B9 Audi A4 launched in Malaysia – 2.0 TFSI at RM240k

b9-audi-a4-lead-2

Audi Malaysia has officially launched the new B9 Audi A4 in Subang Jaya today, with three trim levels on offer – 1.4 TFSI, 2.0 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro. The fifth-generation A4 (ninth in the series) arrives to compete against the latest W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class and F30 BMW 3 Series LCI.

Powering the base 1.4 TFSI is a 1.4 litre direct-injected four-cylinder turbo petrol engine that develops 150 hp at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm, and 250 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 3,500 rpm, with a top speed of 210 km/h.

Moving upwards, the 2.0 TFSI gets a 2.0 litre unit instead, with 190 hp at 4,200 to 6,000 rpm, and 320 Nm at 1,450 to 4,200 rpm. The 2.0 TFSI quattro receives the same engine, albeit tuned for more power – 252 hp at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm, and 370 Nm at 1,600 to 4,500 rpm. Top speed for the former is 240 km/h, while the latter is limited to 250 km/h.

All engines are paired with a seven-speed S tronic wet dual-clutch gearbox, with drive being directed to the front wheels, save for the quattro, which gets a permanent all-wheel drive system. Performance-wise, the 2.0 TFSI quattro will hit the 100 km/h mark from a standstill in just 5.8 seconds, followed by the 2.0 TFSI (7.3 seconds) and 1.4 TFSI (8.5 seconds).

audi_b9a4_ext-12

By now, the new looks (and larger size) should already be familiar to the masses, but here’s a refresher anyway. There’s the new front-end highlighted by the latest interpretation of Audi’s Singleframe grille, as well as a tweaked rear fascia. Slimmer, more aggressive-looking lighting units front and back are also part of the new get-up.

Under the new metal, the new A4 rides on the company’s MLB Evo platform, and is lighter compared to the previous B8 by some 120 kg, which Audi claims makes it the lightest in its class. Comfort dynamic suspension is fitted on the 1.4 TFSI, and adaptive comfort suspension with damping control is found on the remaining two 2.0 TFSI models. The carmaker’s drive select feature (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic) comes as standard on all variants.

In terms of exterior equipment, the 1.4 TFSI gets xenon headlamps and 17-inch, 10-spoke crystal design alloy wheels. LED headlamps with LED DRLs are reserved for both the 2.0 TFSI and quattro version, which also feature dynamic adjustment for acceleration and deceleration. Matrix LED headlamps are also on offer, but more on that later.

audi_b9a4_sline_int-25

While they may have the same lighting units, the 2.0 TFSI retains the 17-inch wheel size, but in a five parallel-spoke design, and the quattro gets larger 18-inch five twin-spoke “Star” design alloys instead.

Stepping inside, the B9’s cockpit does have a sense of Q7 about it in terms of its design. Unfortunately, we won’t be getting the fancy virtual cockpit as seen in the SUV and Audi TT as standard – it will be part of an optional package, but only later on.

Standard kit on all three variants include a triple-zone climate control, electric seats, 180-watt, 10-speaker Audi sound system and an illumination package for the cabin. The 1.4 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI gets leather upholstery, while only the quattro gets an injection of Alcantara to go along with it as well.

audi_b9a4_ext-16

Similarly, only the base and mid-range variants come with Audi’s MMI Radio plus infotainment system. The quattro however, gets the more comprehensive MMI navigation plus with MMI touch interface and 8.3-inch TFT colour display, allowing for smartphone connectivity (Apple CarPlay) and connected services.

Of course, for those who require a bit more visual drama, Audi Malaysia offers an S line package for the 2.0 TFSI for an additional RM25,000, which tags on more aggressive front and rear bumpers, 18-inch five twin-spoke “Star” design alloy wheels (standard on the quattro).

The S line package will also include changes to the interior, including illuminated door sill trims with aluminium inlays, Alcantara/leather front seats in black and an S line sport steering wheel.

Audi A4 with S line pack (left), standard car (right)

Alternatively, there’s the Tech Pack (also for the 2.0 TFSI), which introduces Matrix LED headlamps (with dynamic indicators), MMI navigation plus with MMI touch, Audi virtual cockpit, Audi smartphone interface, Audi connect and a rearview camera. The price tag for the Technology package will be announced at a later date.

