Volkswagen Jetta facelift launched in Malaysia – 1.4 TSI single turbo, 150 PS, EEV, 20 km/l, from RM110k

img_4820

The 2016 Volkswagen Jetta facelift has just been launched Malaysia, available in three variants: Trendline, Comfortline and Highline, priced at RM109,578, RM118,578, and RM129,578 respectively, on-the-road without insurance. It was officiated new custodians of the Volkswagen brand in Malaysia, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia, under Porsche Holding Salzburg.

The updated Jetta employs Volkswagen’s current 1.4 TSI direct-injection four-cylinder engine, which sports a single turbocharger instead of the outgoing model’s twin-charger (a supercharger and a turbocharger) unit. Already in service in the updated Golf 1.4 TSI, the new motor trades a bit of outright power for additional torque – 10 PS down and 10 Nm up from the previous engine.

Now with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 3,500 rpm, power goes to the front axle via a seven-speed dry dual-clutch automatic with manual override (with paddle shifter on the Highline), propelling the updated Jetta from 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds, onwards to a 220 km/h top speed. In comparison, the pre-facelift model clocked 0-100 km/h in 8.3 seconds and a top speed of 221 km/h.

volkswagen_jettafl_ext-23

For the new Jetta, automatic stop-start with regenerative braking is standard across all variants, working together with the revamped engine and transmission to improve fuel consumption to just 5.0 litres per 100 km (20.0 km/l), down from 6.0 l/100 km (16.7 km/l) for the outgoing model. This qualifies the facelifted Jetta for EEV (energy efficient vehicle) status.

The revised Jetta wears a more grown-up look, particularly in top Highline trim, giving it a bit more resemblance to its B7 Passat bigger brother. The range-topper is distinguishable at the front by its bi-xenon projector headlamps with LED daytime running lights (others get halogen reflectors), LED tail lamps, “Queensland” alloy wheels measuring 17-inches in diameter wrapped in 225/45R17 tyres and keyless entry.

Exclusive features for the top model include a push-button engine start (placed in front of the gear lever), cruise control, black Vienna leather upholstery, a 12-way power-adjustable driver’s seat and a new five-inch RCD 330G touchscreen head unit with Bluetooth and MirrorLink, linked to eight speakers. It must be noted that MirrorLink is only supported on a limited range of phones, therefore functions such as Waze is not a given here.

volkswagen_jettafl_int-23

Next up, the Comfortline variant adds back what the Trendline omitted from the outgoing Jetta: multifunction controls on the steering wheel, Climatronic dual-zone automatic air-conditioning and an RCD 330G head unit with six speakers. The Comfortline rolls on 16-inch “Navarra” wheels, shod in 205/55R16 tyres.

On the base Trendline variant, halogen headlamps, 16-inch “Sedona” alloy wheels shod with 205/55R16 tyres, front and rear foglamps, “Sienna” fabric upholstery, RCD 220 head unit with six speakers (and no Bluetooth), manual air-con with rear vents are included, along with new “Zebrano” trim inserts.

volkswagen_jettafl_int-28

Safety kit for all variants include six airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS), anti-pinch windows on all four doors and a hill-hold assist function.

A total of four colours are available on the revised Jetta – Candy White, Platinum Grey, Reflex Silver and Deep Black, and like all Volkswagens purchased from the franchise holder from September 1, it comes with a five-year, manufacturer-backed warranty, which replaces the previous 2+3 coverage.

For the Jetta’s full equipment and specifications details, check out Carbase.my.

2016 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Highline

2016 Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Comfortline

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Blitzace on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Can someone explain the 280TSI badging?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:52 pm

it suppose to be torque based naming system. eg 280TSI suppose mean the car has 280Nm torque if i’m not wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Same L00 on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:53 am

Get the Jetta, you may not get reliability, but you still get people’s respect.
        Get a Proton, you don’t get reliability, fuel efficiency, comfort, RV… nothing, other than the new nickname SOZAI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 43
        • P1 got 205Nm torque ady beats those 2.0l jepunis underpowered engine

• weeded on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Why dragged in proton here? Are you high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Agree just like inspira owners because they r pretending driving mitsubishi even thought mitsubishi is a cheap brand but not cheapest like proton.

• Buyer Beware - Pls think carefully on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:05 am

Nobody dare to buy VW in Malaysia now. Buy today Rm110k, 6 months later, VW themselves will sell brand new for RM80k.

