Prasarana offers 50% discount on LRT, monorail and BRT fares; for those travelling between 6am and 7am

LRT rail pix Bernama

The early bird gets the discount, as Prasarana has announced 50% discount on LRT, monorail or BRT fare prices for all commuters who travel by the cashless payment modes between 6am and 7am on weekdays, beginning September 16.

“Commuters travelling on Touch n’ Go, MyRapid Card, MyRapid Smart 7, MyRapid Smart 30 and MyRapid Concession Card (senior citizen, students and people with disabilities) would get to enjoy further savings on top of their existing current fares discount provided to them and there would not be any discount for those using the cash payment modes.

“For example, the existing fare price for a journey from KL Sentral to KLCC is RM 2.20 (those using TnG) as compared to RM2.40 (when using cash) but from September 16 onwards, the fare prices would be RM1.10 per journey if you use cashless modes,” Prasarana president and group chief executive office Datuk Azmi Abdul Aziz told The Sun.

Prasarana early bird discount

According to Azmi, the move was done to encourage a segment of the morning peak-hour commuters who usually travel between 7am and 9am to change their travel pattern to an earlier time to help ease the congestion at the selected stations during the morning peak periods.

“We have sufficient system capacity, overall. However, there is an imbalance passenger load factor during the morning peak period – 52% of ridership (19,000 people) for those travelling between 6am and 7am and it would jump 134% (51,000 people) or 133% (52,000 people) during the peak hours,” he explained.

The discount will take effect once a commuter taps his or her card at the station entry gate within the allotted hours. Azmi added that there is a possibility the offer would be extended to other times depending on the public response. Which beggars the question, will you take advantage of this offer?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• garrett on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Yes definitely a great offer and yes will surely take advantage of this good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Bunsen on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Hope got “Ladies Only” coach too.

Too many Buaya commuters during rush hour…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 4:13 pm

That’s quite a discount when u factor in usage for a month. I can imagine them adding the same discount for travel between 7-8pm to ease the traffic flow between 6-7pm if this is successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • So is this the ‘donation’ bashers were talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • great!…i took the 6:30am train daily to get to my gym near my office at KL Sentral by 7am, go to the gym first before going to office at 9am – 6pm. …wonderful, saving almost half of my lrt cost daily…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Maths Genius on Sep 04, 2016 at 7:11 pm

your first trip at 6.30am gets the 50%, while your return doesn’t since the discount only applies between 6-7am.

How is this gonna save half of your daily commute cost, at most is 25%.

– Maths PHD from UIA

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:11 pm

supposedly…we travel by lrt/mrt to have extra time at home and extra time with our kids/mate..
    better travel with bike…

will it work..it will work..because it will force people to leave home early ,,, residential next to station will have advantages…

but…better way to force people to leave early ..is to raise the ticket price during peak hour…..this one will work one…and maintain the regular price after peak hour…

so…you have options…50% (early morning) ..extra charge (peak hour) ..normal rate (off peak)..

so…what about the train congestion after office hour ?….half bake solution…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • If raise ticket price, then pipu will say ini semua salah NajibBNGov woh. So how leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • HaIrI on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Price just revised recently, many commuter will surely get angry if there are another hike. It’s a good move to offer discount during off peak hour to further ease congestion at LRT station.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:09 pm

ridiculous idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Rinnegan on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:45 pm

@KZM; Would you like to suggest a better plan then? It is easy to bash than to offer solution.

• See below idea by savvykl.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 04, 2016 at 11:26 pm

I don’t bash I just said his idea by forcing pipu to pay more just for going to work at peak time is just bad idea. U must differentiate between bashing n disagree.

• Just for fun on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:00 am

very detailed. yawnzz

• Morning
    Should 5am to 5.30am 90% discount.
    Then 5.30am to 6.30am 70% discount.
    after 6.30am to 9.00am 50% discount.

Evening no discount?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • savvykl on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:44 pm

LRT start service 6am until 11.30pm
      so 6.00am-7.00am 50% discount is good.
      than should provide evening too.
      example like 9.00pm-11.30pm discount 30%.

• HaIrI on Sep 02, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Everything want discount, did you realize public transportation is a losing money business. If everything discount, how Prasana make money to maintain the infra? It is expensive to maintain rail networks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • normal_user on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Govt related public transport operators like prasarana are losing money due to inefficiencies, leakages & ‘donations’ to you-know-who. Given the sardine packed commuters on weekdays (komuter) + weekend (ETS), its amazing why KTM is bleeding red each year. Same with lrt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • U mean donation of 50% to early birds? Yup.

Most public transports GLOBALLY r losing money and basically survive on Gov or state subsidy. Only those that charge profitable rates (ie expensive from ur POV), r marginally profitable.

• Maths Genius on Sep 04, 2016 at 7:13 pm

they are losing money because the fees charged are low, i.e. RMB 2 (RM 1) for a Beijing subway trip to anywhere!

Where else in Malaysia it can be up to RM 4 per trip!

And not to mention our cost is way lower than what others are incurring

With better management we can recoup the costs and record profit

But we know this won’t happen since so many leakages are happening!!

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:23 pm

public transport and its infra is part of gov responsibilities….profit will be generated thru advertisement…can you count how many pillars , stations , trains to put advertisement ?

• Bernard on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:53 pm

It should be 50% discount from 5-9am and 5-8pm on weekdays!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Did you read the article?

‘the move was done to encourage a segment of the morning peak-hour commuters who usually travel between 7am and 9am to change their travel pattern to an earlier time to help ease the congestion at the selected stations during the morning peak periods.’

• Nobody in their right mind wud lose money during their peak period. its like asking KLCC to gip 50% discount on parking from 8am to 6pm and normal rate during nighttime.

• No nonsense on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:21 pm

PLUS and all toll operators. Follow this to ease road congestion. Every workday people pay your tolls to stuck in jam.

• Yokohama24 on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:42 am

50% for buses too? Bus also like sardine during peak hours. LRT sardine nvm, anyhow still moving. But bus different, bus sardine plus stuck in jammmmm!!!!!

• If u take earlier train, they u shud be taking earlier buses as well, isnt it?

• puzzle commuter on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:06 am

base on touch in or touch out time ? if both, it will not benefit those travel long distance route with interchanges

• Brainless chee bye. Go for volume game if you are sincere. Less volume at this time.

• Leonardo on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:56 am

Good idea! And savings for early birds too! (Assuming there is enough and frequent trains).