2016 Volkswagen Jetta spotted ahead of local launch

2016-volkswagen-jetta-in-malaysia-1-1

What you’re looking at here is the new 2016 Volkswagen Jetta, which will be launched in Malaysia soon. A big thanks to paultan.org reader Tommy Lam, who managed to spot the refreshed Jetta in a local showroom.

On the exterior, the new Jetta introduces several tweaks, starting with a revised front grille, new front and rear bumpers, updated headlamps and tail lamps, along with new wheels. Under the hood (open here), the car gets a new 1.4 litre turbocharged direct-injection TSI four-cylinder engine, which replaces the twincharged (supercharged and turbocharged) 1.4 litre TSI unit of the previous model.

The new mill outputs 150PS and 250 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 3,500 rpm, which is 10 PS less but 10 Nm more than the outgoing Jetta. It is paired with a seven-speed DSG transmission, and comes with various efficiency-related features like idling start/stop and regenerative braking.

We also get a glimpse into the Jetta’s interior, where the powered driver’s seat upholstered in leather could indicate that this is the Highline variant, the range-topper above the Comfortline and Trendline. The car seen here also features Volkswagen’s Climatronic dual-zone climate control system, along with a push start button.

Elsewhere, the Jetta gets a new steering wheel, which is carried over from the Mk7 Golf, a new touchscreen infotainment unit, and the trim piece around the gear lever has been replaced as well. Expect improvements to interior materials to be part of the Jetta facelift as well.

Volkswagen Malaysia is currently accepting bookings for the new locally-assembled Jetta, which is officially recognised as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV). The Jetta range is tentatively priced between RM110,000 and RM130,000, with official prices set to be revealed on launch day.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jason on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:22 pm

wow! this looks like the TTDI branch. was just there this morning but did not see the new jetta. Looks good with the refreshed headlights and dashboard which is similar to the Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • VW teruk on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Yawn … for a company that owns lambo… what a crappy design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
      • donno on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Not too shabby, a good value Audi A3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • From the rear, I think the old one looks better

• Best deal !!!
            Car listing above.

2013 Passat CC @ RM96K only!
            Bought new @ RM230K.
            3year Rugi 134K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • Ironman on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:07 pm

2016 VW Passat 1.8TSI $115,888. Brand new

• 280 TSI on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:39 pm

DSG max torque = 280 Nm?

• Buaya on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:34 pm

More better value when VW throw prices..again.

• Operation Manager on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Gerard, this 2016 Jetta facelift sit under existing platform or new MQB platform shared with Audi …?

• Return of Kunta on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:21 pm

When you go to a village and you are about to cross a river, some villagers tell you there are many crocodiles. Infact few months ago a boy was killed in the river eaten by a crocodiles(s) (DSG issue still there).

But some villagers on the other hand tell you, that was the past, now the river is free from crocodiles. No more crocodiles (DSG has been cured)

Would you dare to cross the river now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
          • timbuktu on Sep 22, 2016 at 1:24 pm

I’ll find out who the real villagers are and talk to them. There are a lot of self-proclaimed warriors out that who speaks as though they are the villagers. The news about the boy killed by a recent crocodile may well be from an idiot from another village.

• DSG tranny no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Phewittt on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:28 pm

High quality car interior, on par with Mazda 3.
      certainly much better than Civic, Altis, CLA & Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Kancil Driver on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Looking forward but one major query is; has the DSG issue solved already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Will these pistons break under full throttle?

• the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:46 pm

bullet proof engine. dsg gearbox issue has been solved. so far my 2014 jetta runs like a well-oiled machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • oh mak lu on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:47 pm

…. one of the only new cars that eat engine oil from new! (well oiled machine you call!)

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:02 pm

I can hear you over your rattling old junk. No money buy, then say green grapes sour.

• CBU Jetta 2013 on Sep 22, 2016 at 11:00 am

Can’t say good as the Wet-type. But my car never breakdown so far (touch wood). Is depends on how you drive and where you drive. More frequent you drive the smoother it feels.

• BlitzAce on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm

But the rear badging shows 280TSI. Meaning it should come with the 1.4TSI that outputs 150hp/280nm, instead of 250nm on the 1.4 Golf. Rather considerable increase I’d say.

• Obanana on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Speed limiter 280km/h.

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Something is not correct here. The 280 TSI is clearly stuck in the rear of the Jetta. The last 280 V6 fitted on an Audi A6 & a VW Sharan is a sold car with a proper V6 engine. Common Audi (M), is this your way of marketing !

• Civic better, currently no issue for our market. Good Luck VW to sell this, anyway January 2017 only about 5 month from today, better wait to get more discount for this VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
    • Plan to buy it in 2018 for 2017 car better.

