Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 SKD launched: AMG, RM326k

Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 4Matic AMG Line 1

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has launched the locally-assembled version of the Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 4Matic. The first SUV to be built at the Pekan plant, it brings along a slight saving over the current fully-imported (CBU) models, along with some added kit.

It has to be noted that the GLC is not a completely knocked-down (CKD) model, but rather semi knocked-down (SKD), with the body and panels already coming into Malaysia from Germany pre-welded and painted. MBM vice president of sales and marketing Mark Raine said that full CKD operations for the GLC will commence once a new paint shop is added to the plant.

Available in a single AMG Line spec, the SKD model is priced at RM325,888 on-the-road without insurance, exactly the same price as the CBU GLC 250 Exclusive and RM3,000 less than the imported AMG Line. Included is a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

On the outside, the SKD model is identical to the current AMG Line model, coming in with the full AMG kit – including more aggressive front and rear bumpers, twin exhaust exits, and protective skid plates. Also fitted are LED Intelligent headlights, LED tail lights, side steps, and 20-inch AMG multispoke alloy wheels. An AMG sports suspension system is included, lowering the ride height by 15 mm.

Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 4Matic AMG Line 3

The inside is mostly similar, with an AMG interior styling package throwing in Artico faux leather, open-pore black ash wood trim and an AMG flat-bottomed three-spoke multifunction steering wheel. There’s also keyless entry, a panoramic sliding sunroof, Thermotronic triple-zone automatic climate control, Active Parking Assist, rear side window roller blinds and a powered tailgate with Hands-Free Access.

Elsewhere, a 13-speaker Burmeister 590 W sound system connected to the basic Audio 20 CD infotainment system, a seven-inch display, a 360-degree camera system and a Garmin Map Pilot navigation system.

So what does it get compared to the CBU? New additions are a touchpad and palm rest above the COMAND controller on the transmission tunnel, a storage package, ambient lighting, illuminated door sill plates and puddle lighting that projects the Mercedes emblem onto the ground.

Safety kit is comprehensive and includes seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), Collision Prevention Assist Plus, Crosswind Assist, Attention Assist and Pre-Safe system.

The mechanicals have been left unchanged, so under the bonnet sits a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, producing 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm. It’s mated to a 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission that sends power through a 4Matic all-wheel drive system.

Zero to 100 km/h is dispatched in 7.3 seconds, and the GLC 250 will go on to a top speed of 222 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated between 6.5 and 7.1 litres per 100 km on the European NEDC cycle.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• manly on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:39 pm

doesn’t look manly enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Persona is more beautiful than this luxury car. I wonder why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • Agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Already GLC big failure in Malaysia. Never see one on the road. Now they do this. In US it cost US$39k. A cheap car.

In Malaysia, it becomes super high price.

• Mikey on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:05 pm

The fact that you mention “luxury” means you know that the car is not your normal car. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder & that makes it debatable. I bet you if you were offered as your birthday gift, you will choose the GLC over a Persona.
            What is life if you do not know how to savior or appreciate the good thing. Lastly, you will know what I mean when you sit or test drive one. I sincerely hope you will own one when you grow older & when you are more successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:02 pm

The fact that you mention “luxury” means you know that the car is not your normal car. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder & that makes it debatable. I bet you if you were offered as your birthday gift, you will choose the GLC over a Persona.
        What is life if you do not know how to savior or appreciate the good thing. Lastly, you will know what I mean when you sit or test drive one. I sincerely hope you will own one when you grow older & when you are more successful.

• You like em manly too? So do I

• Fullstop on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:14 am

Must well top up a bit, abt rm60k for full spec volvo XC90 or bmX5

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:10 am

Mercedes customers are so mad yesterday. I think 80% of them are moving towards BMW. This is as good as throwing taik on their faces. RM3k is such an insult.

People rather buy an X5 Hybrid Plug In. That is a real D segment large SUV. This GLC is not a SUV at all. Fake SUV. Proper SUV from merc is the GLE 400 or ML

Somemore, when GLC250 plug in come out at RM250k next year, you will be weeping

In other countries, the Fair Trading Office will prosecute on behalf of the rakyat for RM3k insult. In Malaysia, since all car companies are owned by the Government (except MBM), there is a precedent that nobody can sue any car company

Bodoh kerajaan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Can MBM in Malaysia stop cheating Malaysians and treating us like stupid?

