McLaren 570GT MSO Concept – electrochromic roof

McLaren 570GT MSO Concept 1

McLaren has revealed the new McLaren 570GT MSO Concept, which will be put on display during the upcoming Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance event. The concept is the work of McLaren’s bespoke division MSO, and features new technology that will likely appear in future cars.

So, what’s special here? For starters, the sensible boffins at MSO “recognise the heat of the Californian summer,” which can make things a little uncomfortable for passengers in a standard 570GT. Therefore, the car gets an electrochromic roof, which takes the standard-fit glass with its 18% tint, and introduces an electrochromic interlayer.

Using a touch-sensitive headliner, the electrochromic roof can adjust the amount of light coming in, with five different settings from almost clear to a dark tint. If all this sounds familiar, Mercedes-Benz offers a similar tech, dubbed Magic Sky Control, although there’s no fancy touch-sensitive headliner mode of operation.

Aside from the roof, the 570GT MSO Concept also gains a titanium exhaust system that is 30% lighter than the standard stainless steel system, and features heat shields that are finished in a golden titanium nitride tint in a homage to the McLaren F1’s gold-lined engine bay. Oh, the heat shield will also naturally change colour to a blue/purple as the system heats and cools through its cycle.

Elsewhere, the concept is finished in “Elite ‘Pearl White” paintwork, complimented by the MSO Piano Black package (deep gloss black finish on the wheels, side skirt, front and rear and door inserts), as well as gloss-lacquered carbon-fibre sill panels. The ‘By McLaren’ interior meanwhile, introduces Saddle Tan leather, a 12-speaker Bowers and Wilkins Hi-Fi system, plus carbon-fibre and gloss black trim.

No change to the car’s engine, with the 3.8 litre V8 biturbo engine continuing to produce 570 PS and 600 Nm. It’s paired with a seven-speed seamless-shift transmission that sends power to the rear wheels and works together with the normal, sport or track and track modes. The 570GT goes from 0-100 km/h in 3.4 seconds and onwards to 200 km/h in 9.8 seconds and has a top speed of 328 km/h.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This oso bodo piang wanna concept here, tease there, show everywhere. Just sell it alredi lah! This McDodo is not as godlike as my godkompeni P2. We so confident start selling Biza straight from prototype that we dun need to test here, test there, test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars.

So buy my Biza instead. It inspires illogical confidence in u that its better than this concept car that not on sale yet, cuz it fear the godlike presence of my confidently untested Biza. Plis go to #RoadtoNirvanaPackage for more details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Kunta Kinte on Aug 18, 2016 at 11:28 am

The pakcik neighbour beside my house told me the new Persona looks better than this McLaren.

• Jimmy on Aug 18, 2016 at 1:07 pm

I mentioned before.