B10 biodiesel to be implemented Q4 2016 – report

biodiesel

Postponed from the initial date in June, the implementation of B10 biodiesel finally looks to be a done deal, and industry analysts expect the new fuel to hit the pumps in the fourth quarter of the year.

The Star reports that the fuel, which combines 10% palm methyl ester with 90% fossil fuel-derived diesel and is expected to replace the current B7 fuel, has already been accepted by several carmakers as being fit and safe to be used in their vehicles – putting to rest a long-standing issue that has delayed its introduction.

Malaysian Biodiesel Association president U.R. Unnithan said that he does not expect any more delays in the implementation of B10 biodiesel. “The government has given more than ample time for all stakeholders – biodiesel producers, petroleum companies including Petronas, Shell, Chevron, Petron and BHP, and palm oil suppliers – involved to clarify any issues they have,” he said.

Unnithan added that although certain stakeholders were still seeking clarification on the use of B10 on selected vehicles, “these matters are being dealt with through individual and multi-stakeholder consultation processes.” He also said that technical issues brought to light by petroleum companies and carmakers prior to the implementation of B10 were being ironed out and have been “well-clarified.”

BHPetrol Infiniti Euro 5 Diesel 1

Additionally, palm biodiesel is claimed to have undergone all tests conducted by the Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB), following the footsteps of countries such as Colombia and Indonesia which have already implemented biodiesel grades B10 and up successfully.

Unnithan said that the Malaysian Biodiesel Association is looking forward to working closely with all stakeholders, such as petroleum companies, automobile associations and carmakers – this includes extending its cooperation and expertise to MPOB and the Malaysian Palm Oil Council (MPOC) to address all techno-commercial issues in the implementation of B10 and B7 programmes.

“In fact, the Malaysian Biodiesel Association has also held several demonstrations on the long-term use of B50 and B100 biodiesel on some vehicles without any issues, hence we don’t see any technical issues at all for B10,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• pipikaka on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:08 pm

wonder how the existing diesel car can handle the b10 mix. newer cars i can understand they could tune it to suit b10 mix. good luck for all the diesel users. better check properly. engine mati is the worst can happen to our cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • If our diesel engine prematurely mati due to this B10, then we should team-up to sue this fellow as he is so sure that he don’t see any technical issues and problems at all. Good luck all man, we will come to you one day.

• Operation Manager on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:06 pm

We even have given more time… oh sohai… why diesel euro2 still continue polluted our environment…

• Horayyy on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:33 pm

RV semue Diesel cars jatuh lg 30% !!!

Kn dh kata harga kete turun…

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:37 pm

And you are so naive.

Do you think you can win the case?

Your father is Mr Jinab?

Or you are the Atorni Jeneral in USA?

• Ya, you said no long term issue for the engine. How about manufacturers? Warranty? Or u care about only push up the palm oil price? How about cooking oil price? Will up soon?

At the end, consumer is not your priority, you just care about your palm oil stock that sit for a long long time.

Just wondering, why the government put the priority to help to push up the palm oil and clear stock pile of producers? They should lower down the price of palm oil if there is over supply if it. So, the rakyat can be benefited from low price palm cooking oil.

Sound no sense. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • It make senses..it is about fossil fuel vs renewable energy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • crash on Sep 13, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Burning fossil fuel pollutes the air. Planting oil palm leads to deforestation, inflict more damage to the environment. Only party which is profitable is those rich taukeh who owns many plantation company.

Mixing palm oil into diesel will surely affect fuel economy which means increase operation cost for transport company. Biodiesel has less energy content than fossil fuel.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:19 pm

perfect scenario wd be to provide both , euro 4 diesel and this biodiesel at the stations …consumers wd have the choice…i dread to think how older diesels wd take this biodiesel , specially transport sector…

• Mikey on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:21 pm

I think the 2 girls are more interesting than b10 bio-diesel. Sad to say, many M’sian still think diesel is a “dirty” engine compare to petrol.

• WT Fuchhhh on Sep 13, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Not as dirty as those 2gals. They have _ _ _ on their minds.

• No mention whether euro5 diesel will also be B10. Should let consumer have option.

• Gaviny on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Wonderfully stupid to keep going backwards when we are just gettin the good stuffs like Mazda diesel , triton new mivec, fortuner and hilux new engines

Why can’t we ever have nice things?

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Is our education moving forward?

What else is moving forward, I wonder? Maybe hoo dude?

• piakpiak on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Good inisiatif to reduce FELDA’s palm oil stockpile.

• Dato Alvin Chow on Sep 13, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Hi PT, will it affect Euro 5 diesel?

• inb4 Indon, some states in US, Colombia, Argentina, Brazil, & France mesti dah kena dedak ni… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • C. P. MOHAN on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Bio-diesel looks going backwards to me when the technology is to go forward with electric and driverless vehicles.

