SPYSHOTS: Basic-spec Proton Ertiga MPV on test?

proton-ertiga-spy-wilson-2

Here another piece of the “Proton Ertiga” jigsaw that will be completed in October, when the Suzuki Ertiga-based MPV will be officially launched. This batch of pics, from readers Muhammad Mirza and Wilson Teoh, shows us a test mule that we’ve not seen before so far.

Wearing a psychedelic mosaic camouflage, the test mule with the “B 2291 A” trade plate rides on steel wheels and does without the central rear fog lamp that we’ve seen so far. This could hint at an entry-level variant of the MPV with basic specs and a matching low price tag. The other unit seen in Wilson’s pics is as per what we’ve seen before.

As before, the front end of the test mule appears to have the shapelier bumpers of the facelifted Ertiga that made its debut at last year’s GIIAS show in Indonesia. But we’re not sure if Proton’s Ertiga will be a straightforward rebadge job (ala government-use Accordana) or if there will be a minor face change involved.

At the back, the rear bumper is from the pre-faclift Ertiga, so it could be Proton picking and choosing what it wants. The 15-inch alloys are from the current Ertiga.

Suzuki Indomobil Sales (SIS) expects bookings of 1,500 units per month from Proton. The company exports the Ertiga as a CBU model to the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam to the tune of 800 to 1,000 units per month, but this is its first CKD export order.

SIS revealed in January that the Ertiga will be exported to Malaysia in knocked down form, from Q2 2016, at a rate of 1,500 units per month. Production of the kits will start from May, it was revealed then.

In existence since 2012, the Ertiga was given a minor facelift last year. The seven-seater has a 2,740 mm wheelbase (Perodua Alza 2,750 mm, Proton Exora 2,730 mm) and is powered by a 1.4 litre engine with 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque. The K14B motor is paired to a five-speed manual and four-speed auto.

An Ertiga Dreza variant with a unique face and more equipment is also available in Indonesia and Thailand. There’s a Mazda-badged Ertiga in Indonesia too, the VX-1. Check out renderings of the “Proton Ertiga” as well as the original Suzuki MPV below.

GALLERY: Proton-badged Suzuki Ertiga renderings

GALLERY: Suzuki Ertiga facelift at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Price Important on Sep 05, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Proton is on the roll… looking forward to the SAGA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 47
    • Same L0rr on Sep 06, 2016 at 7:29 am

If Suzuki engine, we can buy this MPV. But campro vvt engine & cvt clutch bising Punch Powertrain, please, dont buy. Sure you will regret after 1 month you drive it.. Spent ur hardworking money wisely! Buy Toyota better la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 47
      • Empty Vessels Makes the Most Noise on Sep 06, 2016 at 7:48 am

“IF” Suzuki engine ? you know the meaning of rebadge ? Shows you know little but talk alot. cling clank clink clank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
        • Same Lor SH on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:40 am

aiyar… Same Lorr still drive the 1975 Corolla that runs on carburetor with rust at all edges of the car … he is a frustrated with his failure in life and blames the grass for growing

• kereta Aunty on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:55 pm

No, he now drives his aunty car… Aunty Alza

• OMG…well said. I will buy if this not using Camtakpro engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Aikon on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:51 am

Yes, Suzuki engine and drivetrain.

But there’s nothing wrong with the VVT in the Persona either.

• OMG…I know a lot of engine problem on old persona. The new VVt, dunno yet the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • OMG…..my persona saves more fuel than my Vios, how?

• hailthepurist on Sep 06, 2016 at 10:08 am

end of the Saga..

• Black Interior Pls on Sep 07, 2016 at 8:54 am

Proton better put black colour interiors, not beige cream like Accordana or semi grey like Persona. Even if there is wood panel make sure it is in dark brown tone also. Please listen to the majority preferences.

