VIDEO: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L walk-around tour

After plenty of spyshots and a teaser video that showed the full car, Proton has finally pulled the covers off its most important new car yet, the 2016 Proton Saga. We brought you an exclusive live stream of the launch event, and exhaustively covered the national carmaker’s new budget sedan in our comprehensive launch report. But perhaps you prefer to simply click play and watch our man Hafriz Shah point out all the new bits to you, which is why we’ve prepared a new walk-around video tour of the new car.

A quick recap – the Saga starts at RM36,800 for the manual Standard variant and RM39,800 with the CVT. Moving up, the mid-range Executive CVT variant is priced at RM42,800, and the top-spec Premium CVT model retails at RM45,800. All prices are on-the-road, inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty – up from the outgoing model’s three-year/100,000 km coverage.

Despite being based on the previous Saga, the new car has been significantly revised – it’s 74 mm longer, 9 mm wider and 11 mm lower than before, and boasts a new, more dynamic exterior design, an entirely revamped cabin and a boot that’s now seven litres bigger at 420 litres.

There’s only one engine option – as part of a range-wide restructuring, you can only have the Saga with the smaller 1.3 litre VVT four-cylinder engine from the Iriz, producing 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Despite similar outputs as before, the new car is said to be faster and more fuel efficient than before, both with the five-speed manual and the improved CVT.

Big news is the addition of stability control and hill-start assist on the top Premium variant, making it the cheapest sedan in Malaysia to come with the electronic safety net. Dual airbags are standard across the range, but only the Executive model and above get ABS with EBD and brake assist. All models get a four-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating, up from three stars previously.

As usual, you can browse CarBase.my for full specifications, equipment and options on offer. But enough writing – watch the video above to learn everything you need to know about the 2016 Proton Saga, and sound off in the comments section after the jump. Thanks for watching!

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Handling by Lotus on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Nice video. So arousing.

• Why buy this piece of shit when you can get a used Merc B170 2007 for RM48,333?
    or Nissan Almera 2015 for RM46,800?
    better still Peugeot 208 2015 for RM49,800?

For 1st time car buyer don’t write off used car option.
    p/s: I am not a used car salesman, “Wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know then” – Bod Seger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 98
    • Yea used car is better,but 1st time buyer may not know the problem of maintain the used car ,and they may just want a small fuel efficient car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Ramli Azmi on Sep 28, 2016 at 9:46 pm

One of the “stupidest” comments I have ever read..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Redidiot on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Sure you can buy, but can you maintain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • jacky Jeo on Sep 30, 2016 at 9:24 am

maintains fee your neighbor will pay ah for Merc B170 2007

• mitsake on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:54 pm

the Saga starts at RM? for the manual Standard variant and RM? with the CVT. Moving up, the mid-range Executive CVT variant is priced at RM?, and the top-spec Premium CVT model retails at RM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • policeman on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:59 pm

New Saga seems much more refined and fuel-efficient than close rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Harry on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Friz, as usual. Handsome!!

• Upclose the rear light looks smexy. Like in previous gen 3 series. Waiting for Brothers to come out aftermarket rear lights with LED light bars mimicking 3 series.

• other presenters would’ve made the car look small in comparison….

• Proton Baguih on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:15 pm

wow….240km/hr on the speedo…..
    Can achieve or just a number oni??

• squall_shinoda on Oct 01, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Just numbers laa. Have you ever heard about the elastic limit…? All springs do have its elastic limit and so does the meter spring. Therefore, the maximum speed is normally between 3/4 to 4/5 of the maximum value of the scale.

• Encik Kunta on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:25 pm

I am not a fan of Proton but I really hope this car makes money for Proton so that Proton will stop taking the rakyats money to keep the company alive.

Can Proton also be transparent also with their sales. I really want to see honest sales figures. Like the Persona, they claim to have sold 8000 units, but I hardly see any Persona on the road. I doubt Proton is telling the truth.

I hope Proton tells the truth about their Saga sales figures. Please also keep the public informed about how you are going to repay the RM1.5 billion soft loan and also please show the public how the Saga sales are helping with your balance sheets. We have the right to know cause Proton is using public money to live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • Incik on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:49 am

8000 sold doesn’t mean 8000 delivered to user la. Car selling is not like selling nasi lemak, after order got the product straight away. Proton have backorder right now because they didn’t expect Premium variant will take a huge portion of the ordering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • old horse on Oct 01, 2016 at 10:46 pm

as long as cant export, how to make money, sell only local is the pure problem of initiate of any proton project.

• Foreigner from US on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Great job Proton, best bang for bucks A segment car available in malaysia, I feel sorry for those who got the bezza earlier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
  • Muslim on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Saya test drive tadi….memang senyap….pemanduan yang solid dan mantap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Das Auto on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Congrat Saga for reaching 3rd Gen. Thinking buying one, hope the air con is powderful but still hate the left signal stick. Why Proton, why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Cuz by using dominant right hand to control steering while using left hand to change gears/signal/adjust aircon & radio, give drivers better control on their cars?

• why powderful?

• policeman on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:24 pm

The Standard has airbags but no ABS. Who approved this?

When teenagers (especially the lower educated ones) get behind the wheels of the Standard Saga and drive like maniacs just like all teenagers, but lack the understanding of physics and road conditions, they will likely get into an accident. ABS and ESC can reduce that risk.

What they don’t need are airbags. Let their heads get smashed and if they live, they’ll learn a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Si Ayah on Sep 29, 2016 at 2:38 am

Lain kali ajar anak biar betul, jangan jadi sampah atas jalan raya menyusahkan pengguna jalan raya yang lain

• It’s permissible in bolehland, not as strict as Euro / USA

• This is new model? I saw so many photos on internet last month. Making this feels like old news

• Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:41 pm

I must say this is the most affordable $$$ can buy especially the mid-range Executive & the top-spec Premium what more with 5 years & 150k mileage warranty.

• Zamin on Sep 28, 2016 at 8:56 pm

The interior mirror with reverse camera monitor was foe extora bold CFL but was taken out by drb abd put into this car? This is a stupid aftermarket approach.

• Anti- Lipocyte on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:45 pm

This guy needs Herbalife and please ditch your flowery shirt .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 12:28 am

Im curious, does the cvt still have a seperate atf cooler like in the flx or no more??

• Year 2016 and cars are still being produced without ABS, EBD and brake assist as standard. Safety considerations have been diregarded for the base model, barring the dual airbags, which are not accident prevention mechanisms. Some people may prefer manual transmission but unfortunately is not available with these basic essential safety specifications.

• Yes, I am disappointed with it. But it’s quite interesting that even without the abs its still can get 4 stars in ANCAP, means the chassis is quite good, supposedly.

• passion on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:55 am

ABS and ESC should be standard. all life matters.

• Undecided! on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Ovrll design admirable BUT, WHICH is a Better BUY, a Belt-Timing or a Chain-Timing Driven engine BETTER? Also which is smoother, A Punch or a Getrag Transmission?

• Actman on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:25 am

So where is Jonathan? Correct me if I’m wronged that there is only one host left for paul tan org of new cars introduction!

• old horse on Oct 01, 2016 at 10:45 pm

seriously, Proton design actually is acceptable, the engine is the problem (should have dual strategy to source from a better manufacturer for certain model), and of course, the cronies part sourcing so the high price pay for lousy quality..