Proton Persona wagon rendered by Theophilus Chin

proton persona wagon theo

Not that it’s likely to come about, but nothing like a bit of creativity to imagine what could transpire by slapping a further volumetric extension to the new Proton Persona. The new sedan, very is based on the Iriz hatchback and looks very much derived from it, has been imagined by automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin as an estate.

Actually, estate sounds very much a stretch here, pardon the term. As the rendering suggests, the end result isn’t quite wagon-esque in its proportions, the original car’s height lending the creation an MPV-like profile. Theo definitely thinks so, saying that the vision is more of a MPV rival to the Honda Mobilio and Datsun Go+ than a B-segment wagon.

The Persona, which was launched last week, is powered by a 1.6 litre DOHC four-cylinder VVT unit lifted from the Iriz, offering 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm in this application. Drive is sent to front wheels via a five-speed manual (Standard only) or a CVT.

The car, available in three trim levels, goes up against the recently-introduced Perodua Bezza. The latter is going great guns, having accrued over 25,000 orders since bookings opened on July 16, and 10,000 units have been delivered as of today.

So, what do you think of the extended-tail interpretation of the Persona? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium with optional bodykit

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Please come out with a decent spacious car. I shall be waiting to buy. Unfortunately the new Persona is not good enough to replace my aging Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 63
    • Sorry for you if u have been hiding in the cave before. Proton has MPV (Exora), Preve (mid sedan) and Perdana (limo sedan) for you to choose. how big exactly are u looking at? fool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • karam singh on Aug 31, 2016 at 7:33 am

Lol, not good enough ? hahaha
      its farrrr better than the older Persona.
      does the better safety doesn’t matter to u bro ?
      lots of people praised the new Persona look compared to Bezza or older Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Yes, my old persona seems better in term of space. I’m not changing my car yet…..will wait to see if new exora gives better space and value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Persona owner on Aug 31, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Agree with u Joe. Proud with my 2012 old persona and look forward to new persona but quite dissapointed cause it seems to me more to iriz sedan. Now waiting for new exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rr on Sep 01, 2016 at 10:17 am

No need Persona Wagon.. we have Alza as MPV/wagon.. So.. no! Thanks to theophilus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • OMG…He should said once P1 stop using the lousy Campro engine. He will buy P1 car…hahaha

• nice! forget about suzuki artiga..this is way nicer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
    • no please….just no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Albert on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:08 pm

JJ
      Protong has to pay Suzuki easily rm300 juta to rebadge the Ertiqa.Now with persona and saga launching,development costs of these 2 plus Ertiga easily exceed Rm 1 Billion.
      Also,Perdana rebadge…Honda also has to be paid.
      Already gasak Rm1.5 Billion,another big debt of rm 1 Billion for development costs alone.
      What about existing debts,inflated payroll,capital needed etc ?
      Nothing is free.
      Protong is a borrower.The lender ,fortunately give” soft loans”.Thats why p1 is addicted to this ‘soft loan”.
      Come April 1,2017….another bailout will be arranged.Senang je,kenapa nak khuatir ? Rilax.
      Tun dah bersara.Sekarang ada mus,mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • Aragon on Aug 30, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Why did u made the rear sharp and edgy? Should be more curve like mazda 6 wagon or Levorg or Caldina to match the entire body.

• expert on Aug 30, 2016 at 8:07 pm

why this ugly design? Persona is just an IRIZ sedan so why even bother when it is already a hatch wagon sortish….waste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Puncet on Aug 30, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Under power already on new persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Same L0rr on Sep 01, 2016 at 10:25 am

So go for Preve turbo.. Superpower engine 138hp & 205nm torque!

• topkek on Sep 02, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Vios City also do 0-100km/h in 10 secs, you dun say under power pulak

Topkek

• Exora replacement.. look nice but make sure not the 1.6 engine, need more powerful engine, at least 1.6 twin turbo or combine with electric motor (hybrid) will be good. Also P1, please do something to reduce your car weight.

