2016 Proton Persona – comparison versus competition

We’ve shown you everything you need to know about the new 2016 Proton Persona, through our comprehensive launch report, walk-around video tour and spec-by-spec comparison gallery. Now, we’ll be comparing the national carmaker’s car of the moment versus its predecessor and the B-segment sedan competition, as well as the one-size-smaller Perodua Bezza and Proton Saga.

Firstly, the dimensions – at 4,387 mm long, the new Persona is smack in the middle of the pack in terms of length, splitting the larger models like the 4,440 mm Honda City, 4,410 mm Toyota Vios and 4,425 mm Nissan Almera and smaller cars like the 4,320 mm Mazda 2 Sedan and 4,278 mm Saga. The Mitsubishi Attrage and Bezza are downright tiny in comparison, at 4,245 mm and 4,150 mm respectively.

The new car is also some 90 mm shorter than the old Persona, which was a C-segment-sized car sold at Perodua Myvi prices. However, Proton claims that the new car has a similar amount of interior space as before, and boot space has swelled from 430 litres to 510, making it one of the largest in the segment, just behind the 536 litre cargo bay of the City. At the other end of the spectrum, the Mazda 2 has the smallest boot at 410 litres, while the Saga is nary any bigger at 413 litres.

Persona-comparison-02

Other areas where the new Persona takes class gongs is in width and height – the 1,722 mm wide Proton is a little broader than the next widest, the Vios, and is over 100 mm wider than the Bezza; it is a measly 3 mm narrower than the old Persona, however. The new car is also the tallest; its 1,554 mm height shades class stalwarts like the City and Vios, both under 1.5 metres in height.

Under the bonnet, the new Persona’s 1.6 litre VVT engine is actually slightly less powerful than the IAFM+ engine in the old Persona, at 107 hp versus 110 hp; the new car counters by having 2 Nm more torque at 150 Nm. Although both cars have a five-speed manual as the base gearbox option, the new Persona swaps the old four-speed automatic option for a CVT.

Against the competition, the new Persona is actually rather impressive – it has more torque than all bar the turbocharged Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI’s 175 Nm, although in pure horsepower terms it is down on the 118 hp from the City’s 1.5 litre i-VTEC mill and the 114 hp from the Mazda 2’s 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G engine. Transmission-wise, most of the class are equipped a CVT; the exceptions are the Vios, Almera and Bezza’s four-speed automatic, the Mazda 2’s six-speed automatic and the Vento’s seven-speed DSG dual-clutch unit.

Persona-comparison-01

Weight is the Persona’s biggest bugbear – at 1,210 kg in top Premium trim, it’s the heaviest here, at 15 kg more than the old Persona and 32 kg heavier than its next heaviest competitor, the Vento; the rest all weight around the 1,100 kg mark. The Attrage and Bezza are flyweights at 905 kg and 930 kg respectively, so while the Proton is significantly more powerful than either of the two cars, it narrowly beats the Mitsubishi in terms of power-to-weight ratios, and is comprehensively trumped by the Perodua.

In terms of value-for-money, the Persona is unbeatable – retailing between RM44,831 (OTR without insurance) for the base Standard M/T variant and RM57,472 for the top Premium CVT, it is priced slightly higher than the A-segment Saga and Bezza, but costs way less than the foreign B-segment competition – those are priced between RM74k and RM95k.

What’s more, it isn’t lacking in kit – all models get 15-inch alloy wheels, front and rear parking sensors, Bluetooth, dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (making them all eligible for a five-star ASEAN NCAP crash test rating), while items such as six airbags, keyless entry, push-button start, twin rear USB charging ports, a touchscreen infotainment system and a reverse camera are available on higher-end variants.

Browse full specifications and equipment on all 2016 Proton Persona variants, as well as compare between different cars on the market on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Proton Persona Premium CVT with bodykit

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Diveblty on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:36 pm

All rounder car. Apa lagi lu mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Rusmah on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Why we pay 50K for persona?
      Because of tax, cronyism.
      Where those money goes?

Without P1, P2,
      more job opportunities, cheaper car, better spec,
      safer to drive, better life quality.

Paying sky high price,
      Get hell low quality.

Earning little money
      Spending huge for tax and fill up somebody’s pocket.

Malaysian need new G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 63
      • notakata on Aug 30, 2016 at 7:57 am

Go back to your Toyotaik with takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • I really laugh at your comment. With or without national car manufacturer, the price will still be high mang-kok. What kind of economics are you talking about. If one tax has been reduce another with be implemented to compensate the lost in revenue.

“Without P1, P2,
        more job opportunities, cheaper car, better spec,
        safer to drive, better life quality.”

With this statement you really sound like a politician. Where there are no grounds to support your statement. Mind you I was working with a Jap-car manufacturer in KL in finance dept. So we roughly know what we are talking about.

Please reply and describe what you meant by that.

Thank you

• Same L00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Proton never lack of design and specs. But you could never find reliability and after-sale-service with a Proton. Don’t play play with Proton quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
    • I believe there is no reason why this car will not beat all of its competitors and revive the brand. I have test driven it. it is a pretty nice car. With free three years service and a good dealership, it should sell very well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Amirul Safuan Mohd Ishak on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:18 pm

i have test drive it too! I used to own Savvy & Gen2 before, was truly dissapointed until I changed to Nissan & now Toyota Vios. Tbh, I am looking forward to change back to Proton via this new Persona.

To bashers, I suggest go and test drive it first. Give it a try instead of speculating and live in the past. Persona has improve a lot.

Whether you support P1 or not, give a fair judgement & opinion. P1 was the pioneer in transforming Malaysia towards industrialization era. Why throw away things that are not fully broken and waste our resources to build something from the scratch just because of sentiment? Time to grow up and be matured in the way we think. To become a developed nation, we need to develop our mentality and change the way we look at things constructively.

Hope my sharing worth it and thank you for reading.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • 930kg Perodua Bezza.

The car can basically be blown away when you pass by those kawasan angin lintang at more than 120kmh.

But it’s okay, your car has RV and timing chain. So after the car crashed, you can half-cut it and sell your timing chain with a higher price compared to a Persona / Saga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
    • Same L00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:15 pm

As always, a lot of praises (for me it is talkok) for new Proton models, but sales figure show no one actually interested to pay for it (e.g. Suprima S, Preve, Iriz, New Perdana).
      This is a car for kopitiam talking, not actual buy and driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • OMG…u want heavy 1, buy lorry loh…adui…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • 930kg Perodua Bezza.

The car can basically be blown away when you pass by those kawasan angin lintang at more than 120kmh.

But it’s okay, your car has RV and timing chain. So after the car crashed, you can half-cut it and sell your timing chain with a higher price compared to a Persona / Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Are you being serious with your pathetic explanation? Do you think weight in cars has something to do with being blown away by your “Kawasan” trucks?
      Ariel atoms weight 612 kg and up to 500hp. Do you think it will be blown away by your truck that runs around 90/100km/h?

FYI, It’s volume, velocity and CX penetration parameters that are involved to be taken into account in the equation. Not weight.

Go back to your pathetic Proton sales live, and get all your mechanics ready to receive the wave of defective new cars, showing once again, how reliable Proton’s engineering and manufacturing are.

Proton is ruining all Rakyats in Malaysia. The earlier they sink, the better for everybody.

Happy Merdeka to all Malaysian by the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • Shooh on Aug 31, 2016 at 10:15 am

Obviously jepunis overlord comment
        Not even bolehland pipu, shame.

Go away, Asia for Asia is not welcomed anymore after potong kepara punishment

• Salam sejahtera on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Because ariel atom has lower center gravity

• Are you really serious with your explanation?

“FYI, It’s volume, velocity and CX penetration parameters that are involved to be taken into account in the equation. Not weight.”

I think you are an idiot to think that weight factor doesn’t play a role in planting the car steady on the road. Have you heard of inertia?(go google it up or open physics SPM textbook).And have you heard that the heavier the car is, the more metal material put in to strengthen the car? Do you know that an additional 0.3mm thickness in the metal frame will increase metal tensile strength exponentially?

If you do put physics knowledge into your argument, do it responsibly. Not filtering out the details that does not support your argument and rant on the details that do support your argument.

• John Cooper on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Jonathan, why Kia Rio was not included as a comparison?

• Gmiey on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Why not include kia rio sedan bos?

