Volkswagen Polo 1.6 – now RM77,646, down by RM13k

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 1

A check with the Volkswagen Malaysia website reveals that the price of the locally-assembled Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch has been revised. The facelift, which was introduced last year, now goes for RM77,646 on-the-road excluding insurance (RM76,888, retail), a reduction of RM13,000 from the RM90,646 previously.

No changes in terms of mechanical specifications, the familiar 105 PS and 153 Nm 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated MPI four-pot continuing on as is, paired with the usual Aisin six-speed automatic transmission. The car continues to ride on 15-inch “Riverside” alloy wheels and 185/60 profile rubbers.

The standard equipment list is also as that seen previously, though the RCD 320 head unit (as seen in the photos, which is of the 2015 model year car) has been replaced by a RCD 330G with USB and iPod interface and MirrorLink capability, with the four speaker configuration for the audio system being retained. Refer to the video below to see what the new RCD 330G unit in action.

Aside from that, a new centre armrest finds its way on, and with it, a rear AC vent. Otherwise, it’s all familiar ground, with items such as cruise control, Climatronic single-zone auto air-conditioning as well as halogen headlamps to be found. Likewise, safety equipment – no electronic stability control, the kit count only consisting of two airbags, ABS and brake assist as well as Isofix child seat anchors.

Buyers can go for an optional G1 Isofix Duo Plus top tether child seat, which adds RM3,048 to the final equation. The Polo 1.6 Hatch now comes with a five-year warranty and five-year mobility guarantee. If you’re interested in a test drive, register your interest here.

GALLERY: 2015 Volkswagen Polo 1.6 Hatch CKD facelift (this is the 2015 model year version of the facelift, from when it was introduced last year)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Knightrider on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Mampus owner 2015….pakai sampai kiok

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
    • 13K + discount extra lagi … syoknya!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
      • VW Owner on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:36 pm

At the moment, no 2nd hand car dealer dare to accept any VW trade in. Can VGM accept our trade in?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
        • Alternative to BMW MB on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:44 pm

VW design really outdated. Habis those VW owners … nak jual pun tarak orang mau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
          • Diskaun pon xde org mau. VW tunggu dapao je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
          • Optra on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Tak laku lettew….hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • of course tak laku lah. look at the crappy accessories that they are giving. LCD screen pun tak ade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Mr Alternative, the good design are mostly in Audi. Loved the A3/Q3, TT & R8

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 11, 2016 at 7:44 am

Not outdated, timeless. Other brands are flashy, but a few years down the road they look very old. Or they look old AND unattractive… like Toyota, Honda for the most part. VW models will look good many years down the road. The Mk 4 Golf wasn’t attractive when they launched it. Now it is.

• Maimunah on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Xpe la bayar loan 9 tahun jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rr on Sep 09, 2016 at 9:29 am

Buy Bezza better. installment can be 5 years only..

• Relax braders, malam ni Malam Jumaat, buat apa bimbang. Hepi lah malam ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • Bodo piang Albert ni, tak tau hari ni hari apa. Lu pakai Delorean pegi future 1 hari kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Albert on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:19 pm

VW owner
          You can trade in your car ,with me.
          I can pay cash…..but rm10 K…boleh tak?
          Better than let Sam Loo bash n bash until harga also drop to rm10K.
          I have a fleet of cars ranging from Rolls Royce to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:37 pm

To be honest, we Malaysians should give our fullest support to buy Proton. Proton is more prestigious than VW or Merc or BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 68
        • Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:07 pm

AutoFrenz, I really like your sarcasm when U say Proton is more prestigious than VW/Audi, Merc or BMW.

• Sam Poo@Loo on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:04 pm

To be honest, we Malaysians should give our fullest support to buy only Toyotaik. Toyotaik is more prestigious than VW or Merc or BMW (word of wisdom from UMW Toyotaik sales advisors, not me or anyone here).

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:42 pm

I really respect Najib now. He has kept his promise to reduce car prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 49
        • Redidiot on Sep 09, 2016 at 2:35 am

Sure or not? Kreta lain brand ada turun herga meh? Enlighten me please.

