2016 Volkswagen Jetta now open for pre-booking in Malaysia, tentative pricing from RM110k to RM130k

Volkswagen Jetta facelift 18

Volkswagen Malaysia has announced that pre-bookings for the new Volkswagen Jetta is now open, with tentative prices of between RM110,000 and RM130,000. Three variants are offered here – Trendline, Comfortline and Highline – and the locally-assembled car is officially recognised as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

Under the hood, you’ll find a new 1.4 litre turbocharged direct-injection TSI four-cylinder engine which replaces the twincharged (supercharged and turbocharged) 1.4 litre TSI unit of the outgoing model.

The new mill, which is mated to a seven-speed DSG transmission, produces 150PS and 250 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 3,500 rpm, which is 10 PS less but 10 Nm more than the outgoing Jetta. Efficiency-related features include start/stop and regenerative braking functions, while safety kit include six airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS) and hill-hold control.

As mentioned at the start, the Jetta range is tentatively priced between RM110,000 and RM130,000. Customers will have four colours to choose from – Candy White, Platinum Grey, Reflex Silver and Deep Black. Pre-bookings can be made from today, or during a special “Jetta Pre-Booking Weekend” on September 24 and 25 at authorized Volkswagen dealers nationwide. Head on over to Volkswagen’s official website for more details.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Jetta facelift (other markets)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tell me why on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:35 am

tell me why, one should buy a jetta instead of a the new civic?

new my ass, just add some DRL, put uncle wood trimming??

#tellmewhy #DSGwillhauntyou

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 32
    • Ex Owner on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Not sure free towing + courtesy car included dis time.

• Sklew you superman on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Aiyo.. the dsg problem already solved laaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Vote Vote!

Thumbs up VW Jetta 1.4T.
      Thumbs down Horny Civic 1.5T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Both Civic and Jetta also got their own issues. So Corolla for me will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 53
      • tokok on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Remember Polo just got 14K cheaper officially? Let’s wait a few months for huge discounts la

• Return of Kunta on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Every single owner of VW in Malaysia has lost about 80% of their car value. Nobody wants to touch VW at all. These owners cannot even sell their cars.

Desperate buyers are rather willing to buy cars like Saab and Lada even instead of VW

VW owners in Malaysia should sue the Principal for this.

• Buy corolla? Unless u have safety pack on top of topkek spec, u will need to have my frens number on speed dial for peace of mind when rest in peace.

• Operation Manager on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:16 pm

With new 1.4 Turbocharged replaced twin charged (Turbo charged + super charged), the piston broken from twin charged finally permanently solved…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Operation Manager on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:20 pm

2016 Turbo Civic (white rat) nightmare just started… with machanical, electronic, software up to system based design failure… 1 week down to the road already triggered overheat and return workshop with no solution for the problem… why … bcoz 2016 Civic Turbo is design failure that cannot be solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 22
      • Dont Sesat on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Just curious, was there any articles on the Honda Civic problems that you mentioned?

• Bashers follow their political leaders example: accuse 1st, then fabricate bukti

• I have been driving the new civic FC for 1month. I don’t face any overheat and turbocor problem with my new civic 1.5T. Obviously , you are a TOYOTA salesman who envy the sales of new civic FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Accord Is Here on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Bullshit….just drive back your Kancil & don’t pretend u r owning a new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • maniam on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Car listing above. Brand new VW Vento RM68K saje..conventional Auto not DSG^^

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:35 pm

tell me why, looks like the only way to answer your question pertaining why Jetta instead of Civic is “Put both cars to the crash test”.

To some New means not old. first hand, just created or not used by anyone. U sound frustrated. Still driving an Audi ? Maybe U can share your experience here.

• Every car manufacturer has their own issues. It’s strange that everyone is hammering VW when other manufacturers giving hell to their customers? Trust me, I have gone through enough brands to know this.

• Franci on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:13 am

The new Jetta will equip with 7 Speed Dry DSG – (Model DQ200) which something you probably should avoid if you living in hot and humid location, but nothing firms.. Best of luck!