Speaking of pricing, the all-new Audi A4 retails at RM248,900 for the 2.0 TFSI variant. As an “early bird” promo, the first 100 units will be going at an introductory price of RM239,900. All prices stated here are on-the-road without insurance, and comes inclusive of a four-year/120,000 km manufacturer’s warranty.

If you’re wondering about the 1.4 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro, Audi Malaysia will reveal the prices of the two variants later on when both arrive by January 2017. Nevertheless, there are ten colours available at launch – Glacier White, Floret Silver, Matador Red, Tango Red, Argus Brown, Scuba Blue, Monsoon Grey, Manhattan Grey and Mythos Black, as well as a special Daytona Grey for vehicles with the optional S line package.

For a more detailed look at each variant of the all-new B9 Audi A4, head on over to CarBase.my. Also, don’t forget to check out our review of the A4, here.

GALLERY: Audi A4 2.0 TFSI

GALLERY: Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S line

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Therealmaserati on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Sorry audi. The car just looks way too boring. No doubt its a good car, but this A4 is way too square and boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 56
    • Some say the 1.4TFSI is the glorified Jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
      • Return of Kunta on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:45 pm

The Audi uses 100% parts from the Jetta and Passat. You are actually buying a VW but with the 4 rings on it.

Anyway, Audi in Malaysia and even in Europe can never come close to Merc or BMW. It is a well known fact that if you buy an Audi, it means you are Mercedes and BMW rejects.

You have not reached the 1st tier, so you settle for 2nd tier, which is Audi. Audi has ZERO prestige in the world of car luxury and status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 83
        • Vincent on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Hi Kunta, I am not sure why U got ur facts. But if you ever been in Germany, you shall know that the brand ranking in Germany is:

1) Audi
          2) Mercedes
          3) BMW

As for reliability, Mercedes is still number 1. That the reason it been widely used as Taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
          • Operation Manager on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Pls forgive kuntai a gajuh kampung katak talk ayam, never reached US EU AUS …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Ish ish ish on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:56 am

Baru 2 tahun jer RV tinggal 50%.

Pandu Audi 2 tahun lagi tinggal 0 value. habih warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • See above car listings!
          Best buy!

2014 Audi A6 2.0 Hybrid @ RM148K only!

2 yrs car rugi 130K. Bought new @ RM280K+!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Peggy Cham on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Poor people buy 2nd hand car. Those who can afford never thought of sell of value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
          • Siti Saleha on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:01 am

2014 car is still under Audi warranty. Die die must Buy!!!

• Jessica Nathan on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:52 am

No wonder the rich buy S400 hybrid & X5 plugin like hot cakes. really value for money

• Pls Help... on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:33 am

Considering to get 2014 Audi A6 Hybrid RM148K or the new A4 RM240K.

• For used cars, leave here and proceed to OTO.com.my

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:05 pm

does any1 here know what happen to spare part cost of these hybrid cars after gomen stopped cbu hybrid incentive in 2014?

• Return of Kunta on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Those who want to buy this car just buy 2nd hand. Audi drops in value like a comet. Within one year, you can buy this car for RM130k.

Why waste money buying brand new? Let the first joker absorb the high depreciation of RM100k. Then you go in and buy this car for cheaper than a Civic 1.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
        • Stop Your Bullshit on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Coz those jokers can afford to take the depreciation with a pinch of salt added. if a person has a quarter million to spare on car, doubt he would bitch about losing 50-60% of the value after a few years.

Most, if not all, cars drop 40-60% in value after 5 years of usage. Go grab an Uber if u think u cant afford to lose on cars.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Given a choice, I still prefer RWD over this FWD!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Richard on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:18 pm

In Europe Audi is considered far far far lower than Mercedes and BMW.

In Malaysia, there want to lawan BMW and Mercedes and think they are on par…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • tokok on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Go do some homework before you talk. Apparently the All-new A4 is better than current C-class and 3-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
      • Tokgear on Sep 19, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Audi. Depreciate RM50K straight out of showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • UndiLah on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:36 am

Vote Vote!

Thumbs up 330e F30. Thumbs down New A4 2.0TFSI B9.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…ya,too dull & boring design,look like A3 lah…

• Return of Kunta on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Have you ever wondered why this car is called B9 and the new VW Passat also is called B9?

Yes, you got it right. it is the same car, same platform, same parts and same faulty DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • Vincent on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Kunta, New VW Passat is B8, not B9 lar… pls google and do home work!