• GULUNG TIKAR on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Must sell below 45k. Then p2 gulung tikar. If sell high price like inspira then sendiri gulung tikar

• shahul hameed on Nov 19, 2016 at 9:16 am

when will proton make a decent mpv for malaysian family whose members are rather bulky. They should have worked on redesigning the exora to have enough leg seats for the last row and a bit of boot space and use the perdana 2.0 (may be the new perdana (honda?) engine, to move 8 fat people! and price it at least RM20,000 less than then the innova.

• Mumm-ra on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:01 pm

still teasing???

Just stick P1 logo & sell in showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
  • Cash Is king on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Pls let it be max 60k… thats all I can afford now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • u better figure it out why u can only afford this piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 30
    • oh mak lu cina on Sep 05, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Can only afford cheap cheap car but want to have anak ramai-ramai. You make yourself poor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:11 am

RM60K? Perodua have Alza there.. Perodua also have good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • Mickey Mouse Kancil on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:49 am

Perodua glory days numbered and downhill trend now…design is crap,engine underpowered, brakes are awefool, after 2 years whole car gives you free surround sound… everything got noise…If Ertiga 60k with Suzuki DNA… PERODUA ALZA tutup kedai… Persona already tapao buntot Tonggek Beza .. SAGA may just nail it… BTW Perodua sells well because Malaysians are poor …not because the want a Perodua. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Tiara scrap iron on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:44 pm

As if all rich Malaysians are buying Proton. Pfffttt.

• As if jepunis overlord cars are cheap. Pfffttt.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 06, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Even Saga far cheap than bezza also cannot sale…

• Not yet sale lor!
            You know what number wins tomorrow?

• john is otak batu on Sep 06, 2016 at 4:39 pm

WOW! already started cakap sendiri! syok sendiri! TYPICAL Potong fans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Ms Check Pick on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Empty milo can make noise louder coz frustrated by unsold avanza,innova,rush and now another dead body sienta..Yes,blame the grass growing faster than his mulfunction ding dong

• Untested Biza > all camo tested cars.

Peace of mind when rest in peace. Think Biza, think special package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
    • u tak baca ka?P2 run bezza test but diam2x saja bukan macam proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • spyshotter on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Where to baca? No spyshots mean no test!
        Haha!

• Choosy on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:55 pm

If run Bezza diam2 saja why the heck u knew about it? Then suddenly launched without ‘leaking’ nationwide road test,u think road users blind? It produce by p2..Only help on engine side.Still believing local can produce good car without rebadge?Good luck.If I have to choose,I rather choose tested goods.Persona and saga got my vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Albert told me P2 was testing Biza at toyota nippon secret underground SHIELD test track. So since they cannot reveal this uber secret test track, my P2 has no choice but to admit we didnt test the car at all b4 launch and just spin this as the NEXT THING for 21st century car makers.

• Firdaus on Sep 05, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Anyone has the sales figure for the Pesona??

We should have a daily sales figure update on the Pesona like what P2 did for their Bezza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Sep 05, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Datuk Firdaus
      If sales is fantastic,Protong will announce it.
      Very quiet,since Pondana to Pesona launching.
      It shows sales not as expected.
      OMG, Protong is just assembling the parts sent from Indonesia,and just put the tiger logo.
      pROTONG,U R TAKING 25 seconds to complete a 100m race.Even our dear Tun can do it in 17 seconds.
      Rebadging is not the answer.It is a COPY AND PASTE JOB.
      Next year…..the mus will come out and announce another round of bailouts.
      It is a vicious cycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 42
    • Why ask here instead of ask P1? Fesbuk Twinsta kan ada!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Proton driver on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:45 pm

They probably sold two or three and giving away the rest free to suppliers who are owed money. Maybe the bundle buy a proton and get persona foc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Give u Cash on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:22 pm

U don’t read or watch biz news izit? Already mentioned latest persona figures last week.Your smartphone not just for watching k-pop or k-drama leh.Brainless basher go away.