Meanwhile I am skeptical with turbocharged and CVT mixture. (Subaru seems doing well in this)

For the record Ford has moved out from DCT and stays with conventional autos (you know the reason).

If you want to have lesser problem tranny, stick to Conventional or Manual or maybe Wet DCT..

Or.. CVT with NA.

• yoshhh on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:39 am

rubbish price

• Return of Kunta on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:40 am

When you go to a village and you are about to cross a river, some villagers tell you there are many crocodiles. Infact few months ago a boy was killed in the river eaten by a crocodiles(s) (DSG issue still there).

But some villagers on the other hand tell you, that was the past, now the river is free from crocodiles. No more crocodiles (DSG has been cured)

Would you dare to cross the river now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Eternalgl0ry on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:42 am

Oh great DSG. Which genius will buy this I wonder

• If you like VW, wait for big discount.

• Return of Kunta on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Another slap by Volkswagen Malaysia to VW owners in Malaysia. Already 3 slaps

first slap is the DSG scandal and the lies and denial about the DSG scandal. Then the Dieselgate Scandal. The VW name became so busuk and nobody wanted to buy these cars in the 2nd hand market in Malaysia

second slap is when VGM themselves thre prices. They sold the Jetta and Passat for half the price. A brand new Jetta was being sold for RM80k. Imagine the owner who bought few months before that for RM150k. That is the 2nd slap. A very hard slap because, already used cars dealers pantang VW cars, now somemore they don’t want to touch

Third slap is now saying their Jetta is EEV and selling for RM110k. Somoremore existing VW owners will see their cars drop. Selling a 1 year old Jetta for RM50k also will be lucky

4th slap (forseeing the future) When sales of this Jetta is so bad and near ZERO, VW Malaysia will throw prices again and sell this Jetta for RM60k brand new.

• inb4 item tak laku.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:07 pm

With the diesel gate & our local perception of VW cars, I wonder how many will make a booking given the bad publicity of “Cheap Sale” on the older Jetta/Passat/Polo.

Am pretty sure Joe public who is interested to purchase will only place a booking when they give a discount/reduce in prices given that it will be a CKD car. There is no mention of the latest LED headlamp here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • PSaga>all.

• paparadzi on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:13 pm

VW, Belum coba belum tau.

Sudah coba Hari2 pon mau.

• maXref (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Looks exactly the same. Only added DRL to the front..

• Book early b4 price increase due to RM dropping.

• RM drop cannot match the price drop by VW. Veri soon will be 30% as Najib promised.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 21, 2016 at 12:12 pm

All this time Jetta already have DRL. The changes is from halogen to LED only

• Return of Kunta on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Be careful when you buy a car now. Cause few months down the road, they will be launching the same car with EEV benefits and the price will be RM30k less.

then you will cry so much. Cause, in the 2nd hand market, you have just lost RM50k.

this what happened to the BMW X5 and BMW 330i owners. BMW X5 owners who bought at RM588k are now crying that their car got half the RV and can only sell for RM300k despite 1 year old car. This is because BMW Malaysia introduced the Xy Plug In Hybrid at Rm388k.

Soon, Altis, Civic and Slyphy and Vios, City and Selphy will be coming out with their own EEV status car.

It will be sold for at least RM20k less.

You will cry if you had bought their petrol versions (non EEV)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • I have seen only Volvo reduce price kaw2 for their eev/hybrid and all Volvo comes in eev/hybrid now so no worry for someone who want to buy Volvo. Japs eev reduce price RM30k? Puii… have not seen any Japs eev drop price, up price only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Jepunis overlords all makan the EEV difference cuz we have talibaruts who make sure we dun persoal their masters.

• Jimmy on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Greed has no limit.

• Operation Manager on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Oh sohai… EV & EEV also cannot differentiate…

• Jimmy on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Kunta did it with good intentions to the public, albeit with some small typing mistakes which no sane man cares; what good have you done (to the public)?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:04 pm

So u prefer car to be high price then? I don n i bet most pipu donwan either. Just let the car price go down.The faster the better, bigger drop the better. As long the price go down i don care.