• the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

no issue? you drive a civic? or a vw? no?

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Ha ha ha, fake Dato detected. You must be a special Dato to have an extra month in 2016. Hope U have figure out where did U get the extra days/month by now. My calendar says I have only less than 11 weeks meaning less than 4 months.

• Same L0rr on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Oh My! Buy Preve better than this junk Jetta!
    Avoid buy this car:
    1. Volkswagen (DSG gearbox)
    2. Chevrolet (bad FC)
    3. Ford (turbo maintainance)
    4. Proton (Campro Engine & CVT bising Punch)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 54
    • 5. Toyota (Nirvana)
      6. P2 (poor pipu Nirvana)
      7. Lexus (rich pipu but no brains Nirvana)
      8. Diehatsu (image crisis Nirvana)
      9. Takata (straight to Nirvana)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:49 pm

no money to buy say so lar. stick to your proton preve. my jetta has been serving me well all these while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Same, Preve Auto use what gearbox ??

• SamLooSister on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Toyota, 2 airbags! Die, die must die!

• “Buy Preve better”
      “Avoid buying this car. 4.Proton”
      Good job of contradicting yourself.

• Maslan on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Let’s vote guys!
    Thumbs up for VW Jetta.
    Thumbs down for Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 41
  • I just can’t see how this could beat the Civic in terms of sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
  • Same L0rr on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Toyota Altis > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
  • applegreen on Sep 21, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Why 280TSI?

• passion on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:00 pm

oops DSG 7 speed dry clutch again? it should have been phased out by now unless they are really really dumb!
    why not the 6 speed wet clutch?
    this is so very disappointing VGM. why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Passion, where did U get the impression that its a dry clutch DSG box ?! U VW engineer/spokesman or what !

• JoeTheMechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Calibrate mechatronics and change oil component and dry clutches are fine with no problems. No need to change to wet clutch. Still far more efficient and responsive compared to CVT and conventional auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • lcmbryan on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Wait for pre-owned unit. huge discount. vw not rv. you buy you loss half the value in half year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • FIST (Member) on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:33 pm

price is still high for EEV exempted vehicles

• passion on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

even the polo has no value. 2012 polo sedan cbu is worth only 30k. stuck with it till besi buruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • inb4 sam tow truck comes along.

• tokmoh. on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Rm20k cash rebate in 3… 2… 1…

Then, rm50k wiring harness bill in 3… 2… 1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Sep 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Hmmm….So why is the Golf TSi some 30-50K more than this? This is EEV but the Golf isn’t? Next golf to drop the twincharged TSi engine?

VW pricings are really optimistic. I always said that the Golf price is insanely marked up here.

(on the other hand, why even bother with the FWD A3????)

• ..hello!!..pls comments wt facts..MK7 golf is using this 1.4 tsi turbo only engine & not the twincharger (mk6)….furthermore, to qualify for EEV, the car must be CKD’ed in Msia…The Golf are fully imported and not assembled in Pekan like the Jetta…aiyoo, if want to comment…pls check ur facts first ler…

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:16 pm

tu la.. like milo tin kosong. so bising without substance.

• Volks on Sep 21, 2016 at 6:26 pm

New Jetta! New?!
    VW is just a joke. Joke from inside out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • timbuktu on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:57 pm

You seem to be a joke.
      If you don’t think it’s new, then buy the old one.

• Not A Fan on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:20 pm

All these people bashing Volkswagen, I wonder if they ever owned a Volkswagen before. Every check the other manufacturers issues and service? Most, if not all of them have equal amount of issues, bad records and tonnes of complaints, yet no one is highlighting them.

I recently had to change my car’s airbag as it was affected by the deadly killer airbags and it took me a week on calling before someone actually picked up my call. Appointment was set 1 month from that day. And when I arrived for my appointment, I was told that they had no stock, and asked me to make another ‘urgent’ appointment, which was 2 weeks from that day.

Speaking of killer airbags, haters seem to be more concern about ‘resale value’ and more discounts then their lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Acrix on Sep 22, 2016 at 9:44 am

Oh don’t tell me you didn’t know that VW is also currently still affected by the Takata airbag??? Go do a simple search and see most of their popular models are affected and they are still fitting Takata airbags into their latest CC model.
      I can honestly tell you that it takes between 2-4 weeks to solve major issues such as mechatronic, turbo leaking and electrical problems. My family has 3 VW and only the CC which uses wet clutch so far works well but for the other Scirocco and Golf TSI they spend one month each year parked in the service center consistently without fail so far. Best of all my Scirocco had mechatronic issue on my wedding day!

