Malaysian stolen vehicles now go to Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia; slim chance of recovery – report

2015_Toyota_Hilux_TRD_Sportivo_ 001

Vehicle theft syndicates in Malaysia are no longer limited to exporting cars to the most accessible neighbouring country, Thailand – their movements are believed to have expanded to Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia, according to a Bernama report.

Once the stolen vehicles have reached those countries, it would be especially difficult to recover them, said a source who brought forward the syndicates’ way of operating. “It is believed that the cars stolen in Malaysia will be transported via the sea by container ship from Singapore. Then, it will stop at its first destination, Thailand. It is also believed that Laem Chabang Port, in Thailand is their main destination [to unload the stolen vehicles],” he continued.

These three countries which share land borders with Thailand have syndicates with strong networks among themselves, which complicates the authorities’ efforts in tackling cross-border crimes such as these. “If [the vehicles] reached those countries, the chances of finding them are as good as nothing,” he said, adding that information on the stolen vehicles in the three Indochina countries would also be hard to obtain.

The source adds that depending on the situation, parts of the stolen vehicle would be dropped off in Thailand, while the rest would continue on its way to the other countries. There is also a possibility that the vehicles would make their way those countries by land if they were not sold in Thailand.

Proton-Wira-SE

All is not lost, however, as Thai authorities found and handed over 22 stolen Malaysian vehicles worth over RM2.2 million to Malaysian police, while last year Thai authorities seized 18 vehicles believed to be smuggled by the theft syndicates via Laem Chabang Port, the source said.

The source said that those 18 cars were believed to be part of 43 luxury vehicles from Malaysia that were smuggled to Thailand by way of a container ship. “However, the remaining 25 car failed to be traced until today,” he said.

Four-wheel-drive vehicles were popular among Myanmar’s black market, while luxury cars and MPVs were in demand in Cambodia – allegations have also surfaced claiming that the stolen vehicles with new registration details were used by high ranking police, armed forces and government officers in some Indochina countries.

Last year, Malaysia ranked sixth in the world for vehicle theft, the most stolen being the Proton Wira and the Toyota Hilux second.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bangsa on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:52 am

Higher chance stolen meant good in RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Toyota tops the list.

If I were a Burmist, I wouldn’t want a stolen Wira; spare parts in Myanmar is in question. But if I were a local snake bengkel, I would love it. Recond parts are sold as new to naive customers, sounds familiar?

Why do they choose those countries instead of the nearer Thailand or Indonesia?

• Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Yes. Wira can last so long, of course it will be popular. Who wants a BMW or Merc that break down after a few years and have to be upgraded.

• Retro School on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:51 pm

That’s the reason BMWs and Mercs are categorized as ‘Luxury’ cars, meaning it is a luxury to own them such that they are not meant for the average person who want inexpensive and low-maintenance cost vehicles. Different economic classes, different lifestyles, that’s all.

• We gip them stolen cars, they gip us their pipu as illegal foreign maids and labourers that we fight Gov tooth and nail to keep them slaving here. I say its win-win for all (except Gov of course!)

• Jimmy on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Where got? I think the biggest winner is Obama A/L Usa (look, I didn’t use bin), since I want to give free ic to thos Phillips’ workers so as they can vote me at the China Widow or similar areas.

• hailthepurist on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:48 am

we take theirs they demand ours..

• nabill (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:43 pm

im pretty sure that msia-thailand border is alot more corrupt than many countries combined!!

• vendetta on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:47 pm

I heard they all sent to middle east. Not this asean countries. All our authorities including our custom involved during the stolen cars shipment at the port. corrupt country

• correct me if I'm wrong on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Wira owner declare stolen and get compensation from insurance is better to sell the car… That’s y the number hike. Highest stolen car doesn’t mean highest RV.

• Peter on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:50 pm

… under ASEAN blackmarket spirit, the syndicates also don’t tax a lot like our gov!

• panjang on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Come one…..they said its smuggled via port.so, what are they doing about it? Upgrade the system lh so u can detect immediately a car crossing our border is stolen or not.
    Apart from that,what are the authority at the port doing?
    Custom? Pfffh,i work in an FTZ and the custom officer doesnt even get of their chair to check what a truck is carrying IN/OUT. Only 1 out of 10 will do.

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:16 pm

I go Myanmar and buy a stolen Malaysia Car…..then i import balik to Malaysia……Cheap cheap weh…..