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Kunta, did U miss EEV when U read the article ?! It’s at the end of first paragraph that says “the locally-assembled car is officially recognised as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV)”.

• sulaiman zainudin on Sep 20, 2016 at 6:12 pm

With high morale, the gomen should refund(50% pun ok pe) car owners who bought already EEV car before the incentive.
      Example the BMW 520d was already EEV cars since 5 yrs ago min la. Not only we paid high price, also now we cannot sell our car but to pay money to the bank to clear the balance. The sad thing is we borrowed money from bank & then paid interest to the bank for 50% of the price which is tax. Ayoo, tak aci, we want to cry blood(menangis dgn airmata DARAH) Its a tragedy !! Saya cabar semua rakyat Malaysia siapa boleh betulkan keadaan ini ?

• Aragon on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Have they fix the DSG issue? If not nobody in Malaysia wanna touch this car. Why not bringing the normal auto one?

• tkhengong on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Most cars under king crony stable are getting EEV status to enjoy pricing differential. I used to own a Jetta and the fuel consumption is not that fantastic averaging 9.8L/100km in town use.

• Susukotak on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:49 pm

3 variant rm110k..rm120k.. rm130k

• Sammy Loo on Sep 21, 2016 at 12:25 am

wrong, buy first month 130k, second month 120k, third month 110k

half year later will be 80k

• Sammy Loo on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:56 pm

buy one year later, VW will slash the price to 80k

still the same problematic gearbox, the Altis CVT is way better than this junk DSG

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:06 pm

They should really offer at least one colour. White, silver, grey and black are so boring. Almost every car on the road is one of those colours.

• Sklew you superman on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Damn it, i want this car so bad. But the dsg scares me.. they should provide 8 year dsg warranty or something like that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • david on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:49 pm

give you lifetime warranty also can.
      but drive 1month have to sit in workshop 1 year. u want?

• lilytan on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Still 7 speed DSG?

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Oh please.. Better you buy Proton CVT bising Punch Powertrain than this junk VW 7 speed DSG!

• Lockhart on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Does it come with a free complimentary DSG gearbox in the trunk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Golfer on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Finally my chance to own a VW but will wait to see the actual unit first.

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:17 pm

They are still selling off the Passat at 115k. Even at such a massive discount, people still don’t want to deal with a DSG gearbox.

• Yvsim on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:41 am

Who said still selling? It been grab up almost immediately. Don’t be jealous on others. Bet me, if VW price their car cheaper, soon u will see more VW car on the road. Don’t u see a lot of Passat on the road now? When the last time u see Passat on tow in the road? No??

• tommy on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:08 pm

You are still living in cave times…. passat 115k was fully sold out around 2 weeks after the discount was announced, Some people wanted to buy can’t get it because it was finished. Don’t try to be a smart ass if you don’t know anything

• inb4 item tak laku

• passion on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:43 pm

NO MORE DRY CLUTCH PLEASE!!!

• omegle on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:15 pm

so when sales are bad, few months later 10k discount just like the vento?

• ae101 on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Is so hard to spot the differences

• No 10 years transmission warranty like China market ??? How to convince M’sians the DSG is reliable ?

• VWPcc on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:50 pm

I still dont see the new distributor does anything to bring the customers back to try DSG.

• applegreen on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:27 pm

This jetta can be consider as cheap enough. Previous owners bought at rm140k and ron95 oil at rm2.15 per litre. Now we can buy this highline version at cheaper price and ron95 around rm1.70/litre only.

• HERBalist on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Waste of time .

• Jimmy on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:42 pm

To those who care so much about DSG, you are not ready to own VW.
    Do you think possessing any other German vehicles are any cheaper than maintaining a DSG?
    The annual depreciation of your S-class/X6/X5 or even brandnew Alphard(Toyota with goood RV) can buy you a few units of DSG gearbox.

Marrying a girl involves risk, ya?
    The risk is even bigger if you are rich.

To have children involves multiple risks, true? Think about it.

If you like to drive and are not willing to pay too much money for luxurious vehicles, there you are, there is this VW.

• Firdaus on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:30 am

was wondering why the jepun brand hybrids don’t enjoy eev status anymore