2016 Proton Saga rear end teased, bookings now open

2016-proton-saga-open-for-booking-malaysia

Ahead of the launch debut of the 2016 Proton Saga, the national carmaker has announced that the new model is now open for booking. No prices have been revealed, but we are treated to a teaser image of the Saga’s new rear-end, which as you can see, heavily differs from the outgoing model.

The new Saga will arrive with not just new looks, but also with a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating. Under the hood, the car will likely receive the same 1.3L VVT engine from its Iriz sibling, which outputs 94 hp and 120 Nm on the hatchback.

The company has also revealed key new features, including an ECO Drive Assist indicator from the Persona, a reverse camera, front and rear parking sensors, two rear USB charging ports, a folding rear bench, a 420 litre boot (seven litres bigger), brake assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors and, finally, stability control and hill-start assist.

proton-saga-specs

The warranty coverage has also been increased from three years/100,000 km to five years – although no mileage limit has been specified, we assume that it is identical to the Preve, Suprima S, Iriz and Persona, which is 150,000 km.

We have more details and photos of the new Saga, but these will only be revealed at midnight, so check back to find out all you need to know about the latest iteration of Proton’s longest running nameplate.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I have a feeling… Persona is going to be dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 23, 2016 at 10:55 pm

This looks nice will sell like hotcakes…pride of the nation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
      • Sam VHL Loo on Sep 24, 2016 at 8:50 am

Ya, nowadays even throngs of UMW Toyotaik salesperson have to buy Saga already (sales commission reduced a lot since less and further less people buy their cars already).

• Dedak in the house on Sep 24, 2016 at 12:49 pm

My uncle bought a full spec vios for 12k dedak.. u tell me la..

• 12k? Rv for toyo really down ha? How com sam said toyo ev high?

• Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Too bad his uncle kena conned. LOL. Check out the mudah.my, 2003 Vios still selling at RM22k. Then check out 2003 Perdana how much? Now you know why Proton no RV, no one want to pay for junk.

• 8000 pipu (and growing) has different feeling than u.

• Are u sure it is NEW? It is major facelift!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Beza belakang tongek on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Asal Tak Tongek … bagus Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Seems like bezza is the one going to be dead. Seriously, look at the spec given. But some persona buyer may tepuk dahi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:08 am

Campro & CVT bising Punch?

• if both these new sedans proves to be profitable..

the next step would be to facelift both the preve and suprima in and out , new geabox and engine, more refined quality interior…

and name them wira and wira aeroback….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Kalun on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm

I have seen the leaked photo. Its more like a facelift rather than all new Saga. Its still a carryover chassis from Proton Savvy with a lot of tweaks and new design que. Some parts still looks like the old saga flx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
    • So? Even P1 admitted it uses current Saga platform but heavily revised with modern looks & features & safety. As long as it can perform, why not. At least it has a new engine, unlike dinosar vios

• Doing massive comestic much like previous gen saga lmst , probably this is the last gen saga for using savvy platform

• plo tong on Sep 24, 2016 at 5:25 am

so pity to bezza.. P2 salesman now changing their focus.to bashing Saga.without.reading what new Saga.is.alla about. this sgows they are panic.

• yea,so pitty….poor p1 or p2 salesman always get triggered whenever someone saying about their car.beside that does dis action increase their sales?

• Norway on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:51 pm

So how come no one said the new Jazz is facelift? It’s carryover chassis from previous model too. Maybe because it’s Honda.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Hahaha selimut lagi, tidur only. Bangunla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Let’s hope it is not as ugly as the persona and weirdly designed like the pondana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 50
    • This post destroys whatever positive image proton is trying to portray at their persona… hahajah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Wrong tered. This is saga, not persona. Din finish reading the title did u?

• basherlogic on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Basher logic is like that. Een hideous jepunis cars they say very beautiful like Ferrari

• Dah lah. Don’t try to divert attention when running out of fact to talk.

• plo tong on Sep 24, 2016 at 5:27 am

P2 sales man are panic already. any hardly to read statement. What they know, blindly bashing.

