SPYSHOTS: Refreshed 2016 Mitsubishi Triton in M’sia – are we getting Thailand’s 2.4L MIVEC VGT engine?

Triton-Blue-Spy-2

This is no ordinary Triton, at least one that’s not yet available from Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM). Sent in by reader Damien who spotted the truck’s unusual blue paint, we can tell you that this is the refreshed 2016 Mitsubishi Triton that we showed you from the Bangkok Motor Show in March.

Telltale signs are this truck’s Impulse Blue paint and elaborate 17-inch rims that match those on the Triton Plus Special Edition we saw at Impact Muang Thong Thani.

Earlier this year, Thai Triton trim levels were reassigned with added equipment, including tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment on all models, as well as a second 12V socket on all Mega Cab (a.k.a. King Cab) and four-door Double Cab variants. The highest GLS LTD trim, previously available only on the Double Cab 4×4, were introduced on the Mega Cab and Double Cab Plus 4×2 models.

All GLS LTD Tritons received the four-spoke multifunction steering wheel from the new Pajero Sport. The leather-wrapped wheel has a stitch pattern on the boss. In addition, the top Double Cab 4×4 GLS LTD 5AT swapped the standard Easy Select 4WD system for the Pajero Sport’s Super Select 4WD II. The system added a new 4H full-time AWD mode, with a viscous coupling centre differential that shuffles power between front and rear axles.

It appears that MMM is readying an updated Triton, but we’re not sure if the all of the above will apply to the Malaysian-spec truck. Thai Tritons are powered by a 2.4 litre MIVEC VGT turbodiesel with 182 PS and 430 Nm. Malaysia didn’t get this all-new engine with the model change, but an improved version of the familiar 2.5 litre VGT unit with 178 PS and 400 Nm.

The reason given by MMM at the Triton launch in May 2015 was that our fuel quality isn’t ideal for the 2.4L “Clean Diesel” engine, which is more powerful and up to 20% more efficient. But with Euro 5 diesel now available here, will we finally get this new-generation engine?

GALLERY: 2016 Mitsubishi Triton Plus Special Edition, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:16 pm

this truck can any time smoke a bezza and new persona.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:27 pm

mana new pajero sport?

• Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Mitsubishi is dead in Malaysia. Look at MAA car sales data, they hardly sold anything last month.

The brand is DEAD in Malaysia

• Jibbie on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Anything but Ford Ranger.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Stupid Jepunis overlords car. Better buy Exora and cut the roof out. Look better

• PewPew on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Nice shade of blue!

• The most important thing is to bring in stability control / VSC. The 2nd most important thing is to introduce a super-select “high” variant as a choice. Both these technologies were available with the first Triton in 2006. Yet we are still waiting for it until now in this market.

• VSC?

• nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Finally with vsc… FINALLY

• swoosh3553 on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:28 pm

If this is not launched in Malaysia yet, why is it able to bear a registered number plate? Shouldn’t it be on trade plates?

• pakcik on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:11 pm

I ain’t sure it’s an update for MY: my bet it’s from grey imports. I’ve also already seen some of them in singapore

• gaviny on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:43 am

the dead giveaway of the 2.4 MIVEC is the much much larger intercooler , same as all the new trucks.

Triton is the only truck still using that ciput small side mount intercooler.

The Pajero sport with 2.4 has this full length intercooler

• Richard on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Lol, i have seen this car so many times at mitsu kota damansara since im practical at TiTan Suspension nearby.