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:14 pm

you takde mandi bunga la. My family got 7 VWs, including Golf TSI, Scirocco (1.4, 2.0 and R), Touran and CC.. oh and my jetta. All ZERO issues. And none of the models here in malaysia affected by takata.

• policeman on Sep 21, 2016 at 7:26 pm

OMG this old junk is almost 7 years old. Worse than MyVi and their facelifts.

2016 and still using 5″ LCD display.

RM130K for this outdated, unreliable junk? You’re better off with a Persona. At least you won’t look like a fool standing by the roadside with a broken down garbage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • Hafiz on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Now the management has change, will we get 5 yrs factory warranty? I own polo hb 2012, never problematic and the driving exp is fantastic

• Jobless on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:16 pm

U kol tis “new”.. Wat a boring piece of junk..when vw first came here many buyers tink they were driving Bmw Ferrari drive to intimidate nw still got some me just at these fools who tink they vely smart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:30 pm

So sorry to hear of your incapability to purchase a proper vehicle.

• blaster88 on Sep 21, 2016 at 8:18 pm

the fact that VGM gave VW to a distributor and only want to focus on the Audi brand…tells you a lot doesn’t it??? If the brand is dying.. it makes sense to cut losses… if you own a VW now, i suggest you do the same as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:32 pm

simply blast blast blast

like tin kosong.. makes lots of noise, without substance and facts.

• timbuktu on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:03 pm

maybe cut your flabby cork first before asking others to cut losses?

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:19 pm

he has no loss to cut, because tak mampu beli a proper car

• If manual transmission…maybe….but DSG, no way…not worth the risks

• Golfer on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Damn. Looks good!

• the.mechanic on Sep 21, 2016 at 10:38 pm

I read somewhere here that this is a junk, costing so much and having old tech. i would rather pay more for old boring quality, safety and comfort than save on cheap ‘high-tech’ gadgets. I guess you trade safety for cheap hi-tech gadgets which you will get bored of after a week or two.

• try VW if you dare on Sep 22, 2016 at 9:35 am

drive a VW at your own risk…..

• tried vw and i dare myself on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:49 pm

You drive any other brand also at your own risk. you bang you die. apa lu cakap ni?

• alex chan on Sep 22, 2016 at 11:32 am

haha..from the comments, you guys will sure ly noticed that its the same person using different nick names just to bad mouth certain brand.
    be it toyota, perodua, proton, honda, nissan, peugeot etc, the same person will bad mouth non stop by using different nicknames.
    and for thoes who are not aware, his tactics seem like “menjadi”..hahaha..seems most of paultan reader here are anti certain brand. BUT its not!, its the same person using 50++ different of nicknames..
    from the IP add you can check their location from where they post the comments.
    why they do that? salesman perhaps

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:26 pm

I guess that’s true. Maybe sales man, maybe certain individuals from certain brands. The market is now a buyers’market. Car manufacturers are trying to grab market share. No longer like the days when we had to wait for months for a new car and sales men only need to take orders instead of selling.

• Leekowchai on Sep 22, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Given the poor reputation in reliability in Malaysia at least, VW should give 10 years unlimited mileage warranty to restore their image. Else, I find it hard to see my self putting my hard earn money on a car with a brand known for issues, bad service and extremely bad resale value. No doubt, they make powerful and fun to drive cars, but realiable matters a lot for a car.

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:23 pm

This is the most sensible posting so far. Bash with substance. Yes, VW brand has been tarnished and requires a lot of work to regain confidence. I hear that it’s now 5 years manufacturer warranty.

• Any 2014/2015 jetta owners here can tell, in what mileage the car will start gv problem, like dsg n others.. Please need your tru feedback..
    Looking fwd to purchase one..

• the.mechanic on Sep 22, 2016 at 7:21 pm

My jetta has been serving me very well for the past 75k km.

• Mine is before 2014. The juddering due to premature clutch wear happened exactly 1 year after that. I got it replaced within 2 weeks with the newest revision, and there’s no repeat of the juddering ever since then. Mechatronic issue happened after 2 years. Got it replaced within 2 days and the car is running smoothly now.
      So those DSG related issues that people are shouting about are real for older Jettas but they are not as bad as these guys painted. My previous Civic went in to the service center far more frequent within the first 2 years to troubleshoot an engine idle problem.

• alex chan on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:03 pm

i own a jetta, mileage is now 76k km, no prob so far albeit minor issue such as rear aircond vent broken (my kids poke a spoon inside the vent).
      follow their strict service interval + follow the guidelines on how to drive DSG properly. and majority of jetta user are very satisfied..well a few owner did experienced major issue.

• timbuktu on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:57 am

haha.. my back vent broke too. that part not very durable.