GALLERY: Honda Jazz X – limited-run of 300 examples

Honda Jazz X 01

The second of the limited-run X Edition models introduced by Honda Malaysia yesterday is the Jazz X, which gets the same treatment as seen on the City X sedan.

New half-leather upholstery with embossed X badging on the front seats are to be found, as is a special trunk tray with unmissable X Edition marking and daytime running lights. A small X Edition badge on the rear lid finishes off the additional bits, so no one will mistake the variant for a normal mid-spec grade E version, which the X is based on.

Like the City, the Jazz is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine, with output figures being identical (120 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,600 rpm), and the unit is mated to an Earth Dreams Technology continuously variable transmission.

The Jazz X is priced at RM82,500 on-the-road with insurance, which is RM1,500 more than the regular grade E Jazz. As is the case with the City X, the Jazz X only gets two colour choices – Modern Steel Metallic and Carnival Red, which was introduced for the car earlier this year. Production of the Jazz X will be limited to only 300 examples.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysian driver on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Clear stock… lelong lelong, Honda Jazz X, some silly stiching here n there, DRL orang malaya manyak suka punya, mali, mali, manyak murah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • manual pls

• Malaysian Driver on Sep 03, 2016 at 3:54 pm

You can get a Honda Fit/Jazz RS with manual transmission with some of the grey importers. Very pricey though, about 120-125k for a used JDM 2013/2014 unit.

For me, the striking yellow paint job and the slightly tuned 1.5 NA earth dream engine (even with a MT box) doesn’t warrant an almost 40k premium over our local Jazz. If you are dead set on an MT Jazz, better buy a based spec and ask a JDM kedai potong to help you convert into MT.

• Tidur Raja on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:34 am

Tunggu SAGA baru keluar… lagi teruk HONDA

• Peter on Sep 05, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Pay 1500 for a ‘X’ !

• Albert on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Car sales is on the downtrend.
    Why ? Bolehland’s economy very sluggish.
    So,car distributors are always on the move.
    Promote some sportivo versions,call it extras or whatever. These are survival tools.
    So Honda Malaysia,is using some Protong past techniques to TRY increase sales.
    If price of oil dips again to US 25/barrel,more economic woes ahead.Maybe higher GST or even car taxes to offset lower oil revenues from petronas.
    So,u wanna still buy your sportivo version?
    THINK…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Asal bukan ur unsafe toyota junks. Even Biza with special package is better than whatever u can throw

• drupebecli on Sep 03, 2016 at 11:28 pm

I think soon or later the Federal Reserve will raise US interest rates.

• johan on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Jazz Type R bila mau launch?

• Smart in Bad Times on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Persona with 30k to spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • maXref (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Stupid ass marketing ploy. Good luck selling cars by jacking it up with just a ugly DRL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • bolehland on Sep 02, 2016 at 7:12 pm

dun even give touchscreen, damn kosong car

• tokmoh. on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Rather than doing this stupiak edition, better Honda Msia give ESC to base S and S+ spec City/Jazz. Confirm sell better than these bodoh fugly immature bodykits.

• Fog light better than DRL on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:19 pm

The OEM DRL on the JDM Jazz (www.honda.co.nz) are thicker and have 3 distinct LED chips. This model X DRL insert looks very aftermarket in comparison.
    I’d rather have a fog light to fill in the hole
    than a silly looking DRL.

• Andrekua on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Is this just another proof that Malaysian is easy milking target?

• gogom on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:49 am

Stupid variant by Stupid Marketing Team @ Honda Malaysia, the worst Honda distributor in the world. Dumb AF management.
    Who in the blue hell would buy this scrap metal X Jazz?
    Malaysians will surely buy the RS model, Mugen Model or would spend more money on J’s Racing Performance Parts like the Japs and Americans.

• Yokohama24 on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:32 am

nothing special nothing nice. The “x” doesn’t even mean anything to Honda. Don’t find it “exclusive” either. Same car same performance. extra X marking and DRL cost RM1500 ???? Fuuyoohhhh

• hahahaha

bet u cant find these in thailand or japan

• wow, so many haters. Did anyone force you to buy ? Go post your hateful comments somewhere else and get a life…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
    • shere khan on Sep 03, 2016 at 8:30 pm

No hate. Just surprised. City and jazz are not selling well so gotta do some touch ups and resell. I thought malaysians love honda…

• consumer on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:55 am

we buy coz we use our brain properly, judge and compare thus make right decision. not like you who buy just because it looks nice. zzzz

• Sorry4Honda on Sep 03, 2016 at 5:20 pm

This time tried selling X version…300 units

Next month sell Y version….for another 300 units

Year end, sell Z version…..Completely sold all old stocks….All old stock cleared.

Thank you, suckers of Malaysia.

• Kenny Fang on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:27 pm

There are better things to do with your RM1500 than throw on a few silly gimmicks.

• passion on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:41 am

DRLs are overrated here. some look like moving Christmas trees.

anyway is it a good time to buy cars in Malaysia now?

• SoChunn on Sep 05, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Absolutely rubbish. Slap some aftermarket kit & increase the price. I believe the consumers are smarter than this.