It is facts that VW Group cycle their platform to different products and brand under their group. VW owned around 12 brands.

Audi previous model will pass to VW, after which, it recycle again in Skoda and Seat.

That’s how they could put more R&D.

• Richard on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:06 pm

I dare not buy Audi in Malaysia. The SC is still ex Proton staff. All bodoh to the core. Every single staff is an ex Proton technician. Half the time asleep and have lazy attitude in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 51
      • Jimmy on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Which other brands have this kind of staffs and services centres? Not Mercedes, BMW, Toyota and Honda. Rome was not built overnight.

You guess why people have big reactions towards Toyota and Mercedes when they don’t ‘behave’ properly?

When you son steals RM100, what do you do?

• MY parents says: “Son, u shud have stolen from others, not me! And u shud have done it without getting caught!”

• fucukcincalok on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:39 pm

VW Passat B9 > All

• Kalah to 330e on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Completely loser car. Why? Far advanced 330e, same segment car is RM249. Now with 6% corporate discount, can even get RM235k.

Far far advanced engine, fuel economy champion etc. And the prestige of a BMW with 5 year warranty and free service.

Audi is just a VW in disguise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 20
    • PT’s review: “That’s good enough to eclipse top four-cylinder turbo classmates 328i (245 hp, 350 Nm, 5.9 sec) and C 250 (211 hp, 350 Nm, 6.6 sec) in the Malaysian context, as well as match the 330i LCI and C 300 in the wider arena. But what stood out most for us was the free-spinning nature of the mill. The impression of friction or resistance, in feel and sound, is kept to a minimum – F30 owners in an idling A4 would be impressed even before take off.”

Wife drives a 320i (2014 November). The car is smooth. But I’d like to try this B9 out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • U Think U R Smart? on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Bad comparisons dude, one is new generation, the other is 2 years away from next gen…. And not everyone gets the corporate discount, the downside for Audi is not being able to clinch the eev advantage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Rosberg on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Rats (real rats) love 330e. The car will not last more than 10 years. Same will all hybrids in Msia. As for Audi, BMW is meh car now. Too many of them OTR, heck even mazda6 is rarer. Audi in the other hand….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • Return of Kunta on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:00 pm

In the UK the 330e is nearly 40,000 pounds. The A4 is only about 30,000 pounds.

Which do you think is a better deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Henry on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:25 pm

In the real world a hybrid will always cost more due to the additional components. But here the tax structure and EEV incentive distorts everything.

• Richard on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:13 pm

330e car has 252 hp and 420 Nm and the other junk has 190 hp and 320NM torque.

You don’t need a brain to decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • A4 paper on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:30 pm

It doesn’t look like Audi Malaysia was ready to launch the car yet and it looks like a rush job to get some orders in as BMW 330e price is attractive.
    The 1.4 TFSI and 2.0 Quattro models doesn’t have launch prices yet. They must be still busy calculating it. C’mon Audi Malaysia, you are launching an A4 car and not A4 paper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Yep they are far too late into the game. The spec sheets aren’t even finalized for the matter….makes u wonder if they are even serious for the Malaysian market or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:08 pm

A4 paper, Ha ha ha, like your sarcasm, loved your innuendos. Comparing an A4 car with A4 paper sure looks ‘tantalizing’.

U are spot on to say Audi (M) is far from ready to launched it’s cars. The longer they delay, the higher the 330e sales soar.

Happy shopping for those who can afford while mortals like me can only sallivate. Cheers …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Any of the models include adaptive cruise / any other driving aids?

• ben yap on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:53 pm

why B8 passat and new jetta not yet launch in malaysia?

the stocks all depleted already.

• Kang Chill on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:54 pm

How much Audi Malaysia would take my Perodua Kancil for trade in if I want to get the Technology Package only ?

• Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Kang Chill, the Technology Package will cost a bomb. Better keep your Kancil & save the $$$ for rainy days. Look on the bright side, U get to keep the car(cheap maintenance) & save some thousands. Agree !

• Sammy Loo on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:59 pm

but when a lorry crash to his kancil, he will die and what he can do with his thousands?

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:46 am

Good question Sammy. What are the chances of U surviving a 10 ton lorry crashing into U even if U are driving a S class ?? A smart/expert driver will avert a crash don’t U think so !

