Mercedes-Benz CLA facelift launched in M’sia: CLA200 RM237k, CLA250 RM279k, AMG CLA45 at RM409k

mercedes-amg-cla-45-1

The facelifted Mercedes-Benz CLA range has been launched for the Malaysian market, with updates applied across three variants: the CLA 200 priced at RM236,888, the CLA 250 Sport 4Matic priced at RM278,888, and the Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 4Matic priced at RM408,888.

For the revised CLA range, both the CLA 200 and CLA 250 now wear the AMG Line exterior – previously, only the CLA 250 had the sportier package. Both models get a diamond radiator grille with chrome pins, and around the back, the exhaust tailpipes are now integrated flush into the rear bumper, for a flatter and wider appearance. The CLA 250 also adds on an AMG Night Package to the equation.

The CLA 200 gets 18-inch AMG multi-spoke wheels (similar to those fitted on the A200 AMG Line), matched to “lowered comfort suspension.” The CLA 250, meanwhile, has a set of 18-inch AMG 5-twin-spoke wheels as seen on the red car below, plus stiffer sport suspension.

Under the hood, powertrain stats are carried over from before, save for the CLA 45 AMG range-topper. The CLA 200 runs a 1.6 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine, producing 156 hp at 5,300 rpm and 250 Nm of torque between 1,250 to 4,000 rpm. The century sprint is dispatched in 8.2 seconds, onwards to a top speed of 230 km/h.

For the CLA 250 Sport 4Matic, a 2.0 litre turbo petrol engine makes 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm, sent to all four wheels. This propels the car from a standstill to 100 km/h in 6.5 seconds, with a top speed of 240 km/h. As with the CLA 200, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission sends output to the driven wheels.

All facelifted CLA models get new LED High Performance headlamps, which produce a colour temperature closer to daylight than that achieved using xenon lamps – better relief to the driver’s eyes at night. Direction indicators, daytime running lights and position lights use multifunction fibre-optic cables, while the LED tail lights incorporate automatic intensity control to reduce dazzle for drivers following behind – brightness of the brake lights and indicators are regulated in three stages.

Inside, both the CLA 200 and the CLA 250 get a slimmer, eight-inch display with glass cover for the Audio 20 CD infotainment system, while revised instrument dials are now pointed out by red needles for better legibility. Sports seats trimmed in Artico man-made leather and Dinamica microfibre are standard as well. The CLA 200 gets light aluminium trim with longitudinal grain inside, while the CLA 250 gets aluminium trim with dark honeycomb grain.

The top-of-the-line Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 4Matic deploys a 2.0 litre turbo petrol engine which churns out 381 hp at 6,000 rpm and 475 Nm of torque from 2,250 to 5,000 rpm (an extra 21 hp and 25 Nm compared to before), with a 0-100 km/h time of 4.2 seconds – 0.4 seconds faster than the pre-facelift version. Top speed is electronically limited to 250 km/h.

As the crown of the CLA range, the Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 4Matic wears the latest AMG front bumper treatment and a new diffuser insert with four vertical fins. As part of the AMG Aerodynamics package, the CLA 45 4Matic adds a larger front splitter and a black AMG bootlid spoiler. Large 19-inch AMG wheels are standard – for now you can choose between the multi-spoke items you see here, or the cross-spoke set seen on the earlier spyshots.

Inside the CLA 45, Artico man-made leather features throughout the cabin (covering the dash as well), with red contrast trim and stitching for its upholstery. As before, the gear selector in the full AMG version is relocated to the centre console, with the new Dynamic Select knob residing just aft of the gear selector. Surprisingly, the AMG Ride Control adaptive dampers – available on the facelifted AMG A 45 – has been given a miss here.

Extras on the AMG CLA 45 include Blind Spot Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, as well as genuine carbon-fibre dash trim and the lovely AMG Performance exhaust system. Inside, the AMG model also adds on a dual-zone automatic climate control system with rear vents, a panoramic sunroof, COMAND Online system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, plus a Harman Kardon Logic7 Surround Sound System.

As for safety, the whole range gets seven airbags as standard, including a Kneebag for the driver. Attention Assist is fitted on all models too, as are PRE-SAFE and Active Brake Assist systems. So folks, what do you think of the updated Mercedes-Benz CLA range in Malaysia?

