Police book 15 Pokemon Go players for obstruction

roadblock-pokemon

The roads of Georgetown in Penang are narrow, and the last thing the locals need is indiscriminate parkers that block traffic. But some Pokemon Go players are inconsiderate, thinking of nothing but to catch them all.

Bernama reports that Penang police have issued summonses to fifteen motorists for indiscriminate parking and blocking traffic just to play Pokemon Go in the vicinity of the Lebuh Acheh and Lebuh Cannon areas here this week.

Northeast district police chief ACP Mior Faridalathrash Wahid said the boys in blue swooped in after receiving reports from residents regarding the presence of people who were disrupting the peace in the area. “Residents in the area claimed that a crowd began to gather from 8pm to 5am to play the game, making a lot of noise and disturbing the neighbourhood, triggering unease,” he said.

ACP Mior added that the police operation from 10pm to midnight found people playing Pokemon Go after parking their vehicles indiscriminately and blocking traffic in the area. He said there was no offence in playing the hit augmented reality game but players should not disturb others in the process.

Here’s one from us: do not play Pokemon Go while driving, and when catching monsters on foot, please be aware of your surroundings. Be considerate.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• abg gagah on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:56 am

Police also in “gonna catch em all” mode

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Fanta Strawberry on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

I have an idea. A new app for police to catch the offenders. Just by snap photos

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:51 am

How are polis going to catch these offenders? The biggest Pokemon Go who stole RM2.6 billion also they so scared to arrest.

Basic upholding of the law also they don’t know how to do, how to arrest the kan bilis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t worry, this game is just a fad. Gameplay is so unexciting, need to walk around so much under the hot sun or dark places at night. Not much you can do in the game apart from catch very common pokemons and battle in gyms. Soon players are going to be fed up and go back to their regular lives.

• I am pkmn go player on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:03 am

Good..saman more.. bodoh main tipu..org suruh jalan u naik kereta and buat obstruction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Holofanboi on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:06 am

Its retarded. I managed 8km walking round the shoplots noticing the exact same bunch of cars wasting fuel rounding the area’s pokestops.

Im frankly surprised 8km isnt that far of a distance to walk @_@….when you are distracted by a game that is xD

• aBg_rOnGak on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:40 am

It matters not much whether they are on foot or on vehicle…road/peoples’ safety are more important.

Btw, padan muka

• Smart Player on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:18 am

tangkap orang macam ni pandai la…

• PJ Hantu on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:20 am

Pokediot drove a 206 blocked my gate last night…I stared at him for 3 minutes next to his car but don’t even realise there is somebody next to him…

• Hide next to his car and start to shake his car kuat kuat….sure his scare like hell thought it was ghost! Yeah it is ghost festival now

• Yokohama24 on Aug 17, 2016 at 10:26 am

Not only inconsiderate towards the neighbourhood but ALSO INCONSIDERATE to OTHER POKEMON GO TRAINERS.

PLEASE LA…. DON’T GIVE OPPORTUNITY FOR GOMEN TO BAN THIS GAME. THINK ABOUT OTHER PLAYERS AS WELL.

WHAT IS THE USE OF CATCHING A RARE POKEMON IF THE GOMEN DECIDED TO BAN THE GAME LATER BECAUSE OF STUPID IDIOTS LIKE YOU ALL WHO CAUSE DISTURBANCE AND OBSTRUCTION TO THE PUBLIC. THINK A BIT LA……

• Dun worry. If kena ban, we RBA will Bersih for our human rights to obstruct traffic to play.

• inb4 netizens will organise Bersih to protest PDRM for obstructing their human rights to catch em all. Ayoh lah. Pokemon Protes Bersama!

• And this is what happens when someone gets too addicted playing this game. Nak bankan tapi kesianlah the ones yang tak addicted, this is what happenslah. Bodohlah these hardcore players. Never consider others.

• klguy on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:25 am

kiasu ma, what u expect

• WaJib on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:41 am

Better work hard la…catch pokemon wont let u rich sochai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Aug 17, 2016 at 11:48 am

Serve them right. They are a danger to themselves and other people.

• I rather play with my bird than catch Pokemon

Pokemon is jepunis overlord mainan. My bird is local made

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 17, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Apa main tak bagitau gua? BOJIO…

• Never bothered playing pokemon go, it’s just a distraction that would hinder lifes work.
    Clearly the game wasn’t being played as intended , kids go out for walks and exercise, see popular things in surrounding, not just stare blindly at the phones. adults are even worst, plays it while driving in cars / on bikes, parks at peoples’ house just to catch a virtual creature while pointing the camera at houses. that’s creepy man.
    I for one would agree this game should get ban in Malaysia.

• kumar on Aug 17, 2016 at 3:47 pm

for those who drive and play and those who cross the road without looking, the nirvana package is waiting.