SPIED: B8 Volkswagen Passat in M’sia, incl interior

Yet again, the B8 Volkswagen Passat has been spotted in Malaysia. Reader Saufi Che Wan sent us photos of the Euro D-segment sedan parked at the East Coast Mall in Kuantan, including one of the interior. The Hicom sticker confirms that the car was locally-assembled (CKD) at the DRB-Hicom plant in Pekan, Pahang.

This is the first time we’ve seen the front of the Malaysian-spec car, and the full-LED headlights are clear to see here. Also visible is a forward-facing camera at the top of the windscreen, which could indicate the presence of an autonomous emergency braking (AEB) feature.

At the rear, the Passat sports LED tail lights (albeit not the cool smoked items seen on the high-spec diesel model that served as a preview at the Das Event show in 2014), as well as twin integrated exhaust exits.

The latter is an identifier of the top-spec 380 TSI variant – the torque-derived badging is unique to Asian markets – which also gets 18-inch ‘Dartford’ alloy wheels not seen here. There is also a lower-spec 330 TSI variant which gets regular exhaust pipes on one side and smaller 17-inch ‘Istanbul’ alloys.

Inside, this 380 TSI hasn’t been fully specced out – there’s no 12.3-inch virtual instrument display, and the infotainment system is the mid-level Composition Media System with a 6.5-inch touchscreen. What we can see is the wood trim, leather seats, push-button start, Climatronic dual-zone auto air-conditioning and what look like buttons for an auto engine start-stop system and the rear sunblind.

It appears that two engines will be offered – the 330 TSI gets a 1.8 litre TSI turbocharged petrol four-cylinder engine producing 180 PS and 250 Nm of torque.

The 380 TSI receives a larger 2.0 litre TSI mill that kicks out 220 PS and 350 Nm. Both engines are mated to DSG dual-clutch transmissions – seven speed on the 330 TSI, six speed on the 380 TSI.

The Passat is built on the MQB platform, and despite being smaller overall than the outgoing B7, the wheelbase has been stretched some 79 mm to 2,791 mm, providing more leg- and headroom. In addition, the boot has grown by 21 litres to 586 litres, while weight has been cut by up to 85 kg thanks to a lightweight construction and lighter engines. So, what do you think of the new B8 Volkswagen Passat?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• pengsoon on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Harga EEV rebate from RM150,000

• I’ll be waiting for 120K discounted price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • yeah right on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:00 pm

make it 90k instead

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:54 pm

VW should use Volvo theme….
          VW for life

Cause no used car dealer wants to touch any VW in Malaysia. Advertise in mudah 6 months also, to get one caller call you, it is like striking toto jackpot

• VW Owner on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:21 am

Planning to total my VW and claim insurance. That’s the only hope now. But the fooking body is so hard … Professional needed

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Volkswagen owners have the tow truck driver on their speed dial.

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s birthday parties

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for Valentine’s day to join the couple for wine

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s wedding ceremony.

Volkswagen owners visit the tow truck driver when he is ill and take care of him in hospital.

Volkswagen owners children are usually proposed to the children of the tow truck drivers for marriage.

• tokok on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:30 pm

No other reason to buy VW unless is extremely extremely CHEAP.. Once bought, you need to keep it for LIFE already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
        • VW is for LIFE. Toyota is for AFTERLIFE

• Operation Manager on Aug 17, 2016 at 12:20 am

DQ200 limit to cater 250Nm max. 330Nm…? Then 300% more faster kaput..

• VW Owner on Aug 17, 2016 at 4:48 am

Hell true!!!

• Be Wise on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:18 am

Some guideline for everyone. Price before discount which normally you can get more than 10K. Buy later the better.
          2011 Passat … 190K
          2012 Passat … 181K
          2013 Passat … 172K
          2014 Passat … 150K
          2015 Passat … 138K
          2016 Passat … 125K

• Henry on Aug 17, 2016 at 2:26 pm

But the old Passat trade-in price is only 40k.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:46 pm

VW owners must thank VGM for their crap price. VGM themselves selling brand new Passat and Jetta for half the price.

So 2nd hand market collapse lah. Yes, Passat now selling for RM40k. You must thnk VGM for this

• VW owner on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:21 am

VW gets worst bashing than owning a Proton

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:58 am

You are about to cross a river in a village.

Some villagers say there are NO crocodiles at all (akin to DSG scandal has been rectified)

Some villagers say it is infested with crocodiles and many have died over the past few weeks trying to cross the river. (akin to DSG is still problematic)

What do you do? Who do you trust?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • I kokodil hunta. So i go in river. Then get croc skin jacket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 17, 2016 at 12:53 pm

I’d follow itu pepatah Malay – Air tenang jgn disangka tiada buaya. So I will never cross, unless local gov. decided to make a bridge to go cross the river. Then I will cross.

