Malaysia ranked sixth in the world in vehicle theft; Proton Wira the most stolen car, Hilux second

Proton-Wira-SE

Surprised, but not surprising somehow. Malaysia was ranked sixth in the world for auto theft last year, according to The Star, although no detailed stats were given.

General Insurance Association of Malaysia (PIAM)’s CEO Mark Lim said that an average of 60 vehicles get stolen everyday in Malaysia, and for the first half of 2016, the industry incurred claims amounting to RM2.41 billion.

“This equates to a staggering RM13.2 million per day payout in motor claims for property damage, bodily injury and vehicle theft,” he said, adding however that there had been a drop in cases for the first half of 2016.

2015-toyota-hilux-trd-sportivo

“The total number of stolen vehicles for all classes in the first half of this year was 11,796 vehicles compared with 12,412 for the same period in 2015. This represents a 5% reduction in the number of vehicle thefts,” Lim said.

Of the total, 4,472 private vehicles, 6,502 motorcycles and 821 commercial vehicles were reported stolen in Jan-June this year. No break down for H1 2016 available, but the top cars in 2015’s most stolen list were the Proton Wira (1,214), Toyota Hilux (595) and Proton Iswara (552).

Others were the Perodua Kancil (550), Proton Waja (538), Perodua Myvi (379), Proton Saga (318), Proton Satria (238), Nissan Vanette (208) and Honda Civic (200).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Honda civic orso…its time to change to mazda3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • AdjusterNo1 on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:43 pm

99% vehicle thefts are fraud.

Owner claim car stolen, get insurance $$$ and dispose car parts for $$$

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 14
      • Saitam on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Interesting stats… 99%..
        Your source for such claim??

• Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Of course Malaysia is the highest. Well known fact that the underground gang that steals works hand in hand with PDRM, Immigration and also Kastam.

Just like we are the highest human traffickers in Asia now. We all know, the Immigration personnel themselves are doing all this nonsense working with the underground.

• Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Yes, we all know, 90% of all adjusters are in it. Insurance Industry make don’t know only/

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:39 pm

But let us look positively. This shows even pencuri want Proton. Our Protons are so high in demand. Everybody wants it. I am proud of Proton! It is the best and safest car in the world.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Malaysians bodoh, never use steering lock. I always use. Make my car safe and also I can use it to bantai people

• Wira Tomyam on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Wira Tomyams are forever panas cars for the thieves. “Coldest aircond in the world”. “Easy to maintain”..many Malaysians claim.

• Bullcrap! I had my car stolen genuinely and I’m hardly the 1 percent. Don’t generalise I makes you look like a fool!

• Rakyat on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Just look at wira used car market price, you will know they all sell to insurance company. Oops not sell, got stolen and claim …

• i trust it is true.

• Redidiot on Aug 28, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Source please!

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:42 pm

I feel so sorry for the thieves for stealing such boring crappy cars. Nice to know that my Kelisa is safe and not in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…Don’t be happy, my fren Kelisa just kena stolen. KElisa quite popular car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Feels very unsafe nowadays. If got chance, everything also they want to sapu. Thieves are everywhere

• Jinyiwei on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Yes, Kelisa very agile car, can reach 160km easily during its day.

• What a great comment brother!….Sad that we have people like u in this world…shame on u!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Kelisa always been on the panas list.

• Guan Yin Pu Sa on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:44 pm

I was one of the contribution, Proton Saga (318). Early this month. Darn it! Curse the thieves go to deepest hell!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Some of the Wiras and Sagas very easy to steal cos owners did not bother to secure them,since they are almost worth less than Rm 3-7K.
      WE dont blame u.Most of the gangsters/robbers GETAWAY CARS busted by the police are WIRAS….MOSTLY STOLEN.

• policeman on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:52 pm

So thieves go after reliable cars as well.

Nobody wants to steal a VW, BMW, and the rest of the European junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:26 pm

They tried, but halfway gearbox rosak, wiring rm50k rosak, then they get caught, so cannot be stolen. They’re not defect, but anti theft feature.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 6
    • Garfield on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Actually, very very true. I previously owned a 2008 Cross Touran. VW didn’t even bother to equip the car with an alarm, only immobilizer.

• Difficult to sell for parts. Conti users don’t go to low-rate workshop or junkyard for spares. It’s sad that sometimes victims end up buying back their stolen stuff (happens a lot with tire thefts).

