2016 Naza N5R launched in Malaysia, from RM13,888

2016 Naza N5R launch (23)

After a set of pics were sent to us about the impending debut of the full-fairing 2016 Naza N5R, the new 250 cc sports bike was launched at Naza World in Petaling Jaya, at a price of RM13,888 excluding GST. A Special Edition with stainless-steel Proformance exhaust, billet levers and bar-ends, machined aluminium foot-pegs, special pillion pad and different graphics goes for RM15,388.

The N5R seeks to capitalise on the demand for 250 cc sports bikes in Malaysia, especially among younger riders. Based on the Korean Hyosung GD250R Exiv, the Naza N5R – basically a fully-faired version of the naked N5 – carries a single-cylinder liquid-cooled 249 cc engine that puts out a claimed 28.4 hp at 8,500 rpm and 26.1 Nm of torque at 7,000 rpm.

Fed by EFI, the thumper engine drives a six-speed gearbox, with chain final-drive. A tubular steel frame – something of a standard thing at this price point – is used, and the N5R has an 11-litre fuel tank, also a fairly standard dimension for 250s. Braking is with a single 300 mm disc in front with a four-piston caliper and a 230 mm disc at the back.

Upside-down forks take care of the front suspension, and a single shock absorber does the duties at the rear. Weighing in at 143 kg wet, the N5R sports a very rider-friendly seat-height of 780 mm. Controls are adjustable at the bars, seat and foot-pegs. Two colour choices are available – red with white wheels and matte-black with black wheels, while the Special Edition comes in matte-grey with black wheels.

Retailing for RM13,888 excluding GST and the Special Edition at RM15,388, the 2016 Naza N5R comes up against some stiff competition in the market, specification wise. The Kawasaki Ninja 250SL, at RM17,349 including GST, is a direct rival to the N5R. The KTM RC250 with ABS is also an option, retailing at RM21,081, including GST.

GALLERY: 2016 Naza N5R

GALLERY: 2016 Naza N5R Special Edition

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Same L00 on Sep 01, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 206
    • pay RM 60k++ still you need to stuck at traffic jammed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 1
    • sub_zero on Sep 02, 2016 at 3:05 am

we have a thing call “rain coat”

it seems your brain float in water for too long i’ll guest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
    • Zaki Mazlan on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:21 am

No need pay toll, parking or stuck in traffic. I guess your brain cells drying up too fast bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • he got no brain. merely empty shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 01, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Honda will have something to say about this soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • sohai on Sep 01, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Before Honda comes into the picture, as at current state, can someone tell me why would anyone choose this over Kawa Ninja 250SL or Yamaha R25 (if you stretch abit more)?

The initial price advantage is not even worth it considering the hassle of dealing with Naza, not to mention you get a lesser bike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 01, 2016 at 4:57 pm

For those contemplating this level of bike, even RM50 a month makes a big difference to their financial health so, they might just consider this over a more pricey one. While it is no Yamaha or Honda, it still looks the part and its Korean so it should be pretty reliable. Then there will also be those who would just not want to buy something so cliched as the established brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
        • 250cc and above bikes depreciate heavily. Buying one at 13k saves one from huge loss in value. Its worth it.

• kanazai2001 on Sep 02, 2016 at 12:17 pm

http://paultan.org/2016/02/15/2016-honda-cbr150r-indonesia-launch-rm10178/

if 50bux more is a giant gap, then go for 150 instead of this N5R (NSR wanna b) 250…

150 from brand H is so much better than this k-pop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • lowprofile (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 2:38 pm

You can’t say for sure that it is better, neither can you attest that the N5 is worse as you probably haven’t even ridden it. A 250 will still be a 250 no matter which way you cut it. Just cut some slack… some people just prefer to have something that’s not considered common, at a realistic price and looks decent enough.

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:52 am

since when is this even says an NSR wannabe? does your brain exploded while your head accidentally trip into a wall?

heck both have different spec serve different time

and it’s just irony since naza opt N5R since the naked version is N5

and 150cc cbr? max like what? 17hp?

when this 250cc max 28hp? you brain dead bro?

