Suzuki shuts down Malaysia motorcycle plant

2016-Suzuki-Satria-F150-23

Suzuki has ceased assembly operations in Malaysia with the shutting down of its assembly plant in Prai, Penang. The plant assembled scooters and kapchais, including the Suzuki Address, Nex, Axelo and Belang, amongst other sub-150 cc models.

Due to the limited economies of scale due to the factory’s size, the decision was made to cease operations. According to a Nikkei Asian Review report, production at the plant had been halved to 8,000 units in 2015 compared to the numbers in 2013.

With the shutting down of the plant, Suzuki Assemblers Malaysia will concentrate on the large-displacement motorcycle market, with units imported from Japan. According to industry sources, Suzuki intends to maintain a presence in Malaysia for the foreseeable future.

Current owners of Suzuki scooters and kapchais can rest assured that spare parts and service will continue to be available via Suzuki’s dealer network and parts stockists.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ini mesti semua salah… oh wai… cannot persoal, later kena gag order

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Same L00 on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:13 pm

No matter how good is your bike, you still need to hide under the bridge during rain or do free tanning service under shinny sun in Malaysia. Everyone rather get a car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 74
      • But pipu rather buy my untested Biza and not ur toyota junks, woh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:53 pm

This is normal. So many companies are closing down and moving to Thailand and Indonesia. Thousands of people in Malaysia are losing their jobs.

Why? Because they are scared to invest in a country where corruption has become normal.

No matter how much low life cybertroopers can come online and paint a good picture of Malaysia, investors are all closing shop in Malaysia. Even Honda and Toyota also planning to close their CKD in Malaysia and open in Thailand.

Japanese and Mat Salleh very scared of Malaysia now. Nama busuk teruk teruk. Judiciary also cannot be trusted to resolve disputes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
        • Izrail on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:23 am

What Penang government is doing? Busy making the developer wealthy and pushing the penangites aside?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Kuntau on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:51 am

Hahaha, ALthough I agree that there are corruption here but comparing here to Indonesia and Thailand are just stupid. Ever heard of the infamous Thai Junta? or perhaps Indonesia long history of corruption?

• wrong. indonesia corruption is worst than malaysia

• Katy Perry Boomi on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Indonesia used to be the worse but now not anymore. They have series of high profile corruption cases but it cannot beat bolehland eventhough we accumulate their corruption value in rupiah and cent ✌

• Shogunagogo on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Agreed. Its not about corruption, its about cheap labour and market. Suzuki kapcai in Malaysia are very rare. But their kapcai very reliable. Once bought, keep it till kaput. No RV. But in Indonesia or thai, they got market. Im one of suzuki kapcai owner lol.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Companies are closing cause Perkasa, which represents the majority already said, it is our culture to sleep during work hours.

Mat Salleh and Japanese heard this all takut already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • the kommuter on Aug 18, 2016 at 10:23 am

but you also would hide under a bridge if you park your car far away.

• Nizzan on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Buy Yamaha or Honda in Malaysia la. Suzuki for the Indian. Wander how much ppl buang kerja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 59
    • KALAI on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Racist much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Please read and understand his comment. The fact that it was you or only you that think it is a racist statement. What he mean is Indian (India Nationality) and there Suzuki is one of the main player in automotive.

• Good also lah, kurang sikit mat rempit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • The Mat Rempek on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:24 pm

The problem is we dont use Suzuki, we using Yamaha & Honda, xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Close also Honda, Toyota n etc..kurang cikit jem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Shogunagogo on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Mat rempit dont ride suzuki, they go to yamaha, honda. Suzuki for me, slow and steady. Ride till kaput cant sell. But very reliable bike maybe my children can use when they become teenager. Lol

• panjang on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:33 pm

How many people got laid off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • immafanbuoi on Aug 17, 2016 at 9:28 pm

at least, someone with rational mind is here!!

