Perodua celebrates Malaysia’s 59th National Day

Perodua 59th Malaysia National Day 3

Malaysia celebrated its 59th year of independence a few days ago, and national carmaker Perodua joined in on the celebrations by having its own mini parade the day before it took part in the actual National Day parade in Dataran Merdeka on the big day – August 31.

The two-day celebration started on August 30, with a 22-car parade at the company’s headquarters in Sungai Choh, Rawang. Present at the mini parade was the company’s president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, and about 300 staffs, who joined in to chant the word merdeka three times.

The parade comprised all 11 models produced by the company since it was founded in 1993. This includes the Kancil, Rusa, Kembara, Kenari, Kelisa, Myvi, Viva, Nautica, Alza, Axia and Bezza. The latter is the company’s first-ever sedan, which has received overwhelming response since it was launched back in July. A pair of Bezzas was also present at Dataran Merdeka the day after, welcoming the cheers of the crowd.

Of course, the Bezza isn’t the only model that has been well-received by Malaysians. The Myvi, which has been on sale for more than a decade, has seen more than 850,000 units (as of end-April 2015), finding their way to owners, with the million milestone expected by end-2017.

Lest not forget the car that started it all – the Kancil – the little car that was heralded for its fuel efficiency and ease of parking due to its size. Most Malaysians would have had a go in one at some point in their lives, if only just to earn their driver’s license.

So, which Perodua model brings back the fondest memories for you?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ah Meng on Sep 02, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Perodua Viva 850cc is my 1st car. still run until today.. 9 years have no problem. Thinking to buy Alza advanced or Bezza Advanced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Giant Slayer on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Perodua will always be remembered as the tiny chap that killed the giant bully in its own yard.

Congrats Perodua we all rakyat will support you all the way forever!

Rakyat & Perodua together we can live happily ever after without bully anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • What happened to Perodua on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Buntot Tongek Bezza… plain ugly and looks like kereta potong OTR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • WT Fuchhh on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:55 pm

I officially confer Perodua Malaysia’s Official 1 crap and overpriced car. Period.

• Failure to Launch on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:21 am

9 years and still driving a Perodua ? …says a lot about you

• karam singh on Sep 02, 2016 at 7:28 pm

from the picture, no one bother looking at the new Bezza
        lol
        btw Ah Meng, seriously 9 years without any problem ?
        whos gonna trust that ? no ac compressor / magnetic clutch prob?
        well , let me tell the problem . P2 car so slow it made traffic jams everywhere. Lol.
        and…. that car not gonna save u in a car crash.

• Ah Meng on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:12 am

I dont use the car for crash. Just use the to drive me from point A to point B. Why need new car, if the car is still in good condition. No need to pening kepala to pay high insurance & roadtax. Kancil, kelisa & viva is the good economic car. Just look wahat happen to Proton Tiara, Proton Savvy, VW, Chevrolet, Kia, Hyundai before 2007?

• silly boy on Sep 02, 2016 at 7:06 pm

9 years and still drive a Perodua… its either you failed in your career or a Perodua salesman. How silly can you be to post such comments. Duh

• Bezza Advance for it’s VSC and Eco-Idle system, as well as the large boot space.

• Operation Manager on Sep 03, 2016 at 11:02 am

After milo tin Viva EOL, now newly introduced milo tin Beza took place no1 highest profit margin (25k Axia, 51k Beza, Axia meterial & assembly far better than milo tin Beza), with MOST CHEAP material loose assembly free radio sound but sell at MOST EXPENSIVE price.

• Still want a Perodua? LOL… you are lucky you still survive

• kancil 660 naik 5 org badan cam badak sekor2 panjat genting highlands. mengaum nk sampai puncak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Jeffrey on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Gear 1 auto, at 20km/h, slow like snail. That was quite memorable journey!

• Asalkan Bukan Problem on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Perodua layak dicintai oleh semua lapisan rakyat kerana terbukti banyak berjasa menolong jimatkan perbelanjaan minyak serta kurang bermasalah justeru kos pemilikan secara keseluruhannya memang berbaloi.

• When can publish ur persona 2016 review ?

• What did proton do? at least show up with the Perdana & Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • P1 too busy selling cars, so no time to entertain merdeka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:46 pm

If not mistaken persona n perdana in front of those 2 bezza in first picture.

• basherlogic on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:40 pm

Bashers mana tengok benda2 merdeka ni, no patriotic spirit,
      that’s why they ask P1 to kolos shop!

• Eyesore on Sep 03, 2016 at 4:52 am

Clearly you did not watch the event at Dataran…..
      Proton’s cars parade was in front of those Peroduas…lol

• Jeffrey on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Fondest memory? My Kancil 850 Auto, cruised in North South Highway at 145-150km/h, that was crazy during my age of 20+, travelled between KL and JB for just 3 hours in every semester break! I can’t do that now anymore, no more guts.

• s320l on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Kancil only can reach 150km/h only if it has 1000cc engine

Please dun bluff kid

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:30 pm

It is the kelisa for me, an absolute gem of a car. yes it rattles and stuff but for pure fun and persistence to run non stop, Kelisa gave me some fond memories

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:25 pm

I still keep my faithful fun Kelisa as my third car. It’s a gem and most fun per ringgit

• azhar on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:34 pm

still using my 20 year old kancil..with a lil bit of turbo in it of course!

• putee on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:47 pm

That’s why you butthurt much, pity.
      Work hard and get better car, at least brand new BMW 320i. Nowadays jepunis cars are rubbish and no image, avoid at all cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • malaysian driver on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:50 pm

The special edition Kelisa (yellow body with a black roof) is my foundest Peodua of all time. Great car, nimble and reliable. Thanks Perodua.

• Perodua nautica also there
    P

• Perodua nautica also there

• tokmoh. on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Never owned any Perodua, I suppose passing my driving license in one go with Kancil 660 is my fondest memory.

My first manual car, it felt so manly to drive a manual car back then. Sucks that I never drove manual after that until I work and buy one with my own money.

• Bezza, my first sedan car. Hopefully would bring great memories with it’s fuel economy and large trunk space. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • My first car was a 1999 Kancil 850 EZ. You know what they say: you can never forget your first.

• Niamaa on Sep 04, 2016 at 8:20 pm

long forgetten and dead… junkyard refused to take as metal was too thin to even sell

• lesenL on Sep 04, 2016 at 12:19 am

many say that there are also proton parade, why there is no article about it meh..