Then your 8 month old car will be worth RM50k. Don’t believe? See what happened to the last Jetta and Passat buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Operation Manager on Sep 27, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Pre-register Pre-own Used –> good buy, when go into workshop paid alomost a Polo/Vento price for major repairing. VW AUDI MSIA CEO MD how can a repair cost a new car price…?

• lolol on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:54 pm

280 depicts the Total no. of Shitty Incidences you will get owning when owning this car. Ahahahaha,,,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Jurassic on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:37 am

this Jetta anytime better than Civic tin milo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
      • Buyer Beware - Pls think carefully on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:08 am

Go and read PT facebook posting on the Jetta. One posting by a Sim Khang Erhn explains why the DSG cannot work in Malaysia. He got 167 likes for what he said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • posmen on Sep 27, 2016 at 2:59 pm

spot a fanboy

as ex-owner of a non-premium conti, no way i’m getting this over civic

• Same L0rr on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:14 am

Always can explain about Bad RV for this Volkswagen at Malaysia! Bad DSG 7 speed! Dont play2 with this DSG gearbox!
      Buy Toyota better la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
      • Buyer Beware - Pls think carefully on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:11 am

7 speed DSG gearbox comes with dry clutch. It is designed to be more efficient BUT due to severe traffic jam, where it programme to engage low gear with high torque, problem arise when “half clutch action” is taking place to make the car smooth and not jerky. When these actions are repeating all the time the clutch heats up and worn out quicker than it supposed to be.

In the other hand 6 speed DSG gearbox comes with wet clutch. It is the older version of the DSG but it is more reliable than the dry cluth. Also due to the wet clutch, it is not so efficient compare to the dry clutch box but at the same time perform more realible than the dry clutch in severe and frequent traffic jam situation.

• Same L0rr on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:12 am

Oh my! That is why VW have bad RV! Why explain so detail. Two word, BAD RV enough sad for this junk VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Mikey on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:37 am

Blitzace, on 21 September I asked the same question. No one answered & I got 5 “dislike”. I guess only the 5 have the answer & they are not saying a word. Hope U get an answer by today.

• 280TSI on Sep 26, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Wunderbar ! The game changer is finally here !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Seriously, thats such a good value… Really competitive… Go for a test drive ONLY THEN COMMENT….
    Bt for existing owners, we will probably skip for the all new model as this has only minor enhancements which doesnt justify ditching it for this one….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • looks ok..hope service improve

• Sammy Loo on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:10 pm

in 2 years time this car will only cost 60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
  • better buy civic, even the lowest spec 1.8 are already worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 34
    • Jeff Lim on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:20 am

why not bring your civic and come and have a drag with my jetta :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 22
      • cynical on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:56 am

Better have an RV war, that one more beneficial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:43 am

Are you sure? You might not show up because your Jetta is at the service centre. Ouch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
        • Honda gag on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Sushi o sushi using 10 years or even 20 years technology sure realible la , realible but statistics show vios/city is the most dangerous car in the world , Naik Naik sudah mati ohh tin milo , even bezza is using your 10-20 years old engine that’s show how cheapskate is your engine lel , u sure you drag halfway your car won’t terbalik ka ? Ka ka ka rubbish jepun ! Don’t talk only bring your civic mari joker’s come come I bagi u mkn asap kuat kuat o with my golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • And the Jetta ends up with mechatronic issue and is stuck by the roadside waiting for a tow truck. Once at service center need to leave car there for a month to solve the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Bob_B78 on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:43 am

Easy for someone to talk thrash when they don’t even own a VW. Nowadays SC already improved a lot that the problematic mechatronic which used to take months now only take up to 3 days to replace. I already have 2 times replacement for mechatronics and it does not take more than 3 days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
          • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Transmission should never give you problem within 10 years. If few years already twice mechatronic problem, it’s not worth owning a VW even if they can fix it in 3 days.

• Jeff Lim on Sep 27, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Well im just afraid that the Civic cant even finish the race as their engine could easily get overheat when they just trying to step the pedal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • DSG has been proven to fail so you can deny all you want. Look at VW dismal sales when compared to the first 2 years they arrived here as everybody knows that VW ain’t reliable at all. As of now are there any Civic owners reporting of overheating engine as compared to all the cars idle at VW service center waiting for parts???
            As for Bob above so you admit that DSG malfunctioned twice so that goes to prove my point that DSG is still faulty and mechatronic issue still occurs regularly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Bob_B78 on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:46 pm

It also proved that you never did get your facts right before trashing vw after sales service. All major repair like piston crack will take months to replace regardless any car manufacturer. Is like saying all 4 legged animals with tail are cats regardless if they are actually dogs, lembu or lizard

• Jeff Lim on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Loll while we the vw owner didnt even complaining of all the troubles that the car bring to us, but people like you never owned a vw trying to help us whining like a sisi ? And fyi there are still have some issues for the dsg but all the sc had resolve our problems with an ease, so why keep whining about dsg kong or whatsoever? Just go and test drive 1 and the german build will never let you down compare to all the sushi build out there and stop whining thanks :)

• Kairul on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Driving my Passat since 2012 no problem at all , u don’t even owned one but act like you know alot ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • As an ex-owner of a Mk6 GTI, I just couldn’t stand going to the workshop 4 times in 8 months. Lucky for you guys that don’t encounter many issues with your VWs.

