SPYSHOTS: 2018 Corvette ZR1 to gain twin-turbo V8?

C7-Corvette-ZR1-spied---7

Here’s the range-topping ZR1 for the C7-generation of Corvettes, spied from what appears to be a relatively high-altitude aerial vantage point. The ZR1 designation was previously reserved for the supercharged Corvette which gave greater straight-line performance than the track-oriented Z06. Now that the current, C7-generation Z06 has adopted supercharging to achieve 650 hp, the upcoming ZR1 is rumoured to adopt twin-turbocharging for even greater output figures.

A twin-turbo V8 is rumoured to be the powerplant of choice for the ZR1, though output figures haven’t been revealed; where the C6-generation ZR1 had 638 hp to its contemporary Z06 sibling’s 500 hp. A similar margin above the current C7 Z06’s 650 hp would take the ZR1’s output comfortably north of 700 hp.

C7-Corvette-ZR1-spied---11

A pair of uprights appear on the Corvette mule’s bootlid, suggesting that a large wing is set to be mounted on it; the long item packaged in wrapping within the test mule adds to that suggestion, which is possibly the rear wing detached for transportation. Up in front, the bonnet appears to have a larger dome compared to the Z06, while the front flanks sport larger vents at each corner.

Along the sides, the doors curiously appear to be unfinished, possibly constructed of a lightweight material, while down the back, additional camouflage suggests cosmetic updates for the coming model years. The ZR1 Corvette typically comes close to the end of a generational lifecycle, indicating that the next, possibly mid-engined Corvette, is near.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Another bodo piang that still stuck in 20th century of car making. Helloooo! Come to the 21st century where we dun need to road car anymore! Just look at us in P2! We go straight from prototype to showroom.

Reliability test? Durability test? Pfft! We let our customers do that for us nowadays. As if they care as long as got celup jepunis DNA. They just curse themselves if breakdown or we says its their fault for tayar botak. Nobody dare persoal our jepunis overlords, cuz we r MY pipu.

So remember buy from me and I will throw in Road to Nirvana package specially for u alls! U will need cuz chances of early afterlife in a P2 is much higher, we confident about that. So have confidence in my confidence that u will confidently have early afterlife in P2! My package veri gud one, u know!

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:04 pm

If you have only one sportscar/hypercar and this is the one, instead of a Ferrari, you really ‘brain got water’.

Most people don’t know what brand it is, unless you show them a konon-christian.

• Redidiot on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:00 am

Thats american muscle for you, huge engine and boosted for good measure. Dont ask about MPGs though…

• Huge muscle, huge engine, huge boost, but still cant beat my Biza to market, so its bodo piang.
      Glory to glorious P2!

• wow factor is off d scale for this one…..
    American automotive at its best….