But if the gov. decided to charge toll for bridge then how?

• Its better to loose a penny than to loose a limb

• OMG…why not get a Passat cc year 2013 just abt 90k – 100k….

• Passat CC on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:36 am

I believe the Volkswagen Passat CC with 6 speed Wet Clutch discontinued in 2011, the 2013 model is the Volkswagen CC with 1.8Tsi engine and DSG Dry Clutch (same as Passat), so quite problematic.

If one is aiming for the new Volkswagen Passat, the 380 TSI with 6 speed Wet Clutch should be a better buy and much more reliable, however as some mentioned here Wet Clutch is pretty expensive to service/ maintain. However if the 380 TSI is priced competitively (less than 150k) I am sure it will be a good buy for many people.

• OMG…ugly and boring looks…who will buy? hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Ootai on Aug 16, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Just wait for the discount at year end or February next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Why is it that the 330Nm version uses 6-speed dual wet clutch DCT while the 380Nm version uses the 7-speed dry dual clutch DCT? Or should it be the other way around?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • So the lower range can kong faster. Then owners can tryout the VW service center with German touch

• Avoid dry clutch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • tokok on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Big capacity must use wet clutch to handle the torque. But higher maintenance cost on the wet is unavoidable. Each time cost more than a thousand.

• Can’t handle the torque. Same reason why the W221 S-Class used 7 speed for the S63 & 5 speed for the S65

• Tommy on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:21 pm

It’s actually 6speed wet for the 380 and 7 speed dry for the 330.

• I tot the 7 spd dsg dry clutch can only handled up 250nm of torque? But this 1.8 liter churning 330nm of torque? Can the 7 spd dry clutch dsg handle this?

• I think should be 6 spd wet for 330 and 7 spd wet for 380. The 7 spd dry (DQ200) can’t handle more than 250nm

• camtakpro on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:28 am

VW: All DSG problem resolved!

So why you worry?

• Henry on Aug 17, 2016 at 2:28 pm

You should run out to buy yourself one. Just to prove yourself correct. Hehehe …

• Yo8888 on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Read properly ley. The 380 using wet clutch.

• Ch Tan on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Were u reading the wrong way?

• Go read the article again before commenting here donkey….

• Tommy on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Please read properly. Volkswagen dry dual clutch gearbox only support up to 250Nm. Anything above 250Nm volkswagen will use wet dual clutch type, regardless of 6 or 7 speed.

• Golfer on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Omg. I want this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Dafuq with the wood finish…

• Everyone has their own cup of tea.

But I’m with you on this one. Although I can consider myself an “Uncle” but I refuse to let that seep into my car’s interior..

• Once arrived at Malaysian shore, Malaysians can get this German beauty at only RM338,888. Thanks to that CCB who created Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Was in Pekan last weekend and I thought I saw something looking vaguely like the B8 Passat when I passed by the plant. I think this was the one I saw.

• Volkswagen's Victims on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Dry clutch? Gg

• haizzzbmw on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Wanted to trade in BMW 316i 2013 for new Passat.

dealer gip rm110k only, bought new car 210k..

3years rugi RM100k :((

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • may i know why u wanna change your 316i? btw do u have problem with your bmw in these 3 years? interested to know

• Kenton on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:54 am

I got a fren looking for 316. Drop me a msg at facebook user kenton khor

• camtakpro on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:29 am

Continental is all about passion, not RV.

• Best men win, never mind la rv as long u can win..
      Buy kacil lor, after 20 yrs just rm25k rugi

• bro…thats the depreciation rate of most cars above 200k…approx 20% p/a …after 3 years, easily half the price is gone. Tak kan bru tau?

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:23 am

Ppl like you who has the money will always go for new since it is more affordable. Hence, low demand for used buys. When dealers accept the car they don’t know when will be able to sell off. This is reason for low offering

• Henry on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:56 am

This is to be expected when a big chunk of the original purchase price consists of tax. Alternatively, you can buy a used car or the cheapest new car possible. This way you cap your loss. No use crying over spilt milk now. Nasi sudah jadi bubur.

• Gavin on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Not too sure about the face of the car

• contender on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:56 pm

This VW cars in Malaysia can only buy when they give huge discounts ……

• Tommy on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Fantastic car. Sign me up!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 16, 2016 at 9:34 pm

if u want a german branded car with italian reliability…get this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Dual clutch is very nice to drive.