However, I still do prefer German cars. So far the 3 pointed star has not let me down (touch wood)

• I test drove both, 1st the CIVIC turbo then Jetta 2016. CIVIC no fight to Jetta in all aspects.

• Terer on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:20 am

Civic turbocor. Kiokkk

• Twinchargers definitely more fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • What make you say more fun? The HP and torque is about the same.. you wont even feel the different…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Exora on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:17 am

Proton turbo horsepower tinggi. Lagi syok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Well, you will definitely feel the turbo lag because low rpm produce so little boost. That’s the reason why VW adds supercharger to eliminate the turbo lag. Eliminating this will definitely kill the fun.

• Yeap, SPOT ON! the twincharger basically hv none turbo lag due to the supercharger….but the single turbo will be more reliable,…the twin charger have a notorious reputation of cracked pistons…etc…some even compared it wt having a grenade!..yeap, fun but not reliable…this single turbo is more worry free

• Wait 89k promotion hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • behsong on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Facelifted? Still ugly like uncle car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Great! Tentatively, I plan to buy one at the end of next year or beginning of 2018. Hope to get a discount at lease 35k to 40k.

haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • Golfer on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Shut up and take my money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • ben yap on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:21 pm

waiting for RM20K discount for this jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Just want to know on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Is this the same with prolematic DSG?

• vw drive on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:29 pm

I don’t think so. I had a problem with my DSG once and they changed the mechatronic. since then everything is ok. for the past 3 years. so i don’t think that the new DSG will cause the same problem now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • Acrix on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:09 am

My 2013 Scirocco 1.4TSI had DSG breakdown once in 2014 and another in 2015. So far praying no more DSG issue by i got a leaking turbo and electronic issue now.
        My brother 2014 Golf 1.4TSI had DSG breakdown in 2015.
        As for the latest VW cars I can’t comment but my family sure ain’t gonna get another VW anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • cynical on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:57 am

It’s still the same DSG

• 50% discount now would be fair price !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • omegle on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:41 pm

give you for free la,even better

• Same L0rr on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:18 am

Free also I dont want. Volkswagen = Proton. Lepak at SC every week to fix that part, this part.. oh my! Buy Toyota better.. peace of mind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
        • OMG nowadays p1 is compared with European make. Even jepunis cannot beat it

• I live near Cyberjaya and have been driving my Exora CPS Auto for 7 years since 2009 and now mileage is 190k+. Serviced every 10k. Travelled from Thailand to Singapore and so far have been very fortunate we never encountered any issues. Normal wear and tear, like tyre, belt and stuff. Aircond very good too.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Welcome to the 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Keta Uncle on Sep 27, 2016 at 8:47 am

Haha true, styling is old fashion la. I dont know why some car makers tend to go backwards with their design.

• wheres d fella keep asking for jibby’s car reduction promises…? lol

anyway , i feel existing jetta owners are now is checking their car prices at mudah and the remaining loan tenure…..

• on a full tank , the range is an unbelieveble 150km+ more than the prefacelift model…..dayyum…

• Jawabandar on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Thumbs up in the showroom.Headache at the SC.

• Vincent on Sep 26, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Well, everyone knowing that VW DSG is a nighmare in Malaysia. Every one talk bad about DSG.

VW has claimed that the DSG issued solved after changing the gear oil to mineral oil.

To show how true it is, why VW dare not disclose the number of DSG failure, after and before 2015?

Let us have the statistic, those car sell pre-2015…and those after improvement. Let us know if new car, those registered after improvement still having DSG failure in 2016? We also wanted to see if 2014 car has improved.

