VIDEO: Lazareth LM 847 – 470 hp, 611 Nm and it moves

The madness that is the Lazareth LM 847 – all 470 hp and 611 Nm torque of it – is not only real, it moves! As shown in the video, the LM 847 is ridden on the roads in its hometown of Annecy, France.

Powered by a Maserati V8 that is the same 32-valve, 4,691 cc unit used in the Maserati Quattroporte and Alfa Romeo 8C Competizione, the eight-cylinder mill puts out a claimed 470 hp and 611 Nm of torque. Power gets down to the ground via a single-speed hydraulic coupling.

Unique to the Lazareth LM847 is its four 17-inch wheels, which technically makes it a quad-bike. The leaning front end – designed by TFX Suspension – uses twin swingarms and hub-centre steering.

lm847-lazareth-6

The swingarms tilt independently of each other, allowing the LM847 to lean into corners. The rear end, also with twin swingarms, has a single inboard damper, and dual drive, letting power get to both wheels.

Braking is with outboard discs on the wheels, as also seen on Buell machines. Grabbed by a pair of eight-piston calipers in front, and Brembo calipers on inboard discs at the rear, the front discs measure a massive 420 mm in diameter.

lm847-lazareth-3

On the handlebars, the brake levers are set outboard, giving the rider more leverage to bring the massive 400 kg LM847 to a stop. The fuel tank sits in-between the rider’s legs, just behind the V8’s intake manifold.

While the Lazareth doesn’t look very comfortable, nor would it handle high-speed cornering very well, it is, nevertheless, a prime example of motorcycle engineering, and madness. According to Lazareth, the LM 847 is built to order, but we shudder to think what it might cost.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Cannot do superman on this bike

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 13, 2016 at 7:15 pm

hmmm…where did they stash the fuel tank?

This is by far not the first nor “maddest” Car engined bike. That award would go to the Dodge Tomahawk (V10 Viper mill making 500+ hp), which I think this borrows a lot from.

• freedom on Sep 13, 2016 at 7:58 pm

No bad, it look really good. If the sit can lower abit I think it could be a daily drive super bike. If you make it black color and wearing a batman suit it will be like hero at night.

• AKoNGz on Sep 13, 2016 at 9:59 pm

If you accidently topple the bike, you have to call for a crane to lift it upright again.

• orang biasa on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Wow, so powerful and stunning but not comfortable sit and handle to ride for long distance. Anyway, janji ada gaya!

• armandd on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:20 pm

madness…

• Same L00 on Sep 13, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Buy this monster you still stuck in the jam behind the Saga enjoying smoke, Malaysia sun and rains.

• lao yee on Sep 14, 2016 at 10:46 am

If you can afford this toy, you can afford a built in air purifier full face helmet and a cooling jacket.

• Honda babes on Sep 14, 2016 at 6:29 am

At least i can keep my helmet under the seat in honda future – the futuristic motorcycle and easily park at LRT. This monster cannot

• Rear Lights Ciplak on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Why the rear lights same as Panigale 899?

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Sep 15, 2016 at 8:17 pm

technically, this is a quad.