Go and test drive one.

• Henry on Aug 17, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Who don’t know? It is the frequent repairs that is not nice. Yes?

• Twincharged on Aug 17, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Henry, are you a vw owner, if not, I suggest just don’t comment without knowing the facts. I own a dry clutch box and I am absolutely happy with it. It’s a joy to drive! Twin charged VW mated to a 7 speed dsg. The car is reliable. I guess there are many ‘engineers’ here who are better than the engineers in Volkswagen. I guess it’s true, empty vessels make the most noise.

• camtakpro on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:10 am

Trying hard to increase your second hand offering?

VW: All DSG resolved!
          MO1: I’m clean!

• come on, put in a 7 speed or 8 speed conventional torque convertor automatic gearbox, so difficult? this prove their higher management were isolated with the dsg claim case from their SC…

• Prereg available during launch time?

• Prassat on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:34 pm

One year later they will sell for RM118,888

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:52 pm

B8 please B-gone. MY pipu had enough of your ‘box melodrama.

• applegreen on Aug 16, 2016 at 10:55 pm

love the interior, much much better than new perdana

• Jasjos on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:08 pm

“Also visible is a forward-facing camera at the top of the windscreen, which could indicate the presence of an autonomous emergency braking (AEB) feature.”

That should be lane assist. AEB radar is located behind the front grill emblem normally.

• Nice – but as far as I know – the 1.8 Tsi engine in the B8passat produces 178hp/180PS and 250 Nm torque that’s currently being sold in Australia and Singapore? Are we getting something different?

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 12:26 am

What the….2016 reaching 4th quarter soon and this model hasn’t even launched yet. By the time we get this in 2017 the rest of the world will start selling the face lift. Good luck in selling a car that is effectively obsolete unless the price tag rivals the new Accordana.

• Jason S on Aug 17, 2016 at 4:44 am

It’s sad to see the “German Engineering” on their elaborate scheme to deceive consumers involving diesel emission.
    Sorry VW, you will be the last car manufacturer for me to consider when buying a new car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:59 am

AFAIK the camera on top is not for Front Assist (autonomous emergency braking). VW uses a radar for that, which sits in the front bumper. The number plate covers it up, so we can’t tell if the car has Front Assist… The radar sensor used for Front Assist is also used for Adaptive Cruise Control… so it would make sense for the car to have both, if it has it.

VW typically uses the windscreen camera for 3 features: Traffic sign recognition (actually surprisingly useful), Lane Assist (with self steering function… works… ok la. You should definitely have your hands on the wheel, cause it sometimes oversees something, but it makes driving easier as you don’t have to put in effort to keep the car in lane… just have the hands on the wheel), and Dynamic Light Assist (the camera sees where other cars are, and blocks the light in those areas… that way you can drive with high beam at night. See the link http://mom.volkswagen.com/content/medialib/vwd4/global/mom/passat-b8/Content/cu_43_dynamiclightassist/_jcr_content/renditions/item.494.234.file/cu_43_dynamiclightassist.jpg It works quite well, haven’t spent enough time at night on B roads yet, and mine is based on HID and not LED).

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:09 am

Btw., as for the features… as long as the hardware is there (i.e. the camera), it should be possible to unlock features, even when weren’t ordered. i.e. if the camera is there for Dynamic Light Assist (which is quite likely, given that the car has the LED headlights), you can probably unlock the Lane Assist and Traffic Sign Recognition too (my car came with DLA and Traffic Sign Recognition, I had someone hack my car so that Lane Assist works too, and it works just like from factory). For the adaptive cruise control a different steering wheel may be necessary, though it looks like the buttons are there? Can’t see what is printed on them though.

I’ve driven a lot with Adaptive Cruise Control, and it works very well, even in corners. It only overlooked one silver Toyota Yaris, but that was when going over a hill, so the car must have looked very flat, and it’s likely that had I gotten closer to it it would have noticed the car and slammed the brakes. It’s a wonderful system, and together with the DSG it is amazing in traffic jams. All you need to do is press a button on the steering wheel when the traffic starts moving again. Everything else is done by the car.

• Jobless on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:38 am

From what i saw, Many VW cars driven recklessly, especially when first launched here, maybe they showing off and burn the DSG, besides thehot weather not really suitable for dry clutch or turbo here

• kumar on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:12 am

Tak Nak!