• Zorro on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Mana tau nanti dapat donation ker…kihkiklih

• all the regular bashers now keep dumb. Kenapa tak puji Najib?? Ni Bukti kukuh Najib adalah Jujur and he keeps to his word!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 49
      • Alredi dedak’ed 13k, apamaulagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Putumayam on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Why double standard??
        Volvo reduce harga 50Ribu..semua sorak.

VW baru reduce 13ribu..bash Nonstop giler.
        Palehotak la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
        • Same L0rr on Sep 09, 2016 at 10:32 am

Proton give discount RM3,000 we bash.
          Toyota give discount RM8,000, we happy.. Because of good RV!

• Teh Koon Soon on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:15 pm

This what happens when sales are so bad and the company cannot sell. Do you dare to buy from a company that they themselves mess up the RV of the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Henry on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:42 pm

This happens when there is plenty of supply but few demand.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Bro Henry, agree with U. The pollution scandal made it worst. If I’m honest with myself, I wouldn’t mind driving any VW. It’s actually a good buy 2nd hand wise. It’s solid & I feel safe driving in one.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 11, 2016 at 7:45 am

As if anyone in Malaysia cares about pollution…

• Semua bodoh sini. Kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Kerajaan sudah tunai janji. Bukan macam Dear Leader in Penang beli undervalue car and house.

Kerajaan Prihatin dan sayang Rakayt. Dah jatuh 30%. dulu RM99k. Sekaranng bukti kukuh! Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 86
    • Selena G on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Proton shud rebadge VW Polo as new Proton Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Dear Selena, I think many will buy the re-badge Saga if proton decide to use VW Polo hands down.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Better buy Proton. Proton Persona got more power and better kualiti. Let us support our own car maker than some penjajah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 29
    • Same Lorrr on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Like i said before. Please dont buy this list of cars
      1. Volkswagen
      2. Hyundai
      3. KIA
      4. Chevrolet
      5. Proton

No RV. Need to top up the balance of loan when trade in the cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 23
      • Sifoo on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Can buy Pijot or Citron? Renott??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • policeman on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Toyota RV is quite bad, close to Proton and Hyundai.

Average prices below.

2010 Toyota Vios 1.5M – RM35K
        2010 Proton Inspira 1.8M – RM38K

2010 Toyota Corolla 1.8 – RM50K
        2010 Honda Civic 1.8 – RM65K

2010 Toyota Camry 2.0 – RM68K
        2010 Hyundai Sonata 2.0 – RM65K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Henry on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:50 pm

When did you escape from Hospital Bahagia Tampoi? You shouldn’t do that. You should stay back and continue with the treatment. You are pretty sick, you know? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Ollie on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:45 am

Whoever still thinks RV for Korean cars are bad are uneducated, ignorant and stuck in dark ages.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Dear Ollie I agree with U, I would say a well maintain car will always command a better price compare to a bad maintain car. A high mileage car will always be discounted for fear of spending $$$ for changing of worn parts. Cheers …

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Typical VGM. Very soon, they will sell this car for RM50k. Like their Jetta and Passat recently they sold brand new for RM80k and RM90k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Sep 08, 2016 at 7:38 pm

There is no more VGM. They had lost the battle. Now sales of VW in Malaysia is under different distributor.

• Peasant on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Vw for Peasants…car so low spec.. better buy persona..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
  • PolohatchieOwner on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:02 pm

“RCD 330G with USB and iPod interface and MirrorLink capability, with the four speaker configuration for the audio system being retained.” Are you sure? Im a Polo Hatch FL owner, i dont see this function in my car. And i dont see rear aircond vent in my car also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • BlitzAce on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:01 pm

No the center armrest with a/c vent and 330G headunit only comes with the latest batch of Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:43 am

If still no sales, they will add 6 airbags and VSC. Or just drop everything -rm30k.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:36 pm

To camtakpro, “IF” Polo were to sell it for 30k, our P1 & P2 will ‘Tapau’ for good. It will not happen, not in your lifetime.

• Bodo polo ca ln be sold with much cheaper price. But you have no power window no bells and whistles, like those in india, you want kah?

Kahkahkah

• Heskey on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Janji ditepati! thats about 15% reduction already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • spongewai on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Hardly see Vento/Polo OTR now, where are you?!