• Complementary as biodiesel reduces pure diesel consumption

• Mikey on Sep 14, 2016 at 2:25 pm

CP, one of the reason we increase the % from 7 to 10 is to reduce the stockpile of our palm oil. They have increase from 5% to 7% previously without any problem.

The only issue here is BMW. According to MD and CEO Alan Harris, testing has found that fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME), which boils at high temperatures, will move into the motor oil, causing it to thin and possibly leading to oil sludge. This reduces lubricity and increases the risk of engine damage.

Merc on the other hand has approved it’s usage. The use of Bio-D is not going backward. It’s the technologies/engines/components that have to improve in-order to cope with the usage of fuels be it petrol, diesel, ethylene, hydrogen or electric.

Base on current technologies, we already have a 912 horsepower QUANT e-sportlimousine runs exclusively on salt water.

You are right when U said electric motor is one of the way going forward with zero emission. Happy commenting & reading bro. Cheers ….

• Malaysian Biodiesel Association on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Dear existing diesel car users,
    You may submit any damage claims related to Biodiesel to [email protected] and Cc to you car manufacturer service center. Please attach the payment receipt related to biodiesel including engine replacement ( Partly or the entire engine) for investigation.

Thank you for supporting biodiesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Newcomer on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Does it include Euro 5 diesel?

• Triton Mitsu on Sep 13, 2016 at 7:10 pm

For investigation purpose only ka??? Aiyoooo…I dread to think how many years you guy will take to investigate and if it is proven because of B10? Sapa nak bayaq??? Just my opionion….

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Thank you for your extreme sarcascism.

Yes, yes, yes, please submit one billion cases of such complaints with rock-solid evidences, to United Nation, to USA, to Obama, to Consumer Associations, to Lim Kit Siang, to whoever you like, and your case will be extremely carefully investigated by royal task forces and will be smilefully accepted by Atoni Jeneral USA and will 101% win in the courts of USA as the peng-adil-s in USA are all not controlled by Obama.

• Vincent on Sep 14, 2016 at 1:11 am

Come on since you are here I hope u are a real deal here. Pls explain to me about my own diesel car Sim e BMW said the car is not b10 compliant and there are many others here as well, why force us to use b10? Is like I force u to eat when u already freaking full! Give us a choice la, choose b10 or b7 at the pump. Give us some chance to have our choice.

• Vincent on Sep 14, 2016 at 1:14 am

Investigate for what? The car already Rosak and u still want to investigate?buy me a new engine makes more sense , or just stop car manufacturers to Brin in diesel models if cannot work with your b10 I. Very unhappy the way the government handle this issue.

• Vincent on Sep 14, 2016 at 1:16 am

What if my car no more warranty? I cc my car workshop ka? Use your brains la

• Freddie on Sep 13, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Say good bye to our nature forests, do U know how bad our forest is replace by palm tree? Its bio fuel really environment friendly?

• Mikey on Sep 14, 2016 at 8:16 am

Most diesel including bio-D are more environment friendly compare to petrol. Fortunately or unfortunately for M’sia, we have to clear lands to plant palm trees that the west claim its damaging our environment.

• Palm trees r better than no tree, dun u agree?

• UMW TOYOTA on Sep 14, 2016 at 10:47 am

CPO will hit rm4000/ton…my ffb will more money..

• johorian on Sep 14, 2016 at 2:24 pm

1) Buses more breakdown
    2) Lorries more breakdown
    3) Ship and boats more breakdown
    4) no more diesel car sales..

RIP diesel industries malaysia…for the sake of some smart ass palm oil cronies..

• randomstranger on Sep 14, 2016 at 3:37 pm

I don’t get it…I just came back from a trip to Vietnam, and they have Euro 5 spec diesel!

If a developing nation can adopt the latest in fuel standards, why can’t we!!

• Kuih Bulan Sedap on Sep 14, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Welcome to Malaysia….The country that is polluted with dirty exhaust smoke, and polluted with dirty politics….

• Savvykl on Sep 14, 2016 at 11:49 pm

simple, MPOB should buy RM300 million insurance, so which car or truck engine spoiled due to B10 biodiesel with in 10 years. this also increase consumer confident using B10.

• xoxox on Sep 15, 2016 at 8:46 am

the cronies plant so many palm oil tree..now market demands and price is low..and use this method to force rakyat to take their supply??

• It’s the Kharma, for grabbing others business…
      Nothing is free, everything come with a price…

• nasha on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:36 am

meanwhile, jerman marque is giving huge discounts on their current diesel line. cepat2 clear current stock and moving to plan b – bringing in hybrid electric vehicle. there was a lot of backlash from auto industry regarding B10. banyak sangat sludge oil thus maintaining a diesel engine will costs more.

• Shame to say that, while other countries are recycling used-cooking-oil, becoming bio-diesel; our bolehland have to promote bio-diesel to clear the palm oil stock…

Sampai bila baru kita boleh maju…?!

Now, only 3+ years to 2020….