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG CLA 45 4Matic

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Sport 4Matic

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• dpillai on Sep 10, 2016 at 11:11 am

BMW 330e > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 37
  • Andre on Sep 10, 2016 at 11:30 am

Lovely Performance but not spacious enough for me as I’m 1.7m tall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
  • SpongeWai on Sep 10, 2016 at 11:32 am

performance or hybrid?! Hmm

• old horse on Sep 10, 2016 at 11:39 am

probably the only range that cant sell in Merc..and the B class…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • fanofthisite on Sep 10, 2016 at 8:42 pm

a pity about the B class as its a well packaged urban car. but CLA not selling so well …errmm..i think its doing decently enough

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 10, 2016 at 11:45 am

Anyone who has sat behind in a CLA will know how cramped it is. Looking at the article the only difference between the 200 and 250 is the engine and the 4Matic? No more extra goodies for the 250?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:04 pm

The wheels and suspension setups are different (AMG multi-spokes, lowered comfort suspension on the CLA 200, AMG 5-twin-spokes and sport suspension on the CLA 250), and the CLA 250 adds on the AMG Night Package. There are minor trim differences inside too (Light Aluminium Trim With Longitudinal Grain on the CLA 200, Aluminium trim with dark honeycomb-grain on the CLA 250).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • BMW 330i on Sep 10, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Can you provide is some photos for the CLA200? There seems to be two sets of package for the CLA250, two different sets of rims between the one in red and silver?

• Harris on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Why RM400k+ cla 45 is not fitted with the adaptive dampers?!

• nabill (Member) on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:32 pm

i think it has but somehow not mentioned in the article…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Nope, the AMG CLA 45 here is not fitted with AMG Ride Control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:20 pm

nabill, just scroll down B4 the GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Sport 4Matic. U will find what U are looking for. Read the article B4 U comment please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • KontiKinte on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm

400K for AMG getting more n more expensive while the competitor start lowering their prices

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:42 pm

The car just kept on getting better and better. Sadly so, I am among those fat Malaysian (1.83m + 104kg) that are not able to benefit from this compact monster. Managed to test drive the pre-facelift model but still had to cramp myself in the seat (kudos to the sales guy for his patience). The roof is too ‘aerodynamic’ for big headed guy like me. Je ne peux admirer de loin mon amour.

• S40 240hp can saver u rm100k from CLA250

• Mikey on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:34 pm

The S40 actually looks more handsome compare to the CLA but U pay for the badge, prestige & bragging rights when U go & play golf with your buddies.

• i buy what i like, not the badge and the boring golf to entertain my customers. i don’t need the badge to get business, they don’t like my car? fxxk off la

• Mikey on Sep 11, 2016 at 4:31 pm

V40, why U don’t like me praising S40 ?! BTW, why so touchy/personal man ! Did I step your tail ? A short fuse is not going to make U think wisely or help U in anyway.

• Bananana on Sep 12, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Yes you step on my taol. Dont you know monkey likes banana not CLA?

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Sep 10, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Manual air-cond rotary controls for the sub AMG A and CLA?

• sorry, should be V40…btw, S60 T6 rm240k 306hp can almost save u rm170k too from the so called AMG CLA45…lol

• Applegreen on Sep 10, 2016 at 2:44 pm

C250 or CLA250 ? Both car prices very near now

• the CLA’s interior build quality isn’t up to par with the C-Class. I’ve read some owner’s review from US & EU (most of them are long time Merc owners) and said they weren’t satisfied with the build and feel of the interior.

• Bursa Lampung on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:04 pm

its beautiful car, ilove u

• Mikey on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:06 pm

No AMG Ride Control adaptive dampers for CLA45 ?! U call this facelift !

• Mikey on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:08 pm

To MBM, why the CLA250 do not have the 9 speed that is in the latest E-class when the engine is the same 2.0 ?

• pomen on Sep 10, 2016 at 10:54 pm

haiyooo…CLA is MFA and E-Class is MRA…powertrains also different la…do some research before comment okay..