• shahrul on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:06 pm

I must say that while manufacturers are opting for lighter weight material for its cars & engines, P1 is moving the opposite direction.
    At the end of the day, we will see higher fuel consumption fugures than the factory controlled tests. 6.1
    Heavy footed driving would be a norm too.
    So buyers beware.
    U are getting an amoured car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:15 pm

that weight is really something…
    im actually blaming the Campro engine for the weight….being the oldest(although VVt but still based on 1st gen campro) and with its iron block…
    i bet its heavier by ALOT compare to others…wd love to have a table of weight of their engines…
    IMH its still a really good effort and an viable option…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Pak Atan on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Lets me guess.. how much saving of change to aluminium block. in weght reduce 50kg. inprice improve 10x.. which r u prefer

• PT. R u sure about persona2 weight, cuz reported earlier, the new persona weight was lighter compared to old.

• tokmoh. on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Proton still is behind in terms of weight trimming.

In the past, when Proton talked about high tensile steel since Savvy, then ultra high tensile steel, then HPF, it always scratch my head why they claim it saves weight, when they’re always among heaviest car in its class.

The bigger irony is they own Lotus, most known for the direct opposite : lightness is their forte.

Safety is no excuse, the new Volvo XC90 is among lightest in its class, yet it shatters crash test record after record, securing its throne as World’s Safest Car.

No tyre size comparison, but nvm. Wanted to bring up a point about Persona’s small 185/55/R15. The car certainly looks like it can take on 60, heck even 65 profile while maintaining width. My guess, it certainly helps to reduce braking distance, but such small circumference, I’d reckon it’ll take a toll on fc.

And speaking of fc, I thought Iriz already started using NEDC test cycle? To see Proton backpedal to “fc @90kph constant” doesn’t inspire confidence. Worse still, higher rpm @110kph reduces confidence too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • tokmohbodo on Aug 31, 2016 at 10:26 am

Bodo la, are you blind to see the acceleration is around 10sec? That’s average speed of B segmenters here.

Who cares about the weight ?

• Salam sejahtera on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Proton have their own strategy to make all their car are stable in high speed corner. So the key here is WEIGHT. Kalau bezza, msuk corner pun nak terhinjut-hinjut.. but still, this persona 2016 can achieve around 10 sec

• Malaysia hari ini on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:40 pm

You see gtr r32, why it is so stable at high speed corner? Because of weight ok..

• Malaysia hari ini on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:41 pm

You see the nisaan gtr r32, why it is so stable at high speed corner? Because of weight ok..

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Thanks for the spec comparison, Jonathan.

• Medic on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:24 pm

It’s a reasonably good car in term of presentation. Hopefully it will revive proton’s fortune

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • normal_user on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Can you also please add stats on rear legroom length, elbowroom width & headroom height, since the line that demarcates A and B segment is quite blurred (Attrage, Bezza, Saga). So does the B and C segment (City, Ciaz, Almera). The actual aspect that separates these segment apart is concentrated on the rear occupant space.

A Perodua R&D guy told me that the Bezza was benchmarked against Attrage & Ciaz (Thailand unit maybe). Some salespeople from Perodua even claimed the Bezza is within the B segment. Ironically also, although the Persona is downsized from C to B segment, yet it has gained a lot of weight and has better seating position & ergonomics.

Based on my experience sitting in the rear seats of main B-segment cars:
    Rear legroom: 1. City 2. Almera 3. Bezza
    Rear elbowroom width: 1. City (clear winner)
    Rear headroom: 1. Almera (clear winner)
    Most natural seating height: 1. Persona 2. Almera (ease of entry & exit)
    Best thigh support: 1. Persona 2. City 3. Rio
    Best side bolster support: 1. City 2. Almera 3. Rio

Just my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Hakim on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Test drove the Persona today. Not impress at all. Power is pretty sluggish and engine noise is loud. Not much improvement over the iriz. There are 2 adults at the back and pulling power is pretty bad. The Bezza 1.3L offers much better linear and refine pulling power than the 1.6L Persona. The 1.3L bezza engine is also quieter than the persona. I think the main reason is the weight issue. 1210kg vs 900kg. 300kg difference which is like 5 adults already. Although the CVT of the Persona has improved over the iriz but it’s still not as good as Vios, Almera or myvi / Axia. We hit the highway at around 100km per hr the wind noise and nvh is apparent and comparable to Iriz, myvi and axia has better nvh than the Persona. Overall the build quality is pretty OK, interior is neat, but the engine is still very sluggish and CVT and nvh not refined enough. The rear legroom is pretty tight, reminds me of Ford Fiesta which is very cramp. Bezza offers better legroom. At 56k for the middle range it’s pretty steep for the price. 10k more with lower interest rate you can get an Almera with monthly installment just $30 more but offers so much better refinement and legroom, space over the Persona. Don’t see any point in getting the Persona middle and high range. The lower range starts from 50k for the auto, 6k more than the entry level Bezza 1.3L. Mix bag with the Persona. If it’s price at 40k yes it’s a good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 56
    • Peter on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Some Malaysian can’t handle criticism, they felt bad than just put dislike and ask you to quit, no matter how many findings you put in.
      I hope more ppl buying this car. I want to see their comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Pak Atan on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:03 pm

i dont.think you try Persona. the way you comparing is not fact. Cakap saja.. LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • kassorga on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:44 pm

last weekend, I drove my HRV to a Proton outlet and drive tested the highest specs Persona. Three teenage children sat comfortably at the back. Immediate impression, could not find many driving differences between the HRV and Persona.

Am not buying one anyway but honestly Persona is a really good car to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Agreed. I tested and this most best CAR with very good price. If you say PERODUA good, you good liar. I own 1 of perodua product and that 1 of bad ride/handling CAR!!!

New persona with EPS, and as always, very good handling/ride.

So afr, already own 3 type of Car, Perodua Myvi, Nissan Almera,Proton, and Proton as always great for handling/ride and now with better of NVH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • why not do a Driven episode on these cars? Select 2 other (perhaps 1 of them can be Bezza) more popular ones to compare…. lets see if Pesona fuel consumption & driving performance are comparable than others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 5:22 am

You can kiss the new Proton goodbye if you do so. It’s obvious the Persona will loose with a bigger engine displacement and 300kg extra, and don’t get me even started with the price comparison.
      This car is another proof of lack of technology and development from the lazy spoon fed Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • kakaka on Aug 31, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Again, 300kg is nothing to be pulled with 150Nm torque. And what is acceleration of bezza? 9 sec ar? LOL

• Wise guy on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Only a moron buy B segment car other than proton persona 2016

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 5:34 am

Only blind persons still believe in Proton’s car, despite of their countless failures in manufacturing decent and reliable cars. Even those cheap Chinese brands are now way better in built quality, innovation and style.
      Prooooton is so good innovative that they need to buy old accord models from Honda and slap them with a Proton logo together with the ugliest body ever seen on that model. That’s Research and development at the highest level. Way to go Proton. Good way to use your billions from the government (from the Rakyat actually)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • basherlogic on Aug 31, 2016 at 9:37 pm

But that defects cannot beat killing Takata airbags that been designed by jepunis overlords

Jangan persoal!

• If you don’t see proton good. Better keep silent. Seem like you have a lot of money to buy Civic and or Ferrari.

Comment based on fact and not your perspective. This show how bad you are?

• Amirul Safuan Mohd Ishak on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Better to be a blind eyed man rather than blind hearted person. Study first how Honda started their business my friend. We are not born in this world able to instantly walk or jump. We learn, we fail, we triumph. We buy other company’s car in return to learn about their technology, enhance and innovate. This knowledge requires huge investments of course. I urge you to be fair before making such statement and look in a different perspective at things. you will be happier.

Thank you for reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • ANNONYMOUS on Sep 21, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Which “cheap chinese’ car u referred are better than proton?
        dude, go buy the the cheap chinese car u mentions. i am sure of hell u will greatly regret later on.
        Even though i did not say proton is the best, but it is definitely not the worse. yet i will still support my very own national car brand.

• tishaban on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Instead of stating in my opinion, not very useful external dimensions, why not do some research and state internal dimensions which would be a much better comparison. Stuff like shoulder room, hip room, legroom, head room are all far more useful if you carry more than two people in a car and want to compare.

Other specs such as minimum turning radius is also useful but sadly lacking, not just in this article but in carbase as well.

• Nazgul on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:59 pm

My votes goes to Honda City, Toyota Vios and Nissan Almari. Because B-segment sedan supposed to looks like that. Not patchwork like Bezza and Persona just add buntut only. It makes Axia and Iriz looks awesome thanks to these 2 cars horrible design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • Pimaipimai on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Buka pintu & touch n go^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Old persona only IAFM. Not IAFM+ like saga flx.

