BMW 330e iPerformance Sport plug-in hybrid launched in Malaysia: 0-100 km/h 6.1 sec, 2.1 l/100 km, RM249k

BMW_330e_Ext-3

Good morning! We’re here in Desa ParkCity for BMW Innovation Days 2016, where BMW Malaysia has launched its second plug-in hybrid, the BMW 330e iPerformance. As with the X5 xDrive40e, the locally-assembled (CKD) eco-friendly compact executive sedan has been accorded Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status, and receives duty exemptions and a significantly more affordable price as a result.

Available in a single Sport Line trim, the 330e is priced at RM248,800 on-the-road without insurance, putting it in the clear air between the RM202,800 318i Luxury and the RM297,800 330i M Sport, and sits just above the RM231,800 320i Sport.

Before the government-approved EEV incentive, the 330e would have otherwise been priced at RM368,800. Included in the price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a five-year free maintenance package and a two-year BMW Tyre Warranty.

BMW_330e_Ext-23

Power comes from a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine serving up 184 hp from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 290 Nm of torque between 1,350 and 4,250 rpm – the same output as on the 320i. An 87 hp/250 Nm electric motor is sandwiched between the engine and the eight-speed ZF automatic transmission, boosting outputs to 252 hp and 420 Nm. A 5.7 kWh (nett capacity, 7.6 kWh gross) lithium-ion battery powers the motor.

Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.1 seconds, while the top speed is quoted at 225 km/h. At the other end of the spectrum, the 330e is capable of achieving a combined fuel consumption figure of just 2.1 litres per 100 km, produces carbon dioxide emissions of just 49 grammes per kilometre and has an all-electric range of 37 km, with a maximum speed of 120 km/h in this mode.

As with the X5 xDrive40e, the 330e features three hybrid driving modes – Max eDrive prioritises pure electric driving, while the default Auto eDrive mode optimises the use of both the internal combustion engine and the electric motor. Lastly, Save Battery restricts operation to the ICE only, saving the remaining battery charge or topping it up (to approximately 50%) for later use.

The 330e is very similar in look to a standard 3 Series, differentiated only through the charging port door on the left front fender, an i badge just below it and an eDrive badge on the C-pillar. Step inside and you’ll find unique door sill finishers with the eDrive script, an eDrive driving mode switch on the base of the gearlever, and dedicated hybrid system displays in the instrument cluster and iDrive system. The boot floor is flat (unlike the Mercedes-Benz C 350 e‘s stepped floor), but space itself has been reduced from 480 litres to 370 litres.

Despite not coming with the 330i’s M Sport package, the 330e gets a higher level of equipment than its more expensive sibling. On the outside, there are full-LED headlights, LED fog lights, 18-inch V-spoke light-alloy wheels and Comfort Access keyless entry. Inside, the cabin receives Dakota leather upholstery, power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s memory function and an electric sun blind for the rear windscreen.

Elsewhere, there’s the BMW Navigation System Professional with an 8.8-inch high-resolution display, the BMW ConnectedDrive suite of emergency and concierge features, a nine-speaker 205 W HiFi loudspeaker system and a colour head-up display. New features to the range include a sliding glass sunroof, Park Assist (with automatic parallel and perpendicular parking) and – finally! – a standard factory-fitted rear-view camera.

For our market, a normal socket charger is bundled with the vehicle, although a BMW i Wallbox is available for around RM6,000, quickening the charging time to 3 hours 30 minutes (from 5 hours with a standard three-pin household plug). There are installation costs, however, and these will depend on the complexity of the install. These could range from a few hundred to around RM5,000, with the average being about RM3,000.

We’ve driven the BMW 330e iPerformance in Munich – read our review here. You can also browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BMW 330i on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:37 am

Might as well get a pre-reg 330i at RM260k minus all the hassle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • DaVinci on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:32 pm

omg such cheapskate!!!

no wonder Mesidis is the only premium German brand left in Mesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • tokok on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Is very easy to spot. Whose best car in their house just ENTRY premiums are ‘cheap-rich’

• johan on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Vote vote!

Thumbs up MB C350e.

Thumbs down BMW 330e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
    • Dpillai on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:44 pm

You don’t have to buy pre reg to get 330i at RM260k. It’s now the discounted price for new

• Rusmah on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:41 am

Its a great car, hopefully dealer got enuf knowledge to maintain/fix it.