• Sammy Loo on Sep 21, 2016 at 12:34 pm

yes that is why both active and passive safety are very important, none of them exist in a Kancil that saves you thousands of $$$

• omegle on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:31 pm

“Unfortunately, we won’t be getting the fancy virtual cockpit (optional)”

Does this mean it will be offered as an option later on or we won’t be getting it at all?

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:47 pm

I love the interior very much. But exterior design, while not ugly, looks too much like the old car. Feels more like a face-lift outside.

• omegle on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:47 pm

my bad, did not saw the tech pack included the virtual cockpit. Wat about safety?
    Actually with the early bird price and if the tech pack isn’t too expensive, the whole car price could be around 250k, which is quite good.

• Conti Fan on Sep 19, 2016 at 5:13 pm

248k for Front Wheel car…over priced…Can get RWD F30 or W205. Cant beat FR..chassis..for the drive…Even Alfa has moved to RWD..

• dpillai on Sep 19, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Its going to be tough for the A4.

Anyone with RM240k budget would probably go for the 330e.

• Jimmy on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Nope.
      My friend got a brandnew Odyssey for his wife; quite unexpected for a rich man like him, he should have bought a Q7.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Jimmy, your friend is a smart & humble man. A wise man is the man who buys what he NEED & not what he WANT.

• Vincent on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:26 pm

We have to agreed that BMW330e is a better deal as compare with Audi A4.

It is facts that Audi Malaysia team is not yet in the standard of what Audi technology is.

• ahmad kamal on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Wow! I thought the cramped legroom for the driver in the 3-Series and C-Class are bad enough due to RWD design. But this FWD A4 is the worst. FWD cars shouldn’t have cramped legroom like RWD cars.

• Mr Poet on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Why some people just love to bash up resale value and all that shiet? Nearly (all) cars has horrible resale value here when compare apple to apple prior evaluating it without prejudice.
    When you own and tried all comparable segments, then you talk. Else just continue and drive your Perodua or city.

• AbandonAudi on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Sick…how long to wait, failed marketing and management. maybe not serious to get it to here.

• tokmoh. on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Volvo > all

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:01 pm

if buy this better get the volvo s60 more power

• Henry on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Whichever you buy you will still get semi value when you sell. Hehe ……

• What? No Audi PreSense, Blind Spot Info, Autonomous Braking, Traffic Jam assist, even as option? The hell are we getting then?

• paparadzi (Member) on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:05 pm

A modern Audi must have quattro, LED lights (preferably Matrix) and virtual cockpit. Otherwise it is just not worth buying.

• old horse on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:21 pm

definitely a must buy…when it fall to 160K next year for 2016 clearing…lol

• all these euro junks, overpriced and would probably keep breaking down..throw money only

• thepolygonal on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:39 am

We should buy the 1.4 to save on roadtax. Nicest dashboard I have ever seen for a 1980’s car.

• Euromobil sux on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Lol…The best comment of the year! The aircond vent looks like my dad’s accord in the 80s.

• PASSAT B9 on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:49 am

So now I know what to expect upon upcoming VW Passat B9.
    No virtual cockpit, very poor speced. Hopeless.

• Audi_Malaysia_Need_To_Fix on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Its line up. You can get damper control on an A4 and you can’t get damping control on a A6! What has the world comes to? Put damping control on anything above A4 plz.

• fadhil on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:07 am

lebih baik angkat Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E terkini RM239k, turbo dan supercharge, warranty 5 years unlimited mileage. resell value “0” sebab ‘volvo for life’ . tapi saya personally beli bmw 330e, 5 years warranty and free services. owh lambatnya menunggu que, 2 bulan waiting list.

• blaster88 on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:12 pm

I went and jenguk today. For 248k, you only get an analog cockpit, no MMI or navigation or even a reverse camera or the Matrix headlights…..to get all that, you need to upgrade to the technology package for another 27k! Not even talking about S line or quattro here… which brings the price to 275K. Don’t get me started on the 4 year warranty plus NO free service! Lastly, Audi has no brand presence here and its still reeling to recover from a worldwide scandal….and it can’t possibly match BMW or Merc in terms of service support or centers…how do they expect to compete with the 330e or even the C350e (AMG specs) at this price???

Either the govt is screwing them thoroughly or they have decided to be a niche player in MY! Audi would be lucky to sell 100 units per month… sad indeed…its a good car, I used to own a B8..

• kuday on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Audi nice b9