Almost gonna end of the year yet they haven’t launched new gen Passat & Jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ade profit margin 13K serupanya… Tunggukan discount lagi la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • Ini mesti semua salah…. oh wai

• Seems you discover “hot water”….price it’s already
    like this 2 months, plus additional RM4K offer and
    Blaupunkt Philadelphia 835 until 30th September 2016.
    So total now is RM73,646.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Megat on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Kesian those current owners.

Suka2 turun harga…VW really not ethical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Same Lorrr on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Dont listen my advise before. Dont buy Volkswagen. Bad RV! Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Jibby has kept his promise to reduce car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
  • wait till christmas and it’ll be RM65k. Well at least its a conventional Aisin 6 speed and not DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • gaviny on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:28 pm

still a japanese make is much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • BlitzAce on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Has been at this price for months, actually.

• Ben Yap on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:32 pm

when new jetta going to launch?

• justsomepissedoffdude on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:43 pm

This shows just how greedy these car brands are. There is no way VW malaysia will claim that @ 77k they are selling at a loss. This means that @ 77k they are still selling at a profit, which means all this while it’s been about “how much can we get away with from these suckers/idiots in malaysia?”. The models are compared to the same models in other parts if the world are poorly equipped, have fewer variants/configurations, have poor after sales customer service but somehow more expensive. I really hope they do continue losing customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • good fella on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:01 pm

you think only vw play like this?

umw & hm sell less volume than p1 & p2 but their worker get 6mth bonus every year…

calculate that….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • azrai on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Ya lorr…Vios now get RM6.5k rebate + double din touch screen, reverse camera, DRL, interior blue neon etc. Same what.

• camtakpro on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:46 am

Vios what? I thought they discontinued already and only sell Sienta, Altis 2.0 and Camry Hybrid.

I only saw VSC-enabled models.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:47 pm

azrai, The Vios is due for a face lift. They will install a CVT just like what is on the Sienta. All Japanese car change model every 6 years while the Germans change it every 8 years. CAVEAT EMPTOR Bro

• who cares what bonus they get? So long as Najib already tunai his janji. Harga forrester dah jatuh. Harga VW 1.6 Polo dah jatuh.

I love BN! BN Prihatin dan sayang rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
        • I see Albert up to his old tricks again

• Albert on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Insaf John
            I dont need tricks.
            I talk facts.
            I am taking Konte Kinte for a spin in my latest Rolls Royce.
            Fuiyohh…..SYIOK nya.Next week I invite same Loor for another spin in my Lexus.
            My merc benz AMG,u wanna try?

• Hehehe. Yeah, what happened to ur Kuntilanak dupe? Still cannot rescue from bora-bora kah? Or no more energy to maintain so many dupes since only eat maggi everyday? Told u long time ago, come my P2 but u wanna hi keras still sell toyota junks. Padan muka now.

• VW making too much profit or DRB?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:50 pm

DRB is not VW distributor anymore.

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2016 at 7:42 pm

DRB was never a distributor of VW. Assembly yes, and several 3S outlet. In seremban, cheras and semenyih.

• China Bong on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Lol

• Driver on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Hahahahahahahaha

• Choong Eik Min on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Wow even ESC tak mau bagi Malaysians. Terribad…

• nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:59 pm

One one hand, its quite a good deal… Bt actually with everyone selling in big discounts, it can only be bcos the economic situation is pretty terrible and have to clear stock asap… This is not jus VW throwing price.. Its across the board… Show ur face at any showroom entrance n u get few thousands discount already…. The Bezza is already having 1.5k discount for the top spec despite its selling like hot cakes…. And bcos of this im starting to hate hot cakes!
    Hold on tight guys… The storm is here…. And its real…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Now it is a question of who is more hard up.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Cash is King. U can buy anything U like when U have the $$$. Discounts is everywhere. Make sure U get the Best deal for your hard earn $$$ unless U have some DONATION stored somewhere in BVI.

• omegle on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Likewise, safety equipment – no electronic stability control, the kit count only consisting of two airbags, ABS and brake assist as well as Isofic child seat anchors.

ISOFIX*

• kenot on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:06 pm

still expensive for this spec…look at the back seat, very thin sponge.

• khairi mohamad on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:07 pm

design buruk sapa nak beli

• Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:20 pm

mobility guarantee? guarantee to be moving on the road, not stationary at the workshop?