• ionlaw on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Mini, sedan, wagon, MPV, later may be pickup…they all powered by the same old proton engine….sigh

• Same L0rr on Sep 01, 2016 at 10:20 am

Yes.. Campro engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain! Like i said, Proton never change!

• like i said, u never change. still kissing tonggek ass Berbeza lah sangat… nothing more than just tin milo

• lolpanda on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:38 pm

if only the cars Proton designed actually look like Theo’s renders. The final product usually ends up looking…questionable.

I know how everyone’s raving over the new Persona but I gotta say the rear half looks disconnected from the rest of the car..the design doesn’t even sync up, it’s gold the bold sharp lines from the Iriz up front and the rear suddenly becomes a rounded lump like the dugong-generation Vios

lots of P1 fanboys here so this is going to be an unpopular opinion but hey, to each their own.

• Jayden on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:48 pm

I was at shopping mall looking at the brand new Persona show car yesterday. The car itself looks better in reality. Build quality and material used is up to the higher mark this time.

I would say it may look better in some Honda ‘HRV’ form instead of wagon. As its front and side profile look especially good at the front quarter view.

Just hope the quality may really last for years to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Looks like Grand Livina. Exora still better

• nabill (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:13 pm

The car is too narrow to be worked out as a wagon…wagons have to be wide..
    Maybe…a small suv can be done based on the platform….sting like the Ford Ecosport

• Jimmy on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Good one, Theo.
    Proton please don’t go ahead and produce, you have Ertiger already right? Focus on it.
    This one you can put ‘CRV’ rims and wheels, add wheel arches, increase ride height by 5cm, increase the front and rear tracts, put in 1.6L turbo, and there you are, a FWD crossover like CX3.

• Anson Ong on Aug 31, 2016 at 11:07 am

I reckon that the whole car length of the so-called Ertiga should be stretched to between 4400mm to 4449mm as well as the wheelbase standardized to 2700mm, bigger and more offroad-friendly tires to make that vehicle a 7-seater SUV instead of a small MPV/CUV – and space-wise for all three rows optimized closer to the Honda BR-V instead of fully culling on the Ertiga’s total interior space which methinks is rather squeezed up, especially on row 3 :D :D

• mpv b-segment on Aug 31, 2016 at 12:01 am

The body shape look like Honda mobilio and this could be something in the future to fill in b-segment mpv for Proton. however for b-segment mpv proton already has a plan to use Ertiga.

• Narmi on Aug 31, 2016 at 1:56 am

I wish Theophilus Chin designed Proton cars…

• Always hiring a third party to render a model to see publoc acceptance. What is proton huge marketing team doing?

• It’s ok, it is already ugly enough in stock form

• applegreen on Aug 31, 2016 at 11:13 am

Not a good idea because wagon not spacious enough for b-segment car

• Why you can always come out with proper proportion of your rendering, which seemed so difficult for those proton designer to even come close? Any secret?

• So he took a tracing paper to a toyota innova. Are you sure you arent a proton ‘engineer’?

• Mamamia on Aug 31, 2016 at 7:30 pm

I definitely like it..;)

• Looks good! Can be new Exora!

• Boboy on Aug 31, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Is it just me or is it really ugly?

• tokmoh. on Aug 31, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Wagon 404.

Looks more like mini MPV. Well, close enough.

• farghmee on Sep 01, 2016 at 9:28 am

extending a sedan makes it a wagon.

however, tiny arches of persona makes it look like an mpv..

• tokmoh. on Sep 01, 2016 at 12:43 pm

I thought of alza when i saw this. Makes sense cuz alza is myvi wagon, a b-segment too.

Should shop preve wagon, baru proper wagon, like focus, golf estate.

• Concerned on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:07 am

Where proton hire these rude people to comment and place negative or positive ? It shows how desperate they are. Same as their ego and rude bosses their people are also rude and ego. Proton is running on life support and soon all of you will be fired when a new owner comes in. Proton people your company is NOT a profitable or a loved company. Give up.

• So how much did P2 pay u, hmm? I only got lousy basic + commission to sell Biza. I have to up price by packaging with my fren only can survive. So where u get so gud offer from our team?

• passion on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:48 am

P1? TAK NAK!