Audi Malaysia to go big in 2017 – new A5 Sportback and A3, as well as R8, Q2 on the cards, RS models too

2017 Audi A5 Review 56

Next year promises to be a big one for Audi Malaysia – the company says it has plans to introduce a slew of new models in 2017 and also bring more S and RS models into the market. The announcement of these was made at the local launch of the new B9 Audi A4 today.

Leading the line will be the new R8. A teaser on the local website at the end of 2015 proved to be a false dawn in terms of the car making it to our shores this year, but it’s coming in 2017.

The brand’s second-gen flagship is powered by a 5.2 litre naturally-aspirated V10 petrol engine, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission, its only available engine guise, though there’s a more powerful plus version to pick from.

Other planned models for 2017 are the new A5 and A3 facelift. The A5 Coupe, which we drove earlier this year (read our review on it and the S5 version here), has yet to be confirmed, but the word is that the Sportback version, which is making its debut in Paris later this month, is definitely making it here. As for the A3, the facelift is expected to arrive in its sedan form.

The Q2 compact crossover – which made its debut in Geneva back in March – is also set to make its way here. In Europe, there are six engine variations available for the vehicle, which slots in under the Q3; we’re likely to see the four-cylinder 1.4 TFSI being offered.

The company added that it plans to add more S variants as well as RS models to the local line-up, with the first RS-badged offerings anticipated to make their way in sometime during the first quarter of next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spongewai on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:36 pm

nice to see RS models here next year to compete against M & AMG power

• Return of Kunta on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Audi Malaysia can close shop. Now Merc and BMW very competitive. They have lowered their prices. But A4 prices have gone up and up and up.

Who in their right mind will forsake a Mercedes C200 or a BMW 330e for an Audi? Do you know in Europe and even in Malaysia, Audi is known as the rejects who cannot afford Merc and BMW?

That is Audi in Malaysia. A 2nd grade prestige car. People view it as “those who cannot afford 1st tier” they settle for 2nd tier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
    • Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Audi (M) is giving M’sian an extra choice. It is not 2nd grade. No car manufacturer dare to claim their car is the Best.

Kunta, If U like BMW/Benz, go buy one. No one is forcing U to but ‘2nd’ grade prestige car. Chances is it is better than what U are driving now(being blunt here).

As far as I know, no one driving a BMW/Merc call an Audi owner/driver 2nd grade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • venven81 on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:26 am

chill bro chill… obviously that’s a lot of BS that came out from him.
        “Audi price is high”…”cannot afford Merc/BMW”…
        what logic is that? all he knows is typing without using the head

• Wo Lai Ye on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Another story of being too late…

Audi should took its chances during A6 Hybrid era.

• Henry on Sep 19, 2016 at 6:00 pm

How to go big here when our currency is going smaller?

• Theres alwiz enuff rich pipu to tax

• Henry on Sep 19, 2016 at 6:37 pm

The real problem is taxing poor people like you.

• The poor standards in MY must be quite high for them to be able to buy Audis.

• johan on Sep 19, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Tax the rich so no poblem

• Henry on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:38 pm

You talk very sour not to realise the rich pays 80% of the taxes. Where do you think your BRIM comes from, fall from the sky?

• So u prefer 80% of pipu pay 80% of taxes? Not even Party Hard dare to suggest this bro.

• Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:02 pm

For a starter, U have to think BIG. Thinking small will always end smaller. Positive thinking is where successful entrepreneur/businessman/technologist ended up successful.

• bringbackmanual on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:39 pm

S series but no manual? you’re joking right audi malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:43 pm

That is pretty ambition Audi (M). Bravo, Kudos & timely I must say. Audi is showing BMW & Benz they really means business. That is good news for car buyers as a whole.

• paparadzi (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Audi must be smart in offering the models. A modern Audi must have at least 3 things: Quattro, LED lights and Virtual cockpit. Without these an Audi is less Audi, especially that a non-quattro Audi will be a FWD just like most Hondas and Toyotas. Therefore Audi must always offer these features in all their cars, at least as an option.

• paparadzi (Member) on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:10 pm

I’m still unhappy that Audi Malaysia choose not to offer the regular TT quattro. To get quattro in a TT locally we need to get the higher-priced TTS. Also, we won’t get Google Maps navigation even for our Virtual Cockpit-equipped Audis here in Malaysia. What a waste.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:40 am

papa, according to PT previous article, Audi A4 has the Quattro & LED lighting’s on the top spec but the Virtual cockpit will be available later as an option. One thing I must say is U know your ‘stuffs’ well.

• Alvin on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Audi should think of having alternative dealerships apart from Euromobil because the current dealership sucks to the max. Expensive car but customer service like sh!t.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:09 pm

before that pls improve ur service standards