SPYSHOTS: Lexus LS – next-gen luxury sedan spotted

Next-Lexus-LS-3

This blobby mess of a thing is the next-generation Lexus LS, caught by our spy photographers. The upcoming version of the flagship luxury sedan replaces the current fourth-gen model that has been in on sale in some form or another for the past 10 years.

Ignore the round halogen headlights and lorry-like rectangular tail lights – the real production-spec LS is set to gain styling inspired by the LF-FC concept shown at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. The low nose (reminiscent of the new LC coupé), upswept window line and a very aggressive version of Lexus’ signature spindle grille (which you can see poking out of the heavy camouflage) are all cues taken from the show car.

Next-Lexus-LS-11

Under the skin, the next LS will be based on Lexus’ new premium rear-wheel drive luxury platform, part of the global architecture for luxury vehicles (GA-L), which made its debut on the LC. Expect the car to be powered with the usual V8 engine as with the current LS 460, with a hybrid version utilising the LC 500h’s Multi Stage Hybrid system slated to be offered as well.

Further down the line, Lexus is expected to unveil a hydrogen fuel cell-powered version before the year 2020 – the system, which powers the rear wheels and can also drive twin in-wheel electric to provide all-wheel drive, was previewed on the LF-FC.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 18, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Wow, that thing looks super sleek, and the rims are huge. So unlike any LS before this since 1989. Can’t wait to see it without all the camo.

• So bad, spend a million to get a car shape like Nissan Teana

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 18, 2016 at 5:43 pm

LS big failure in Malaysia. New LS460L selling for RM900k, 4 years later, the car is sold for RM90k.

King of RV Depreciation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • meejawa on Aug 18, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Find me ANY example of what you quote here in Malaysia, and I will give you RM100k extra. Else don’t act smart, it makes you look stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • 4 year old LS for RM90k? Take my money for RM100k!

• Fugly and unnecessarily need to camo test like in 20th century. Unlike our godlevel Biza which even no test, alredi inspires confidence that it is a better car compared to this big bro topkek.

P2godkompeni > Toyota, Lexus, Audi, BMW, Mesidis, P1, Honda, Hyundai, VW, Bentley, McDodo, Felali.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • meemaggi on Aug 18, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Meh… Boring old recycled story like Kunta

• But unlike that Albert dupe, Im veri confident with my untested Biza. I have so much confidence in it that I tell my customers:
        why u need to test this car b4 buy, even we at P2 have so much confidence in this car that we dun need to test before selling, so why u need to test? Just shaddup and gip ur moneh!

Then they so impress with my confidence that they book without testing. Thats how confident we r in P2.

• Damnit…..lexus caught on with bmw by using fake lights on test mules….

• Knight E on Aug 18, 2016 at 6:57 pm

the front and rear lamp is fully cover to very classic lamp and hide the shape of real lamp…nice cover…

• Jimmy on Aug 19, 2016 at 12:12 am

Typical Toyota Nissan Honda:
    longest possible front and rear overhangs,
    plus,
    ultra-narrow superslim front and rear tracts.
    If this World has no S-class and 7-series, I think this LS will have a width of 1820mm; they like it.

Don’t read this: it is criticism. Do you no good.

• Cars that ave the longest front overhang are typically most VWs, most Audis, GM, Volvo, Renauts etc..

• longjaafar on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:23 am

If only the plunk in a 3 litre motor in that body, it will sell well. When everyone is downsizing their engines, they still choose to go big.

• Lexus is for American one la, they selling very well there.