• neonceejay on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:25 pm

This is an article that wrote by an accountant.
    Nope, Jonathan, I’m not nitpicking your writing skills as you’ve try your best. But there must be a better way presenting those boring numbers. Cheers!

• camtakpro on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:38 am

You want infographics? Those are wrote by graphic designers.

Why not you present your style here? Share your knowledge and make PT better?

• Give a chance to Proton la

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:33 pm

P1 and P2 can’t be more different:

P1 Good points
    01. Fun to drive
    02. Solid build quality (compared to P2)
    03. High(er) specs (compared to P2)
    04. Cars high in safety (6 airbags, VSC)
    05. Affordable to buy (with discounts)

P1 Bad points
    06. Poor fuel consumption
    07. Shitty engine and powertrain (people want reliable Japanese)
    08. Very bad after sales
    09. High maintenance costs (expensive spare parts)
    10. Poor resale value (no demand, no value)

P2 Good points
    06. Excellent fuel consumption
    07. Reliable Japanese engine and powertrain
    08. Good after sales service
    09. Reasonable cost of maintenance and spare parts
    10. Excellent resale value (because of the demand)

P2 Bad Points
    01. Boring to drive
    02. Plastic toy car build quality
    03. Low specs (compared to P1)
    04. Tin milo safety (2 airbags, no VSC)
    05. Expensive to buy (overpriced to P1)

Which one are you better off with?
    It is no wonder people rather live with P2

If you combine the both P1 and P2 good points…
    P1 Good points
    01. Fun to drive
    02. Solid build quality
    03. High specs
    04. Cars high in safety (6 airbags, VSC)
    05. Affordable to buy (Compared to its rivals)
    P2 Good points
    06. Excellent fuel consumption
    07. Reliable Japanese engine and powertrain
    08. Good after sales service
    09. Reasonable cost of maintenance and spare parts
    10. Excellent resale value (because of the demand)

You will get a Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 43
    • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 27, 2016 at 8:21 am

Only choose either:
      – Honda City (those with >rm50k budget)
      – Toyota Vios (those with >rm50k budget)
      – Perodua Bezza (those with <rm50k budget)

Reasons:
      – Proven quality & reliability
      – Problem-free no need to worry
      – Sleep well at night, peace of mind
      – Excellent fuel efficiency means more money saved
      – Best resale value, Zero regret value
      – Feeling happy & smiling always
      – Girlfriend happy, you happy
      – Future mother-in-law approval for marriage
      – Life is full of happiness forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • normal_user on Aug 27, 2016 at 8:24 am

Is Honda:
      Fun to drive? the steering lacks feedback & unstable at high speeds, far from what Proton is offering
      Solid built quality? the CKD models especially City are known for problems (gaps, fit finish issue, etc)
      High specs? u need to fork out of cash to get full 6 airbags
      Reasonable cost of maintenance & spare parts? Honda is quite the more expensive option for servicing as compared to UMW Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 5:47 am

You must be right. A manufacturer that has been competing in F1 since 1964 compared to another that pretty much builds “chariots” , must have no idea on how to build fun cars running at “high” speed, especially when compared to such a “highly reputable” brand like Proton. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Regarding fuel consumption, I have an iriz 1.6. If I fill rm50 ron 95, I could get around 400km, which means around 7 liters per 100km. Is that bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • dingle on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:10 am

Not so good but acceptable. In terms of money, not a big difference because fuel is cheap in Malaysia anyways but if you’re looking at emissions and stuff, then yes, the difference has its effects on nature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Jimat Minyak on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:59 am

The above table did not include the Fuel Economy data and EEV status. Wonder why? What kind of comparison that afraid to include it?

• Are riding in town or highway? if town it can consider as good since you have very high CC la..
        Even preve full tank in highway can goes up 700KM(by the user)..
        but in town, not good la..

• Saliva banyak on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Get a Honda? Not anymore … A City is 30k more than Persona. Persona is not perfect, neither is Honda

Honda resale value will suffer because of Persona.

BTW you must be either too free or a retiree… so much saliva you have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:45 am

Remember. the 20k differece is actually tax. The City has much better engine and gearbox refinement.

RV affected by Persona?? You must be nuts. The RV of one car has nothing to do with another car.

And Proton always have low RV, just like Korean cars. Nothing is gonna change that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
        • tarakbaca on Aug 29, 2016 at 4:54 pm

You tarak baca ka? Persona has got engine and gearbox refinement.

Btw, City in Thai is 59k. That’s quite number of difference.

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:42 pm

No matter what you can say about this Persona, one thing Proton cannot run away from. It is the miserable RV. Buy today RM58k, next year you sell also, you get RM29k, you will be lucky.

Proton fanboys will get angry but let me tell you, I have owned so many Protons. Saga, Iswara, Proton Knight, Wira, Waja, Preve.

I can confirm one thing with you, when you sell your car, say after 3 years, you will have to top up your loan by a few thousand ringgit cause the car by then will be worth much much lower than your hutang with the bank.

Perodua, Honda, Nissan and Toyota are different. When you sell your car 2 years time, you can actually make a profit once you settle your loan.

Better for you to just buy a lower spec Almera for now RM58k (after discounts). At least 3 years later, you still can sell for RM40k. The Persona then will be sold for RM20k.

Proton can never run away from their miserable RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 46
      • IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:53 am

So very true and wise word. The only Proton which have comparable RV is probably Inspira….which isn’t really a Potong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rr on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:24 am

Bad RV because of Campro Engine & CVT Punch Powertrain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • merah biru on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:47 am

Deyyy….i smell big liar here..
        If you have owned so many proton and lost a lot, then, why still buy?
        Why so many people talking bout RV?
        Car is not good for investment. If you wanna make investment, go and buy PROPERTY OR GOLD laaaa!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • I have to agree with you..

• Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 5:52 am

Like buying a property in Malaysia now is a good investment, especially with a devaluating currency and the huge bubbling market.

• Amirul Safuan Mohd Ishak on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Agree bro. RV when buying a car? do you change your car every year? unwise. I have been in that shoe. Get a car that decent enough to get you from point A to point B safely. That’s more important to me. But well we all have our own needs and ideas. But don’t enforce or generalised it upon others.

• carazy on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:42 am

This is real persona owner here bro. My 2009 persona B-line sill can go RM20K after 7 years of good life, without any major problems occur. The only major problem that I faced is throttle body overhaul that cause my engine sudden stall at low RPM and it cost only RM65 to fix. I wonder where u get the fact that after 3 years the car will sold for 20K?? Than talk rubbish here bro!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • i agree with u. recently, i trade-in my 4year++ saga for New Persona. their offer price still not enough to cover hutang bank. (around 3k++)

• proton waja on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:42 pm

What car have you sold. I sold my 2006 waja first campro bought for rm56k and sold it four years later for 35k. in johor bahru.

• Yippi33 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:17 pm

P2 have good RV is the biggest joke of all time..Don’t just refer to hearsays bro..that is just perception by malaysians..Toyota yes..but P2, you still need to top up if you sell it to car dealers..

• Das Auto on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:28 am

Lucky this is not the UK. If your car clocked 100 000km you be lucky to get more than GBP1000. But if Aus, then you car still resellable after 200 000km for few thousands dollar.

• dengdengdeng on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Who dont know father is man,
      if you want a so good fuel consumption car,
      if the price is more expensive RM20000,
      you can try to figure out,
      RM20000 this amount how much petrol you can spend, and how long, did you consider the long term maintenance is more pricing.

• Andrew on Aug 27, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Biggest disappointment P1 still using the same old engine n transmission… Y wait for end 2017 to use 1.5 GDI engine when it is already available now to P1….????!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Allrounder on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Fuel consumption no p2 1.3l bezza no better than p1 1.3l persona. The adv p2 has only becoz it is lighter hence bit better FC. Pickup and acceleration CVT is better and the sound? Pls go and review again. Only who lives in denial say bising campro and powertrain.

As bout FC , ask yourself, can you replace soul with money?

This time p1 comes with all rounder car. It’s your call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:00 am

LOL. Another syiok sendiri fanboi. Try driving a Campro in PJ/KL city jam crawling traffic day in, day out. And see which one has better FC.

CVT better? Maybe Honda’s Earthdream CVT which has very impressive pick up.

