2017 Honda Civic Hatchback – first photos released!

4160815_001H

Here’s a real surprise – Honda has released the first official photos of the 2017 Honda Civic Hatchback ahead of its arrival in showrooms across the United States, slated for this autumn.

And no, we haven’t mistakenly placed a photo of the Geneva concept – this is the real deal. The outlandish bodykit with massive faux vents, gloss black side skirts and bridge-like rear spoiler linking the C-shaped tail lights has been carried over pretty much wholesale.

Even the centre-exit twin exhausts have been retained, although only on certain models – we’ll get to it later. About the only thing that hasn’t been carried over are the lime green highlights, while the wheels are an inch smaller at 18 inches in diameter, although it has a similar two-tone design.

honda_civic_touring_hatchback

Unlike the sedan and coupé, the UK-built hatch is offered exclusively with a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine, ditching the 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC mill used on other Civic models in the US. The LX, EX and EX-L models producing 174 hp and 220 Nm, while Sport and Sport Touring models gain the aforementioned high-flow centre exhaust system that boosts power to 180 hp.

The Civic hatch will also debut a new transmission option for the turbocharged engine – a six-speed manual transmission is offered on the LX, Sport and EX variants, alongside the CVT available on all models. Fuel consumption is rated at 7.6 litres per 100 km in the city, 5.9 litres per 100 km on the highway and 6.9 litres per 100 km combined, on models equipped with the CVT.

Under the skin, the Civic hatch features a more rigid and lightweight body with fully-independent suspension; the current FK hatch features torsion beam rear suspension. Also fitted are liquid-filled suspension bushings, a sport-tuned variable-ratio electric power steering and four-channel anti-lock disc brakes with EBD and Hill Start Assist (HSA). Honda claims class-leading volume and cargo capacity inside.

honda_civic_touring_hatchback_1

Available kit includes a Honda Display Audio infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility on EX variants and above, heated front seats and side mirrors, power-adjustable front seats and remote engine start. The Sport Touring model gets these features and standard, plus other items like heated rear seats.

The Honda Sensing suite of driver assist systems – including Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Lane Departure Warning and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow – is optional on most models, and standard on the Sport Touring.

Closer to home, Honda Australia has confirmed that the next-generation Civic hatch – which will go on sale there in 2017 – will be built in Thailand, which means that it will very likely be offered for sale in the region. In fact, the concept which preceded the production version was displayed at the ongoing 2016 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), adding more fuel to speculation.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Hatchback Prototype at GIIAS 2016

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• it does look like overdone. the rear is too busy. it wont last, might look nice at first and looks funny in the next couple of years.

p/s: hardly seen the FC Civic on the road, almost 3 months already. why is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • Dunno. But I see more civic10 than Biza on NS hiway. Actually I havent seen Biza on any road in KL yet.

• Andas on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:09 am

Yup.. see few civics but none bezza..

• Jonn Dol on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:18 am

New Persona & New Saga will flock the major cities within these next couple of months.

• Kesha on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:52 am

Yet being the operative word

• Of course it is. Dun be a fool. Im not so vainglorious to say Biza is a failure and only sells in langkawi. But according to the P1 bashers, Biza shud have flooded the market by now. Yet I still not see one at all.

• Henry on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:24 am

Don’t always hide in the hole. Come out to see the world and the number of Bezza on the road.

• Sedan is really a weirdo. The design suits hatchback more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Knight E on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:59 pm

the side view much similar with proton suprima s…this civic hatchback rear bumper look too much design and big mouth crab…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • karam singh on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:38 am

true, just look at the silhoutte. stupid honda. now copy proton when no more ideas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • carlist on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Seriously, nothing can describe this except UGLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:05 pm

The rear seems too bz.. Too much design…. It will look better with cleaner lines….

• karam singh on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:43 am

yes but when the car comes with clean lines (read : Civic FB) then everyone also complaint – why so lousy one.

• No lime green brake calipers? Im so saddings

• Jonn Dol on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:12 pm

This car is aimed squarely at Euro hatches, although it won’t match them in terms of cabin quality.The Type-R version will blow the competition away.

• I think this the body of a Civic 2016 Type R

• ahmad on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:22 pm

not sure why
    the new civic design seem too extreme.. more like myvi extreme design concept where they just put whatever they think seem obvious..

like more the FD2 design more.. seem long lasting, at first launched really give big impact to people saw it..

• Steamafication on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:33 pm

And we thought rear bumper on new Perdana was ugly.

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:38 pm

It’s a nice car but it fails the Sgt Scoop test. The massive centre console takes space away from the driver and the hard plastics are right against my knee.

• Andas on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:05 pm

From side looks good.. from rear, alamak..

• intermilan on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:07 pm

174 horses only?
    Based on the overkill design, look like have 350 horses..

• JB_KIA on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:12 pm

6MT….take my money, quick!

• Old Uncle on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:57 pm

When. I see the new Sivik otr, my heart doesnt beat faster..no feel…but when see Altiss wit bodykit, wow my eye will look twce…just when see a sexy gurl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Megane on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Overdone . Zzzzzzzzzz . After 1 year you wanna sell already . What has Honda become ? Hyundai like design . Conti cars design are more mature , subtle and age better with time .

• Why copy Hyundai Veloster?

• Quite pretty, but its still a honda lol

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:58 am

Primer grey is turning into a new trend, is it? I’ve seen lots of Skoda Octavia in this color (maybe a bit darker), non-metallic grey. And usually it’s the high performance VRS variant…

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:55 am

This is what happens when you give Americans the drawings pen. They should have worked together with the Japanese and design a car that doesn’t look too out of place. High tech yes but design is a no.

• meshuggah8M8 on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:12 am

For those in the klang valley saying they haven’t seen much 10 gen civics on the road… are you all serious?? LOL
    I see one every single day in almost all the colours! and I’m typically traveling throughout Subang, PJ, Puchong, parts of KL, USJ …
    I mean I know there are haters out there but you guys don’t have to make yourself sound so stupid haha
    *just spotted Bezza near shah alam last night too

• Henry on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:26 am

I like.

• Why honda cannot design like audi and bmw simple, nicer and functioning….

• Das Auto on Aug 18, 2016 at 10:36 am

Sushi car looks weirder and weirder but still Honda interior look exciting. Don’t like Kimchi cars but they do look better.

• Amelia on Aug 19, 2016 at 12:37 am

I really wish Honda Malaysia would bring in the Civic coupe to Malaysia