In short, give us the number and let it speak by itself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Lawson on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:41 pm

I am just guessing that maybe DSG should not be driven like a normal automatic with torque convertor. Since it is still essentially “an alternate gearing twin clutch plate set up” it should not be used to hold the car on a slope even if it is for a minute or two. Repeat it many times over and over it perhaps fry the clutch system?. Step on the brake (or pull the hand brake) and put it to neutral?. Too little efforts being put in by VW Malaysia in countering fear of potential new buyer for VW. In in internet there is a guy putting up for all to see on VW billing of over RM30k for replacing wire harness for his VW!. Really madness from VW and like making a coporate Harakiri. Maybe it is made specially in gold wire.

• Much better deal than the 8 years old Accord Perdana. But still can’t beat the amazing and stylish looking and powerful Civic. Truly Japanese technology and quality and refinement. Proton branding must be so atrosiously bad. Even rebadge a Japanese car also nobody wants it. No wonder one has yet to see a single Perdana on the road ever since it’s launch. That lousy Proton creator must be crying on his bed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
  • nVdia on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:37 pm

What does the 280TSi stands for?

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 26, 2016 at 7:42 pm

The much needed xenon lights to make the car look more upmarket and to compete with the Civic which is still holding class honors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Does the weekly visit by the tow truck guy still applicable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • garang on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:32 pm

No more, because no need anymore. problem already solved what.. got problem then hantam VW la.. its like you buy apple. from outside it looks delicious but inside is sour, so complaint lor. how can you prepare towing before buying? civic also kena tow what.. the tauke tow truck also pening kepala

• arowana on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:03 pm

not another Proton Saga… oh wai-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Harris on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:20 pm

The reliability of the dry DSG improved or still the same?

• jimatcermat on Sep 26, 2016 at 8:29 pm

better than accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Kenny Fang on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:00 pm

The price is competitive with Civic and Mazda 3 but VGM has yet to convince a sceptical public that the DSG issue is solved. Merely keeping quiet won’t help. VGM needs to take a bold step like offering 8 years warranty for the DSG and mechatronic to show confidence in their product. Otherwise the Jetta will only be sellable via “drop our pants” promotion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • 10 years warranty also no point if you need to go to the SC too often.

• IT ALSO COMES WITH A WORKSHOP. FOR YOUR GEARBOX

• Ahmadjr on Sep 26, 2016 at 10:58 pm

The design are like 90’s cars….

• wkaka on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Kudos where it’s due, good pricing, makes me think twice now

• seman on Sep 26, 2016 at 11:14 pm

why don’t reveal the OTR price?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:22 am

tow truck business rejoice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • garang on Sep 27, 2016 at 3:33 pm

that is why you are named semi value. tow truck rejoiced already due to turbo leak on civic. might as well rejoice you

• Joholan on Sep 27, 2016 at 7:06 am

If you want to hv conti car..dont keep worring abt the second hand value..buy it feel it enjoy it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • taboogen on Sep 27, 2016 at 7:55 am

when malaysian said better then this better than that.. actually it means.. i cant afford it both. wakakaka

• wow look at the dashboard…looks so old fashion…and what’s with the faux wood trim…eww

• passion on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:09 am

NO!

• Why they want to fit in the timber look on the interior? It will look better without it.

• Volkswagen Owner on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:24 am

No. This is not a 2016 new facelift. This is 2030 new redesigned jetta with a new fresh facelift. Why am i saying this? Because no matter what, this car would still look the same boring 90’s look even in 30 years from now.

Learn from Proton and Hyundai for example. They really serious in tackling customers wants in a new modern design car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on Sep 27, 2016 at 10:58 am

This Jetta is in the company of Civic, Altis, Focus, K3, Elantra, Mazda 3 & Sylphy. Can PT.org make a comparison & tell us which is is better to drive & value for $$$. Am sure M’sian value your feedbacks/recommendations & comments.

• bring in the Golf at same price.

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:29 am

Jetta is good overall but the transmission totally ruined it. The DSG is a nightmare to all and it is worst than typical cvt.

• FIST (Member) on Sep 27, 2016 at 11:44 am

EEV status but why still expensive…?

• sure or not on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Plain fugly. Ewwwwww. Vw fan Oso susah telan