Proton’s PUNCH CVT is known to be useless jerky problematic noisy junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • vecko on Aug 29, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Go to fuelly, honda jazz only can reach good FC with hybrid tech.

• John L on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:03 pm

My sister’s Iriz gets stuck in jam a lot. 7.3l for every 100km. Hmm…

• You forgot to add 2 more things on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:11 pm

11 . Takata airbag problems that killed 3 persons in Malaysia
      12. Long wait to replace recalled airbags but when when it kills someone, they will blame it on the owner instead of their delay in replacing the defective parts.
      Who said honda spare parts & maintenance costs are reasonable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • dingle on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:14 am

I can confirm that the spare parts and maintenance is reasonable or at least cheaper than a proton. I have a city and a preve.

• Yippi33 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Care to share the parts price comparison that you have replaced btwn these two cars??

• Tyres, lol. Of course city is cheaper, lol.

So many kids here.

• Honda is number ONE on Aug 27, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Betul tu…buat apa pening2 pakai Proton or Perodua, mana ada standard, kereta Malaysia jerrr…
      Better buat mcm aku, pakai Honda City…best gilerrr cakap ko…problem free, save minyak, maintenance rendah, memang ada class…yesss!!!!

Proton & Perodua koman spanar…low class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
      • sport toto on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Honda is no ONE ,hahahahaha you talk like a rubbish , kalau setakat mampu pakai honda city secondhand jangan cakap takbur , setakat ni komen ko yang paling bodoh aku pernah baca ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Heng Lee on Aug 27, 2016 at 8:42 pm

A Honda is “Affordable to buy (Compared to its rivals)”?

So a 74k Honda is “more affordable” than a 45k Proton?

Very interesting logic. What school have you been?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:36 am

The question is which school have you been? It is unfair to compare national car prices and non-national car prices due to different duties and tax rates. May I ask you. Is it fair for Honda to compare their Accord with the Perdana? One has the benefit and the other has a handicap.

• merah biru on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:52 am

All CKD foreign car already sooo damn cheap bcoz of the FTA.
          What is FTA?? Go and study youself.
          Why the foreign CKD car still expensive?? Bcoz they are greedy and stupid ‘BRAND” believer like u willing to buy.

• vecko on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:50 am

It is fair coz in Thai city 2 airbags plus VSA ady cost 59k. Compare with 46k Persona, that’s quite amount of money, can be used for fuel for years.

• En Ketam on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:51 am

Like it or not, the comparison is still valid and fair as you live and buy those car in this country as price is still the deciding factor for most buyers of economy car.

Truth is, even Rm47k Persona offers more value than basic Rm74k City.

• Das Auto on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:30 am

Probably Harvard Business School.

• Astro on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:31 pm

You repeat cut and paste again??

• Same L00 on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:14 am

When it comes to build quality and reliability, P1 is instantly disqualified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
      • pak atan on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:25 am

disqualified because you so jelous. your product keep cheating people with so call “buildup quality”..but honestly malaysian driver have no values for you. you gave us cheap, tin milo, tonggek car with high prices. to tread with our life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Redidiot on Aug 28, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Has anyone done a item to item price comparison between all the brands in this segment? Would be great to dispel myths from facts once and for all.

• mesinrumput on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:58 pm

good. how about fuel consumption & maintenance cost comparison?

• Das Auto on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:06 am

Isn’t it nice that we have cars of our own to compare with jepunis make? I bet other countries automobile enthusiast are wishing the same!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 35
    • Other countries are too busy buying cars without stupid foreign car tax to give a rats as* about their own nation’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 77
      • Other countries dun care sh*t about RV and jepunis badge. They go for whats value for money and safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Kerosene on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:06 pm

No tax? How about im korea?

• Really? Try check Korean NAP then and don’t forget those American too.

• Wow.. what a mindset.. u think without a national car existance, you can buy mercedes cheaper? Do u know that gov control all taxes? They can increase the tax like u wont even notice.. U cant do anything.. change your mindset.. it’s not about proton.. is about the gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Isn’t it surprise that product of a laid back, sedentary culture with minum pagi, minum petang, masa meeting main telephone is used to compared with products that is manufactured by Japanese?

• Your Momma on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Malaysia sure has a lot of cheap car enthusiast that has never own a proper car. Proton = You got to be kidding me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Aug 28, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Hahaha.. I agree… Malaysians mindset. Cant agree more ;)

• pak atan on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:29 am

agreed.. both of you have empty brain. just think of own pockets. lets peoPle buys on.their own. if they think safety comes first, they buy Proton. If they think technological Japonese cars good for them.. let them do so.. because they know their life so cheap.. like Assia..

• Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 6:25 am

Not even yourself believes what you wrote. Since when a Protong is safer than any Japanese car maker?

• Noone said that. But for B segmenters, no jepunis cars have such safety strength as more HPF parts available in persona

• Define proper car ?

• funnyman on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:13 am

Rakyats relationship with Proton is like a loyal husband and cheating wife relationship.
    Proton disappointed the rakyat once, just like cheating wife disappointed the husband once.

Now, the wife is trying so hard to win the husband’s trust back. Pinjam money from mother-in-law via soft loan first, so can arrange more surprises for the husband.

To me, all these are just for show. Rakyat needs to be smart. Cheated once, dont be cheated twice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 49
    • Just move on if there is no love anymore but that is easier said than done. Those that stay behind and giving chances after chances is because they still have love for the offender and hope one day the offender will improve. The signs are good that the offender is indeed improving, slowly but surely. Applicable for your cheating spouse analogy as well.

• The 2nd wife cheated husband n grab so much money but unfortunately the husband doesn’t know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 11
    • Albert on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:15 am

Goh/Chan menghampakan……..according to nasi lemak boleh bungkus newspaper.
      Proton menghampakan rakyat seluruh Msia kerana masih memakai CAMPRO 1.6 engin dan PUNCH gearbox.
      Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • The husband always thought the 1st wife still same as 20 years ago. The husband doesn’t know the 1st wife safe his life how many times so that he can marry a 2nd wife.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:50 pm

We husband find better Japanese wife la
      Wife so longgar and busuk already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:54 pm

what you talking about being cheated once? I am a Saga, Iswara, Proton Knight, Wira, Waja, Preve owner.

I have been cheated like 6 times and not once lah brader!!

• IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:47 am

Exactly! LOL.

Proton now very miang, should just run away with VW, Suzuki, or one of the many car makers looking to take over them. Win-win for all! Husband get rid of useless wife, useless wife can go gold dig rich old man.

• Like those Toyota with Mazda, Ford with Lincoln, GM with Daewoo, Nissan with Renault..and the list goes on and on, satisfied?

• It is way too heavy for a outdated 1.6 engine. Real life fuel consumption is going to be higher than claimed. Saga would be a better choice if really want to buy proton as both serve the same group of customer. Of course if for those affordable, a non proton would be a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 50
    • 1.6VVT enhine is Retuned engine.with improvise from campro. its not campro. Its VVT engine. open your eyes widely.

• Viosfan on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Outdated? Tell that to your jepunis oelverlord vios engine that been used for generation after generation. Why no bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • but the jepunis engine much more refined than our indated vvt engine,even lotus don’t use their own developed campro engine…

• BuRaIaN on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:53 am

Dear Paul Tan/ Jonathan, you should add in Kia Rio Sedan into the comparison. In fact I am surprised how you could actually miss it! Being one of the most value for money non local entry level sedans, it is clearly the nearest and best competitor for the Persona!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 6
    • Lazada on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Unfortunatelly, Kia Rio is rare… cant even see any at all on road…. so, just skip it….

• Yes agree. Why no kia rio sedan? Pretty spacious compared to most B segment. Paultan website boycott nazakia kah?

• Fiesta Sedan? Peugot 207 Sedan?

• Das Auto on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:39 am

Kimchi cars lost market probably done by Jepunis. They balas dendam because they lost HDTV market to them. And also J-Pop lost to K-Pop. Even Milkis taste better than Calpis.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:02 am

Looks very good. Will go for test drive soon. The car is well -kitted but I still wish there’s a center arm rest though.

• syerin on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:30 am

Enlighten me Jonathan. Only the premium trim gets 6 airbags so how did all variant get 5 stars rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Because all Persona variants are equipped with VSC (which is prerequisite for a 5-star) and scored good points in occupants protection due to the strong passenger cell. The Bezza Advance also scored 5-star despite only having 2 airbags.