• crash on Sep 01, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Maybe 1 reason. This Korean bike is not a thief magnet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
        • sohai on Sep 01, 2016 at 9:30 pm

actually this is a very good reason to get this bike. no kidding. Bukan motor panas.

otherwise if you are on a budget, a second hand Jap bike will still be better then this.

• kanazai2001 on Sep 02, 2016 at 12:18 pm

reason 2 is… sparepart!!!

• sohai on Sep 02, 2016 at 2:48 pm

This is actually a very good reason.
          Motor ni tak “panas”.

• saynotoNaza on Sep 01, 2016 at 5:28 pm

And the name….N5R?
      Ripping off Hondas’ legendary NSR moniker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Protekkk on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:59 am

Naza ka? Lari jauh2 oh.
        The bike is ok. The after sales and service is on par with VW(and that is not a good thing)

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:54 am

ripping? more you trip some dank weed

not even close to even ripping, just coincidentally it’s name is that N5R whilst the naked version is N5

• sub_zero on Sep 02, 2016 at 3:09 am

honda is targeting for premium variant

this one is like a basic variant

especially this a single cylinder version while the new “RR” is twin parallel cylinder

they might have same displacement but both aim different people

• nazapodah on Sep 03, 2016 at 2:23 pm

NSR is 2 stroke lah derrr….Mana boleh sama this 250 mesin potong rumput

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:05 pm

are you stupid?

there is an old Honda CBR 250RR with that RR moniker

and that motorycle use 4 cylinder 250cc (they don’t make anymore)

don’t try to act smart when you don’t even know such thing exist

heck the upcoming new cbr 250 is using the RR moniker

• ASA

• The old naked 250 is half price d… Like yamaha y15zr price

• sohai on Sep 01, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Sure or not..250 at 150 price.
      But then, Y15 price increase alot for ready stock.

• Dropped by at Naza World at lunch time just now and I brought my DSLR to take some photos of the Maserati & 6×6 on display. Suddenly out of nowhere a malay dude (probably a manager) started shouting and came up to me asking (shouting) repeatedly ‘dari mana?’. I wanted to say ‘dari rumah lah’ but I know that would probably end up in me getting kicked out or something. He then (rudely) asked me to keep my camera or he’ll confiscate it. This shows how terrible their attitude towards customers / visitors. Naza is truly number in customer dissatisfaction.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
    • NazaNoMore on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:11 am

Standard lah that one. Naza still thinks they are untouchable. Actually correct also, no one mau touch their merchandise. Lagi-lagi ada staff kerek nak mampus. Berlagak, last2 naik Kelisa jer. Hahaha!
      Ducati is also in a big mess. Nyesal adik aku beli kat Naza.

• Rider07 on Sep 01, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Damn… Honda will have something to say about this? Honda should mind more about bringing the damn new CBR250RR here! and all other brands of the 250cc will shut up. No need to say anything. Bring it in la Boon Siew! Tiew.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • sohai on Sep 01, 2016 at 9:25 pm

your assumption is technically true… unless boon siew start charging RM 30k or more for the 250RR

• NazaNoMore on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:14 am

Come on Boon Siew…

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 2:47 pm

That will only happen after the model is probably outdated already. When has Boon Siew ever been aggressive by being first and gave Malaysians up to date bikes? They might even skip a model or two altogether.

But kudos if they actually do bring it in. More choices makes the buyer the winner all the time.

• Ben Yap on Sep 01, 2016 at 5:56 pm

this bike is not going to sell well for it’s ugly looks. Wait till the 250cc cbr comes and this bike will face even harder times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Papa G on Sep 01, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Hopefully they iron out issues that plague the current N5

and hopefully sir mohan can do a review as well for both

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:03 am

A review of both the standard and special edition N5R will be published in due course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • kazanixm on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Thank sir mohan for taking some times to do some review. Please also add in comparison between both N5R and current N5. Looking forward to the article. (most importantly, reliability of both bikes)

• YamaDa on Sep 18, 2016 at 11:10 am

Rev it up sir mohan. Hopefully you could give a down to earth review.

• Protekkk on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:04 am

I know how to iron out the issues on this new bike. Ride it into the Klang River. Settle.
      Not with Mohan on it of course.