• Das Auto on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:00 pm

So, chances are the Wira you see on the road are probably stolen….or having stolen parts. Ermmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:16 pm

the next grand theft auto should be in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • john is otak batu on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:40 am

thats a great idea. i want to create an app. detect stolen cars.

• Ben Yap on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:27 pm

buy VW and the thief will not steal. instead will leave some money in the car to ask the owner to get a better car for heaven’s sake.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 5
  • Lobang man on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Pickup truck in demand di negara perang. Sudah curi mesti mau bawak keluar. Keluar mesti mau lobang. Lobang mana itu lobang? Malaysia kena tutup lobang, bukan tutup mata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • ImHafizJoe Dorifuto on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Serah kpd Dato Yusof Haslam, Gerak – Gerak Khas…mesti cepat punya dapat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Wonder what ridiculous PDRM statement will come out after this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:43 am

Be thankful to the police for such advice so that you will be extra careful…use steering lock and install good alarm with nice music…

• masih rendah berbanding ngara jiran ? :D

• Hamilanjiao on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Did I saw a GT wings on the Wira??

• Unknown on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:47 pm

It was an optional extra(or standard, can’t remember exactly because it was long time ago) for the early 10k unit of Wira SE

• Oh my English..! on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Oh my english

• Semut on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Disguise attempt on stolen car :D

• Gogogo wira on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Ayyy lmao XD

• Wee fuk yew on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Billions spent on anti theft devices are really working hard for the thieves. Which one?

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:00 pm

let’s see beyond the statement.. last time, it was petrol and diesel got smuggled to the Thailand.. next thing you know, petrol and diesel price increased.

now, come this from PIAM.. would they raise the insurance premium fee before or when the new system kicks in? I hope not but anything can happen.

• WanDerLowe on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:09 pm

It will, starting 1st July 2017. Most auto insurance agents know about it.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:44 am

i am hoping even though premium will be sky high, but example in UK discounts on premium will be given on

1. whether the car has a high theft rating (source from police)
        2. whether the car has a good to excellent anti theft rating (visible VIN, unique fit radio, etched window glasses, strong immobiliser, rolling code remote alarm controller, strong dead locks, lockable wheel nuts)

• CW Lam. on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:08 pm

My car just got stolen last week. Toyota Mark X 2005. Feel very heart sick.

• Same L0rr on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
  • Itu semua alasan untuk naikkan lagi insurans kenderaan. Hujung tahun syarikat insurans umum keuntungan berbilion ringgit.

Rakyat diperah habis!

Rakyat diutamakan. Where?

• lesenL on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:35 pm

i thought more triton had been stolen, coz many of my friend’s triton did.. but ironicly, why WIRA?? HILUX??

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Stealing PROTON Wira is it theft or favour.

• passion on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:36 pm

subaru xv cd player got stolen. how did they break in a new car? hacking?

• Bernard on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:39 pm

We are known for a lot of things…….this is just one more:)

• it’s time for hudud to be implemented in this country… only “potong tangan” can solve this issue…today, if u caught with stolen car, u only stay in jail for 2days…everyone can be a car theft!!

• dat is surprised,i thought hilux is the most stolen one

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:03 pm

This shows Proton most popular, among thieves

• paanjang16 on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:11 pm

That’s why I use 2 steering locks for my Wira when I parked at the lrt station. One for the steering wheel and one for the handbrake and gear lever.

Disabled the original alarm that came with the car as it is pretty much useless in a deserted car park with some many other cars. Also do not want to come back to a dead battery at the end of the day.

• Wow, so many ignorant ppl here. Most of the time, thieves steal general cars, which are high in volume on the road, for their parts. Therefore, Proton, Perodua and other Jap cars are in demand.
    On the other hand, people who buy European makes generally do not source for 2nd hand parts, hence brands like Mercedes, BMW, VW, Peugeot, …etc are not on their highly-targeted list.

• dugongx on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:29 pm

Actually the truth is Hilux always skid and crash. After repair cannot sell d coz no one wants to buy accident junk. SO they scam and claim stolen. True story

• Hilux no.1 on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:37 am

In sarawak, some time the car thief will call the owner to nego to sell back the car.
    Some time the victim ask triads to look for the car (pay some upah) before going to the police.

Stolen hilux normally found in plantation or kalimantan border towns.

In miri, brunei mitsubishi lancer is a hot item for car thieves. Stolen n stripped for spare parts

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:42 pm

cars with good resale value always get stolen