa….poot-poot-poot-poot….poot

• kumar on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:41 pm

ABS should be standard across the board.

• Bernard on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Why focus on all these youngster colourful sport bikes? In the West, they prefer cruisers. Why not launch these 250cc cruisers in Malaysia for the more mature riders;

1. Honda Rebel
    2. Yamaha V Star
    3. Suzuki GZ
    4. Yamaha Virago

I am sure there is a market for these bikes.

• Ulkamikup on Aug 15, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Malaysians want to ride fast. Whats the top speed, whats the max km/h bla bla bla and yet they also want to die faster. That is what in youngster’s mind. Excitement and fun are not in their mind. Fast fast fast and how low can lean down. And finally is for SHOW OFF.

• Because youngsters like modern design duh.