• farghmee on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:30 am

According to aseancap, yes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Hahaha…bcoz the premium can actually go higher than 5 stars in ASEAN ncap.. but the max is 5 stars unless if Ancap or euro ncap.. even bezza , the premium one only got 2 airbags, but 5 stars too.. impressive for p1 to hv all variants 5 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • shere khan on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:38 am

Asean ncap only need 2 airbags for 5 stars…hence, the rating. Same thing for top line Bezza. However, top line persona may be eligible for 5 stars euro ncap which is stricter than asean ncap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Asean Ncap is all tipu lah. You take all our 5 star cars and send it to Euro Ncap or to US, it will get ZERO stars.

We Malaysians only syiok sendiri. ASEAN NCAP was created to give Malaysians a syiok sendiri factor. To make us feel good and gian.

In actual fact, all the 5 star cars fail big time in other NCAPS.

Let us get real. We cannot really trust ASEAN NCAP. Like Persona across the range all get 5 stars…..mana boleh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Vsclessp2 on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:12 pm

If you are here for some time you will know VSC is the pre requisite to get 5 star. So even car with 2 airbags can get 5 star if it has VSC.

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:02 am

Euro ncap has one more test which is pedestrian collision protection while american institute of national highway safety has a full frontal collision test instead on top of the offset frontal

• malaysian on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:04 pm

To qualify for 5-star, it is a compulsory to have VSC. If you score top marks in the crash test but do not have VSC, the max you can get is 4-star (the case with lower variant Bezza). I believe Proton sent a unit (Iriz) with 2 airbags for ANCAP certification but still scored enough for a 5-star rating.

• Driver on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:34 am

The power to weight ratio is a bit poor i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • shere khan on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:44 am

Right? But try driving it. Its actually faster than my old persona 1.6 in traffic light. Still, the old one doesnt have rubberband effect when highway overtaking. Gearbox factor, really. U win some, lose some i guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Annoynimouse on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:41 pm

I think for this type of car, the low end torque and refinement at cruising speeds are more important than outright power. The old campro engines of the gen2s and personas have high power output which are accessible only at very high rpms. This gave negative impressions to everyday users saying that the car was under-powered.

• Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 6:34 am

A bit only? It’s terrible. In A and B segments, weight is everything due to their usual small displacement and low power engines.

• Nothing much with 0.006Nm per kg difference between Vios and Persona

In Europe you can even have 1.6L MPV

• AbuDEBU on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:39 am

All in all, the PRICE IS RIGHT. You can’t argue with that. Tentatively, Persona was to be priced up to RM 62K for Premium variant. When I first heard this, I thought that this would cause Proton to sink even deeper into its financial trouble. This Persona might not sell well.

The new Proton’s CEO seems to “get it”. He ‘seems’ to treat his job seriously. I don’t know why I said that, it’s just my impression of him through watching his live interviews and things that he had said.

The price is really a deal-breaker for most Malaysians who are considering to buy new cars. When Proton sets the price to be this competitive (B-segment car at the price of A-Segment car – compare Persona with Bezza), it has become a ‘clear cut’ decision. No more “just-top-up-a-few-more-thousands-ringgit-to-get-Vios/City”. The difference is significant.

A lot of people have been voicing this out for so long. But the previous Proton management hardly listened to it. The management ‘seems’ to be out of touch with the reality. Pricing Proton cars at the price of its rivals, which has good brand reputation to back them up. Regardless of how good Proton cars are, it just didn’t work, because it’s “P.R.O.T.O.N”! This is the market sentiment as of now and also since many years ago. When I decided to purchase a PROTON car last year, friends of mine said things like “Are you out of your mind?” (when I showed her Proton brochures I took from showroom); “You buy a PROTON? Hmmmmmmmmmmmm……..” (while he was staring at my car). Never a good impression.

The reason I bought Proton was because its safety standards. I used to live in Europe and ESC is compulsory there. So, it’s natural for me to sway towards that direction: NO ESC, NO BUY. Since I don’t want to be spending too much money for a car, I was left with a limited choice. But this line of thinking is not for everyone, most Malaysians I know are still sway towards brand image, “drive Vios can sure get awek meh”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 12
    • Diesel Power!!! on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:21 am

Agreed tht p1 has improved much but still not on par with the japs..
      Rgd the Persona, it loses out on the interior space, fuel consumption, and power to weight ratio compare to japs. But with this pricing it will winover bezza potential buyer, wont affect vios/city buyer much.
      Majority Msian buyer think abt, brand image, reliability, fuel efficiency, resale value. How good and nice a car, u will sell it after 5-7yrs usage, so resale value will influence alot. Just look at the monthly sales chart, it tells how the majority buyer pattern..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Albert on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:24 am

Diesel power
        You may be correct.At 1.2 ton plus 5 nasi lemak besar badan 100kg guys,the TOTAL nett weight is 1.7ton.
        The 1.6 campro engine will be highly UNDERPOWERED.
        So fuel consumption will naturally go up.

• Definitely will affect vios and city, however will take awhile for bezza to be affected.. bcoz it’s P2 after all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Diesel Power!!! on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:55 pm

I think u cant accept realistic isnt it? If practicality and logic dictate the market, nobody will buy MCopper,Vellfire,Civic..they can just buy an exora if they want space, iriz if they want a hatchback, Preve if they want a sedan…but the truth is always hurt…ppl only care abt image just like y they rather spend thousands on a branded watch or bag than buy a cheap no brand item..if u have 80k budget to buy a car, will u get a persona??

• Image > life

• En Ketam on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:02 am

That’s just your opinion. I have budget for City V specs but after having a look at Persona 2016 I changed my mind. I’m not the one that like to change car for every 3-5 years so RV is not really a factor when the price gap is a lot.

*factoring Takata airbag and Honda SC as well which I found to be on par with Proton nowadays. I rather get a Nissan, SC wise but the Almera is too hideous compared to Persona.

• Nosushi on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:47 pm

No japs car is winner. City got 6 airbags but expensive, Vios has no VSC, latio FC is no better

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:03 pm

You sound really like a DRB staff working for the CEO. It is so obvious. We will see in few months time your praises of Proton. Only consumer can decide. Let us see MAA months of Sept, Oct Nov and December. Let us see whether Proton can sell. As for now, its below 4000 cars last month. Let us see whether the rakyat fall for all the hype Proton is giving.

Proton has been giving the same hype since every launch from 1985. Every model, they tell the same thing. Every model, they say they have changed and using high quality parts.

But every model, same story. Few months later, so many customers complain non stop.

I doubt the public will fall for the hype. You know exactly the same hype they gave to Tiara, Savvy and Iriz. Look where these cars are now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:50 am

Gen 2-Big time failure to replace Wira. Cam tapi tak Pro.
        Waja – BMW of Asia
        Savvy – TUV (we all know it’s a lie, the TUV only for a few cars, later all the batches no TUV).
        Preve – Game Changer.
        Suprima – Game Changer.
        Iriz – Game Changer.
        Persona – No more Game Changer
        Saga – Game OVER

• Your Momma on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:05 pm

When you need to be long winded to justify buying a cheap car, you know you can’t afford a better one.

• Gwee Han Yang on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:01 am

Still the same 1.6 CC….. Should actually upgrade to 1.8 CC because Saga FL already 1.6, Perdana already 2.4, why Persona remains at 1.6? Civic, Altis and Sentra already 1.8 or 2.0… Where is new Satria 1.8 GTi? Only got Satria Neo 1.6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 80
    • shere khan on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:50 am

Hmm i hope u read more news before commenting. Proton has restructured its engine offering lately. Plus, saga fl got 1.6? U mean the flx se? Thats already discon’ed. Plus plus, u r comparing different segment civic altis sentra. These r c segmenters…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • Same L00 on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:22 am

Excuses bla bla bla bla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Redidiot on Aug 28, 2016 at 12:22 pm

True P1 is restructuring their power train offerings. But safety demands and imo inferior weight saving approach (P1 should take a serious look at how the japs, especially Mazda, approach this subject) is putting on unnecessary kilos. I’m waiting to see how drivers react when they drive with full passengers and luggage. P1 should’ve slapped on sumthing like a turbo 1.3 which would’ve given the new persona much more appeal.

• Cos people like this they comment first – google second – use brain: never

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:06 am

Gwee, for 1.8 litre fight proton has prevent turbo. The new persona is smaller and actually reduced to b segment size. 1.6 is sufficient

• john is otak batu on Aug 28, 2016 at 2:15 pm

ask 4 TGDi engine lah!

