nuTonomy begins world’s first public trial of self-driving car service/ride-hailing app in Singapore

Software developer nuTonomy has launched the world’s first public trial of a “robo-taxi” service. The trial will be held within Singapore’s One-North business district, where “select” Singapore residents are invited to use nuTonomy’s ride-hailing smartphone app to book a ride in a nuTonomy self-driving car.

The self-driving car fleet is currently made up of a Renault Zoe or Mitsubishi i-MiEV electric vehicle, which has been fitted with the company’s suite of detection and processing hardware, as well as self-driving software. An engineer will be present in the car during each ride to collect data, as well as assume control if needed.

nuTonomy hopes to introduce a widely-available commercial “robo-taxi” service in Singapore by 2018. The company was selected by the Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) earlier this month as an R&D partner, to support the development of a commercial autonomous vehicle (AV) service in Singapore.

“nuTonomy’s first-in-the-world public trial is a direct reflection of the level of maturity that we have achieved with our AV software system. The trial represents an extraordinary opportunity to collect feedback from riders in a real-world setting, and this feedback will give nuTonomy a unique advantage as we work toward deployment of a self-driving vehicle fleet in 2018,” said CEO and co-founder of nuTonomy, Karl Iagnemma.

In addition to Singapore, nuTonomy is operating self-driving cars in Michigan and the United Kingdom, where it tests software in partnership with major automotive manufacturers such as Jaguar Land Rover.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dont see any SG taxi drivers protesting this? Their future livelihood is at stake..

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 29, 2016 at 12:40 pm

That’s the difference between Malaysia & Singapore. Instead of whining and scared they lose monopoly the government beat them to the game and create self-driving transportation system. And you wonder why their economy is much better than Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:40 pm

What a stupid statement…if you like singapore so much go and live there laa…whats so great about self-driving…let them be killed first…once the system is fully improvised then only we start using it…no need to be so hasty…even most advanced countries are not ready yet for this autonomous driving…we dont need to be ultra kiasu like singapore…even penang is not ready for such technology despite having under market value chief minister…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
      • Vincent Ang on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Totally useless government with bodoh sombong supporters like you is the curse of your Ketuanan privileges.

• If u wanna be racing, others can do to u as well. Please keep this racing-free

• Wow you sound like one of the gangster taxi drivers.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Wah really aaa…singapore so advanced…i want to migrate there immediately and live in hdb flat and buy car at expensive price…wah so nice hor singapore…i likeee…and in a month’s time i hope to become ultra kiasu like them…nice nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • Malaysia cant even solve the gangster taxi service problem operated by gangster liked driver.

• FireAce on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:46 pm

This type of high tech projects that will advance & enhance our technologies (both design & apply) will never happen in BolehLand.

With the hostility shown by taxi drivers towards UBER driver. If this car is here, it will be vandalized / burned down / sink into river in no time.

Sometimes i envy Singaporean whereby laws and orders are properly upheld. You break the law, you pay for it, no matter the reasons, no if no but.

• inb4 skynet > kiasus

• dodgeviper00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:20 pm

singaporean will always be singaporean ;)

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

SG lawyers can rejoice, new cases are coming to their doorsteps…

• Lee Jr fainted when he sees how much SG Gov can earn from this thing, especially when it goes FUBAR.

• metertax ic on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Ufo olso need hybrid human pilot at least two driver. Vi must create human clon, no have papa and mama and no need eat and drink. This bio technogy i think singapore can do it. U singapore can eksport this human hybrid( malai ka) to malaysia as taxi driver or uber driver. With this free driver earning barulah i believe we can make profit in bisnis taxi. Jangan let tok guru nanti dia peng san.

• Bernard on Aug 31, 2016 at 11:35 am

Spore so advanced.