• thepolygonal on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:52 am

Great info on the launching. Price wise, I guess it definitely will steal sales from the upcoming Merc C350e. Actually both the BMW and Merc’s interior looks dated nowadays. Perhaps a line refresh coming soon?

37 vs 31km all electric range on the Merc and also 5 vs 2 hours full charge on a normal wall plug.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:57 am

this car can outrun a bezza and persona. on top of that, it’s more fuel economy.

cheap car no good. good car no cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • The expensive price of this car defeats the purpose, the money saved from monthly installment can be used for fuel for years!

Luxury is luxury, it is not for mass.

• Tesla Fan on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

Please Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia) bring in the Tesla Model 3, I would totally go for that rather than a hyrid model like this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Ahmad on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

The facts presented with rm249k price tag is mindblowing. Thanks to the duty exemptions. This is too tempting!!

• meejawa on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:02 am

Cold weather country’s specs aside, what is applicable/relevant but NOT included in our 330e?

• cendol (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:03 am

without EEV incentive makes this car price jumps from RM248,800 to RM368,800

%^*%^%*&%$^&BHTY%^$%^&%$##$%

• DAPat on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Kerajaan kami prihatin. rugi cukai rm120,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:25 pm

It mean the government tax a big chunk from the rakyat. Without taxes, you & i can buy this for RM150,000.00

• Excited about rear view camera, park assist, sunroof and blinds. But no adaptive drive? Those who enjoy the driving dynamics of a bmw will know what they really wants.

• Civic turbo will eat 330e dust miserably

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
  • rchoo on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:07 am

I think it’s not worth the price in consideration of the battery’s replacement cost and life span.

• You can still drive without the battery functional what

• battery replacemen cost is not as expensive as u thought. in fact, it will be cheaper in future due to mass production for ever increasing demand for hybrid cars.

• Mass? U think this is Toyota or Honda ke? Go check A6 hybrid 2013/14, people is throwing away now.

• There are 6 cells in the the 330e which can be individually replaced. Each cell cost about RM1000.

• i.am.resh on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:09 am

Good work guys..that’s fast from the time of the launch completion.

No M-sport version? :(

• Jason Khoo on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:20 am

Such a disappointment from BMW Malaysia not carrying the M-Sport version for this 330e. I believe many were waiting for this and expected it to be an M-Sport version. I was even looking forward to it as well, I bet now my choice is clear. 600nm of torq seems to be my choice now :D Kudos to BMW on the sell through for this vehicle!

Just my 2 cent…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Owners are Crying like Baby on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:37 am

Today, the owners of 320i and 328i and 330i are all crying. Overnight, their RV has dropped about RM50k.

This is a warning to all car buyers of BMW, Mercedes and all Japanese brands. When your car company introduces a Plug In Hybrid, your petrol car that you bought will drop in value so much.

Look at the BMW X5 owners. They bought at Rm588k. Then BMW introduced the X5 Plug In at RM388k. Overnight, they lost RM300k. Now, they cannot even sell their 1 year old X5 for RM300k.

Be careful. Altis, Civic, City and Vios are all coming out with plug in hybrid engines. When they sell the Honda City Plug In Hybrid for RM50k, you will cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Medic on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Your solution for this is to buy proton or perodua ka?

• Durian story on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

Kalau tak mampu, tak payah lah ajar orang lain apa nak buat. Kerja kuat sikit, earn a better car.

• CrazyMobilo on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:26 pm

I wouldn’t say the same… car value of those cars are going to slide but would not be more than 5/6k.. The most depreciating car in terms of VALUE would be this 330e… reason, simple..
      This car is being sold at a temporary EEV compensation price. Its more likely to sky rocket very soon and vice versa its value also would dereciate significantly because peoples thinking would be like.. OMG the parts are also going shot up .. plus we are light years behind US in having a full electric cars on the roadz. Its rarely any visible charging points being set up so far.. EEV is good but not that great for buyers yet.
      Vice idea, if any1 goes for RV.. dont book this… simple.. i learned my lesson the hard way. I m stuck wit an undervalued PRIUS for all the same reason….