• Aikon on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:09 am

BTW, it is 1.6L and 1600cc or 1.8L and 1800cc. Just to update you.

• Keepitup on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:33 am

Better than ugly penyet bezza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 13
  • Same L0rr on Aug 27, 2016 at 7:02 am

Now a day, people want a reliable engine & light weight car. Proton still with campro & heaviest car in B sedan market. So how to be successful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 97
    • Vios get awek only when early afterlife. Thats success!

• Mozilla Chrome on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:08 am

5 star ANCAP of Persona ain’t cost nothing. High tensile steel used and tons of safety features are the reason of the extra weight. You will be thankful if you involve in an accident (God forbid). However, they need more efficient engine (maybe hybrid) to make this car more attractive.

• dirtyoldmen on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:22 am

So how to be successful?
      Glad you asked. You can start by not wasting time posting dumb comments on the internet. Don’t be a loser troll like that ‘Same L0rr’ fella.
      Anymore questions? I’m here to help.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 21
      • Lolz! Savage!

• CrazyMobilo on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:47 pm

Vios & Almera has been getting so much of hit since it debut. Problems with the product can clearly be diffrenciated with its Later cars. Here Persona gives a good run for its money. I really hope its RV will improve.. lots of my friends & relatives are planning to book 1 as their second car just because of its safety features list..

• Ncpau on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Pipu want safe car. Once you die you cannot get to live again

• Well well on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:08 pm

It will be another unsuccessful bid in 3 consecutive years for umw toyota to retain back King of Foreign Cars (KFC)..And how bad mouth their salesman trashing proton,they still lags behind national carmaker year to date.September coming soon,persona bookings overwhelming charts and new saga definately kick toyota deeper..People now quite knowledgeable to decide which brand is most value for their hard earn money.If they looking for sushi,currently Honda is the best option and p1 or p2 for budget but p2 is lack of safety perks.Honestly impression on p2’s Bezza is way overrated.Low quality material (plastic upholstery) & weird proportion whole design.Persona look n feel more dapper.Wait for saga much value for money.Vios no longer in our radar..Toyota salesman deserves another 5 year under the frogs butt or until they learn to respect and being humble to others.Why our local consumers can’t differentiate toyota Malaysia is different than global standards? Not just tax regime is pushing us down,lack of specification put us at higher risk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • blackAMG on Aug 28, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Fyi, that N engine in bezza are based on avanza, vios, myvi engine that already existed since 2004.

• Ms Check Pick on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:51 am

Recycled same engine only slight improved but less power.How to convince with a current underpowered engine to lesser power on future engine? Vvti came into vios in 2003 with 109hp at 800+ kg Gross Vehicle Weight without passenger.Now same engine with lower power have to carry 1100+ kg GVW? How to rely on the fact that fuel consumption is terrible?

• Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 6:52 am

What’s better, a Vios with 1090kg and 107HP or a P2 with 1210kg and 107HP? Ask your kids, they will tell you how to Mathematics work.

• tarakbaca on Aug 31, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Even you have 118hp in city also doesn’t make difference, go and read review. Torque is more important here.

• Same L0rr bodoh on Aug 28, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Define reliable to me.Underpowered engine like vios 4 dinospeed Flintstone gearbox deserve to be dumped into ocean years ago.How to rely on that to carry fully loaded car? D and R gear both feel same function..moving backwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Mr Lok on Aug 28, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Feel burn so deep coz this persona gonna effect vios deeper.Don’t be surprise vios will offer 15k to clear dying stocks soon.Like same lorrr said before the RV drop further on the first day registered.Eat your dirt same lorrr

• trimmtrabb on Aug 27, 2016 at 7:41 am

Correction – Vento’s wheelbase 2,552mm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • trimmtrabb23 on Aug 27, 2016 at 7:42 am

Correction – Vento’s wheelbase 2,552mm

• For those that says the Persona rear legroom is small, did you really sit in the car or just concluded by looking at pictures? Yes, in the pictures it looks tight back there but once you sit in it you will realise it is not really as bad as some people wants you to believe. The rear seat cushion is better than Bezza and might be even better than Vios in the sense it is longer and support the thighs better. The seatback is more comfortable than the Bezza’s pick-up like rear seatback. It can’t beat City or Almera for legroom, but it is definitely not as cosy as Mazda2. I am 5’9″ btw.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
    • Das Auto on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:01 am

Agree with you. Was concern about that but after seeing the car it provides very good thigh coverage thus smaller legroom. It’s very comfortable as compared to Bezza and others, but a bit too soft for a heavy person. That may be a QC oversight because it is made of too soft sponges. In future, we need to measure rear seats as a comparison as some manufacturer cheated just to make it look it has huge leg room. As one test drive a car, one never bothered to check the rear seats and that’s why always bring your wife/kids or friends along.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • Fuel consumption and C02 figures please?

• normal_user on Aug 27, 2016 at 8:35 am

The demarcation of B and C segment becomes harder these days, and the key determinant here is the rear occupant space. Just my opinion on key attributes of rear seats among B-segment cars:

Longest legroom: City
    Widest elbowroom: City
    Tallest & ‘Airiest’ headroom: Almera
    Longest Thigh Support: City & Persona
    Contour seats with side bolsters: City, Almera & Rio
    Most natural hip position: Persona & Almera (easy entry/exit)
    Center armrest support: Almera, City & Vios
    Thickest cushion: Persona

• Terpesona on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:56 am

I’ve test driven the persona just now for an extended period since I had to take it to a fuel pump

Dont overhyped yourself for this car and think it is a b segment car that has the same quality as a c or d segment sedan with faultless nvh because it’s not

It is however imo the same level as any premium international b segment car like the city or the vios. You can have a conversation in this car without having to raise your voice. The engine noise is still somewhat there but it is only noticeable if you really push yourself to focus on it.

There wasn’t any rattling and the cabin stayed impressively quiet from the surrounding. Everything feels sturdy and at home. The leather seats do feel a little hard and I’m not sure whether there is any difference with the fabric version.

The rear seat is longer to provide better support for the thighs which is why it may look like there isn’t much space at the back. So supposedly, it’s more comfortable for a lengthy period of use since it supports both your bum and thighs. At 170cm there was still more than enough space for my knee.

The star of the show in my opinion is the acceleration not the nvh. Yes I’m not joking. I’ve driven my gf’s iriz and it was always hesitating in between “gears” with its punch cvt that i rather used my manual car when we went out.

This persona however from my experience had none of those issues. No whining or jerking and it was impressively smooth. I would say competetive with most automatic cars.

I still feel some lag between the input from my foot to the engine like a second of delay. Though this only happen from a stand still and common in any brand. Plus, I’m a light footed driver and drives a manual car daily.

The only thing I can confidently say from this experience is that it is definitely the best proton I’ve ever driven.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 18
    • Another clown trying to convince that he is doing an impartial feedback.

• Fardilah on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Haha. Yes it’s new. 3-6 months later the condition like 3 years. Engine becomes louder and louder and rattling noise everywhere. 3 years later the car condition like already 15-20 years. Proton? No no no… Bezza please. Japan quality and reliability. Proton is not there yet. Long long way to go to reach there. Good luck to the owners of the Persona. I wish you all the luck in the world and may you find happiness and satisfaction in owning a Proton car. Peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Lazada on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Yup… test driven feels good…but the back isnt much space, if the driver is about or more than 170cm… it will be perfect if add on arm rest, rear aircond, pojector headlamps (Bi-Led), rear Led light bar looks…. then is completed good buy… Manual really need add another 2 speakers…. Only 2 speakers is Sad!!!!

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Clearly a DRB staff trying to prep up the name of Persona. Hello brader, any Proton car shows its true colours after few months lah.

Like the Iriz, brand new syiok to drive, few months later, the gearbox judder, halt and jerk and the gearbox got oil leak.

Don’t try to kelentong people here lah DRB kuncu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • policeman on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Really? Best Proton. Better that Inspira? Or you’ve never test driven that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Never owned a proton on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Driven for a short test drive is different to own and drive it everyday. Reliability for proton after few years still questionable. Their after sales service still below par. Staff morale is low. Sale is far less compare to last year month on month. Money is tight. 4 model launching in a year is truly gonna be disaster for QC and after market problem. Regardless how people perceive proton build quality. They still cant maintain production defect rate. Surely someone will regret putting hard earned money for proton model. Just wait and see. One regret customer will destroy next 100 customer. Trust me. Its domino effect. Anyway good luck for proton new owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Same L00 on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:29 am

If it is so good, please buy the car. Support proton by practical action. I am so sick of proton spending my tax money. Enough of Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok Tapi Kosong Action!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:28 pm

1000% agree with you… Support proton by practical action, as you also bought a black proton saga (good and patriotic citizen indeed).

