GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5G – the base model MPV

Toyota_SientaG_Ext-6

We’ve gotten up close and personal with the new Toyota Sienta many times – we were present at its launch last month, and even before that it was previewed several times since May. However, we’ve only seen the car in range-topping 1.5V form, and we have yet to get even a peek at the lower-spec 1.5G variant until now.

Today we get our first look at the base-model Sienta, priced at RM92,900 on-the-road with insurance, RM7,000 cheaper than the 1.5V. The modest price premium probably explains why UMW Toyota Motor hasn’t put much of a word out regarding the 1.5G, as the higher-end model comes with a lot of extra kit on board.

So, what do you lose? Well, at the front, the 1.5G doesn’t get bi-LED projector headlights, making do with halogen projectors instead. It still gets LED daytime running lights, however – these sit low down in the bumper, where fog lights usually reside.

Toyota_SientaG_Ext-25

At the rear of the car, the 1.5G misses out on the neat LED light guides of the 1.5V, although the tail light and brake light functions are still carried out using a single LED bulb on either side. The wheels measure 15 inches in diameter instead of 16 inches as on the 1.5V, and they are also of a simpler silver design instead of the two-tone machine-finish look accorded to the higher-end model.

Step inside – using a remote key instead of keyless entry to unlock the doors – and you’ll find that quite a lot has been stripped out here too. For starters, the 1.5G doesn’t get push-button start, or twin rear electric sliding doors; only the rear door on the passenger’s (left) side is powered here.

Elsewhere, the steering wheel rim is in plain urethane, not leather, and there are no audio switches either. Also missing is an acoustic windscreen, an Optitron instrument cluster, a large colour multi-info display (there’s a smaller monochrome one instead) or a digital video recorder (i.e. dash cam).

Toyota_SientaG_Int-26

Neither does the 1.5G get Toyota Premium Solar & Security Film window tint or a 6.8 inch touchscreen DVD-AVX infotainment system with Bluetooth, voice recognition and reverse camera – although those can be added back as optional extras, to the tune of RM2,109 each. Other options include a RM3,169 DVD-AVN navigation system and a cheaper RM1,166 Toyota Essential Solar Film window tint.

What you do get is a double-DIN head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, a rear air-conditioning blower, black fabric upholstery with brown pattern print, one-touch tumble second-row seats and novel folding third-row seats that “dive in” under the second row. Safety kit is also identical on all variants and includes three airbags (including one for the driver’s knee, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and ISOFIX child seat mounts on the second row.

Powered comes from a 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine making 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, mated to a CVT with seven virtual ratios. The 2NR-FE Dual VVT-i engine is from the same modern NR family as the 1.3L unit in the Avanza and Perodua Bezza. Drive goes to the front wheels.

So, which Toyota Sienta would you get – the base-spec 1.5G, or the more expensive 1.5V? Sound off in the comments section after the jump. You can also browse full specifications and equipment on both models on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5V

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• palehotak on Sep 05, 2016 at 5:46 pm

this car looks like jiraiya face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • pukipuki on Sep 05, 2016 at 7:59 pm

why not?,i like jiraiya character from dc comic one piece,best samurai ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Not so moving deathtrap but price like sh*t. Jepunis overlords have deemed those who cannot afford Rm90k above, r unworthy to survive in an accident. Rather get kimchi instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
  • wawasan2020 on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:19 pm

i see even ulgy avanza here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Milo Kosong Ais on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:26 pm

LOL

• nabill (Member) on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:30 pm

I dont know why, and i shouldnt, like this car alot… Its so practical, looks like nothing else on the road, and its just funky and very far from boring and mainstream…. I kno its abit high on price… There is no point to get the lower spec.. U already spending around 100k might as well get the top spec variant… The orange one looks good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
  • Albert on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Nabil
    Toyota is a good car.It is nos 1 worldwide in sales.
    The problem here is,UMW.
    All the tip top specs are removed..only the TULANG are given to the car buyers.
    Why ? Your taikor PNB require maximum profits from UMW,in order to church out 8-10 percent dividends as year end approaches.
    Thats why Honda has overtaken Toyota,here.Sooner Nissan will overtake Toyota too,if they can come out with cheaper and better models.
    Now UMW motor division has to COVER THE MASSIVE LOSSES of its oil and gas division.
    Now,can u see why a Toyota here is priced super duper voluptiously high ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • Say NO to junks, say NO to toyota, say NO to Party Hard crony!
      Biarmu makan maggi hari hari

