Mazdasports Mazda 3 – special edition coming Sept 28

Mazda-3-Racing-Series

Mazda 3 Racing Series sold in Thailand

Local Mazda distributor Bermaz has announced a new special edition variant of the Mazda 3. Dubbed the Mazdasports Mazda 3, the new model will be unveiled next week at the Mazda Mega Sales roadshow, happening at 1 Utama from September 28 to October 3.

The company has been rather mum on what exactly the Mazdasports version will entail, but expect the car to come with a bodykit and perhaps even some decals, in the vein of the Mazda 3 Racing Series models launched in Thailand last year. Some unique interior trim could probably be included as well.

Locally-assembled in Kulim, Kedah, the Mazda 3 is currently offered in three variants. The base GL sedan retails at RM106,105 on-the-road without insurance, while the hatchback and the high-spec sedan both cost RM121,105. We’re expecting the special edition to be based on either one of the two higher-end models.

The Mazdasports version is likely to be the last hurrah for the current model before the facelifted model arrives sometime in 2017. You can read our first impressions of the G-Vectoring Control system that will come as standard on the new car.

GALLERY: 2015 Mazda 3 Sedan CKD

GALLERY: 2015 Mazda 3 Hatch CKD
GALLERY: Mazda 3 Racing Series
GALLERY: Dressed-up Mazda 3 hatch at Bangkok 2014

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 22, 2016 at 12:40 pm

stock clearance activities coming haha

• Operation Manager on Sep 22, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Stickers & bumpers accessories for pre-facelift clearance , but without Turbo charged engine how to sport…?

• policeman on Sep 22, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Clear pre-facelift stock. Just like Honda clearing the base City and Jazz stock.

• Vin Poh on Sep 22, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Seem nothing special on this Special Edition, just the exterior view only right?

I will wait for the next facelift model. I’m interested with the new technology G-Vectoring Control, electric parking brake and the LED DRL & LED headlamp. Hope don’t cut off the i-ActivSense that include BLIS, Lane Departure Warning, etc and please add for the i-Eloop for us.

• Fapper on Sep 22, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Fanboi wetdreams

• Malaysian Driver on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:34 am

You can watch the video posted by various car tester globally in Youtube (those markets which get the facelift earlier than us). The G vector system ONLY KICKS IN WHEN YOU ARE IN THROTTLE.

Meaning that if you drive like a seasoned driver through the corners by following the text book procedure: brake> downshift> throttle down> enter the apex> accelerate > exit corner, the G Vector won’t work for you, and you will never feel it.

The G vector only kicks in (by cutting the torque output from the engine through various sensor parameters such as lateral force, steering inputs and speed) when you carry too much speed entering the corner and STILL IN THROTTLE while entering the apex, which a season driver hardly do. In a nutshell, it is a system aimed to prevent idiot from uncoupling the car through the corners by carrying too much speed rather than enhancing corner time for people who drive normally.

Hence, it is not the same league as other differential or brake-based vectoring system employed by other car makers in their hot hatch.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Satria R3 > Mazdasports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • TRD Sportivo Mugen Spoon Nismo Ralliart Tofu stickered Biza > all sports cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Nice.

• JB_KIA on Sep 22, 2016 at 1:17 pm

sport/special/limited edition in Mesia means nothing but cosmetic change…don’t be too excited guys.

• timbuktu on Sep 22, 2016 at 1:20 pm

can i ask what’s the purpose of a fast clothing without actually a fast engine? syok sendiri?

• SoChunn on Sep 22, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Another move from car dealers to sell off old stocks at an increased price.

• Kia Cerato, best in segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • Ben Yap on Sep 22, 2016 at 2:57 pm

any increase in power output?

anything with sports must live up to it.

• crash on Sep 22, 2016 at 8:42 pm

At least put in the 2.5L Turbo from the CX-9. It is powerful enough for a C Segment sedan.

• Mikey on Sep 22, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Bro Jonathan, thanks for “warning” any interested buyers that the face-lift model will be arriving sometime in 2017. Chances are there will be a Big promotion/discount when the year ends.

• Budiman on Sep 22, 2016 at 9:30 pm

it’s like u’re putting on sports attire but u’re not gonna be running.

• lets hope is not just slap on some stickers and add ‘bodykit’…and stick word ‘mazdasport’ behind the car

• Levin on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:34 pm

I doubt it will come with Recaro seats nor the Brembo big brake kits. But if it really does, the price will skyrocket and out of reach unless they bring back the MPS.