2017 SYM Sport Rider 125i Malaysia launch – RM5,450

2016 SYM Sport Rider 125i -17

In conjunction with its annual dealers’ dinner, SYM Malaysia held the world debut of the SYM Sport Rider 125i in Penang, at a price of RM5,450, excluding GST. More than just SYM’s first launch of a 123 cc EFI motorcycle in the underbone (kapchai) category, the Sport Rider 125i was produced based on a design from SYM’s Malaysian operation.

The decision to produce an EFI 125 cc kapchai was taken after considering the needs of riders in the small-bike market, combining the SYM Malaysia’s experience with the SYM Sport Bonus 115 and E Bonus 110. The SYM Sport Rider 125i comes with an air-cooled 123 cc single-cylinder two-valve SOHC engine that pumps out 9.5 PS at 8,000 rpm and 10.8 Nm torque at 5,500 rpm.

In full compliance with Euro 3 standards, the 125i is fed by EFI, a first in the kapchai-class for SYM. DRLs are also included, as well as LED signals and taillights, which brings the lighting under Euro 4 compliance.

2016 SYM Sport Rider 125i -4

There is an under-seat storage space, which means the 4.2-litre fuel tank gets placed in the tail section. An analogue tachometer – something not usually seen in kapchais – and digital LCD speedometer complete the instrument cluster, with the LCD gauge performing multiple duties with gear read-out, odometer and fuel gauge.

Front suspension is with telescopic forks, while a traditional twin shock absorber setup in the rear features remote reservoir shocks adjustable for pre-load. Braking is done with a hydraulic disc in front grabbed by a twin-piston caliper, and the rear brake is by mechanical drum.

2016 SYM Sport Rider 125i -20

Weighing in at 107 kg, the seats of the Sport Rider 125i are separated, designed to enhance the comfort level of both the rider and pillion. SYM Malaysia expects to sell 20,000 units a year, with bikes arriving in SYM dealer showrooms from September.

The 2017 SYM Sport Rider 125i comes in three colours – Yellow, Blue and Red – and goes for RM5,450 excluding GST, road tax and insurance. A special limited edition Matte-Black version of the 125i is available for RM5,570. A three-year or 30,000 km warranty is provided.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Pakulupapito on Aug 27, 2016 at 6:58 am

SYM…jenama tiruan terbaik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:15 pm

amazing whilst people are spending millions on a number plate, majority are taking loans to buy a motor that cost RM5450. And I mean majority of the rakyat.!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • nickamyn on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Bkn sym lh jnma truan..demak yg kuat tru yamaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Beerus on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:28 pm

tiruan ? kau maksudkan demak ka ?

• Err. Seperated seat?

• There’s a bump between pillion and rider..so it’s seperated

• There’s a bump between pillion and rider

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:59 am

What we meant to say is that there is a clear separation between the rider and the pillion in the seat design, instead of the usual flat seat found in most underbone bikes.

• Sub_zero on Sep 01, 2016 at 1:52 am

That mean your choices of word is suck

Kudos to the person who spot it

• Donno on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:02 am

Err euro4 lightings? Euro4 is a description of which stage of compliance for engine emmissions standards. Lightings is under the other general unece standards and not refered as such. Btw congratulations to sym, and it shows that by designing products that motorcyclists wants they can still sell even though they are a new player in town. Other manufacturers (suzuki, and modenas) take note, this is a good example and benchmark on how to do well selling motorcycles.

• I guess they are talking about the new type-approval regulation (EU Regulation No. 168/2013), which makes Euro4 engines and the fitment of automatically switched dipped beam headlamps mandatory for bikes sold in the EU.

• Sym.. Tertinggal kunci Pon orang x ambik..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • UMW TOYOTA on Aug 27, 2016 at 9:06 pm

one two five

• ben yap on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:31 pm

this bike is cheaper than my cervelo road bike.

• BOYRACER on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Interesting.. Hopefully the fuel economy is good with fuel injection.The only downside I see is the small fuel tank.Honda Future also have underseat compartment but with larger fuel tank at 5.6L if I’m not mistaken.I also hope that SYM would improve in the quality of the materials used on their bikes.

• belangR on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:44 am

actually bigger much better but for spec wise it actually good, 4.2l with FI, compare to 135lc 2016 still use 4.0l carburetor.

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Aug 28, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Syukur…..kapchai already cost 5k plus in Malaysia….

• sub_zero on Aug 30, 2016 at 8:10 am

this is 125cc Fuel Injected 4 stroke single cylinder

grant me any name of brand that sell same moped with same engine cc and Fuel Injection less then 6K?

and don’t tell 6K below cannot afford, bloody 3rd world malaysian

• Honda Future F1 Single Dics exclude GST boleh ka?

Sym and Kymco is OEM manufacturer that produce alot of quality Scooters for the world. Their Kapchais is under licenced products.

• maaf ye sy nk tegur ckit sikap sesama kita…jgn mudah menuduh n condemkm brand lain..yamaha,honda,suzuki n kawasaki pn dulu ssh org nk terima tpi hasil marketing yg bgus semua dh ok skrg ni…demak ke,sym ke kymco ke sama jerrr prlukn masa utk dpt keyakinan org…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • wau cantik model sym 125i’minat plak bila tngok