VIDEO: Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine CKD walk-around

Volvo Car Malaysia recently introduced the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the Volvo XC90, which comes at a RM50,000 discount from the imported version. Where the imported version sold for RM453,888, the XC90 CKD is priced at RM403,888 on-the-road without insurance. Outside of Sweden, Malaysia is the only other country in the world that produces the flagship XC90.

Here, we have the XC90 in T8 Twin Engine Inscription trim, featuring the carmaker’s plug-in hybrid powertrain, which employs a 2.0 litre four-cylinder super- and turbocharged Drive-E petrol engine, paired with an electric motor. The good news here is a claimed fuel consumption of up to 2.1 litres per 100 km.

If that isn’t enough, the XC90’s cabin is awash in luxury, starting with a crystal gear knob by Swedish crystal makers Orrefors. The other standout feature here is a portrait-format, nine-inch touchscreen display that is linked to Volvo’s latest Sensus Connect High Performance infotainment system.

These are just some of the features that are shown in the video above. For full details on the locally-assembled Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription, do watch our walk-around tour.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Does the Volvo logo glow like on Iron Knight?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:21 pm

China’s Geely in disguise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Gerard looks like lin dan…chong wei must like you then…and he will instantly buy the car and present it to you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Volvo way to go. Handsome and stands out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:58 am

You will never go wrong with China technology that is for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Pinky on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Hi Harv,
    Are you ok? You looked pale :(

• Hi.. to improve, i suggest to display texts of key words in the video during your explanation..

• bro 2.0 on Aug 29, 2016 at 10:05 pm

As always, nothing comes close to this XC90 in terms of everything especially SAFETY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Volvo XC90 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:50 pm

fantastic beast

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:48 am

Funny how the promotional “photos” feature 4 VW Golf and 1 VW Polo. Then there are 2 identical Kia cee’d and 2 identical Opel Astra in one photo. All while these look very photoshopped or even rendered…

• A Luxurious Tank !! Harvi, welcome back ! Well done !

• Najib Razak on Aug 30, 2016 at 7:25 am

Does XC90 comes with 5 years unlimited milage warranty and service ?

• tokmoh. on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:54 pm

5 years unlimited mileage warranty and on-call service, no more free parts and labour service.

• Chai Lee Ching on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:41 pm

You must be joking as Volvo Malaysia is a miser. Malaysia price is more expensive than US and Europe. This is the reason the Volvo brand cannot grow!

• Volvo XC90 > all

• apamau on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:21 am

This one is too big and beyond my budget, but really looking forward for the XC60 or XC40 which is within my budget. Hopefully they can start to sell xc60/xc40 year end and we can buy it next year in Malaysia. I am “sold” for the new Volvo hybrid model, it’s now my 1st choice.

• tokmoh. on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:56 pm

It’s unclear when exactly the new gen XC60 and XC40 will launch, but unlikely this year.

Current XC60 has the Drive-E powertrain, very powerful yet fuel efficient for its class. Just reduced price with EEV incentive too.

• Volvo – Swedish Perfection. Finally wood panels that looks and feels like wood. Built-in child seat, Perfect. Safety feature only matches by an aircraft. Welcome back Volvo, we missed you. I would only hope another car manufacturer would revive good old SAAB, they made really safe cars as well. And cars that stood out from the mainstream design and features.

• White on the outside, yellow on the inside

• Malaysian Driver on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:53 am

It is indeed premium wood, Volvo gives u real stuff, unlike some fake wood panel found in other premium marque.

• They have been revived. Google NEVS.

• sohai on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:44 am

Ya, this car is interesting and all. But when come to walking the talk and taking out your own money, ha, all go and book the X5.
    Don’t take my word, just go and ask how long is the waiting list for X5 hybrid.

• Sammy Loo on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:12 am

Volvo got no RV, plus it is a hybrid which make it even worst.

Get the new Toyota Fortuner for half of the price, also a proper 7 seater with good reliability and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • annoyed on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:36 pm

No body care about RV when they can afford premium.People who can afford Bentley lost more than 200k a year, enough to buy a Fortuner full spec.People who can aford BM knew they will lose more than 20% of the resale value a year. And if they going to drive that car for more than 8 years, who care about the punky junk resale value? With automobile technology keep improving, the RV from the so called most reliable brand will drop like hell as well. You poor toyota salesman

• wow. super handsome

• Chai Lee Ching on Jan 11, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Good promotion from Paultan but Volvo not selling as much as BMW X5. Today you can order the XC90 and can get it within 3 days but for BMW X5 you order today, the delivery date is unknown!