SPYSHOTS: New BMW 8 Series seen for the first time

bmw-8-series-spyshots-002

It has been highly suggested that BMW is working on a flagship coupe that will revive the 8 Series nameplate, and these spyshots of a prototype represent our first look at the upcoming model.

Said to be based on the current 7 Series, the 8 Series will likely be built on a modular platform, utilising carbon-fibre, magnesium, aluminium and steel in its construction to keep the kilos down, and feature the same top-end technologies found in the car it is based on. It will also look to compete against the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe and the Lexus LC.

The close relation to the 7er could also see the 8 Series share powertrains with its sedan sibling, including an iPerformance plug-in hybrid option. AutoExpress previously reported that the German carmaker had applied for several trademarks – ‘825’, ‘830’, ‘835’, ‘845’, ‘850’, ‘M850’ and ‘M8’ – giving some indication what to expect under the hood.

bmw-8-series-spyshots-006

Much like the E31 8 Series which displaced the original E24 6 Series, the new car is expected to replace the current F13 6er as the company’s flagship grand tourer. The move could allow BMW to repurpose the next-gen 6 Series to be more performance-oriented and less GT, so it can potentially rival the Mercedes-AMG GT, with the smaller 4 Series (M4) tasked to take on the the Porsche 911 and Jaguar F-Type.

As for the design, the prototype you see here bears some resemblance to the BMW Pininfarina Gran Lusso Coupe from 2013, as well as 2007’s CS concept, featuring a low sloping roof and muscular shoulders. A few obvious tweaks from the concept sees a less protruding hood, and a reshaped front lower apron. Expect a convertible version to follow after the coupe’s reveal.

Although wrapped in swirly camouflage, details like the kidney grille, 7 Series-like exhaust tips, headlamps and multi-spoke wheels are clear to see. Based on what we can see, there appears to be space for two passengers at the back, although it is difficult to tell just how much room will be given to rear occupants.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jho Lorr on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:12 am

Looking good..Riza gonna get 1.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:19 am

Another failure from BMW Old 8 series failed, this 8 series will be like our Perdana, another failure

• Annoynimouse on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:14 am

But isn’t the 6 is too big to rival the 911 and the F-type? The way things are going, I can only see the 4-series as a more appropriate candidate.
    As for the 8-series in the pic, it’s just too big.

• Jonn Dol on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:24 am

As currently BMW has no other 2 door GT/Sportscar-like car other than the 6-series/M6, they don’t have much choice(It should have been the BMW Z4, but that car was already obsolete, awaiting its successor which is currently undergoing development alongside the new Toyota Supra)In fact currently the BMW M6 GT3 racecars are widely used in the GT championships around the globe, and the have done exceptionally well.The 4-series/M4 on the other hand has been considered a GT4 class car which is more like entry level sports car.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:42 am

The 6 will shrink in size to compete with them if the reports turn out to be true. The 8 on the other hand will compete with the other big boys. But of course u also have the 4 and the 2 series to compete with the other smaller competitors too so no shortage of selection for customers.

• Jonn Dol on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Other than the Mercedes S-Class Coupe & Lexus LC, the other competitor to the new BMW 8 Series will be the svelte Aston Martin DB11.

• SMTPG on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Porsche Panamera Coupe > all

• Lexus FTW on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:17 am

I think the Lexus LC wins in the looks department hands down compared to the S class coupe and the 8 series.. It’s the only one that doesn’t look like a cut and paste of any existing models.. Still don’t know how powerful the engines on the LC are though.. Will have to wait till early next year before the US starts rolling LCs out from showrooms..

• passion on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:19 am

no need. next article please.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:03 am

The old 8 Series was a good looking car, but thought the front overhang was a tad bit long. Saw a few in Malaysia back in the 90s, but is very rarely seen now. This new 8 looks good so far. A nice homage to the old model.

• Sammy on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:34 am

anything is better looking then the current 6 series.

• BMW so poor. Need to use old newspaper to hide the car in shame until Matt Damon can come home from Mars to peel off the old newspaper.

So pitiful, unlike my Virtual Reality tested Biza. U wun find anywhere around the world for spyshots of our Biza cuz we tested it in VR inside toyota underground SHIELD test facility. Try to beat that, BMW!

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:54 am

Love the 840i. Adore the 850i especially the V12 sound. As the flagship model of BMW, we can expect BMW to showcase an exciting car on the way.

I think BMW will not fix a 12 cylinders on the 8 but due to conformity to Euro emission, a 8 cylinders with the latest twin turbo chargers with variable charging is enough to match if not surpass Merc AMG GTcars.

The sad part is it will not be affordable to us M’sian & it sure looks huge compare to AMG-GT & Luxurious.

• inb4 those diffusers r real

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:00 am

Ha ha ha John, I like what glass U are wearing man. I can’t see any diffusers in my screen. As far as I know, no manufacturer will fix any diffusers/side skirts/front spoiler/rear spoiler into a prototype CAR unless they are testing for top speed.

• passion on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:48 pm

if prices were a bit lower. please.