• driver on Aug 28, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Agreed. I’ve test driven it… twice, just to confirm my first impression of it’s refined NVH. The second driving took longer route, hence it gave me more opportunity to test it at higher speed. There’s more about it than what’s written in the brochure – a simple example is the signal indicator. A simple tap will do for it to blinks for about 3 seconds before it automatically turn it off. A convenient feature when changing lane.

My advice would be to test drive the car before making any comment. Indeed, it’s the best proton I’ve ever driven.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • thats BCM body control module is already aplied to protons cars since exora bro. very convenient. how about auto speed wiper on trapig light? follow me home? auto fold side mirror when U turn on the alarm. etc..

• IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:11 am

That feature is in a lot of other cars as well. Nothing to shout about.

• Das Auto on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:30 am

Agreed. Tested the car and it is what you wrote! But only one small detail, why P1 still make signal lever on the left? Don’t they know men love to put their elbow on the door’s windowsill while driving. Don’t ask me what they do with their left hand!

• Kreta lembu on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:38 am

Why all proton taller than other import cars? The new pesona more higher 1.554mm,i really don’t like high roof car,that’s why i haven’t decide to change my old aeroback.

• mohamad on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Rear seat comparision;
    Bezza =2.5
    Persona =3.0
    —————-
    the middle width not sufficient for adult.

• Abraham on Aug 31, 2016 at 7:03 am

2.5 what? Apples, bananas? Be specific dude before trying to make comparisons, else you will sound like an illiterate

• Neutral on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:12 pm

The Persona has the look and the safety features are on par with other marques. The only draw backs are of course the engine and the gear box. No matter how you tuned it, it could only be slightly better. The QC of Proton still left a lot to be desired. The after sales services are the main concerns of many potential buyers especially those who have had the misfortune of owning a Proton before. If the mechanics or technicians of its SC still have the same kind of attitudes with the kinds of thinkings: “Proton memang macam inilah” “This is Proton, what do you expect?” “You paid this price, you get this type of quality”, I am very sure Proton is heading to its doom. It’s too early to say if Persona will be the game changer for Proton as a lot of buyers still hesitate and have reservations about Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • rosdi on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Persona is the prettiest… Bezza is the ugliest. City in the middle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Mr.popeye on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Honda City still dominant in B-segment cars. Worth to owned it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • you have more money and want to pay more 10K..should be fine right.

• transformer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:08 pm

been to the showroom and experience the persona…. I just wondered why don’t P1 lengthen the wheelbase so more legroom at back compared to Iriz…. It’s not that hard as others makes also extended to differentiate sedan vs hatch…. No point explaining how good is the seat design are… It’s just not enough legroom at back there….

• IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:56 am

Exactly. It’s so damn miserable, even Saga looks to have better legroom. The Bezza also has much more legroom despite being only an A-segment car.

The reason they don’t extend it is simple…$$$. It will me another tens of millions (if not hundred) to extend the structure and re-test everything.

Potong already hutang keliling…where got money to do more R&D…

• Being heavier has its advantage as well. The Persona feels planted in straight line at national limit speed. Around corners it rolls a bit more than the Iriz, maybe due to its softer suspension and skinny OEM tires. The engine on the test car I drove felt a bit hesitant but I think its due to the engine still breaking-in because the odometer showed barely 1000kms.

• angkor on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Test drive it just now. Seriously the new car doesnt feel like a proton. I must admit proton really have done a good job. No complaints, all items checked. It only comes down to whether you want to feel happy (persona) or want to save money (perodua).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Personified on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:49 pm

I’ve driven the new Persona and I’m quite impressed by it. Its chasis rigidity (which makes it heavy I guess) is top notch. I’ve driven it around the famous Bangsar Jln Maarof thru the pot holes and bumps with four guys . Guess what? The Persona soaks all the bumps beautifully, not even a squeak from the weatherstrip or vibration,this tells you that the chassis didn’t twist, like some other cars I’ve driven. We did another round when I sat at the back. Its correct the rear seat are a tad soft, and you can really doze off as it absorbs the potholes.
    The SA shared with me that this Persona have a 3 point mounting that splits the engine vibration from the body. When you put your foot down, the engine will over rev ( because of CVT) but you don’t feel it resonates into the cabin. I’ve even tried the ESC, though the tires screams loosing traction , the body roll was not felt just before the ESC kicks in. It’s Ohsem!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Never owned proton on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:50 am

Tried esc. Hehehe. Are u sure u can try that on normal road with test drive unit. Which showroom and sales advisor given u the opportunity. U seem like a proton rnd staff to me. Esc can easily replicate at test track with enough space or fast slalom. Some reader can eat ur bullshit. But for sure U cant fool everyone

• Aikon on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:38 am

Actually it can be tested from speeds as low as 70kph. I know because my crazy colleague took the test drive car out purposely on a wet normal road and tried that. It worked. But it was a crazy experience. BTW, 70kph was the speed he was going.

• Yala… nak tipu pun agak agak la.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:55 pm

“the new Persona is actually rather impressive – it has more torque than all bar the turbocharged Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI’s 175 Nm”. New persona isn’t as high torque as Vento. All bar means for what? Doing this comparison is not promoting new Persona. Look at the power weight ratio, persona was the third place from bottom, but practically slower than Vento as Vento’s torque is much higher than persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • A Good PersonA on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Test drove it today and glad i did.Impressive improvement by proton.Guess will change my mind to place a booking on Bezza but really enjoy new persona than Bezza has offer.Don’t mind 10k higher for full specs.But now a mission to change my wife’s mind on her new car..So help me god

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • IrizX on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:51 am

Listen to your wife. Woman knows best.

• camtakpro on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:41 am

Any issue happen in your choice (Persona) you will face eternal damnation.

Listen to your wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Das Auto on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Just tell her you saw her friend booking a Bezza, and that she needs to up one above than her. Women, they always wanna outdo other women, in everything!

• camtakpro on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:47 am

Out-doing means booking the same Bezza but getting more free gifts as well as getting the car earlier.

For cars, girls vs girls rarely went hp vs hp; it will be mainly FC vs FC, charging ports vs charging ports, cup holders vs cup holders.

• Love the tail lights. And did anyone mention yet… that it actually looks cute? Yup best looking Proton since Preve IMHO.

• Potpong Fuel comparison dare not list ita figures against other on Aug 28, 2016 at 1:04 am

All the comparisons shown but the very critical once like fuel consumption & effenceincy was not compared mention at all !!! I think Potong damm scared to share figures of fuel consumption with the cars compared as it would be dead last & even worst the figures will be huge to show its the same fuel guzzler like before and that heavy weight of the car wold contribute even more fuel !! Nuff said, epic failure like always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • shere khan on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Actually, proton did shared its new car fuel consumption, and they dont care much about the numbers since different driver, different habit. Real life story is different than controlled lab test.

• Drove Vento, Almera, Saga FLX, Old Persona E on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:12 am

Well one big difference is Vento should be out of story because the only car in B class with turbo i guess. It totally feels different when driving turbo sedan compare to natural aspirated sedan. Vento can accelerate 0 to 100kmh faster than any of the cars in the list.

• camtakpro on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:43 am

And enter SC faster than any of the car as well.

• Ya lahh..Pay more 14k for lower spec..it should be fine if you have more money.

• oh mak lu jina on Aug 28, 2016 at 10:13 am

Gen2 replaced Wira, and Persona is sedan version of Wira. So then it was a WIra. Then Iriz is a new saga hatch, and New Persona is Iriz sedan. So then it is now a saga. Why don’t people just buy a saga then?

• Same L0rr on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:33 am

Buy Toyota better.. No pening2 kepala.. Good RV

• altezza owner on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:21 pm

toyota is better car but front appearance like predator especially vios , my old altezza much better

• What about fuel consumption comparo?

