Daihatsu Move Canbus – the adorable pint-sized van

daihatsu-move-canbus-1

In an effort to draw female customers, Daihatsu has released the adorable Move Canbus, which takes the shape of a minivan, and a pint-sized one at that. As this is effectively a kei-car, it is required to meet certain requirements.

For instance, the vehicle should not exceed 3,400 mm in length, 1,480 mm in width and 2,000 mm in height. As a result, the Move Canbus is 3,395 mm long, 1475 mm wide and only 1,655 mm tall, with a wheelbase measuring 2,115 mm.

Regulations also dictate a maximum engine capacity of 660 cc, and an output not exceeding 64 PS. Therefore, the Canbus is powered by a 658 cc three-cylinder petrol engine that develops a respectable 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm of torque at 5,200 rpm.

The tiny engine is paired with a CVT, and can be had in front- or all-wheel drive configurations. For the former, the Canbus is capable of achieving a fuel economy of up to 28.6 km per litre following the JC08 cycle, while the four-wheel-drive model can do up to 27.4 km per litre.

On the design front, the Canbus adopts a retro/cuter look compared to the standard Move and aggressive-looking Move Custom, thanks to softened edges around the front grille and headlamps. The reshaped D-pillar, which has also been painted black, further adds to the mini-minivan’s appeal.

The body changes also sees new cube-like tail lamps being fitted instead, and the rear doors now slide open to help with the ingress and egress. You’ll also get a wide range of colour options, ranging from monotone to dual-tone combinations, coupled with range of 14-inch alloys to choose from.

daihatsu-move-canbus-3

As for the interior, Daihatsu has added many practical storage features like the sizeable pull-out trays under the rear seats to help carry shopping items and such. Other notable items include a colour touchscreen infotainment unit on certain variants, automatic air-conditioning, keyless operation and configurable seats.

Safety kit here includes an automatic braking system, which comes as standard on most variants, adaptive front lighting for the LED headlamps, VSC, traction control and a minimum of two airbags (higher variants get more).

Unfortunately, the Daihatsu Move Canbus is limited to the Japanese domestic market only, with prices ranging from 1,188,000 yen (RM47,225) to 1,668,600 yen (RM66,330). So, women readers of paultan.org, how appealing is Canbus to you? And for the males, would you mind having one as well?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:09 pm

daihatsu always make ugly cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 87
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 08, 2016 at 6:49 pm

So cute…no need to buy under market value…now everybody can afford one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 9:30 pm

This car is smaller than Myvi, yet we see that the front and rear leg rooms are apparently rather impressive; this may be due to smaller seats or magic from Daihatsu. You see, 2/3 of the rear seats are behind the rear doors.

And it is slimmer than Smart Fortwoes including the slimmest first generation one.

• Senyap on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:41 am

At least far prettier than Savvy.

• Leonardo on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:15 am

Huh? Why are still comparing this with a Savvy?
        What year are you in?

• Same L0rr on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:42 am

Will be the next Perodua Kenari. Sure can sale like hot cake. Axia & Bezza shows it. You got no wrong with sushi quality & reliability. Think sushi, think RV & quality. Think Kimchi, think bad RV & quality!

• harris murad on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:20 pm

heyy they are not that ugly.
    kinda cute what??
    :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • TomBoy on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Cute car haha

• Dogbert on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:58 pm

So cute .. take my money !

• passion on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:11 pm

damn nice!!!

• transformer on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:12 pm

definitely targeted at female consumer…. female would love this design…. no more ugly Avanza, Rush, Innova for soccer mums, can consider this as poor man “estima”… nice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • RavenAii (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Actually guys could buy this as well. Not to mention old people too. The petite size of the vehicle will make manouvre around tight and small area easier. A really good city car imo.

• ricardoz on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Cute is definitely better than boring design. I am bored looking at all the P2 cars on the road, all looks so similar. This design is really refreshing and I don’t mind owning one.

• Come here P2 CKD as P2 Combust cuz thats what happens when eksiden

• Guy also wants it!

• Why can’t Daihatsu introduce Kei-cars with an upgraded version of their 660cc 4 cylinder L5 block? At least get it up to date with direct injection, coilover ignition, improved turbo etc, and mate it to the CVT transmission….still insisting on 660cc 3 cylinder…which is less smoother in comparison to a 4 cylinder…Honestly I am all for engine downsizing and improving efficiency…but not at the expense of sacrificing NVH and driving smoothness….worse case…downsize the engine by chopping a cylinder…then add more insulation to compensate for the NVH drawback…bottomline more weight to cart around….sad man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • So cute. Confirmed their target for women…

• wahh, JDM models oso got 2 airbags only…..

no harm bringing them in here as perodua rusa/kancil XL

2 tone color lookz d biz

• Eugene Liew on Sep 08, 2016 at 6:37 pm

If the price is right and at least 1.3 to 1.5cc than will be great

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2016 at 7:34 pm

I feel the original design came from daihatsu tanto, some 13 yrs back. I don’t mind having that one. And looks better though. This one is a little feminist

• maklong on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:04 pm

even a very hideous car in malaysia will get buyers as long as the price cheap and affordable

• Almost no boot space…

• Bernard on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:41 pm

It is suitable for Asian men and women. Size matters.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:02 pm

time for Perodua Kenari to make a come back

• LittleMin on Sep 09, 2016 at 10:40 am

I wish Kenari could make a come back here too!!

But I guess this cutie K-car would cost almost naer to a Myvi which most Malaysians would definitely take the bigger car and it won’t sell well if that’s the case..

• Hadi75 on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Cute car especially the two tone one

• donno on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:18 am

Perodua… Just cbu it like the nautica please… And the copen too…

• Leonardo on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:12 am

Obviously it was designed for the ladies in mind. Very feminine styling with soft interior and exterior colours.
    Needs many makeover for male buyers – alloy rims, bodykits, darker exterior and interior colours, turbo engine option.
    But being a Kei car and targetted for Kawai ladies, I doubt very much if this model will land in Malaysia anytime soon.

• sani saad on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:15 pm

I want to by this for my wife. With her own money actually…..ha…ha…

• Susabelle on Sep 09, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Canbus….err…this is truly one of the ugliest car i hv ever seen!!! Wonder how many ppl will be taken up by its match-box look.

• Kei Car VW Bus, then in the 2017 Tokyo auto salon, you will see companies modifying it into the VW Bus.
    I buy the idea of Daihatsu making this car into a reality. To make it into a CKD, I think P2 will bring in the Daihatsu Move LA150 as spotted before in 2015 and 2016. Maybe running the Bezza 1.0 1kr vvti. Fingers crossed and hope for a new Kenari soonish…..

http://paultan.org/2016/04/06/spyshots-daihatsu-move-perodua-next-gen-kenari-aeb/

• Designer on Sep 12, 2016 at 2:27 pm

I’m a designer. I’m truly agreed what Daihatsu direction is heading. It’s looks retro & classically designed. Well done. Not like many other brands did which in order to achieve high tech & modern looks, they throw in “Garang” looks and its doesn’t fit into it at all.

• Niven Lam on Nov 05, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Where to get daihatsu move canbus car in Malaysia?

• andrew on Dec 23, 2016 at 5:17 pm

i love the japanese for being so vibrant and cute ! unlike malaysia, colours are limited to grey, white, silver and black. or red recently. boring.

• Liew mui kee on May 11, 2023 at 10:11 am

How much is the two-color blue(canbus)still available ?