• Dr Mamak on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:15 am

Best wait for ckd GLC coupe.

• JamesMay on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

So you’re telling me that the cost of the cbu AMG model is just 3K more than the SKD model…. So what’s the point of assembling here in the 1st place?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 4
    • Nenek Kau on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:59 pm

and this removal cost 3k only??
      “The Off-Road Engineering Package on the CBU car, which added a Downhill Speed Regulation (DSR) function and Off-road, Incline, Slippery and Trailer selectable driving modes on the Dynamic Select system, has been dropped.”

and with that price, the car doesnt have blind spot monitoring??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:20 am

MBM has just made a fool of all Malaysians. BMW is also SKD lah. So don’t try to cheat us MBM.

Just admit it, you want to untung lebih.

• Good question!!! Disappointed.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Better get 330e or top up a bit for X5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • leiloumou on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:24 pm

So you wanna spend another 3K more or save that 3K i ask you.I let you choose

• Mercedes on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Higher profit margin lor, it’s a Merc so people are gonna buy it no matter how.

• Suzuka Mayojita on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:57 pm

To please the local government?

• Go walk into a showroom and check the imported version then compare with this SKD version and you will see the SKD has more stuff loaded, and still $3k cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • Jobless on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:39 pm

But the Off-Road Engineering Package on the CBU car, which added a Downhill Speed Regulation (DSR) function and Off-road, Incline, Slippery and Trailer selectable driving modes on the Dynamic Select system, has been dropped. So loaded in some stuff but also take out others but price cut by 3k only.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:40 pm

yea and much inferior quality…panels start falling off…

• To prepare the assemblers for full CKD?
      So that there is no big disruption in the supply chain?
      To work out all the problems of assembling new model b4 go full CKD?

Take ur pick.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Ok so the price will continue to drop once CKD swings in…wonder who will take the bait n buy this SKD model then.

• digidigi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:26 pm

at this price point, buyer wont mind paying 60k more for a X5e which is one class higher, better power, beter fuel efficiency, and better warranty and service package.

• Thomas Heng on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:33 pm

I’m go to X5. I’m the one waiting GLC to CKD and hope reduce around 20k. I’m in between 388k X5 or 308k-328k GLC.

If GLC drop to 308k I will choose GLC because 80k quite a big save for me. Now only 60k difference between two. I decided go to X5 because it is one segment up, one year more warranty (unlimited) & 5 years free services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Why bother to tell what you want to buy? After 2 years sushi has higher RV than your sausage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Only 3k different from CBU, I also go for X5, 2 level up.

• Dr. Boobies on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:06 am

Thomas, if you’re considering a car in this segment and price bracket, pls choose the ONE car you really want/desire. No point calculating here and there and b*tch about that 80k savings

• Schmitt on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:12 am

Be prepared for a very long waiting list for the X5

• Aiyo kena short change gonna cancel booking

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:13 pm

and the downfall of mercedes malaysia starts…sales people getting cocky in the showrooms…too good sales figures….turning into the new audi euromobil glenmarie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Why the floor is brown and easy to dirty? Yuck! If this was a P1, bashers wud bash this point over 9000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Can't beat stupidity on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:09 am

the ‘floor’ is brown piece of paper cover so stupid ppl like u won’t dirty a showroom car or are you too stupid to figure that out?

• Schmitt on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:02 am

The floor isn’t brown, its just a protective cardboard. It should be black as with the rest of the cabin.

• tokmoh. on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:50 pm

Volvo XC60 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • DPCraft on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:13 am

But Volvo XC60 is so old, and the interior is dull.

• tokmoh. on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Even if it’s old, still top seller in Europe. Says something about how good they are.

Latest Drive-E powertrain gets many praises for being frugal, yet powerful, smooth n refined.

Dunno what is meant by dull interior, still the most comfy seats in the business. It’s got LCD meter panel, built-in booster seats for kids. Good sound proofing and comfy setup, the perfect family car, or to drive long distance trips. Build quality also great, filled with soft touch plastics. Safety, it’s a Volvo, nuff said.

