Hyundai RN30 Concept previews i30 N hot hatch

hyundai-rn30-concept

Hyundai will be bringing the RN30 concept to the Paris Motor Show and here’s an official teaser image. The showcar wiil preview an upcoming hot hatch based on the latest generation i30.

As with previous concept attempts such as the RM16 N and RM15, the RN30 looks the part. Bulging fenders, huge wheels and an aggressive face with a large hexagonal grille and sharp headlamps ensure that. We also see big foglamps and a front splitter for the full race car look.

The production i30 N hot hatch won’t look so hardcore, though. We showed you spyshots of the prototype testing last month, and while it looks sportier than the standard i30, it’s not as race car-like as this. The N’s sporty cues include LED daytime running lights that are horizontal (vertical on the i30), big wheels with blue streaks, big brakes with red brake calipers and two big exhaust pipes, one on each side.

Word is that the i30 N, which will be the Hyundai’s first car under the N performance brand, will debut next year in two versions – the standard N and one with a performance pack, like the Golf GTI. The Korean hot hatch could boast over 260 hp from a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot to take on the likes of the benchmark VW, Ford’s Focus ST and Peugeot’s 308 GTI.

The high-powered engine, which is currently under development, sounds throaty and sporty in the “work in progress” video Hyundai posted up recently. Around 40% of the development i30 N is fresh, with its newly-developed engine, enhanced transmission, suspension, dampers and upgrades in other areas such as wheels, steering and wider fenders.

The standard i30, revealed earlier this month, will also be making its motor show debut in Paris.

GALLERY: Third-generation Hyundai i30

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tompel on Sep 23, 2016 at 10:54 am

A45 AMG.

• Yokohama24 on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:35 am

The koreans are rising in the motorsport industry. Lets see how well they will do. :D

• Yokohama24 on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Why the “N” for their performance version though? Same goes for Volvo’s “Polestar” haha. Doesn’t sound convincing enough unlike “AMG”, TRD, Type R, NISMO.
    But surprisingly it sounds fine for BMW’s “M” and Audi’s “RS”, “S”. Brand perception I guess haha.

• Why evrything has to be hexogon shape grill…from audi to ford to hyundai

• Andrekua on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:59 pm

Audi ex designer went to HyunKia. That’s why even new Rio interior feels VW now.

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Creative lah sikit.

Orang lain pakai M, you nak tiru dengan N.

Why not i30 Pro, i30 TP, or even SP-i30 ?

• Nama dari Msport
      Muka dari audi
      Blakang dari E keras
      Dalam dari Mazda
      Logo ambik honda kasi sengetkan

Apa yg creative dari hyundai?

• horrayooi on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Hyundai it don’t have the no temperature gauge issue of Vios and City. Proper temperature gauge . Thanks.