• Boring Kunta katak on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Very familiar lesson post, basher being a basher, if cant afford, dont give lesson lah. You are not that category yet

• Decent specs for decent price. The only downside I can see is the smaller boot space & less sharp handling due to the added weight. I would’ve like to see the adaptive suspension (which is a must on BMWs if you like to drive hard) on this to help with the handling but at this price I’m not surprised it isn’t included.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:49 am

Wonder how they going to sell the 320i….unless people are not open to the hybrid idea yet thinking it will cost a bomb to replace the battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • heybadigol (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:50 pm

People who have 2 kids (and those with a lot of luggage plus golf bag to carry) might still choose the 320i.

• Its still close to 20k more than the 320i. Thats a lot of money especially if the buyer already stretched their budget to get the 3 series.

• Mikey on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:38 pm

If a person who is considering to but a 200k plus car, he will not bother with 10% difference. If it is stretching your budget. you are better off buying a 2 years old BMW.

• PoorMalaysian on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Great FC figures there. Certainly will benefit the rich as this is affordable to them.

Pity those with lower income can just envy and drool over this car.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Like the a6 hybrid..its gonna be out of stock very soon…too cheap!

• gaviny on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:01 pm

this will outnumber proton and perodua cars, everyone can drive BMW no

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:06 pm

BMW Malaysia is improving, good.

• dpillai on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:09 pm

The 330e is being sold in the US for less than USD50k. Therefore it’s actual pricing here should be in the region of RM200k. Having said that at least BMW Msia isn’t selling it for RM299k like the C350e by Mercedes. When it comes to hybrids, it’s all about pricing and passing the best benefit to the consumer

• wkaka on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Additional sales tax + some profit margin, at least it isnt double!

• U Think U R Smart? on Oct 10, 2016 at 2:10 pm

oh please, try asking the currenct owners of 3 series and i am sure they will curse BMW till cow comes home. BMW only cares about sales and wouldn’t give a rat shit about its products’ RV. I wouldn’t even touch a car where the manufacturer keeps selling its products cheaper by the day. At least Mercedes doesn’t price it’s C-Class Hybrid to kill off existing owners, as well as potential buyers….

• Sammy Is MO1 on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:15 pm

I hate the way BMW Malaysia always screw up its specs by being very stingy on exterior kits. They know the M Sport pack is the popular choice but they deliberately do not give customers that spec. Why can’t they offer both specs, at least give your customers a choice. Unlike Mercedes Malaysia, they know customers like AMG with big rims so they offer what their customers want. This is the way to go. As you know, if you satisfy your customers they will support you well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • They will throw in the m sport 2 yrs later in lieu of discount, std bmw marketing

• dpillai on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Unfortunately, these companies are thinking more of their bottom lines. The profit margins of both BMW and Mercedes in Malaysia are huge. This can be seen by comparing the prices of similar models cars in US/UK with Msia prices, even after taking into account the taxes paid in Msia. Up to now, Mercedes has been more competitive putting some pressure on BMW but the C350e proposed pricing was a huge let down.

• dpillai on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

To my mind both the 330e & C350e should have been priced lower, ie closer to RM200k-RM220k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Antman on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:27 pm

C350e > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Purnama on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:10 pm

1Series & 316i owners can upgrade!!

• wow, this car is around the price of a golf gti and is faster n much more fuel efficient

good buy

• passion on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:37 pm

wow tectonic plates shifted at the center near the gear knob?

• Question on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Does it only comes with 2 airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Looks like around 6 airbags. Front two plus front to rear side impact and seat airbags

• tattc on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:57 pm

connected drive now standard is awesome in this hot climate

• Awesome on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

My math might be wrong but for a full charge, it would take 5 hrs so that would be about 7.5*5=37.5kW units. And let’s say you pay around 50c/kwh which would mean around RM18/full charge which then can only move 37km on full electric mode which would mean around RM0.50/km. This is pretty high. I’m paying around RM0.18/km on my 2.0l turbocharged car with 250whp/420wNm…

Pls correct me if I’m not understanding something here…

• Stefan on Oct 03, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Your ‘math’ is wrong. The battery capacity is only 7.5 kWh so one full charge would cost you maximum of RM 3.75.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:44 am

Car price Rm300k, tax 150k.

Nicely done Malaysia

• Dpillai on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Paul, could you please do a write up on the costs of charging a PHEV car. Thks

• Telsa fans on Aug 31, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Paul, could you please do a write up on the costs of charging a PHEV car. Thks

• Dear BMW Malaysia,

Please make available PHEV versions of the upcoming 4-series LCI and the G30 530e (can we hope for a sub-RM300k pricing?) Both in M-sport trim like your X5xdrive40e please.