Honda expands Takata airbag recall by 668,816 units

Honda airbag

Thought all the cars affected by the Takata airbag inflator crisis have already been recalled? Think again – Honda has announced yet another recall involving 668,816 cars in Japan. This time, it’s the passenger-side airbag which is the culprit here, and as before, the propellant in the airbag inflator is to blame.

Affected are the 2010-2011 Fit and Fit Hybrid (Jazz), 2011 Fit Shuttle, 2010-2011 Freed and Freed Spike, 2010-2011 Insight, 2009-2010 Civic, Civic Type R and Civic Hybrid, 2010-2011 CR-V, 2009-2011 Inspire (Accord), 2011 Accord Euro and Accord Tourer, 2009-2010 Legend and even the 2009-2010 FCX Clarity hydrogen fuel cell vehicle.

Owners will be notified via mail, and should there be a shortage of replacement inflators, the airbag will be disabled as an interim measure, and a warning sticker will be placed on the passenger-side sun visor.

According to Automotive News, the latest recall brings the total Honda vehicles affected worldwide to around 51 million, around half of the circa-100 million units recalled over the Takata airbag inflator scandal – the biggest ever recall in automotive history. The defective safety devices have been linked to at least 14 deaths (including at least three in Malaysia) and 150 injuries worldwide.

Yesterday’s recall follows the Japanese transport ministry order in May to recall another 7 million vehicles by 2019 – these vehicles are equipped with Takata airbag inflators without a drying agent. The recalls, which will be conducted in stages, comes in the wake of an expanded recall by US transport authorities.

Without a drying agent, the propellant in the Takata airbag inflators – which uses ammonium nitrate – can explode violently following prolonged exposure to hot, humid conditions, spraying metal shrapnel at the vehicle’s occupants. Honda was once Takata’s largest customer, but has since confirmed that it will stop using the parts maker’s inflators in its new models, as well as its replacement inflators.

In the wake of the recalls, Takata is in the midst of searching for a financial backer, in order to help it overhaul its business and to offset skyrocketing costs. Its share price has fallen nearly 90% since early 2014, and it could face billions of dollars in liabilities.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• transformer on Sep 09, 2016 at 1:44 pm

any airbag expert here can share some advice:

My Grand Livina airbag also been recalled for Driver Side. My question is, Why Passenger Side not recalled? not same chemical used to make these airbag? Really?

• Different batch or different supplier

• Same L00 on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Now Proton is proud to tell you that their cars are safer because there is NO airbags in Wira, Iswara, Waja, Saga, Satria, Savvy.
        No air bag = no recall = safe.

• Roadside stranger on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Just the matter of time to recall later.

• Jgn2 explode macam kes crane operator tu…

Ganti rugi Juta2 beb

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 10, 2016 at 1:01 am

Toyota had a recall some 5 yrs ago for vios, only passenger side. Just to check the wire is not clipped and torn against chassis metal. Toyota did this for 20k units of vios 07 (model code NCP93) and I bet no paultan reader knows abt this. If wire is torn, it is replaced. If nothing happens, the wire is re routed. For worst case scenarios, a new airbag unit was replaced.

• Jeffrey Read on Nov 22, 2016 at 12:09 pm

The most probable reason is to split the allocation of limited resources i.e. SRS Airbags so that everyone has a chance to get a replacement over a period of time.

• Jepunis quality. Jangan persoal.

• Ollie on Sep 09, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Well, they’re doing it well. What about Toyota? Still silently killing

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Sep 09, 2016 at 4:35 pm

After self checking and informed Toyota, got their letter and then have to call make appointment with outlet, and then asked to wait until stock come only they will call back… 2 months already… Apa update pun tarak… *Sigh* Toyota… Jual kereta mau cepat, kasi tukar barang mau tunggu sampai lembu balik rumah.

• Ollie on Sep 09, 2016 at 5:07 pm

I got my dad to call Toyota for his car. After running around looking for parts, making some noise, they finally got it done. About 2 weeks of chasing them.

I don’t drive Toyotas, Hondas, Protons, Peroduas. You shouldn’t too.

• So I am curious what are you driving then??
          If its either VW, Ford, Nissan, Mazda, Merc, BMW, Ferrari, Mitsu they all also face same Takata recall. So you would be left with Korean cars then.

• UMW TOYOTA on Sep 09, 2016 at 6:15 pm

remove ur both airbag..no more sigh sigh sigh…settle…u lost ur IC also need to wait la.. like this also want sigh sigh

• ricardoz on Sep 09, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Has anyone replaced their passenger side airbag for Honda Accord 2008 – 2011 model? I can’t locate any stocks in their website list.

• Cantona on Sep 09, 2016 at 6:08 pm

I got my 2007 City airbags replaced and although the letter only states driver airbag recall the service center replaced both driver and passenger airbags together. Took about 2 weeks in total from booking an appointment to replacement of airbags.