Johor Sultan wins bid for ‘V1’ number plate – RM990k

V1

The results for the new Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur number plates with the ‘V’ prefix are out, and it’s not much of a surprise that the coveted ‘V1’ registration number goes to Johor’s Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar. The ruler put in a winning bid just short of RM1 million to seal the deal.

The RM989,780 bid tops the RM836,660 Sultan Ibrahim paid for the ‘F1’ plate last month. Then, the ‘F1’ Putrajaya number was the highest sum the Sultan had paid for a number plate, eclipsing the RM748,000 bid for ‘W1N’ in 2014 and RM520,000 for ‘WWW1’ in 2012. These are the highest sums paid for regular series number plates in Malaysia.

A mysterious rich man paid RM1.308 million to own the special ‘PATRIOT 1‘ plate last year, and there are a couple of new special plate series being hawked now such as VIP (Visit Pahang Year), PERFECT (by the Table Tennis Association of Malaysia) and as reported yesterday, NAAM (New Affirmative Action Movement).

The number plate system change to ‘F’ for Putrajaya and ‘V’ for KL is for the authorities to earn more money – this is big business. Deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi was quoted as saying that the public were more comfortable with the traditional number plate sequence of a single prefix, versus a prefix and suffix numbering system (W XXX A, started in September 2013 and now defunct).

“This is based on massive decline in bidding for the current KL number plate sequence. So I hope with ‘V’, it will get people excited,” he said.

Other notable ‘V’ numbers snapped up are ‘V6’ by an unnamed government official (Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan), ‘V9’ by Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan (Tengku Muhammad Faris Petra Ibni Sultan Ismail), ‘V38’ by another government official and ‘V63’ by one Azalina Binti Othman, which should be the cabinet minister. Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani (V40) and Tabung Haji chairman Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim (V89) are also in the list.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Is this a joke on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:56 pm

ordinary citizens… just forget it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Good to see these big sharks “contributing” to the country now. I do hope they can bid more frequently

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:12 pm

It is disgusting how people are spending so much of money on a mere number plate. Yes, the argument is, its their money and they can do what they want. Well, isn’t it better to help the poor people out there?

Even if you don’t want to help the poor, do something for the rakyat, like put aircon units in the classrooms of Government schools. or build a bridge outside the Government school to prevent children from getting knocked down when crossing the road.

In todays world, the heat is so unbearable. Pity our students. they find it hard to study even with the fans in the classroom. Our Government sadly does not care. They rather spend on fancy private planes and Rm500mil new planes and expensive RM500k handbags.

To all you rich people, your wealth, despite you thinking it is due to your hard work, comes from God. It will be pleasing to God if you can use the wealth to help the poor and it would be great to be humble and not to show excessive behavior.

Do something for the poor people please. Donate directly, as we don’t know what the JPJ does with the money they collect. Whose pocket masuk pun we don’t know

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:11 pm

But we the rakyat don’t see the money. How do we know JPJ gives back to LHDN?

If 1MDB can cheat in their accounts, anything is possible. If billions can be lost in 1MDB, billions too can be lost by JPJ.

Don’t forget, 1MDB had their accounts signed off by prestigious accounting giant.

• Dr vida on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Sy pon dh lama X dapat bang…

• Mana Dato Vida?

• Wish I had such money…I need money to pay for my children school fees. Because the local school std is so poor.. all my savings already used up… so they have better education

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Some of the smartest persons came from the poorest of schools. No amount of money thrown can change anything if the kid is not smart.

• CarBuyer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:24 am

But Megalomaniac doesn’t begin with “V”?

• Cheung on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Need Johor Sultan to donate a semi-D for me as well since he has lots of $

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • UitmJB on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:53 pm

If you are born poor its not your mistake, But if you die poor its your mistake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Will be on the first proton persona

• Retro School on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Donate for you to who? Why do kids nowadays use ‘for’ extensively without knowing how to use it properly.

• Desmond on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Can please update full result for tender No. siri V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Johor on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:27 pm

put in proton persona for sure

• Wong Jia Hong on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:23 am

Sure,for show. Just like how ordinary folk would “park” their plates on cheap kapcai. In future, got chance to switch to better cars.

• Along on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Seems that V yielding high bidding results… I think Sabah, Sarawak and Langkawi should get prepared to change the current format to a new suffix-less format in order to get more bidding money…

Say goodbye to SAC 1234 C, QAA 1234 R and KV 1234 D for more bidding money…

• tokmoh. on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:30 pm

inb4 Sultan Johor put V1 on new Persona 1.6 Premium.

I got it right last time with Perdana 2.4 F1, let’s see if I get it right this time hewhewhew

• well seems like the wealthy has far too much money to indulge in vanity plate purchases, agreed it is the individual’s prerogative and the ability of his or hers purchasing power…..and agreed it is extra revenue for the government…..but really wished that such vanity purchases could be channelled to the less fortunate in Malaysia…or even spend on public projects that benefits the poor and needy Malaysians…..But alas….money and vanity supersedes everything else I guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • SIANG on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:36 pm

WHERE & WHEN CAN WE KNOW WHAT TYPE CAN BE TENDER BEFORE?

• azrai on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:42 pm

V for Vendetta

• Chingu on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Will Majesty put it on Proton Persona?

• Donate to the poor lah, instead of wasting money on these useless things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • Goes to show u know nuts about him. His pipu luv him, moreso the poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:53 pm

We respect those VVIPs and wealthy folks who wish to bid for special number plates.
      Can the JPJ collect such funds BUT DONATE ALL SUCH PROCEEDS to CHARITY? JPJ does not need these funds.They have enough until there was a mouthwatering robbery at their branch lately.
      Spare a thought for the downtrodden.
      Paultan forum contributors….what say you guys?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • The funds not going to JPJ, its to NAAM. Please read properly.

• John, you are the one need ready the article carefully. NAAM is the new prefix which was the fund will go to New Affirmative Action Movement. “V” is going to JPJ pocket

• Saitam on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:13 pm

It will be interesting to know who is the second highest bidder for V1, and Tuanki bit him by how much..

• Poor Johorean on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Second highest bidder …. RM989,700

• Goodboy on Aug 27, 2016 at 5:08 am

normally for these bidding, if u r a vvip, I think they will contact you and ask if u wanna match the highest bidder amount or not. Else you won’t have such non rounded amount. 989,780 seems to b a number which is neither here nor there

• Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:47 pm

government earn all these bidding money but still life in malaysia for many is poor

• spice on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:04 pm

When the V plate open for public

• happiesdog on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Where is Dato Vida?

• Imbalance..give me the money

• Omar50480 on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Yo paul.. dato johari is fm2 not dfm

• JPJ is just making the system more complicated and messy. Might as well just transform that Jabatan into private firm.

• skyscraper on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:23 pm

may i know FA -FB -FC when start tender ?

• Vida waiting for V1 DA

• metertax ic on Aug 28, 2016 at 4:45 pm

If you poor dont have money drive UBER
    La ha ha ho ho ho……….buy Vi yours, My Vi try count how much balance money you get a month.or an hoour.