• amiiina on Sep 01, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Honda 250cbrr latest model please bon siew hurry bring it in malaysia. Worth to buy for sure

• Too bad, there weren’t much options in the market for 250cc based easy rider like Yamaha Virago. Even there were few in the market mainly made in Korea or China. These models, unlikely truly performing. Most of them way below 25hp or below, which badly under power .Our market last time, used to have 40hp Kawa i think ZZR 250 or ZXR 250 , with really gruesome performance.

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:57 am

our market used to have

keyword used

oi brader this 2016

not goddamn 1996

heck even USA, europe had to grey import those rare beast

• Bini4Best on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:45 am

13k for this big-kapcai??

I rather use the money to buy an old and used superbike….At least I dont have to hide in shame when seen riding this big kapchai bike like 5r….

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:59 am

your brain malfunction?

this is not kapcai, this is proper beginner sport bike

i doubt you even know what superbike is

topkek this kind of people

• Zaki Mazlan on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:15 am

As expected, jackasses will come out with all sorts of comments.

1) Pay RM13k still you need to hide under the bridge during the rains. Water leaks into your brain??
    -> no need to pay parking or toll, wont get stuck in traffic, low road tax. A good option for those who travel within city centre. Perhaps your brain cells have dried up. Rain? No issue. Just hang out at mamak stall for a while or if still want to ride, you do know something called “raincoat” right?

2) Before Honda comes into the picture, as at current state, can someone tell me why would anyone choose this over Kawa Ninja 250SL or Yamaha R25 (if you stretch abit more)? The initial price advantage is not even worth it considering the hassle of dealing with Naza, not to mention you get a lesser bike.
    -> the older naked N5 fuel consumption is much lower compared to Ninjas and R25s. Hassle? Never had issue with Naza service centre

3) And the name….N5R? Ripping off Hondas’ legendary NSR moniker.
    -> the older naked one is called N5. this one is N5R. R refers to racing version. So N5R is also exclusive to Honda only?

4) Damn… Honda will have something to say about this? Honda should mind more about bringing the damn new CBR250RR here! and all other brands of the 250cc will shut up. No need to say anything. Bring it in la Boon Siew! Tiew.
    -> funny when you want to comment by comparing to a more expensive 250 version that has been tuned for racing. Of course, if you have money, go ahead. But if someone who really has money, they would go for 650 bikes. Guess you’re one of those guys who only talk but never rode before.

5) Dropped by at Naza World at lunch time just now and I brought my DSLR to take some photos of the Maserati & 6×6 on display. Suddenly out of nowhere a malay dude (probably a manager) started shouting and came up to me asking (shouting) repeatedly ‘dari mana?’. I wanted to say ‘dari rumah lah’ but I know that would probably end up in me getting kicked out or something. He then (rudely) asked me to keep my camera or he’ll confiscate it. This shows how terrible their attitude towards customers / visitors. Naza is truly number in customer dissatisfaction.
    -> probably a manager. Probably you make up stories.

End of the day, idiots will always comment against local brands. Proton, Perodua, Naza etc. But funny when these idiots comment, they still use these brands. Reason? Talk big but no budget. Hahahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • You must the guard at Naza or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:07 pm

no

it’s simply constructive criticism

since you all lack one, and also to have a 3rd world mentality deep soak in your blood for generation

• samesame on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:57 pm

aiyoh… reply so long… the N5 price drop like stone is proof that Naza bike tak boleh pakai, lor. Going for 9k also people hesitate and some rather take the FZ150.
      if history repeats itself, this N5R is likely to suffer the same fate.

• own blade 250r 2014, spare parts worse, cable throttle each 10k broken, plugcap each 5k broken, poor after sales service, parts only can get those bike shop sell naza brand only, no value sell back. buy your own risk. except engine so far so good. run about 23k+

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:02 pm

blade is old model

this is new one

both even different in spec

can’t help you buy that crap

i’ll trust Hyosung they make this model better than ye olde blade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • rahamanjr on Oct 02, 2016 at 1:35 am

fairing dia ade jual tak…….gempak laaa…versi full fairng ni~~~

• dr kadir on Feb 07, 2017 at 2:49 pm

i’m interested in this bike…price ok BUT why must the fuel tank be so high?

• Jupiter sam on Jan 16, 2018 at 8:01 pm

Yamaha fz150 or naza n5?