SPYSHOTS: New 2016 Toyota Vios seen on trailer

2016-toyota-vios-spotted-1

During the launch of the Toyota Alphard and Vellfire, it was revealed that UMW Toyota will introduce the “improved” Vios, and it appears a launch could be imminent. A big thanks to paultan.org reader Adam Lee, who spotted several units of the new Vios on a trailer outside the company’s Subang Jaya service centre.

A few details highly suggest that this is indeed the new Vios, starting with the red paintjob, which doesn’t appear to be offered for the current Vios (Medium Silver Metallic, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black and White). The ‘J’ badge seen on one of the cars point towards the same variant nomenclature used currently.

The wheels seen here appear to retain the same eight-spoke design, although higher variants could adopt a new design like the ones we saw in Bangkok earlier this year. Speaking of the Thailand-market Vios, the model gains several notable improvements from before as well.

This includes a new 2NR-FBE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine, which replaces the 1NZ-FE VVT-i mill (currently on the Malaysian-spec Vios). The Dual VVT-i unit is paired exclusively with a continuously variable transmission (CVT), which sees the end of the old four-speed automatic gearbox.

Safety also sees an improvement, with the addition of vehicle stability control (VSC) on top of the usual ABS with EBD and brake assist. For the Thai market, VSC comes standard across the range, along with two airbags. However, we’ll have to wait and see if the new Vios destined for the Malaysian market will benefit from these improvements.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Vios at the Bangkok Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hailthepurist on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:45 am

vios vs saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • inb4 noisy CVT… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • karam singh on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Trust me, Toyota gonna use CVT on their cars just a bit late.
        CVT tranny very good for city car, better FC
        compared to Honda City that have more powerful & still got lower FC than Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Ms Check Pick on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:43 pm

You kiddin me dude? Vios uphill like drive a lorry full of durians.Dinasour engine since 2003 not capable for expanded 400kg kerb body weight.Trust me this dual vvti is not a new engine,just slightly better fc but less power,good on previous vios but not current one.

• For Racing car..u prefer SOHC or DOCH dudy..SOCH mostly used by motorbot..generator..lighwaight fligh..motorcycle

• Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Busy season is coming. Everyone is eyeing this facelift. I already have 13 bookings now.

• Sorry lo. People love our City and already bought theirs happily driving

• 120KM/H hight RPM..means every single drop of petrol less generate maillage..generate more noice and increse temprature..sohc..do u notice this..

• idkidc on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Then pray hard for your CVT gearbox for not getting slippery for the next few years, as I know all previous honda city got many issues on their gearbox, have you ever heard about Toyota VIOS got any issues on their gearbox

• City SOHC engine mostly cheap …normaly used by electric ganarator and motorcycle

• 3 corners fight … Vios-Beza-Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…nothing special lah on this vios….the catch my attention was the new Lexus RX…damn sporty and good looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Wayne on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:08 pm

inb4 noisy roof during rain

• Sammie on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:11 pm

inb4 sushi good RV.

• inb4 bash start.

• “New” Hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:33 pm

If its a facelift, it is called NEW.

Only when the whole body has been changed, it will be known as THE ALL NEW.

Legally and morally, the term used is correct.

• U jelly?

• Ya lor, now even subsidiary company have VSC in entry level car. Where to put face?! Must do mid-mid-life replacement lor.

• Albert on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Insaf John
      You represent P2 happily.Why r u bashing UMW ?UMW owns almost half of your rice bowl ,Perodua.
      U want me to call my friend at UMW to OVERTURN your rice bowl?
      Sam Loo has been quietly reporting your bashing activities to UMW(like special branch).
      Watch your tongue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • U better watch urself. My boss says if we can steal sales from big bro toyota, then why not. MY car market is now opening and free for all. Just look at ur pathetic toyota junk sales. My untested Biza sales itself is more than all toyota+lexus combined.

Even u have send in ur transfer application to my showroom but we just wanna see how long u can survive on maggi b4 we decide.
        So it is u, who shud insaf.

• ViosLover on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:58 am

WTF rear end like Bezza & Persona.
    That rear chrome bar seems familiar that you can get anywhere.
    I don’t want my vios to be downgrade.
    Better go to saga. You can buy 2 saga with this 1 vios price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
  • How inferior Saga can be better than a Vios?

Saga is mostly owned by people that barely pass the minimum requirement of bank loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 69
    • According to Albert, the only inferior point of saga3 is the Rimau badge in front not as invincible as T badge to prevent users from eksiden.

• That is partly true. People loath at the tiger logo. Put the logo on any CBU car and it people avoid it instantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Cool story brah

• But some smart pipu still go for Rimau badge cuz they prefer to survive an accident instead of dying in a blaze of proud glory for owning a deathtrap.

• People going for your rimau logo are irrelevant. They are mostly barely qualify for car loan and most likely surviving on BRIM.

• Albert on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Insaf John
        According to Albert…bradder Insaf ,I was on holiday cuti cuti Malaysia,in my Phantom Rolls Royce.I was quiet for 2 days.
        Anyway,I will get the new Vios for my wife,the top specs Bezza for my son and the Saga for my cucu.
        Drive Rolls Royce,ada gaya dan power.Ada RV.

• Poor You on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:59 pm

I’m gonna buy this for my wife to pick up kids from school next year.Barely pass minimum requirement bank loan? Maybe for you.My bimmer,house loan not far from touch my credit limit approval.What’s your point?