• Rusmah on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:29 am

Passat B8, car of the year in Yr 2015.
    VW produce driver’s car. But not produce reliable car for asia.
    German, they put priority on safety, driving pleasure, performance.
    Reliability seems not their main concern.
    cars are selling at low and affordable price.
    100k-150k km mileage are “Scrapped car” in their mind.

In boleh land, we put reliable as top priority.
    Therefore, “less reliable” is our image on german marque.

Honestly, to own a german car, don expect it’s reliability on par or out perform than Japs.

It’s similar to keep a German Shepard, more care, maintenance are required.
    If not, its better keep a local breed or Japan Akita.

High performance = less reliability.
    Less performance = High reliability.

Really depends what you want, what you need, how you spend your time, money, desire, life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Disagree on high performance equating to less reliability. Japanese performance cars since the 90’s such as Skylines, Type R’s High powered Lexus’s and Honda’s have given far more performance with the reliability as well of course the costs to fix if it broke were high but they rarely did on their own unless the owner trashes them mercilessly …

The problem why German (and most euro brands) cars tend to have reliability issues because they are usually the ones that try to test the waters with unproven new technology from part suppliers and their internal engineering teams while the Japanese prefer a ‘wait and see approach’ that allows them to get the basics right…

It’s 2016 and more than decent reliability even in Supercars should be a standard requirement unless it’s one of those boutique carmakers like Noble or something…..

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:35 am

As I know the new 7 speed dry-clutch has no more issue, but what I know is the jerking feel will still remain and it is less comfortable when it happen of jerking. So it is still no-no to me.

• Its a known fact dsg/twin clutch gb are not smooth in stop start traffic compared to a cvt or even torque converter gb are much more smoother. Most european dont commute wt their cars to work, they use public transport which are well plan in their cities. That’s why most of the bought a manual or twin clutch auto gb, its for those winding roads….not traffic jams. Here, we bttr stick to torque converter gb or CVT for those traffic jams.

• Is DSG still an issue in VW?

• Aero (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:53 am

This new B8 Passat is very popular in the U.K.. I saw many of them in use as taxis while I was there last month. Generally speaking, if a car is being used as a taxi, it means that it’s either very cheap or very reliable (sometimes, both).

I hope HAMM has the capabilities and equipment needed to properly assemble the new B8 Passat and are aiming to match the mother plant’s quality standards. Unlike the popular Polo, the CKD packs for the B8 Passat are likely being imported from Germany (as opposed to India), so it’s no budget third-world spec model. I’m very impressed with the inclusion of AEB, very few cars here have it.

Most important thing will be the price. Will the B8 Passat get EEV status ? We’ll see.

• The problem is, gip AEB and EEV oso, pipu still say DSG.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:01 pm

We don’t know if the car includes AEB. VW doesn’t use the camera for that purpose, it is used for Dynamic Light Assist (allows for high beam without blinding), Traffic Sign Recognition (puts the symbol onto the dashboard screen, like what the speed limit is) and Lane Assist. Can be either of these or all of them.

AEB and Adaptive Cruise Control is done via radar, sitting underneath the number plate. Since they put an oversized number plate on the car you can’t see if it has the radar (it wouldn’t be functional with that number plate too).

IMHO the car will have Dynamic Light Assist (the LED headlights hint towards that). The steering wheel has buttons where the ACC would be controlled from, BUT it is impossible to read the buttons, so it may or may not have ACC. If it does, it will also have AEB/Front Assist.

• 916 desmo on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

a cheaper Audi….if u want more luxury, get the audi instead.

• Leafable on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:51 am

Just what I suspect no virtual cockpit. Not buying for low spec.

• VW car…. only thing afraid is when u buy it few months later big discount and your car already depreciate even more than normal.

• Joholan on Aug 17, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Myself EOS being 8 years , 6 speed dsg still performing good!!

• Deadpool on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Buy VW car and you will get more guest to attend your son birthday party.

Why?
    Cause you are too often sending your problematic vehicle to service centre until the receptionist, technician & cleaning Kakak there know you and make good fren with you.

Peace

• camtakpro on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:16 am

Why? Because those guests pity your son always reach school late and in tow truck.

God damn it, he’s just a kid.

• Alex259 on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:29 am

Very simple concept here, if you cannot afford the depreciation of These continental cars, go buy crap Toyota for risking you and your whole family life. Now not only German makes, but all cars suffers great depreciation issue. Don’t believe me, drive your 4 years old Altis V and go round the market, you mostly get below 65K,not trade in. So……. What you gonna say else

• richard engel on Nov 14, 2018 at 9:41 am

Hi I like the Malaysia model B8 Passat with wood interior trim does any one know where I can purchase maybe aftermarket or OEM?