• Nak tease apa lagi? Semua orang dah tengok dah pun.

• dymon on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Aiks tongek jugak ker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • ESC, hill hold assist, rear cam & all round sensors. Wheres the nearest showroom to throw my money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Look very promising…nice lamp. The rear diffuser is more beautiful than the overdone Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • ada ABS ka? Should be coz ESC needs ABS kan?

• abs and ebd not listed in the spec sheet maybe due to it is NOT A ALL NEW FEATURE FOR PROTON SAGA…Saga flx got it once along with dual airbags (which also missing in the spec sheet) before Proton decided to remove it from the Saga SV

• I just read that ABS, EBD and BA will not be a standard equipment across range, only exec and premium will get these safety features…

http://paultan.org/2016/09/24/2016-proton-saga-details-specs/

• so it seems that Proton decided to challenge the most affordable new car in Malaysian market the Perodua Axia E spec with Saga Standard?

• Me me me on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:59 pm

ABS is standard across Proton’s car for a few years now, so it should be a given.. Plus (correct me if I’m wrong) ESC does need ABS for it to work..

• think smart on Sep 23, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Got push start button or not on Premium variant?

• Unknown on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Being based on the previous saga, it already have a design advantage of not having a twerking rear end like the Bezza. I guess it also better in handling department because handling isn’t exactly P2 strongest point.

• Diesel Power!!! on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Now proton car improve a little..but the marketing & planning still bad…y wanna launch 2 saloon models tht tackle to budget category? Persona priced very competitive already, y dun wanna launch something price in between Perdana & persona or Preve facelift? Where is the Exora replacement? Instead of launching saga, better launch a satria replacement..or Suv?

• I understand that Proton scheduled to release the all new proton exora in Q4 2017
      and Iriz will receive its facelift too
      dunno when proton will facelift the preve and suprima s as well

• Hayenadeblue on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:04 pm

It has ESC. Now I wonder how it got only 4 stars.

• immamaia on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:20 pm

stupid bashers overload..

• Same L00 on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:37 pm

More specs/feature more visit to garage. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • frossonice on Sep 24, 2016 at 12:06 am

More importantly, when will Toyota family going to prioritise people safety over greedy profits?

• Now I know where Vios realiabilty come from. No specs/feature inside right?

• Camrysai on Sep 24, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Zero features equal to reliable

• Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Zero break down = reliability.
          Want more features, ask you buy Altis you say no money.
          Ask you why no money you say expensive.
          Ask you why Altis expensive you diam diam buat tak tau.
          Because of your bloody Proton lar!

• Sure or not on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:49 pm

Bontot confirm better then my mother in law April 2016 saga. If improve from last model consider Ada kemajuan juga lah

• Persona gen 2 on Sep 24, 2016 at 12:16 am

Week 2 persona owner here, what I like to said is proton had shown some great improvement on the soundproofs of their cars, not like the greedy p2 that u need to pay few hundred to add on a so called “door comfort” basic soundproof. Even my cheapest variant persona had includes adequate soundproof at all the right area. Really satisfied with the quiet ride. Not believe me? Test drive yourself, it’s definitely better than the jios v…oops vios j.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Mat Mekanik on Sep 24, 2016 at 8:35 am

Engine menggunakan timing belt, ketinggalan zaman. 80 ribu km. perlu tukar. Kos penyelenggaraan tinggi banding dengan timing chain. Selain dari engine rekebentuk ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Die Wahrheit on Sep 24, 2016 at 11:56 am

X habis lagi dgn isu timing belt ke… Mat mekanik konon…

• mekanik bodo on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Ford Ecoboost pun menggunakan tali sawat pemasaan, bukan rantai pemasaan, tiada masalah malah dinobatkan sebagai “International Engine of the Year” selama lima (5) tahun berturut-turun.

Mekanik bodoh yang ketinggalan zaman.

#katakbawahtempurungdahreput

• 120,000km lor , even best engine using timing belt

• You trust them with 120K? Their cars stalled even after 12km from the showroom wo.