Ford Transit window van launched – 14-seat, RM149k

New-Ford-Transit-03

Local Ford distributor Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) has launched the new Ford Transit window van in Malaysia. The 14-seater is available solely in white and priced at RM148,888 on the road without insurance (RM151,888 in East Malaysia).

The latest Transit takes over from the fifth-gen van launched here in July 2014. It comes with a new trapezoidal grille face and a dashboard that’s a lot more car-like than before, a design that Ford passenger car owners will be familiar with.

“The new Transit 14-seat van is also now longer, wider, taller and offers a refreshed cabin, giving the driver and passengers alike a more comfortable, car-like experience,” said David Westerman, Ford’s MD of Malaysia and Asia Pacific emerging markets.

New-Ford-Transit-02

The Transit is powered by the same proven 2.2 litre Duratorq turbodiesel engine, offering 155 PS and 385 Nm of torque. Drive is channeled to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual transmission. Ford says that the driving position is more comfortable than before (steering adjustable for rake and reach), and that the Transit’s driving dynamics is now more confident and car-like.

The Blue Oval claims that the new Transit’s interior is significantly more refined, with reduced noise levels and improved ride comfort for passengers. The van also has a range of stowage solutions including a large hidden compartment under the front passenger seat and door storage pockets that can fit an A4 clipboard and a two-litre drink bottle.

Safety kit includes dual front airbags, ABS, ESP, Hill Launch Assist, Emergency Brake Assist and Warning, rollover mitigation, front and rear parking sensors, three-point seatbelts for all passengers and second row Isofix child seat anchors. There’s an emergency release hammer and power operated side steps that automatically extend/retract when the sliding door is opened and closed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• musclemuseum on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:20 am

i may consider this over the starex. both got ESC, but ford give hill launch assist & three-point seatbelts for all passengers, which is starex lacks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • not glamour lah Starex

• musclemuseum on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:07 pm

no need glamour la, since i’m gonna use it as people mover for my family outing (including my parent & in law) maybe twice monthly. for everyday driving i use other car. that’s y im considering starex. not interested in bellfaye or alpatt since recond unit airbag’s might kill me one day, lol

• Remove ’em rear seats & bangbus lives on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • palehotak on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:07 pm

bagus buat bas skolah

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:33 pm

How about window version for Nissan NV200? I see alot of potential to become hot seller – slot it below Grand Livina.

• johorian on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:10 pm

this should be the commercial VAN drive around outside town with more frequency than using BIG RAPID KL occupying the road where less passengers is obviously seen.

again, BUS cronies rull.

• Rural buses travels to few towns per trip. Only ur head has cronies

• Bernard on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Don’t need a house . 2 in 1.

• Transit on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Yay finally I can bring my 4 wives and 10 children altogether in 1 vehicle. And can even make more children if remove rear seats. Bersyukur.

• Yap Jia Sxing on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:54 pm

How Many Engine Capacity

• Ibrahim on Mar 08, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Suitable design for motorhome,campervan

• Nak cari van panel ford transit

• Anbarasan on Sep 24, 2022 at 10:45 pm

I want but for transit panel van