GIIAS 2016: Toyota Avanza Veloz Tigre – SUV-inspired

Toyota_Veloz_Tigre-2

Not a new model, but a crossover concept based on Indonesia’s most popular car, the Toyota Avanza Veloz Tigre was quite a standout at Toyota’s GIIAS 2016 booth. SUV-inspired styling for humdrum people carriers is in vogue, and the showcar by PT Toyota Astra Motor could perhaps hint at a Honda BR-V rival?

At the very least it offers inspiration for the few Avanza owners that want to beef up their MPV. Tigre means tiger, and the showcar looks rather aggressive, a lot more so than the Avanza Veloz, which is the sportier-faced version of the Avanza facelift. The Veloz’s huge downturned lower grille ‘mouth’ is emphasised here by red paint, which is also used for accents on the sides and rear.

Worked on since March, the Avanza Veloz Tigre wears an all-round bodykit plus body cladding on the lower half of the body, SUV-style. It wouldn’t look this macho if not for the 16-inch wheels as well (15-inch on standard car), which adds slightly to the ground clearance of the RWD MPV. No more chrome and a bigger rear spoiler, too. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:41 pm

TOY, pls bring in AVANZA 1.5MT!!!
    u r my NO1 choice…

** u r obviously not MO1 **

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Don’t post fugly stuff after lunch can ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:44 pm

haha…
        up coming perSona is oso copy aVanZa veLoZ “mustache” face bah…

• Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Make it real in Malaysian Market! I’ll be buy two!

• Then remember get dual plots in Nirvana from my best fren.

• KarmaComing 4 Proton on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Adui….John, again with your Nirvana??

How many times la?? Ppl sick with your nirwana this and that….

• kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:45 pm

MAKE IT AVAILABLE in 1.5MT!!! I WILL BUY!!!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Wow…stunning will sell like hotcakes again..will even eat hrv market…honda be afraid be very afraid…the fierce front makes the hrv looks so lame and uninspiring…this is a good buy…your neighbour will be jealous like mad…

• Danny on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Not suitable for bangbus, next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Leonardo on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Is it just me or is the front end is ‘overdesigned’. (It’s a polite way to say it is ugly). It is just too busy and there is no harmony at all. I guess their Stylists have not heard about ‘less is more’.
    But die hard Toyota fans will still come in doves to sign the dotted lines. Or will they?

• zakirturun on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:26 pm

my eyes!!!!

• Whatde godawful… I.. I dun even have any words to describe how fugly it is, except: RED LIPS!

• Hmn….. so this is how we make ugly thing uglier.

• kanazai2001 on Aug 15, 2016 at 2:42 pm

yeah~
      da coming soon persona oso copy this aVanZa veLoZ “mustache” face bah…

• Head Hunter on Aug 15, 2016 at 4:17 pm

You can polish a turd, but it will still be a turd.
    Pardon my language.
    Hated this car.

• omg! 0.o

• Only sammy & bertie will like car wearing lipstick

• Danny, Could it be a typo? Avanza is RWD? “which adds slightly to the ground clearance of the RWD MPV”

• This gen Avanza uses previous gen platform which is RWD. Thats why its rubbish

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:13 am

Yes, the Avanza has been rear-wheel drive since day one

• camtakpro on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:03 am

Looks nice in one way, overdoing it in another way. I don’t mind if they add bolt-on turbo in that package but…

How many more boobs job the Avanza need to go before another new gen is released?