• Mohammad on Sep 05, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Base spec : RM76,888 (2 airbags)
    Medium spec : RM86,888 (2 airbags)
    Premium spec : RM96,888 (6 airbags)
    ESC, ABS, HA, VSC as standard. Of cos premium comes with all the other goodies like LCD NAT, 6 speakers etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Jimmy on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:57 pm

I think these prices are all too high, basically fighting against Grand Livina, Sienta, Rush, tough fights.

Perhaps one strategy will be Haval 4 strategy, offered cheap first then once response is good, increase the price slightly. This strategy must be coupled with good product and good aftersales, otherwise it won’t work.

Puny engine and ancient gearbox?

• BadBET on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:09 am

I hope cheaper than exora, if not then whats the point of bringing it here.

• OMG…what u mentioned just deduct another 10K would be reasonable.hahahah

• Jonn Dol on Sep 06, 2016 at 8:56 am

Gotta be kidding. Logically speaking, this car will be priced below Exora’s price.

• lilytan on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:26 am

For something that is smaller n less powerful than the exora, it should not be more expansive. All the extra kits are definitely not worth extra RM20k. RM96k is almost the same as sienta. It will be dead before arrival.

• Ms Check Pick on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:27 pm

So r we now gonna play price it right? Ok ok i join.Basic model RM54,900 Premium model RM62,900.It can’t price it lower as its rebadge Suzuki unless it’s fully developed by p1 itself or wait after launched 6 months can get 3k discount

• Maybe I am ignorant, but what is the point of extended road test, without visible test equipment, on a vehicle which has been in the market since 2012, with no marked changes to the power plant or transmission? Seriously, if proton is serious about this model’s commercial prospects, they should have at least given it a mild hybrid power plant and a jatco cvt trans unit, unit with the current outdated, underpowered combo….seriously proton why….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Ask urself this, does the original jujuki car comes with those equipment u mentioned? If no, then how can P1 integrate all those into a chassis not designed to cater for them? This car is a rebadge, not kereta potong. Road test is probably to test for local components, assembly quality, and and vehicle performance on MY roads.

• Ms Check Pick on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:31 pm

To integrate with lotus handling and Honda chassis.So many DNA inside Lotus+Jujuki+Honda+P1 = Pan Asian MPV.. We like to have pan Asian look,no?

• BadBET on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:06 am

maybe they tweak the suspension? or test the durability of certain equipment? or change the rim size :p

• frossonice on Sep 06, 2016 at 9:01 am

Perhaps they don’t want to give consumer half-ass product that they used to do before. Hope they learn their valuable lesson already. Reading some local forum claiming that Persona is reaching 9000 unit sales already. So good for them.

• Kegagalan on Sep 06, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Sure become like Iriz failure later, big bookings but low sales and blame the bank loans.

• You think everyone got the same ‘biar papa, asal bergaya’ mindset like you, sehn?

• oh mak lu cina on Sep 05, 2016 at 11:17 pm

I see more bayi’s on the road then new model proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Biza belum nampak bayang kat NS hiway woh

• abuya on Sep 06, 2016 at 7:26 am

oh my god.. where r u from? its.just 2 weeks.lah brother.. dont.worry , booking numbers keep increasing …in a month, its will bypassing Beza n Myvi booking.

• Ms Check Pick on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Booking number increasing but not tally with bigger number cancel booking maybe? Don’t think so.Bezza got numbers and persona got their own number too as persona slightly premium than Bezza in spec and price.And saga would compete Bezza this month.Finger cross it comes with goodies like persona.Biar my car is cheap like persona but fully safety intact and my pocket is thicker than ketchup bottle

• Silthice on Sep 05, 2016 at 11:24 pm

They’re really testing it like the Perdana. SUV should be next rebadge

• Proton, please do not spoil suzuki qualities….

• ertujuh on Sep 06, 2016 at 11:09 am

u think suzuki quality,especially that which comes from indon is good?i rented a suzuki there and it was terrible

• Puffy on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:39 pm

I believe p1 enhance it much better like 6 airbags and other stuffs

• Tiara scrap iron on Sep 06, 2016 at 3:39 pm

As if Suzuki don’t know how to make good cars. Sendiri bisnes rugi lintang pukang, lagi mau ajar orang bikin untung.