Mercedes seats sucks, keras, uncomfy. Terus turn off. Just because it has touchscreen, touch pad terus makes its interior so exciting? Prrfffttt

• Schmitt on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:20 pm

The XC60 is a great option especially with the recently lowered pricing. Specs wise you do get quite a bit of kit that others don’t provide especially in the safety aspect of things. Another thing that is often forgotten are the seats of the vehicle. The XC60 seats are not only very comfortable for long hours of driving but do provide very good lumbar support as well. You don’t get that aching back pain after prolong hours of driving nor do you feel tired. Comparing with the GLC, i do find the XC60 does feel more spacious inside. Not to mention servicing fees is definitely more affordable. I’ve been driving one for 5 years now and to be honest, the only complaint that I have is that the servicing can take some time. I’d strongly advise booking your time slot before coming in for your routine servicing.

• Nenek Kau on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:01 pm

The new incoming cx9 > xc60 > all
      Bigger size with price can tapau all competitors :p

• tokmoh. on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Mazda interior usually so cramped, don’t like. No joke, even almera rear seats feel bigger than in Mazda6.

Too focused on being lightweight, economical, handling, they sacrifice comfort usually. Dunno aboutCX-9, but not expecting much.

Safety and comfort is still Volvo’s forte, the best in business, at better price than Germans.

• Schmitt on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:43 pm

The new CX 9 does sound interesting, pictures do look real good but will have to check it out in the flesh. Lets see how Berjaya Auto will price the vehicle.

• Very disappointing with the price. Was hoping sub RM310k. Now, the difference is so small. Put on hold the purchase.

• What is the price at Euro & Us…? why we need to buy this car for such huge different with other country..CBU..wtf..

• price are sucking..

• SammyHasNoValue on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:39 am

Only RM3k saving for a locally assembled model? Mercedes Malaysia has got to be joking. I would rather pay 3k for the fully imported unit. Locally assembled models do not have the same fit and finish as imported models.

But overall, this car which is based largely on the w205 C250 is overpriced.

Its a better choice to go for the X5 hybrid!

• Sammy on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:45 am

Guys, this is SKD without using much of local content. So not much savings is to be expected.

Personally I would go for the imported or wait for the CKD.

• Schmitt on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:01 am

I’m really disappointed with the SKD pricing, I am one who booked the unit being told by the salesperson that the indicative price would be below 300K. It might be a tactic used by them to ensure the resale value of their vehicles especially for those who purchase through their “Agility financing scheme” whereby the guaranteed resale value has to be honored. Good thing is that the booking fees is completely refundable. I’m guessing that many others who placed a booking might actually retract and this would reflect on a shorter waiting list.

As someone mentioned above, the X5 does indeed look like a much better proposition now. Or perhaps you could get a 528i heavily discounted now from any one of the BMW dealers as the G30 will be hitting our shores next year.

Mercedes-Benz official servicing charges are also very pricey regardless whether it is Hap Seng or Bintang, i’ve tried them both. I was told it’s mandatory if you want your warranty to be valid. So do get an idea from the sales personnel on the maintenance costs of their vehicles.

• Jon Teoh on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:30 am

I was also informed of the same things by both Bintang and Hap Seng. I was actually waiting for the new price to be out before I put in a booking. Looks like I won’t now and might even consider the new X5 or wait for the actual CKD pricing.

• Schmitt on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Was at AB yesterday. Was told that the tentative delivery date if booked yesterday (24/08/16) would be sometime in October next year .

• savvykl on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:20 am

why need include AMG packages? i don’t want 20″ rims base on our road condition, better get X1 with 18″ rims.
    also lack of many feature like distribution Plus, HUD, etc.

• Schmitt on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I also can’t “Brain” this logic, 20″ runflat tires are going to cost a bomb!

• xplodingplastix on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:18 pm

I bet they havent got EEV approved yet as i noticed its only tentative pricing.

• Price is almost similar to the the CBU??? wonder when the GLC Coupe CKD will be available, hope the pricing is competitive with its rival, the X4 CKD, which is already available or the X5 hybrid.

• Desmond Lim on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Cancelled order. I just did. PERIOD.

• kokwei on Sep 12, 2016 at 8:35 pm

I just found out that the initial batch of skd units have the side steps omitted. I’m wondering if Mercedes Malaysia will honor the side steps as mentioned in this article.