Nissan NP300 Navara – UK adds Euro 6 engine, AEB

99631nis-143014_10_5

Having just gone on sale last year, the Nissan NP300 Navara has already received a few new upgrades, including a cleaner engine and added safety features. Well, in the United Kingdom at least.

For British buyers, the Renault-sourced YS23 2.3 litre dCi twin-turbo diesel engine – available in 160 PS and 190 PS variants – has been upgraded, cutting carbon dioxide emissions to as low as 159 grams per kilometre, a reduction of 8 g/km. The combined fuel consumption figure has also been reduced to 6.1 litres per 100 km, down from 6.3 l/100 km.

Also incorporated is a new Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR) exhaust aftertreatment system, which utilises AdBlue urea injection to reduce the emission of nitrous oxides (NOx) – the 17 litre tank is enough for up to 11,500 km between refills. The Idle-Stop System (ISS) is also now standard on all manual models – all-in-all, the changes enable the engine to meet Euro 6 emissions standards.

99631nis-143129_10_5

It has to be noted that our NP300 Navara gets the older YD25 2.5 litre mill with variable geometry turbocharging, which produces the same power and torque as the 2.3 litre engine, but at different rpm levels. Carried over from the previous-gen D40 Navara, the bigger engine is meant for countries with fuel grades Euro 4 and lower.

Other additions include a colour multi-info display, cruise control with speed limiter, Bluetooth connectivity and a multifunction steering wheel that is now standard on all models. On the safety side, the Navara is now available with an Around View Monitor (AVM) and Forward Emergency Braking (FEB), the latter being Nissan’s version of autonomous emergency braking (AEB).

One downside is that the kerb weight has been increased by between 5 kg and 38 kg depending on the variant, although the Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) is now also up by between 25 kg and 35 kg.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Wah, UK now Euro 6 engines. What is our sundal MAI and MAA doing? Always make lots of noise but real issues they don’t attend.

When is our Ron 95 going to be clean?? How long to wait?

Now we breathe dirty air because our fuel and engines are 3rd world standards.

MAI pls wake up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Ur breathing dirty air cuz southern masterrace overlord punye kompeni is burning sumatra down. But of course we cannot persoal our overlords. So apa boleh buat?

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:05 am

Your own GLC in Malaysia owns all the companies in Indon. Your own Sime Darby is doing rubbish burning in Indon. Sendiri buat tapi tak nampak

• meejawa on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Would be good to elaborate what “AEB” in the article is since it’s in the title..

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Apologies for that, it stands for autonomous emergency braking; Nissan’s marketing material calls the system Forward Emergency Braking (FEB). The article has been amended. Thanks for the suggestion!

• i misread as Nissan Nirvana

• Heaven on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Owning a Nissan Navara was a nightmare for me. Brake discs issues within 2,000km of ownership. Then the clutch worn off at 17,000km and cost a bomb to replace.

• noel adam on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:45 pm

what model Nissan Navara of your?
      my,..is VL version,..done 2000km ,
      there have been no problems so far,.

and I change tyre size from toyo 255/60R18 to yokohama geolandar AT 285/60R18 kinda improve my 4×4 riding comfort.

• When will the new engine be available for Malaysia market?