• Blown away on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Dear all,

So much so I’ve been reading this blog with going through all the horrible comments about this Jetta which to certain extend people are talking bad about the DSG gearbox, after sales, sales person unattentive behaviour and etc so I decided to test myself to feel it in person. I walked in to Honda showroom and was given a test drive on the new civic 1.5S and the sales consultant is very much looking from my bottom to top examining me if Im a genuine buyer. In the end, I test drove it and feel the car is quite respensive but with the CVT transmission, It felt like the car gearbox is dragging the car when I accelerate. It feels good when the turbo kicks and I must say, Its a wonderful car to own. However after getting all the pricing and brochure myself, I left the showroom with doubt so I visited Volkswagen TTDI showroom to test out the new Jetta. The moment when I walked in to the showroom, I was heavily greeted by all the sales consultant and I must say, although this is not the first time visiting this particular showroom, this is one big changes I felt from my last visit. More warmth and welcoming! a BIG Thumbs up to their team! So I ask for a test drive and a sales consultant proceed to do all the necessary documentation and filling up forms, In the meantime another sales consultant explaining more about the car. After the get to know, I hop in to the new Jetta and it seems pretty basic and boring compare to the Civic i test drove earlier but with doubt, ahh.. what the heck.. lets try. As the moment I drove out of the showroom, the sales consultant lead me the direction for the usual test drive route and I stepped on the pedal and the feeling immediate blown me away! The car is perfectly balanced and more refine and the handling of this car is totally awesome. I am not promoting the car but seriously, It just felt like a horse waiting to gallop. The gearbox is absolutely amazing (apart from people talking breaking down) and were so responsive. Sound insulation is incredible, engine noise is minimal, aircond is perfect cold, handling is beyond imagination, visibility of the car is acceptable and the driving feeling, just a perfect car, Just perfect! I reached back the showroom and was seated by the sales consultant and serve me coffee and for once I felt like home. I glance through the brochures and price list, I can say for that kind of price, I would certainly go for this than the civic as this car I can say pretty complete.

I’m not sure about you guys here but I think this car is worth every penny to give it another chance apart from the RV and problematic service centre or etc, but sometimes we should look into what we want. I should say this car is worth it. Go and try it for yourself, then you will understand my thoughts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • you sure with the Civic 1.5T you could literally feel the turbo “kicking” in? Based on few weeks’ experience with this model, the power delivery was linear as the turbo effect is somewhat dulled by the CVT transmission..unless you actually meant you could feel the car rapidly picking up speed in a steady manner, which I’d agree

• Exactly the same experience I had…the Jetta is so much more compared to the Civic, noise, high speed corners, gear box response…I felt the turbo lag in the CIVIC!…so you bought the Jetta?

• Adhoc on Jan 25, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Too many negative comments here on the Jetta for those who dont own or even test driven one. Over the past 40 years I have owned over 10 diferrent cars; the Mazde 606, Ford Cortina, Proton Saga, Peugeot 405, BMW 3.20i, Wira, Merc E230, Ford Fiesta, Hyundai Getz, Myvi, and Mazda CX5. All these cars have served me well, although some of them do cause minor problems here and there. Last December I went to the VW showroom in Semenyih to look at the new Jetta. The reception I received from the sales consultant and staff was unlike what I received earlier from the Honda and Toyota outlets around Kajang. They (Semenyih showroom) were indeed friendly and most receptive to any of my query concerning the car. Its welcoming to find a sales consultant that goes all the way to explain to you on the vehicle you have an eye on buy yet decided to buy one. After the test drive and getting the feel of its awesome performance and character, I decided to buy the Jetta. While its too early to ponder on what may fail, I still keep getting new info from the VW salesperson on the latest news on VW. So I guess its anybody’s choice what they want to own. If you want to enjoy driving a vehicle that performs, feels secured, a good mileage, and can afford one, then go for it. No car is perfect. Before buying you should do some research on the model through valid and expert reviews and sources. I suppose buying a car is an individual’s choice. Negative comments and whining without even owning one is really shortsighted. How you drive and maintain your car are also factors to consider. So enjoy what you own…

• Sadly I’m experiencing bad customer service on call.. he even speaks with angry tone with me whereas i’m just asking few questions on pre-own cars

• Kenny on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Why is the 0-100 km/h so uninspiring at 8.6s? Lose to Civic 1.5T (8.2s) although Jetta has higher torque than Civic.

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:41 am

That what they write! Go and test it yourself. If you can get 9 second on Civic 1.5T, you automatic qualify for 2017 Merdeka run. :)

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:56 am

Hi Guys,

The wait is over!

Yesterday saw VW road show…Jetta base line is now MYR 92,888, a MYR17K drop or 15.5% in 6 months time!

IT always never too late to get a VW, you only regret you bought it too early! :>

Anyway, 92K is a better choice than Civic!

• Kumar on Jan 14, 2018 at 8:46 pm

280 at the boot means the car max performance is 280 nm. But for reliability purpose the car tuned 250 nm stock.
    Secondly this Jetta eliminate supercharge and DSG is improved version. But u must understand DSG is exactly manual. U will feel all the gear drops especially whn u crawl in traffic jam.
    Can find details in vw fb groups.