• Ms Check Pick on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:34 pm

No doubt Honda is a good too but Honda elsewhere in the world is like rare..rarer than earth rare.But the achievement by Honda to topple Toyota for 4th consecutive years is like believing a monkey can fly.Honda should big thanks to umw for their greedy and much more grateful to TMC for looking down on Malaysian consumers by ignoring this 3rd world country and mentality..And i believe this years another great success for Honda and i believe i can fly

• Balachandran a/l balacan on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Rather choose new proton ertiga than this sh**! Surely more safety specs pack in this ertiga than Pokemon face Sienta

• Kenny Fang on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:03 pm

For RM7000 rip-off so much. Anybody who buys the 1.5G just to save RM7K must be real hard-up. May as well buy a 1.5 Avanza. No market for the 1.5G.

• With the mount close to 100k… I will consider recond wish, x spec still better looking than this junk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • SoChunn on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Not sure if the Sienta feels more premium than the Avanza given the price tag. But doesn’t seem enough to impress in my opinion.

• Why this year driven series got no new video?

• old horse on Sep 06, 2016 at 8:42 am

92K? i happily go get a tucson around 100K..

toyota really think still got idiots buying low spec junk car with high price…

• john is otak batu on Sep 06, 2016 at 11:26 am

tucson??!!! 5 years later, u can directly scrap it direct to junk yard! Nobody will ask/smell a 2nd hand Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Sep 06, 2016 at 8:44 am

With that proce tag, this Sienta surely have the same fate with Nautica and Freed. By the way, my friend are looking for recond 1.8 Wish with that price.

• Basher on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:04 am

My comment is purely on the exterior of the car.

I would say this is the ugliest MPV ever built on earth.

It looks like ‘vision’ from the marvel movie series.

• NemoCar on Sep 06, 2016 at 10:07 am

The Orange coloured Sienta reminds me of NEMO, the fish. And it is a very OVERPRICED fish!
    Look around for other options if you are searching for a B segment MPV. Unless you are ‘finding NEMO’ attractive.

• Faizjoko on Sep 06, 2016 at 10:18 am

Hi Mr paultan. Plz make comparison between this car n Alza Perodua. Tq

• ahmad on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:34 pm

not just alza, include grand livina, exora, and serena s-hybrid (just for benchmark purpose) to compare which is the closest to the best..

many haters here, but hater gonna hate.. even UMW is @#$%^&%@, still their car is reliable as rock.. so that’s the most important thing that people looking for..

buy with cheaper price but then every month need to check with service center for small little things.. that most people wanna avoid..

• passion on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:26 pm

YUCK YUCK YUCK!

• keyfobfetish on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:08 pm

hi paultan.org/writer thank you for the highest quality photos.
    can you share the photo of the key fob. does it have a power sliding door switch like the serena? thanks!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Apologies, we don’t have a photo of the key alone, but you can see part of it in this picture: http://paultan.org/2016/09/05/gallery-toyota-sienta-1-5g-the-base-model/toyota_sientag_int-1-2/

Yes, it does have a switch for the power sliding door.

• Beng Ong on Sep 06, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Omg Toyota and its sticker again..Do u know UMW charge u RM380 for those side body sticker? Imagine cost for that just about RM10.Are we still in the 90s? Rip off your pocket easily,that how they make money.Selling unnecessary rubbish

• In the 90s? on Sep 07, 2016 at 11:23 am

You must be still in the 90s. You cannot get a car sticker for RM10.00 nowadays. Well maybe a very small sticker from Brothers.
      I think the realistic cost would be about RM100.00 for automotive grade sticker for one pair. If it is from 3M, it is more expensive. Still UMW made a cool RM280.00, at least, just on the stickers alone!

• Bernard on Sep 06, 2016 at 11:09 pm

The car looks like it’s crying black tears…

• too many complaints from people here. You buy what u like. IF got money go for other car that suits u. The only thing u need to bash the service center that do not do good service. Everywhere the same and apply to any other brands of cars.

beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.