• As if Vios owners are all so well-heeled. Nowadays, people bought Vios because of high rebates (lower downpayment) but barely got the loans approved and can get the J spec only.

• Toyota CHR silver & black?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • I don’t feel like this is new Toyota Vios anymore…..
    Batter buy persona or bezza….. Toyota can close shop…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
  • Lee Kum Kee on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Sorry but, the Lexus RX down there seems more interesting than the dugong Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Vios irrelevant now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Get ready for RM100k vios high spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Inb4 ESC is only available as safety pack add on on top of topkek TRD sportivo variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Unknown on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Esc standard across the range la adui…provide others with correct information please…

• Matchy on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Based on the leaked brochure, VSC (aka ESC) is standard across all variants..

• Then only deathwish sohais will still buy CamryE and altis1.8E/G. More expensive but less safety.

• farghmee on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Just saw a trailer with red vios heading for East coast just now

• nabill (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:42 pm

like if u think that trailer looks more exciting than the cars its carring !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • The carrier lift mechanism technology is more interesting than any “innovation” inside vios.

• anonymous on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:51 pm

yeah, new 2016 vios, still gives you 4-speed gearbox.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Unknown on Sep 26, 2016 at 12:59 pm

This proved that you simply want to comment and don’t know how to read loll

• Autistppleverywhere on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Lazy guy that didn’t read the article. It’s using CVT gearbox not 4 speed with the new engine

• Matchy on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:40 pm

The new Vios use CVT…

• david on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:03 pm

This face-lift replaced the 4 speed AT with 7 Speed stepped-ratio mode CVT transmission

• Harimau on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:19 pm

try to find any difference… but fail… any idea??? instead of color as they probably want to follow Honda by change blue to red…

• Camrysai on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

This time Vios win over Saga

• New facelift rubbish, hahaha

• Mikey on Sep 26, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Nice metallic red couple with Dual-VVTi & CVT, this will give city sedan a run for its $$$.

Most interesting will be Vious basher will comes out in droves to discredit its appeals.

Does not look like a “New” model to me. It’s more like an upgraded Vios with the latest tech & engine.

• Sammy Loo on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:21 pm

With the launching of the facelift Vios with new engine, gearbox and VSC as standard, Toyota will reclaim the top spot of the non-national car segment sales.

• bought civic bcoz VSC on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:37 pm

UMW know ka how to pasang VSC????

• nearlee on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:06 pm

I’ve sold my 2015 Honda Accord in anticipation of this new Vios, specs looks good and have all the necessary safety feature. I don’t get the hate on the Vios, its a good, honest car and the handling is awesome too.

-nearlee

• Take my advice. Go test drive more than just the vios.

• Aiyo,you want to tell story also have to think about logic and plausibility lah. Saying that the Vios is as good as Accord (in handling somemore) just exposed yourself as either a T salesman or someone that have no knowledge in cars. Not even nearlee believable…

• Toyota calya bila ontheroad in Malaysia?

• g2000 on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Had seen the leaked brochure. These are the standard equipment on all variants (V, E, G, GX & TRD):
    1. new engine 2NR-FE 1.5L
    2. new CVT gearbox
    3. keyless entry & pushstart
    4. VSC and other safety assists

Apart from slightly cramped space & upright rear seats, this Vios has its sight on the City. The base J-spec looks attractive than VSC-less City S spec. Maybe UMW Toyota dah tak tahan people @Paultan keep kutuk their Vios dinosaur 4speed. LoL!

• Jerry Z on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:27 pm

What a boring car. Need a good refresh on the design. Overpriced and stingy on the specs. Got other better options in the market.

• inb4 bash start.

• Peter on Sep 26, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Yawn~ What’s (so) new? Dual VVTi?

• casper on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:38 pm

peter… is not new… it just Brand New Old Stocks… they left too many 80s/90s parts/stocks in the warehouse… so need to use them…..

• comfort maa on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Dislike all you want, but the Vios is among the best in the B-segment that offers plushy & cushion comfy ride, besides Almera. Good for regular small families, and bad for track pundits. This time around, it will come with VSC, new engine & CVT. If the price remains the same or reduced, give UMW proper credit it deserve, not bashing senselessly.

• inspira owner on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Dual airbags only for all variant.. brochures already stated that

• CarInCity on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Best test drive the car with 3 or more adults, go over at least 10 road humps to see if it has improved.

• Upgrade: Longer rear bumper to cover underneath being seen, dual vvti, vsc and cvt added. Or else nothing advantage excepts the toyota brand. Must well safe your 30k~40k to buy the persona or bezza.

• Finally they changed to that boring CVT gearbox, as I know CVT maintenance cost will be higher than that 4 speed AT dinosaur engine, In term of pick up or responsive sure MT win follow by DCT, AT, CVT really have no fun to drive

• NobodyBuyU on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Spot light not on you anymore, UMWT
    People rather look for Persona & Saga now, which much much cheaper n safer
    Hard for you to turn back now

• PencacaiTuaPengangkatNajis on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:32 pm

This vios… haiyaa, a facelift, an old engine with slight tuning, slight interior design change. I believe the day will come where I rather spent money on Malaysian made car.

• Adren on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:37 pm

The only thing which let me down is the CVT gearbox !!!!!!!!!!

Please do not use CVT gearbox !!!!!!!!!!!!