• old horse on Sep 06, 2016 at 8:25 am

keep rolling out no one wants to buy car…yup..

the sales result proven

• no need spyshot la…we know is based on suzuki model ^^

• hmmm 1.4 engine?
    before this everyone told that 1.5 7 seater is underpower, not fuel saving etc
    now this proton come with 1.4 engine
    let see what is the fanboy reaction

• ertujuh on Sep 06, 2016 at 11:11 am

if eventually out it has turbo slapped on it by proton,i’ll buy in a heartbeat

• nosushi on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:17 pm

FYI your jepunis overlord also has Datsun Go+ MPV which has 1.2l engine.

Please bash it until 9000 comments!

• fanboy is the first to comment about avanza,sienta,alza n others when they choose 1.5 path..then suddenly talk about datsun go..that one is definitely an under powered car to talk about..haiyohhh butthurt so much

• turboed on Sep 06, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Meanwhile, Exora turbo got 205Nm, put your jepunis 2.0l MPV to shame.

(Jepunis are waiting matt damon back from Mars to market 1.2l turbo here)

• topkek on Sep 06, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Lol when jepunis overlord brands got bashed, p1 bashers say it is from p1 fanboy

When p1 got bashed pandai pulak twist saying that all pipu that bash

When p1 got compliments again pandai pulak twist saying that p1 hire cybertroopers.

Topkek

• casta on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:03 pm

power does not means u need to have bigger cc..its about your torque and your bhp ratio ratio la…klu cam 2 baik aku letak enjin honda goldwing 1.5..sama k hp & torque?…

• ertujuh on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:38 pm

true.but when u look at eh spec,both bhp and torque numbers simply can’t promise anything.u r right about the power-to-weight ratio but,if u try calculate the weight 5 average sized adult plus 2 kids plus luggage, it’s already 40% of the car’s kerb weight.big enough to significantly offset the ratio

• Firdaus on Sep 06, 2016 at 10:01 am

To whomever out there who decides who becomes the CEO of Proton, pls listen to my offer.

I really want to offer myself to become the CEO of Proton of the salary of RM1 per month!
    I don’t have a car manufacturing/sales background but I love cars and I know what kind of design/engine/tranny put in a car will make your sales triple!

Because all the previous CEO’s before this whom was so called captain’s of the automotive industry failed miserably in uplifting Proton’s predicament.Plus they were taking home a fat pay cheque.

Give me 2 years at the helm with RM1 salary per month and if I reverse Proton’s fortunes, you can give me a fat cheque at the end of the tenure!

I can start anytime cause I was retrenched and do Uber for a living!
    I hope someone pays attention to this offer unless you guys want all the CEO’s to fail so that you can close down Proton for good!

• Sack designer on Sep 06, 2016 at 1:40 pm

As CEO the first thing you must do:

Sack the designer!

• First thing to do as CEO:
      Sack urself for thinking cars is like Lego can plug here, add there, korek everywhere, then expect it to function reliably and safely

• horrayooi on Sep 06, 2016 at 11:17 am

Upgrade the obsolete 4 speed auto transmission to torque converter CVT.

• To beat Alza, Proton should price the 1.4cc below RM 50K with better safety feature.

Anything above RM 50K will commit suicide for Proton.haha

• kereta Aunty on Sep 06, 2016 at 2:58 pm

I will be so ashamed to say I drive an Alza to work .. if I was a young executive … Aunty betul image .. even my fat and ugly girlfriend will dump me

• Johorian on Sep 07, 2016 at 7:12 am

Google Buick Regal and you realized how proton copy the back lights in perdana it’s no shame for proton …

• Megavalve on Sep 07, 2016 at 8:48 am

Now keep on rebadge others car like Perodua? Hypocrite of the highest order.