• karimon on Aug 18, 2016 at 8:22 am

memang elok kilang tutup..staff yg berpuluh tahun keje pon basic xsampai 2000.. pangkat supervisor n top sume cina.. bila dh xda bangsa dia baru amik melayu..tu pon basic beZZa dgn kaum depa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Diaorang xde keje nanti lagi marah, lagi diaorang mau vote tukang. Tapi xperasan ini salah tu org.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 18, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Sudah tutup kilang, 2000 pun dah takde lagi.

Kasihan orang dibuang kerja.

• Really sad news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • And people complaint about Proton struggles in Malaysia.

• rashdan on Aug 17, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Foreign investors closing shop and MITI still dragging its feet kena teh tarik b4 even bothering to look into the reasons why they are pulling out.
    Zero direction NAP & lack of incentives to invest in Msia is the root cause & yet MITI thinks that foreigners are begging to invest in Msia. Bercukur lah Msia is on track to become a high earning nation come 2020 according to Pemandu CEO Idris Jala.
    Per capita of US $15,000.
    Bercukur-cukur lah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • Izrail on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:04 pm

What is Lim Guan Eng doing in Penang? Seagate and WD had shut down, and now Suzuki…Penangites must be worried…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
    • How dare u persoal, when even I dun dare to persoal dia! Jaga jaga, nanti Albert and his dupes datang gag order sama lu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • How come they don’t move the factory to umno states then? Ohh too much logic

• Gracke on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Don’t be worry…..Suzuki wanna concentrate on big bike….yes, it’s time to bring in all GSX-R superbike models!!!! :-) No more scooters….

• sohai on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:38 pm

They just want to concentrate on not making loses, and hopefully make some money too…

If their big bikes don’t sell (I have my doubts too, because those latest Kawa bikes are just awesome and Yamaha is very aggressive on pricing), they will bungkus everything for good.

• Bad Engshui on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Next hopefully DAPster will find “Smiley faces” to lead Penang.
    Yes, rambo or tiger face is good for war but you need

Sweet face, behavior & speech to attract investor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • *Looks at their linup* Nope. Cant seem to find anyone that matches ur description. Perhaps u can try the Lost & Never Found?

• kapchai on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Are they going to totally stop selling kapchai or going to import from Indonesia?

• Anonymous on Aug 17, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Suzuki still in Penang… but will only be assembling n selling large displacement bikes in the near future… hope can get them bikes bawah harga pasaran.

• Guan Yin Pu Sa on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Semua ni mesti salah Lim Guan Eng! Salah DAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Ootai on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Suzuki RGV120, the last 2 stroker that gave good sales to suzuki malaysia. Subsequent models not favourably accepted comparatively to yamaha kupcais.

• karimon on Aug 18, 2016 at 8:15 am

pasang moto besar pon 650cc dan keatas,berapa sangat sales boleh dapat…marketing tido,harap roadshow kat shopping mall n billboard hgway..puuiihh…

• KTMRC16 on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:02 am

The Kapcai segment is highly competitive where the price is very sensitive, even if the difference is just a few hundred ringgit.
    Frankly, the Suzuki brand is nowhere close to Honda and Yamaha. They are considered the ‘last choice’ for Japanese bikes. Too bad. My first Kapcai was a Suzuki.

• donno on Aug 18, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Suzuki motorcycles in Malaysia once one of the most innovative motorcycle manufacturers in Malaysia, and Malaysia was the most important plant for suzuki in South east Asia. With brisk sales of scooter, under 150cc bikes. Starting the early millennium their marketing lost touch with what the customers want, selling bikes that no one wanted. If some new start ups like SYM (megafortune penang) and DEMAK (sarawak) could outsell suzuki, that tells a lot about how bad the suzuki management is doing in Malaysia…

• sohai on Aug 18, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Malaysia used to be somebody too during the 80s-90s.
    That was the time we could attract companies like Intel and whatnot to invest in Malaysia.
    We could even have super big Fortune 500 companies like Nestle to list in KLSE.
    Unfortunately, others have since caught up with us.
    If we don’t get our act together, we could end up like Suzuki, bungkus.