Around RM1 bil spent annually on highways – PLUS

pavement-works-at-km440-sg-buaya-rawang-on-the-nse-3

PLUS spends around RM1 billion a year on maintenance of all its highway assets, with primary spending being on paving works and road surface repairs. About 74% of its annual budget is allocated for highway maintenance, PLUS COO Mohammad Fuad Khusairi said.

“A lot of maintenance work is carried out to ensure that the more than 4,800 km of road surfaces on PLUS highways are in good condition at all times,” he told reporters at a media briefing to highlight aspects of highway maintenance.

“Aside from the 4,800 km of highways, regular maintenance is necessary for the 6,800 slopes, 638 bridges, 5,500 sewers, two tunnels and road lighting in the entire highway grid,” he added. The concessionaire said it has a three-stage operating strategy in place, and these cover routine, curative and preventive maintenance.

plus-highway-operations-stats

“Routine maintenance includes periodic/scheduled tasks such as bridge maintenance, landscaping and many others. Meanwhile, curative maintenance involves pavement resurfacing to ensure the safety of road users as well as repair work on bridges, slopes, drainage systems and tunnels. As for preventive maintenance, this consists of efforts to prolong the lifespan of the assets and the facilities on the highway,” Fuad stated.

The concessionaire also highlighted the high number of resources needed to ensure the smooth running and safety of its highways. PLUS employs more than 400 personnel to patrol the highways, and deploys 107 vehicles (as well as 18 tow trucks and 17 slide decks), 49 motorbikes and three helicopters across its entire highway system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tokmoh. on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:36 am

tldr they wanna increase toll, sekian.

• RM 1B annually on maintenance and pipu expects it to be free. Thats just for 1 hiway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • How about annually profit?

• Oh mak lu kaya on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:01 pm

PLUS owned by KWSP. More profits, more dividends for pipu.

• Fazura on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:48 am

RM 1B?!!

Tiap kali Raya balik kampong. KL – Penang konpem 10 jam…

• ROSLI CHE MAN on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:53 am

Correct you spent RM1Bil on hiway maintenance. But bear in mind you collected a lot more ( as much ten times) and it does not make any sense (nuts) the toll rates revised every 3 years.

• fukushima on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:56 am

Do you smell what PLUS is cooking????

Toll Price Hike!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • only 1 bil? on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Only 1 billion annually?

• Tender use Grade A cost RM1 bil but in actual do Grade C cost RM0.1 bil.
    Furthermore, the PLUS inspector only random check the work done. So overall the quality of the HIGHWAY is not in good condition. This is why the highway contractor always get the job for every year do the same area!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Very true. And the contract is always given to an UMNO member who is usually a big UMNO position holder. They don’t even use Grade C, they use Grade E

The same with out Tugu Park. Spending RM650 million for the park but our universities and hospitals have no money.

Hundreds of old uncles and aunties are told they cannot get free ubat anymore. Our Universities have no money to do research and development even

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
  • Why telling us all these? Not enough wang and time to hike up toll fare????

• Tiger on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:20 pm

No corruption then less then half billion Rm only

• applegreen on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:26 pm

How much PLUS spending for federal highway bike lane maintenance?

• Yes, 50% (0.5 bil) is giving out to cronies.

• rchoo on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Sure or not? show us the proof or you just plucked from the sky?

Show us the tendered contract, progress claim yeah, o.k.

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:50 pm

1. This is my figure.
    2. My figure are very tepat and adil.
    3. My contractor quoted 10M for my toilet repair.
    4. My managerial got 8 x market incomes every months.
    5. I put 88 charted accountants in my one-single company.
    6. 7. 8. ……..
    99. This is Singapore, UK and USA styles.

• Another LAME xcuse to increase TOLol..

• Henry on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:56 pm

This is called the cost of doing business. You cannot do business for free, can you? Please also let us know how much profit you make each year. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • sohhai on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Sure we believe you. RM 1 billion spent, RM300 million is probably used for actual maintenance work while the rest is for maintenance of a few individual’s lifestyle

• hmm i wonder how much the local authorities spent on digging & resurfacing roads :D could be millions

• John Doe on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:42 pm

I think we can’t deny it, we have one of the nicest highways in Southeast Asia. Looks like the only thing this gov got right.

• Mikey on Sep 25, 2016 at 12:18 pm

I agree with U we do have one of the best highways in SEA but that does not give them the audacity to increase toll rates especially when they are profitable & collecting millions every day.

The main problem is the concessionaires are all so one sided ie profit they privatize while the losses they Nationalize. There is no open tenders & no one dare to show the agreement of the concession as he will be charged under OSA.

• Plus sai on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Is pluss spending correctly?

Why do u spent it on closing the lane to prune the plants?

Why cant u plant vegetation that requiries less maintenance?
    Ans: need to give never ending contract to my chrony land scape contractor.

Why the new LED street light at Seremban stretch keeps breaking down?

Why the LED red light with solar panel near bridge dividers are all gone after short installation?

Why the endless renovation work at R n R forever and ever?

Maybe u should:
    1. Get rid of water ponding issue to avoid hydroplaning.
    2. Illuminate more kms.
    3. Plant maintenance free plants.
    4. Use automated toll collection.
    Then can reduce opex

With reduced opex, u can reduce toll rate, then i can vote u mah…barulah janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • jobless on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Who cares..always massive jam during any holidays..how about expanding all the two-lanes to 3-4 lanes instead, two lanes cannot be called “highway” anymore..most of the jams or bottlenecks occured at these two lanes..and the rest area as well sometimes cannot even enter

• Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 2:33 pm

hello abang abang kroni, RM1 bil is nothing when your revenue is more than RM10 bil.

Each tolls alone brings in RM millions per day. Count the number of tolls and highways. Some tolls (non PLUS) bring in berpuluh million PER DAY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:02 pm

They conveniently not tell us about the days they laugh all the way to the bank.

• Camilla on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Toll hike incoming!

• Rustmah on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:05 pm

How about USD 2.6B?

• orang biasa on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:55 pm

This is PLUS job to maintain the road quality. Lu orang cronies jangan cakap, kita spend so much $$$, and our profit be less, so end of story, kita nak naik toll fare to cover our spending :D

• Mikey on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:58 pm

I don’t like it when they say they spend 1 billion. This is a precursor to increase toll rate.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Then what am I paying road tax for?

• Ah Kow on Sep 24, 2016 at 9:48 am

Errr for JPJ to make an app for us to upload pics of traffik abusers. Making an app needs money too.

• George Abdul on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Believing in PLUS = believing in Najib 2.6b donations !!!

• crash on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:10 pm

PLUS pandai tipu only. Not entire stretch of 4800km need yearly maintenance. Most of surface are only made of concrete, not asphalt. The super hard concrete is very durable ,if done right it can easily last you 30 years, hardly need maintenance but it wears off the tyres very fast and it is very noisy..

• KarmaComing on Sep 24, 2016 at 10:29 am

hey, PLUS might as well say they spend 100 bajilion-galizion-mermiloin dollar for maintenance lah….

At the end, everybody knows you suck the rakyat till dry while you continue makes billions over god-knows how long…..

• Megane on Sep 25, 2016 at 3:58 am

Yada yada…still most areas are not dark and can cause accidents .

• Dear PLUS, you are selling service of providing highway to road user.

Dont give uneducated reason/excuse “most of expenditure goes to highway maintenance”.

If you refuse to spend money on highway renovation, sell the highway, bela ayam instead. So u dont have to pay highway maintenance.

Seriously…. be a real business person lah. Dont be a charity seeking person.