• Mikey on Sep 11, 2016 at 2:12 pm

pomen, what power train different are U referring to? Both use the same 2.0 liter 4 cylinders that produce 211 hp & 350 nm of torque. Care to explain what “powertrains aslo different la”…

• bro..E class is rear wheel drive, CLA is front wheel drive..9 speed gearbox is for rwd..fwd probably using different gearbox

• Mikey on Sep 13, 2016 at 9:25 am

db8, Thank for explaining. I know all A/B-class are front wheel drive. What I am saying to MBM is why the delay in putting a 9 speeder into all newly introduce Merc.

Unless U tell me that all future front drive Merc will not get a 9 speed or the A/B class are inferior cars. I dare to say Merc will install these front drive with a 9 speeder soon.

Powertrain is the term for all the technical components which make the car move, so not only engine, but also clutch, gearbox, axles, shaft, additional gearboxes, differential drive. I know what pomen was referring to when he said MFA/MRA.

• Mikey on Sep 14, 2016 at 3:20 pm

db8, another question is if a BMW 2 series can fix a 8 speeder into its car, I don’t see why Merc cannot fit the 9 speeder.

• Mikey on Sep 10, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Sad to say, the CLA model is one of the least good looking or desirable car Merc ever produce.

The number of cars sold by MBM tell me so. Most purchaser in this segment will buy a C-class that looks better & roomier at the back.

If U want performance, get the A45 AMG which have the AMG Ride Control adaptive dampers & save a some $$$.

• Clator on Sep 10, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Increase price ah? That cla45 is a waste of money. You’re better off with the mind blowing M2.

• BMW 330i on Sep 10, 2016 at 6:06 pm

I really dislike how malaysian dealers disallow you to choose the trim/ package of your choice as they are predetermined by the distributor.

In overseas markets, you can even spec up a C180 to a full AMG package as long as youre filling to fork up the extra $$

• Big NO NO to CLA. I got the CLA250, power is ok but the space is so cramped up. Should have gotten the F10 528 2.0 but my wife likes it so no choice.

• Mikey on Sep 11, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Bro KING, everyone of us have a choice including U. Anyone who can afford a CLA 250 can afford to buy another 528. That way, U get your space & she get her drive. Life is too short to compromise when you have the $$$ Right?

• Hahaha, no need la i can drive back my E70. If i really want to change I’ll go for sports car. Lolls

• Mikey on Sep 13, 2016 at 9:38 am

King, hope U drive/buy a sports car soon. Like I said, life is too short so go & enjoy. Cheers ….Happy driving bro.

• getto on Sep 10, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Is there a reversing camera for the 45 variant?

• Yogemeister on Sep 10, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Looks nicer than before however 409k for the CLA45 is way too much. I like the car and all but there are much better options out there for the price, especially since the car isn’t as spacious, it’s slightly bigger than an Altis interior wise so that’s a big issue, still one of the best 4 pots out there however. Love the pops and crackles from the exhaust

• M4 or CLA 45 AMG on Sep 11, 2016 at 2:24 am

Hi guys. Am planning to get either one for daily use.what is your recommendation? M4 or CLA 45 AMG?Thanks.

• Megane on Sep 11, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Get the M4 for better look , more mature status . CLA looks ugly over time and too boy racer image looking .

• aziz ab on Sep 11, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Can get pre-reg M4 @ RM320k

• Mikey on Sep 11, 2016 at 2:32 pm

M4. But that will cost an extra 300k plus. I guess $$$ is not your concern. Just buy both. That way, U can tell me which one is better after using for 1 year. Happy shopping.

• I don’t und how MBM spec their cars. CLA200 and CLA250 are almost similar in terms of outlook and interior…but at the very least, the CLA250 received night package. This is the opposite of A200 and A250 where the A200 receives the night package instead of A250.

• The CLA is one of the least interesting cars on sale today from Merc. It’s not nice to drive, lousy ride, overpriced (for any market).. and the list goes on and on..

You are way better off with a C class which is a whole lot better engineered.. The only car that came good out of this platform is the A class…the rest of them are under engineered to fill a niche within a niche GLA CLA whatever A..you name it…….

It’s really a race to the bottom for these German marques as they seek to rely on brand name rather than innovating and putting in decent engineering into their cars to gain market share and demographics.. The war now is waged on brand and who markets better…that’s sad…