Toyota launches 2016 Asian safety campaign, focuses on the most important basic – the use of seatbelts

Toyota-Safety-Campaign-2016

Toyota has launched its regional safety campaign for a third consecutive year. The campaign, which has a Be Safety Leaders tagline this year, was announced at the 2016 Toyota Technology Media Event in Yokohama this evening. Previously an effort for the ASEAN region, the safety campaign now includes India, Pakistan and four new Southewest Asian countries – Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Nepal.

With Be Safety Leaders, Toyota is encouraging car drivers and passengers to assume proactive leadership in traffic safety by starting with the basic – wearing seatbelts. This year’s campaign will put emphasis on countering the public’s prevailing mindset on the usage of seatbelts.

While buckling up should be almost a reflex action before one starts a journey, Toyota’s survey conducted in 2014 found many people not doing it, and the top five excuses are (brace yourselves, some are shocking): there are already airbags in cars; confidence in one’s own driving skills; it’s just a short journey; discomfort; and seatbelts cause clothing to be wrinkled.

So, Toyota’s focus on the basics makes perfect sense, and so does the campaign’s aim to counter the mindset. The Japanese giant hopes to reinforce the fact that seatbelts complement airbags and increase the latter’s effectiveness by 15 times. On their own, seatbelts reduce the risk of fatal injury by up to 50% for front seat passengers and 75% for rear seat occupants.

“Traffic safety is Toyota’s top priority. We believe in contributing to achieving a society with zero traffic accident fatalities. Through our regional safety awareness campaign, we urge drivers and passengers to belt up to keep themselves and their families safe,” said Hiroyuki Fukui, president of Toyota Motor Asia Pacific, at the launch event.

Toyota’s regional safety campaign began in 2014 amidst high traffic accident fatality rates, low law enforcement and general low safety awareness that were becoming prominent issues in an ASEAN region undergoing rapid motorisation. In the first year, Toyota focused on call-to-action for greater seatbelt usage. In 2015, the campaign continued to advocate buckling up and aimed to “empower the public with knowledge to be safety leaders.”

Of course, continued reinforcement is needed for behaviour change, and this year, it is hoped that the public will be leaders-in-action, be proactive and spread the word about the importance of using seatbelts. Toyota played the above video to a silenced hall and I believe the tear-jerker will be a powerful tool in getting people to be proactive. The emotional narrative of The Promise takes a leaf from those brilliant Thai sad ads – do watch it and share your opinion.

The campaign video will join last year’s interactive online campaign that includes the “Toyota Seat Selfie App” and “Go Go Buckle Up” game. As mentioned, the campaign is now an Asia-wide one that includes India, Pakistan and four Southwest Asian nations.

We’ll be learning more about Toyota’s safety efforts and technology over the coming week – stay tuned for more on how the world’s biggest carmaker is playing its part in achieving a future society with zero road accident deaths.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Focus on the basics because that’s the only safety feature you have in most cars sold in this part of the world. If you’re serious about safety start talking about having VSC as standard for a start. Even the Avanza doesn’t have ABS on some variants for goodness sake!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:04 am

I like! Buy Toyota better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Hahaha guilty conscience so compensate with seat belt reminder so they can sleep better. Yes UMW we talking to you.

• Same L00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Avanza not safe? Buy Sienta lar? Then you blame us for high price… Why foreign cars so expensive? Thanks to Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Operation Manager on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:19 pm

WTH… why car maker not focus on own car standard safety features… who clown toyo management …? Why focus on lampu rosak, seat belt, tayar kena kencing, etc…

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:40 am

Totally! Funny that their Hiace is equipped with VSC as standard.

• Petrolheadx on Aug 28, 2016 at 10:56 pm

We still don’t have VSC on our Toyotas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:01 am

VSC is wasted on people who don’t wear seatbelts.

• IlovetoyotanotUMW on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:03 pm

Why seatbelts? Because they lack esc and airbags of course

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rr on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:11 am

If the car have 10 airbag, if not wearing the seat belt, then accident hitting the treller, sure you thrown out from the car.. Seat belt 1st, then airbag just as the Supplemental Restraint System (SRS).. Put 2 airbag just enough what..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:47 am

Ya, your Toyota Nirvana’s seatbelts, airbags or VSC not gonna save lives also. Still tin coca cola. Care to demonstrate? P1 Persona chassis safer and more rigid!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:00 am

It doesn’t matter how many airbags you have, if you don’t wear your seatbelt, you’ll die. Simple as that. Airbags are important, but seatbelts are much more important than that.

• maXref (Member) on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:26 pm

When it comes to talking about safety, Toyota (or rather UMW) should be the LAST car company qualified to talk about safety. Don’t be a hypocrite please

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:29 am

And make sure the VSC function is always on.
    Oh wait, it doesn’t even have one!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • Please tell umw that you have some other stuffs such as VSA and six airbags. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • John is otak batu on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:29 am

Do you know Toyota was the first in the world to offer 9 airbags in b segment car some 10 yrs ago? Yes, it was yaris in Europe, USA and Japan spec. No point having so many airbags and vsc if you are not wearing seatbelt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • As I mentioned, “other stuffs”, you still have to wear the seat belt for sure. But the problem is, UWM doens’t seem aware of the fact that Toyota actually offers a full range of safety features.

• but here in Msia…top selling VIOS dont even have ESC/ESP & curtain airbags..shame on u UMW Toyota!

