SPAD – 33,652 cases recorded since inception in 2011

Lorry driveshaft 02

Since its inception in 2011 until August this year, the Land Public Transport (SPAD) has recorded a total of 33,652 cases involving various types of vehicles, according to a report by The Star.

From the figure, lorry drivers recorded the highest number of offences, SPAD’s enforcement division senior general manager, Datuk Paduka Che Hasni Che Ahmad revealed. The most common offences include those involving security (5,000 cases), overloading (2,807 cases) and bald tyres.

After lorry drivers, taxis recorded the second highest number of offences with 10,547 cases. “Many taxi drivers are penalised for operating without a permit and for not using the meter,” he said, adding that big cities such as Kuala Lumpur had the highest concentration of recorded cases.

Che Hasni also stated that 98% of investigation papers have been completed while the rest are still in process. “Of the 60% of cases completed, some have been imposed with fines and some have been charged in court,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Another syiok sendiri statement from SPAD…if they were effective…why are there still so many abuses from these taxi, lorries and buses? Do we the rakyat see any improvements? Nah! Please lah don’t pluck numbers from the sky to show how diligent you guys are.. 98% investigation completed? Show some proof first…this is for show only mostly SPAD makan gaji buta mah…local culture right?

• Mesia Boleh. Apa pun bolih settle

• John is otak batu on Sep 27, 2016 at 2:32 pm

After lorry drivers, taxis recorded the second highest number of offences with 10,547 cases. “Many taxi drivers are penalised for operating without a permit and for not using the meter,” he said, adding that big cities such as Kuala Lumpur had the highest concentration of recorded cases

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 27, 2016 at 4:02 pm

After all said and done. What is SPAD going to do about that? To the layman, it just seems these infractions are just “kautim” or swept under the proverbial carpet by SPAD’s inaction.

After all, we STIlL see plenty of overloaded lorries (mostly on highways causing jams and accidents)

Plenty of Taxi drivers still do not use the meter,

Busses speeding and driving dangerously, (not to mention the odd one that gets into an accident),

So what gives SPAD? We know you know because we have complained. What have you done so far? Or shiok cakap only?

• hondaman on Sep 27, 2016 at 5:05 pm

dude, easier said than done. SPAD law APAD2010 require the agency to build a case & the court or AG office to determine the fine/penalty etc. To do that they need solid evidence to avoid from kena sue.They need the public to assist them in reporting the offenses wt evidence such as video or pic because shortage of SPAD enforcement officers.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Sep 27, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Most serious offense is road hogging while recording people using emergency lane during peak hours in federal highway while texting to JPJ.

• Clean Slate on Sep 27, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Lorry drivers who hog the middle and fast lanes should be penalised. They are a major cause of traffic jams because they slow down the smooth flowing traffic. Police should patrol the highways, stop them and book them on the spot.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 27, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Lorries should adhere to a minimum speed. Say 70-80kmh. If you cant make the speed, you need a SPAD escort.. And only travel at non peak times (ie. In the wee hours of the morning).

Otherwise they would just hog up the roads and given our shoddy cut corner road bulding… Destroy them as well.

I see weighing station but no trucks. Why?

• camtakpro on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:17 am

Also include Nissan, Honda, Hyundai and Perodua right-lane hogger. Don’t know why, but usually when you found out the hogger, it is these brand.

• Gunting kecik on Sep 27, 2016 at 9:09 pm

SPAD only pandai give statistics….

Let me give SPAD my statistic about their work attitude and productivity……Zero

• Letstorque on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:36 am

I spent hours and hundreds of kilometres everyday on the road.

To me SPAD is the most dedicated and hardworking traffic enforcement yet.
      Compared to PDRM Traffic Police and JPJ.

I’ve seen SPAD officers harrassed by tonto.
      And then not having cooperation from police when they report of being harrassed.

And lorry drivers really hate them that they can’t simply eat or having drinks at roadside stalls. Not safe for them.
      Unless in a group of more than 4 officers.

I pity them.