Next Lexus CT to get semi-autonomous tech – Toyota

2014-Lexus-CT200h-Facelift-Front

The next Lexus CT, slated for revealing before 2018, will offer “something above” the current car, according to Toyota senior manager Rembert Serrus in an Autocar report. He hinted that the next CT will be the first Lexus product to include semi-autonomous technology.

Lexus Enthusiast suggests there may be more to the statement than meets the eye; it said that “something above” adds credence to the idea that Lexus will replace the CT with a similarly-sized crossover, as it says the other idea of the hybrid hatchback moving further upmarket seems unlikely.

This goes counter to the norm of other manufacturers introducing ground-breaking innovations on larger flagship models, though a more attainable model such as the CT would certainly broaden the base for the adoption of autonomous driving technology.

Last year, Lexus demonstrated autonomous technology on a modified Lexus GS, showcasing what the company calls the Mobility Teammate Concept. You can watch the video above to find out our experience riding as a passenger in the car.

Equipped with millimetre wave radar, a LIDAR (light detection and ranging) sensor and a camera, the Mobility Teammate Concept Lexus GS is granted a 360-degree “view” of its surroundings.

These come together to help the partially autonomous GS to accelerate, brake, intesect traffic as well as plan forward before it overtakes slower traffic. In order to let the human driver know what the system intends to do, the 12.3-inch screen in the middle of the GS dashboard displays the exact pattern of the road ahead and the direction the vehicle is going to travel towards.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ismet on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Toyota Prius, 1st model to be assembled @ toyota bukit raja plant.

• Same L00 on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:30 am

When Lexus/Toyota announce new feature in new facelift, you can expect it in your new car within 3 years.
      When Proton announce its hybrid in 2008, everyone knows it is pure Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok after 8 years. Nothing done but only RM1.5bil pocket money.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Sat in a CT otw to lunch with friends. Omg so dem small inside and very cramped like MINI 1st gen. Good thay they will replace this. Current model not worth to own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • U want big, go buy bus lah. Topkek. Or else, buy the IS. Still not big, buy ES. Or GS

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:01 am

junk of a car. Now it is RM300k thanks to the flip flop of MAI and Malaysian Government. One day got tax incentive, another, makan nasi lemak and tidur and forget about the tax incentive.

• Buy my Biza better. Its untested reliability inspires illogical confidence in u. So have confidence in early afterlife if u choose Biza. We at P2 aim to send all there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Same L00 on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm

shameless P1 salesman disguised as P2 salesman.
        If Proton so safe, why Proton drivers died the most in Malaysia car accidents?

• Noobie on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Getting 250K company car soon.

Lexus CT200h, VW Passat CC or BMW 330e??

• qwerty on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Is the ES200 within that price range too?

• Want to regret get a Lexus. Lexus owners always regret. They like to compare their cars to BMW, Mercedes and audi for some reason. You will never see owners of these german cars compare theirs to a Lexus.

• Buy my persona better. I will gip u free VIP service like Najib

• So when will it start kirring pipu? Wait, what am I saying? Its a toyota! Its been killing pipu alredi!

• Alex259 on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:33 am

This is just piece of crap, using Vios platform, selling Lexus price. But when you drive, it just a Vios!!