• Toyota ASEAN ≠ safety

#SayNoToToyotaP2Deathtraps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • david on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:30 am

yes. as a distraction from the fact that most of T cars dont have VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Horizon Sailor on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:26 am

Toyota Motor Corp done this campaign because Vios in Malaysia are totally junk. Their customer live is cheap. Even the driver use seatbelts. Only ABS with EBD+BA..NO ESC..NO TC..NO HHA…Bought Vious only to woo girls…heh..Even kosong spec Iriz got all these features. A complete active/passive protection for driver and its passenger. Not to mention that most bike nowdays also equipped with Traction Control. To gentlemen and ladies looking to buy a new car. Choose wisely. A car that only offered sport bodykit or a car that well equiped with safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • Albert: Say what u want, but in the end we knows MY pipu wud rather proudly die in my toyota deathtraps than shamefully survive in a safer but crony P1. As long as we can cheat MY pipu, why not? Increase safety spec means my bonus cut, u know!

• Ms Check Pick on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:10 am

Unless u r living in USA,Japan or European countries.Others than that Big T is just big terrible.Even proton can organise seat belt campaign.But we are talking of Toyota,man!! Seat belt? Btw proton currently included high tension steel on recent launched car,safety standards for all variants.Higher standard for top range.Salute

• LazyPeople on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:53 am

We are so backwards sometimes. Airbags dont work properly, and can be dangerous, without seatbelts. They are designed to work together to save people in the car. If stupid people dont want to use them, let them die. Darwins law. I just feel bad for the children whose parents are too damn lazy to put them in a child seat. They let them ride on laps, stand in seats, or let them sit on the center console of the car. Really shitty parents.

• #OhTheIrony

#ManaAlbertSammyDahPegi

#P1BashersHilangMana

• Jobless on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:09 am

So wat if yur car fully loaded wit all those advanced electronic safety features, coz if u drive like those mad ah bengs u see daily on road, u will still be meeting early wit yur maker..definition of ah beng (those young new to job mostly sponsored by parents or those jobless oso fully sponsored by parents who tink they driving F1 car and F1 driver skill but in reality driving cheap junk wit all those ah beng bodykits)

• Those ah bengs driving like madmen r mostly using vios & myvi & axia/viva. Oh the irony there!

• ..Make sure ur cars have all those airbags & curtain airbags…ESC/TC/ESP..etc…in case u are hit by those ah beng…u’ll need the protection & those technologies to control ur car!!

• Ben Yap on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:18 am

Toyota launches safety campaign is akin to Najib launches anti-corruption campaign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:32 am

Also Toyota launches safety campaign is akin to Proton launch quality campaign.

• Is more akin to Save… oh wai… I can see the irony a mile away.

• Crapy Cars on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:28 am

Seriously,seat belt? Even all the lousy cars in the whole world comes with seat belt.Just be honest don’t hide the fact that Toyota discriminate Asian market (except Japan,Korea,China) and considered us as 3rd world market and value Asian safety and life as cheap as donkeys.Every year so brags to announce they are the most profitable company in the world but the truth was toyota produces it cars at lowest cost without full safety standards for Asian but claimed it products at global’s best based in high regulated laws & well developed countries only.While others struggled to fits in additional perks into its every single car to attract consumers with lowest profit for all countries.So tell me what was toyota contributions in road and it products safety towards Asian consumerism? No matter what tax regime in each Asian country applies to carmakers,Toyota earn about the same profits for each car it sold worldwide but in these case Asian countries is major contributors for their top global ranks in term of profitability.But why categorised our life at the lowest? There’s so many new safety features invented in the past decade but until now Toyota being exclusive only to top range or not even existed in Asian cheap life market.Kudos to Korean makes for their generosity in its products to compete our trustworthiness.Not there yet,but nearly here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Hahahaha
    Seatbelt….

• david on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:37 am

Suggestion to Paultan.org, please tag your car reviews on availability of VSC.

FULL = all variants have it
    Partial = only certain variants
    U*W = Junk level

• frossonice on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:46 am

In the end of the day, Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua will be selling bucket loads of vehicle just because of perceived mentality of common people that their vehicle are far more superior and last longer than time itself…

• wendy on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:02 am

this is so funny!

after this, their safety campaign, the important of signal or horn or brake (with no abs) hahaha!

• UMW TOYOTA on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:11 am

sienta hilux altis camry hiace all got VSC.. why dint mention these..

• Yeah… with the 2 little airbags which you didn’t mention as well

• Hey look who is talking/educating about safety! lol

• Aiyo, drive safely lar.

Guys It’s Toyota, don drive like GTR please.

If you want to drive fast and safe, go get one F1.

Bashing is not helping. Don’t like Toyota, buy other brand la.

Spread some love please~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • driver on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:27 am

hahahaaaaa..

that campaign just made my day

• Basheer on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:54 am

Why don’t Toyota get the stocks to change the faulty Takata airbags first then only talk about safety. Hypocrite.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:02 pm

toyota trying to be volvo lol

• nabill (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

hahahaha , thats like Hitler talks about world peace!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:12 am

I blame the Malaysian police and reporters. Whenever there is a crash, they should report whether people wore seatbelts or not. Especially the fatalities where the people didn’t wear their seatbelt. Every single time someone dies, big news, and the most important thing about the report is always no seatbelt, and that the people could have survived if they had worn their seatbelts.

Also, they can do a road tour with a car seat on tracks, that rolls down a bit and then comes to a full stop. People get to try it with and without seatbelts, and… without seatbelts it’s going to be painful.

• camtakpro on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:39 am

inb4 Toyota launches another 2016 Asian safety campaign focusing on ‘good’ tires and driver stays awake.

“In every Toyota, we ensure the driver safety by fitting tires that keeps the driver awake.”

• BenciKamu on Sep 04, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Please boycott UMW! Enough is enough.