• noor azmi on Aug 28, 2016 at 12:56 pm

I just went for a test drive in Shah Alam.
    Fuel consumption gauge showing 11.5 probably due to the high revving test drives conducted all these while.
    While I must say that the built has improved and the safety aspects at its best , however the engine can do better esp for a 1.6
    Let’s not get so hyped about the new Persona and jump in immediately.
    Personally I feel that I would wait for the new drivetrain. 2017 is just around the corner so just be a little patient and wait for the newer & more efficient engines.
    No use commit now only to regret our impulsive actions. Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Oliver on Aug 28, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Please define the word “competition”. Proton operates in a protected car market. There is no competition here to any car on the market. There is no comparison to be made. It’s cheap because of protection. You can list all the specs but it’s meaningless without a value comparison. Real comparison would be to what foreign car makers could offer at the same price point without protection for proton. Best value is still Kia Rio in the current scenario.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • alldisc on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:02 pm

If only the government allows Toyota and Honda to sell vios and city at 60k… Proton will close shop. Proton must act quick. The new persona must start selling in overseas market ASAP. Target to export 80k units in 2017.

• Same L0rr on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:27 am

Are you kidding? Can sale 80 unit permonth export is a big challenge for the proton!

• krs189 on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:54 am

in Thailand, Toyota Vios Low Spec starts from RM69K.

Thailand wants to protect Proton?

Vios at 60k my *ss

• think smart on Aug 28, 2016 at 10:57 pm

kia rio good in safety spec but also poor in fuel consumption with their 1.4 gamma engine. So dun over pride kia rio…proton wif coming GDI engine are worth to waiting for..

• Freddie on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:27 am

Adware become proton quality tester? Normally first batch got lot problem to test on the road, better wait after one year let people test first and repair the defects before U buy proton new model.

• It’s all about prejudice. Once your mind in made up, nothing will sway you. Proton will always be bad.

• attan on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:19 am

First thing Msian drivers will do is change tyres.
    Even salesman recommending this.
    Coupled with its masive bodyweight and not so efficient engine, at the end of the day expect higher fuel consumption.
    Remember that 6.1 reading can never be achieved in real life driving conditions.
    Current Saga owners can vouch to this so don’t expect it to change even after all the tuning & tweaking.
    Remember its still a remapped Campro with fancy jargons. VvTi – Punch mismatch.
    Don’t be oblivious and let the sales numbers decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Yippi33 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:46 pm

You can never achieve the claimed FCs on any cars unless you drive like a granny..Honda, Toyota you name it..

• John L on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:09 am

FC on my Iriz is 7.3l per 100km. I think the advertised FC was 6.7l around there? Hmm.. not too far off.

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:39 am

Checked out the car at the showroom. Initial impression is good on the fit and finishing, which I think even better than the Iriz when first launched.

Haven’t test drive it though. Thr Iriz has a very compliance chassis which put many B segment counterparts to shame in terms of cornering composure and ride qualities, coupled with a very, very good EPS, it is almost on par with the Fiesta and Mazda2, which are kings of the segments IMO. The only let down of the Iriz is the ultimate stupid CVT that robs the enhanced VVT power curve and all efforts put in by Proton engineers. The manual Iriz is simple pure joy and gem, no questions about it. The manual Iriz offers a no frills, old school, B road talent just like in the 90’s, I laugh like a small boy everytime when I curi my gf manual Iriz and head down to Genting Sepah or Kuala Klawang on Sunday mornings. And because it’s a based spec manual, it has nothing much to go wrong to begin with. No TCU recalibration required. no push start button issues, no touch screen issues. For less than RM40k, no other car offers kind of joy, fun and handling in Malaysia.

Now back to the Persona, the large boot and redesigned rear quarters are meant to appeal to the requirement of practicality. If Proton is able to iron out the CVT refinement and QC issues, they already had an instant winner here, is just up to you to trust the brand or not.

That being said, I think Proton had made a mistake of not providing adjustable head rest for back seats (not even in premium specs) in the Persona, it makes back passangers somehow less comfortable and most importantly, the OMMISION TO PREVENT HEAD WHIPLASH for the rear passangers in the event of a collision. Common’ Proton, you’ve done a great job in the Suprima, Preve and Iriz by providing European standard head rest for the rear pasaangers, why ommit them in the Persona? Pls, put them back in the facelift. And secondly, glad to hear that there’s still manual offered in the Persona, albiet only in standard form, but why take out the foldable rear seats in the standard spec? It makes Ikea shopping much easier, this is a very very important feature for most Malaysian. Why can’t manual drivers have both? This is so disheartening to know of. (still not trusting the CVT though, I still prefer the stick shifting Gretag if I’m getting one)

Apart from these two facts, there’s nothing much I can criticised of the new Persona, at least for now. And for that “high butt” and tiny wheels negging coming from many people, car stability has nothing gotta do with how tall the butt is, it all boils down to suspension geometry sets up that will effect on how well the wheels will grip the road. And being Proton, suspension geometry is their forte, you can definitely count the expertises of the Tanjung Malim boys. As long as the wheels are still gripping the road, the car is stable. Many ah beng modify their car with lower suspensions, with the false mantra of “lower is more stable”, without knowing with the altering of the suspension geometry, the car became less controlable, and less forgiving when approaching the limit. And on the tiny wheels, the new Mazda comes with stock 185 tyres, and it corners better more stable than many cars equipped with 205. Again, it’s suspension geometry that plays the part. Good job Proton, and good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • fancy pants on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:22 am

bising bising kereta itu bagus kereta ini bagus, hak masing-masing lah. bukan pakai duit ko pun

• Amazing how people commented so much but don’t want to test drive.
    Seriously bros, there is nothing to lose if you test the car. Even car sites and magazines tested the car first la.
    Many people were impressed with the new Persona after test drive, so why don’t you try first, then come back here to comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • John L on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:13 am

Because.. if they test drive they might have to change their opinion. And people will rather be right, even if they are wrong.

(Disclaimer: I haven’t tested the new Persona, so I may have to eat my own words.)

• that the diff. when talk with knowledge or just follower ja.. mcm kaya sangat bila komen

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:05 pm

tested the car, better u buy 2nd hand accord

• PowerToWeigth on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Author quote “it narrowly beats the Mitsubishi in terms of power-to-weight ratios, and is comprehensively trumped by the Perodua.” I’m confused how power-to-weight ratio of the Persona (88.43) trumped by Perodua (101.68). It though a lower value of power-to-weight ratio is better!.

• John L on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:11 am

No, higher power-to-weight ratio is better. More horsepower pulling a lighter car.

• David Billa on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:11 am

Just tested the car at Perai Autocity…I must say, the fastest throttle response I’ve ever drove from a proton till date…touchscreen player changes channels and menus in every touch without even a single hang…audio speakers give bass quality sound…design looks way better than previous proton models…small design, but fits perfectly for malaysians I would say…with all the safety offerings, I believe that now Proton has introduced a proper product…I’m from a middle income family, so Persona seems to be my taste…but the practical use of the car on the roads and reviews from daily users would help me more to decide, whether is this the car that I’m gonna give to myself?

• if you want cheaper FC, goes for Axia, perodua. If you want more space, goes for Beazza but not as good in handling/ride. Safety not bad.5 star already for high end.

if want safety and comfort/space, goo for new Persona. I tried and this most the best with price in B segment.

• Silmi Isa on Aug 31, 2016 at 11:43 pm

Design nampak mcm Saga. Harga mcm Persona. Prefer Old Persona. Wider & lower = Nice aspect ratio.

• Where is rio sedan? How come they forgot.

• The design of old persona was also good but there was very little equipment. The interior was not impressive anymore. People need to look at something new. Just see how the new city has changed the sale figures of Honda. Proton should look into this. I believe with IRIZ which has new albeit strange design and now this Persona, things are beginning to change for Proton.

• volume speaks all on Sep 10, 2016 at 9:48 pm

IMHO. Sales volume speaks. A car is not to be compared too much after all. Look at your hand fingers got long got short. Ada baik mesti ada buruknya. No product is perfect but if it suits your lifestyle its a good car la. We r driving on the road full of gangster n road rages. How harsh our comment here doesn’t really help much to change the reality. Why not pick a choice and drive with manners. Then it make a difference.

• Think & Chose Wisely, Yah?! on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Everybdy cakap BANYAK/talking so MUCH…. Simple reasoning, WHICH is a BETTER BUY, a Belt-Timing car or a Chain-Timing Driven Car??!! Not hard 2 DECIDE or is it???!!!

• Calvin on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Any keyless issues with new persona model so far?

• Kenny on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:34 am

The width of new Persona is 1722mm and Honda city 1695mm & Vios 1700mm but the new Persona look narrow and small compare to Honda city & Vios . Why? Is the measurements correct? Can someone from Proton explain.