• azrai on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Haha..thank god we are not one of the earlier buyer. German technology, made in India, Assembled in Pekan.

• hukaka on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:40 pm

you know what there got 2013 jetta CUB unit new car selling for rm 58,888.00.i pity those buyer who pay for listed price.

• Dear Paul Tan, the pictures you show are from the old version w/o rear aircon and armrest. Likewise the video footage from the RCD330G is with Navigation, which i doubt the Polo has as standard. Little misleading from my point of view, but do correct me if I am wrong.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Dear Dude, it was mentioned in the gallery headline that the car in the photos was the 2015 model, which meant it was the facelift from last year, but seeing as that fact may likely be missed by many, I’ve included the clarification that it is such in the story itself.

As for the RCD 330G, yes, there’s no navigation (the unit’s RCD prefix denotes that it is a non-navi unit, with RCN to denote that it has) and the navi you see is actually coming off the phone, mirrored on to the head unit’s screen. In any case, thanks for mentioning it.

• passion on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:15 pm

2012 PS CBU India is RM30k only when trade in. Very disappointing.

• VW is pariah on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Cheat in emission, gearbox breakdown, lousy service center.

Only stupid idiots buy Volkswagen.
    And I see plenty of stupid idiots in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Wazizi on Sep 08, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Agree whole heartedly…i own 2 VW. One aldy in the vw workshop for 2 months! Dont waste ur money on this brand! Be forewarned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Henry on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:53 am

This is called a double whammy.

• KENNY on Sep 13, 2016 at 1:32 pm

hahaha…………..better buy Proton than VW and can save the rest of the loan for other personal things.

• Nodia on Sep 08, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Current discount
    Jazz=7500
    City=6000
    Almera=9000
    Vios=5500
    Altis=5000
    Vento=10000

All got discount but silent discount. If you ask you get. Dont ask, dont get la

• Sam Poo@Loo on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:21 pm

But, how come we get ‘beggar type’ discount for Vios and Altis even if you ask (their taik SA blatantly claim that it was a typo error, but actually only RM550 for Vios and RM500 for Altis).

• Henry on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:28 pm

This car should be priced like the Perodua MyVi. Even at this discounted price a better option will be the Mazda2, Honda Jazz or Ford Fiesta. Heck, even the Kia Rio is a better choice.

• Bernard on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:46 pm

Must have manual transmission !

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Bcos it’s a small car, they are targeting the ladies, hence auto-box. In any case, most drivers prefer auto when U are driving in the jam everyday. Does it make sense ??!

• maXref (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:00 pm

“no electronic stability control, the kit count only consisting of two airbags”
    VW used to be known as cars that comes with good safety features in M’sia. 6 airbags + VSC as standard. What junk is this? We don’t need another unsafe car in the market. We Malaysians already have Toyota and Perodua to fill that role.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:47 pm

The price is right for the spec they are offering since its missing VSC, EBD, 6 airbags and what not comparing to its high spec rivals and they demand a fair bit more for the stuff they offer. Can I take it as VGM was profiting a lot from their models until the new distro came into the picture n set things right?

• Kelvin Kong on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:13 am

Lol …this is junk with no ESP and only 2 airbags. Sorry

• KENNY on Sep 13, 2016 at 1:34 pm

i will go for proton iriz……………with all the safety features and yet still can save about 15k……………..in the end the car still gets same low resale value.

• Same L0rr on Sep 09, 2016 at 7:45 am

Wait for Proton Persona discount la!

• passion on Sep 09, 2016 at 9:15 am

the back seat is sinking already after 3 and half years. very bad quality material used.

• SoChunn on Sep 09, 2016 at 9:21 am

RV of VW in Malaysia is really bad. Surprisingly when VW RV tend to be quite good in other regions.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 09, 2016 at 9:30 am

wait 2017 to buy 2014 Polo

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Looks like the video is in Russia. Have anybody learn anything from the video ??

• Dedak1Malaysia on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:20 pm

VW surely a failure.
    Spareparts very expensive.

No wonder 2nd hand value drop like stone.

Secondhand cars dealers wont be accepting these VW.

Prepare to hand over your junk VW to your son/daughter….(if they want to drive it la)